HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Funky Monkey Hostel and Camping

Hostel | Vernaza Norte mz 5 solar 11, Guayaquil, Ecuador ec901

72.2% Overall Rating

28 out of 39 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/11/2013)

Alexandria Wilding thinks…

"The beds are actually really comfortable. Very cheap, so was happy with what we got for the money. Would stay here again if sleeping on a budget."

Read all Funky Monkey Hostel and Camping reviews

Facilities

  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guayaquil?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guayaquil

Suites Guayaquil
22.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.6% 4 reviews
Murali Hostal Guayaquil Airport
13.00 USD

Hostel 72.8% 32 reviews
Tabuba Guest House
25.00 USD

Guesthouse 82.1% 8 reviews
RE bed and breakfast
17.00 USD

Hostel 98.4% 11 reviews
Dreamkapture Hostal
9.60 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 86 reviews
Hostel Nucapacha
12.50 USD

Hostel 80.3% 83 reviews
Tangara Guest House
14.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 46 reviews
Hotel Jeshua
18.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.7% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.2%

Overall Rating

28 out of 39 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Funky Monkey Hostel and Camping'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
76.8%
Value
72.8%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 32 of 39 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carol Brocker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 December 2013 Carol would recommend this property

Liked: Location was right next to Mall Del Sol, airport and bus termenals.

Disliked: Only one bathroom/shower for more than 8 people (2 dorms) and you have to go outside and hope it is not rainning.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 November 2013

Liked: Free Wifi, close to airport

Disliked: Got some sort of blister/infection, possibly from bed bugs. The sheets aren't clean - the night staff sleep in the beds until a tourist comes knocking at the door, and then the tourist gets the to the same bed the night staff were sleeping in. Only one bathroom for 12 beds.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013

Liked: The location is close to the airport.

Disliked: I stayed here the night before a flight, I was in the hostel for 9 hours and that was way to long. For my $12 I got an uncomfortable bed in as dorm that stank of weed smoke. I was not given a key to the dorm or front gate and the lockers were in the communal area not in the room. I was in a mixed dorm but made to feel very uncomfortable with the conversations happening between the other guest and the hostel staff. There is little English spoken by the staff and I found their conversation creepy at best and preditorial at worst. I would not recommend this hostel for women or anyone for that matter. Do your self a favour and stay at the Dreamkapture, it is cheaper and much friendlier. I stayed their a few weeks ago and wished I had just gone back there rather than trying somewhere new. The funky monkey was a vile place to stay.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alexandria Wilding

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Alexandria would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are actually really comfortable. Very cheap, so was happy with what we got for the money. Would stay here again if sleeping on a budget.

Disliked: The bathroom was tiny. And if seemed that there were people permanently living there, which was a strange vibe. Only one person could really cook at a time in the kitchen. They need one more gas hob maybe and another unit.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013

Liked: wifi.

Disliked: Dirty. Unavailable bathroom Price was much to high for what we got

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tatsiana Lapata

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2013 Tatsiana would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, nice kitchen and garden. Sorry for keys!

Disliked: Noisy tourists.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Benjamin McGehee

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

24 May 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Tbe staff was awesome, Kudos to Freddy and his mother

Disliked: Really........ No hot water

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was great! close to the airport and bus terminal, also a nice shopping center with a big supermarket. only 5 minutes, $3 to the center. the A/C in the room was very nice.

Disliked: no hot water for the shower but it's ok because it's so hot there.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jacqueline Kay

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 March 2013

Liked: location near to airport and bus station nothing else.

Disliked: No electricy in one of the bathrooms and the noise of the constuction work going us plus the direct questions being asked from the builders.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Within 5 minutes of the airport.

Disliked: Small room, noisy guests.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near the bus terminal and the airport which is good. it's a small and nice hostel and Jorge the owner has been very nice to me. he's been a guide for me and other travelers in the city which we appreciated a lot.

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Amber Valenzuela

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2012 Amber would recommend this property

Liked: proximity to airport and bus terminal

Disliked: wasn't much of a communal area.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2012

Liked: Jorge took us on a really good city tour where we could see a lot of Guayaquil in a short time. He was helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Lots of insects, bugs and grasshoppers in rooms and showers. No breakfast and kitchen is rather small. Somehow a bit deserted, too. One night we were the only guests.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2012

Liked: it was close to the bus terminal.

Disliked: Property was described very differently to how it was presented.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Can't really say much as we only arrived at 11 pm at night and then left at 9 am the following morning. Very convenient for the airport to fly to the Galapagos

Disliked: We booked a twin room but when we arrived we were given a room with a double bed. Not a problem, but not what we booked. Also, if anyone is out in the garden and you are in the private room, it is very loud

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sheets were dirty. Bedroom was clean. Dripping bathrom tap. I never understand why they can't include a cheap lamp in these hostels especially in the private rooms. No real kitchen equipment but helpful owner. Handy for bus terminal,

Disliked: Dirty sheets and the fact that the bedroom was right out of reception.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location for ones in transit - next to the airport, bus staion and 2 minuts walk from the biggest mall in the city (with cinema in english...)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Adam Toole

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: location to aeroport and bus terminal

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2012

Liked: The hostel was well located for those in transit (it is close to the airport and bus station). The property was also pretty secure.

Disliked: The property is poorly managed by the staff, as it was messy and generally not clean. When we arrived we were shown to a room which looked like someone had been sleeping in for a while (the sheets were a bit ruffled and did not smell clean and there were a few personal items in the room). The staff agreed to change our room for us but we had to ask for the basics, like a key and towels. The wifi did not work properly.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is so close to the airport, bus station, and the Mall de Sol food court, you won't find more convenient. It is very secure as well

Disliked: It was a bit dirty the day I was there, but that can be the case at most hostels.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Real friendly Staff! Though they dont speak much englisch it was no problem to communicate with them. And yeah its a good place to partey too. I felt very comfortable during my stay.

Disliked: The location is not the best if you want to do sightseeing in Guayaquil.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the airport & bus terminal. It's around 15 mins walk to the airport. Cooked a great paella for us. Place could be great if the cleaned up the yard, filled the pool etc.

Disliked: Not the cleanest of places. The guys that run it are friendly hippies but the place needs a little work. Internet didn't work well, toilet had no paper & there was dead bugs everywhere.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

AISHA FARHOUD

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

18 December 2011

Liked: Very friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere, good location near the airport and bus station behind a busy mall.

Disliked: Room smelled weird, no toilet paper in the bathroom, sheets probably hadn't been changed in weeks.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel, owner was really nice. Really clean and secure. Great location to be near bus station and airport. Good shopping centre across the road.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lucy Judge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2011 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Less than 5 minutes from both airport and bus station, so perfect if you are just in Guayaquil for a stopover in your travel plans. Right next to a large shopping mall, which has a big supermarket (the hostel has self catering facilities) and a cinema. Nice garden area to sit around in and chill in the evening.

Disliked: If you are planning to sightsee in Guayaquil this is probably not the hostel for you. Otherwise nothing!