HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Thefunkymonkeyhostel Guayaquil Hostel

Cdla. Vernaza Norte, Mz 5 V11, Guayaquil, Ecuador

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 66%

Location 78%

Safety 80%

Staff 75%

Value 75%

What's Included

  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Towels Included
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 2.50USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guayaquil?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 66%

Location 78%

Safety 80%

Staff 75%

Value 75%

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Helpfull staff

Disliked: X

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Close to airport.

Disliked: Bathroom smelled. No laundry service.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Comfy bed

Disliked: Building work going on. Staff a bit strange.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Easy access to airport

Disliked: Currently building extension

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very nice and helpfull, english speaking manager. Not far from the airport. Met nice other travellers. Very easy going place. Good kitchen. Malecon is a 3,50 dollar taxi ride away. Giant super mall just one minute walk away from hostel. Mall contains heaps of shops and a foodcourt with 20 restaurants and a 3D cunema. Also a sushi restaurant in the mall building. Very excellent sushi, way better then average sushi restaurant in Europe. Also the hostel taxi service to airport is 10 minutes early, very good! I would stay here again!

Disliked: All good

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Location

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location was right next to Mall Del Sol, airport and bus termenals.

Disliked: Only one bathroom/shower for more than 8 people (2 dorms) and you have to go outside and hope it is not rainning.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is close to the airport.

Disliked: I stayed here the night before a flight, I was in the hostel for 9 hours and that was way to long. For my $12 I got an uncomfortable bed in as dorm that stank of weed smoke. I was not given a key to the dorm or front gate and the lockers were in the communal area not in the room. I was in a mixed dorm but made to feel very uncomfortable with the conversations happening between the other guest and the hostel staff. There is little English spoken by the staff and I found their conversation creepy at best and preditorial at worst. I would not recommend this hostel for women or anyone for that matter. Do your self a favour and stay at the Dreamkapture, it is cheaper and much friendlier. I stayed their a few weeks ago and wished I had just gone back there rather than trying somewhere new. The funky monkey was a vile place to stay.


The property's response is

i put a smoke alarm in the room sorry for the inconvenients

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Free Wifi, close to airport

Disliked: Got some sort of blister/infection, possibly from bed bugs. The sheets aren't clean - the night staff sleep in the beds until a tourist comes knocking at the door, and then the tourist gets the to the same bed the night staff were sleeping in. Only one bathroom for 12 beds.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The beds are actually really comfortable. Very cheap, so was happy with what we got for the money.Would stay here again if sleeping on a budget.

Disliked: The bathroom was tiny. And if seemed that there were people permanently living there, which was a strange vibe. Only one person could really cook at a time in the kitchen. They need one more gas hob maybe and another unit.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability