We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Funky Monkey Hostel and Camping

Hostel | Vernaza Norte mz 5 solar 11, Guayaquil, Ecuador ec901

73.4% Overall Rating

29 out of 41 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/08/2014)

Michiel Stam thinks…

"Very nice and helpfull, english speaking manager. Not far from the airport. Met nice other travellers. Very easy going place. Good kitchen. Malecon is a 3,50 dollar taxi ride away. Giant super mall…"

Read all Funky Monkey Hostel and Camping reviews

Facilities

  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guayaquil?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guayaquil

Suites Guayaquil
22.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 6 reviews
Murali Hostal Guayaquil Airport
13.00 USD

Hostel 71.7% 36 reviews
Tabuba Guest House
25.00 USD

Guesthouse 82.1% 8 reviews
RE bed and breakfast
17.00 USD

Hostel 98.2% 13 reviews
Dreamkapture Hostal
9.83 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 94 reviews
Hostel Nucapacha
12.50 USD

Hostel 84.3% 88 reviews
Tangara Guest House
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 46 reviews
Hotel Jeshua
18.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.9% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.4%

Overall Rating

29 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Funky Monkey Hostel and Camping'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
78.4%
Value
73.6%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 34 of 41 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michiel Stam

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 Michiel would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpfull, english speaking manager. Not far from the airport. Met nice other travellers. Very easy going place. Good kitchen. Malecon is a 3,50 dollar taxi ride away. Giant super mall just one minute walk away from hostel. Mall contains heaps of shops and a foodcourt with 20 restaurants and a 3D cunema. Also a sushi restaurant in the mall building. Very excellent sushi, way better then average sushi restaurant in Europe. Also the hostel taxi service to airport is 10 minutes early, very good! I would stay here again!

Disliked: All good

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2014

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carol Brocker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 December 2013 Carol would recommend this property

Liked: Location was right next to Mall Del Sol, airport and bus termenals.

Disliked: Only one bathroom/shower for more than 8 people (2 dorms) and you have to go outside and hope it is not rainning.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 November 2013

Liked: Free Wifi, close to airport

Disliked: Got some sort of blister/infection, possibly from bed bugs. The sheets aren't clean - the night staff sleep in the beds until a tourist comes knocking at the door, and then the tourist gets the to the same bed the night staff were sleeping in. Only one bathroom for 12 beds.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013

Liked: The location is close to the airport.

Disliked: I stayed here the night before a flight, I was in the hostel for 9 hours and that was way to long. For my $12 I got an uncomfortable bed in as dorm that stank of weed smoke. I was not given a key to the dorm or front gate and the lockers were in the communal area not in the room. I was in a mixed dorm but made to feel very uncomfortable with the conversations happening between the other guest and the hostel staff. There is little English spoken by the staff and I found their conversation creepy at best and preditorial at worst. I would not recommend this hostel for women or anyone for that matter. Do your self a favour and stay at the Dreamkapture, it is cheaper and much friendlier. I stayed their a few weeks ago and wished I had just gone back there rather than trying somewhere new. The funky monkey was a vile place to stay.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alexandria Wilding

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Alexandria would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are actually really comfortable. Very cheap, so was happy with what we got for the money. Would stay here again if sleeping on a budget.

Disliked: The bathroom was tiny. And if seemed that there were people permanently living there, which was a strange vibe. Only one person could really cook at a time in the kitchen. They need one more gas hob maybe and another unit.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013

Liked: wifi.

Disliked: Dirty. Unavailable bathroom Price was much to high for what we got

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tatsiana Lapata

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2013 Tatsiana would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, nice kitchen and garden. Sorry for keys!

Disliked: Noisy tourists.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Benjamin McGehee

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

24 May 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Tbe staff was awesome, Kudos to Freddy and his mother

Disliked: Really........ No hot water

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was great! close to the airport and bus terminal, also a nice shopping center with a big supermarket. only 5 minutes, $3 to the center. the A/C in the room was very nice.

Disliked: no hot water for the shower but it's ok because it's so hot there.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jacqueline Kay

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 March 2013

Liked: location near to airport and bus station nothing else.

Disliked: No electricy in one of the bathrooms and the noise of the constuction work going us plus the direct questions being asked from the builders.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Within 5 minutes of the airport.

Disliked: Small room, noisy guests.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near the bus terminal and the airport which is good. it's a small and nice hostel and Jorge the owner has been very nice to me. he's been a guide for me and other travelers in the city which we appreciated a lot.

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Amber Valenzuela

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2012 Amber would recommend this property

Liked: proximity to airport and bus terminal

Disliked: wasn't much of a communal area.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2012

Liked: Jorge took us on a really good city tour where we could see a lot of Guayaquil in a short time. He was helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Lots of insects, bugs and grasshoppers in rooms and showers. No breakfast and kitchen is rather small. Somehow a bit deserted, too. One night we were the only guests.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2012

Liked: it was close to the bus terminal.

Disliked: Property was described very differently to how it was presented.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Can't really say much as we only arrived at 11 pm at night and then left at 9 am the following morning. Very convenient for the airport to fly to the Galapagos

Disliked: We booked a twin room but when we arrived we were given a room with a double bed. Not a problem, but not what we booked. Also, if anyone is out in the garden and you are in the private room, it is very loud

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sheets were dirty. Bedroom was clean. Dripping bathrom tap. I never understand why they can't include a cheap lamp in these hostels especially in the private rooms. No real kitchen equipment but helpful owner. Handy for bus terminal,

Disliked: Dirty sheets and the fact that the bedroom was right out of reception.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location for ones in transit - next to the airport, bus staion and 2 minuts walk from the biggest mall in the city (with cinema in english...)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Adam Toole

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: location to aeroport and bus terminal

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2012

Liked: The hostel was well located for those in transit (it is close to the airport and bus station). The property was also pretty secure.

Disliked: The property is poorly managed by the staff, as it was messy and generally not clean. When we arrived we were shown to a room which looked like someone had been sleeping in for a while (the sheets were a bit ruffled and did not smell clean and there were a few personal items in the room). The staff agreed to change our room for us but we had to ask for the basics, like a key and towels. The wifi did not work properly.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is so close to the airport, bus station, and the Mall de Sol food court, you won't find more convenient. It is very secure as well

Disliked: It was a bit dirty the day I was there, but that can be the case at most hostels.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Real friendly Staff! Though they dont speak much englisch it was no problem to communicate with them. And yeah its a good place to partey too. I felt very comfortable during my stay.

Disliked: The location is not the best if you want to do sightseeing in Guayaquil.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the airport & bus terminal. It's around 15 mins walk to the airport. Cooked a great paella for us. Place could be great if the cleaned up the yard, filled the pool etc.

Disliked: Not the cleanest of places. The guys that run it are friendly hippies but the place needs a little work. Internet didn't work well, toilet had no paper & there was dead bugs everywhere.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

AISHA FARHOUD

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

18 December 2011

Liked: Very friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere, good location near the airport and bus station behind a busy mall.

Disliked: Room smelled weird, no toilet paper in the bathroom, sheets probably hadn't been changed in weeks.