HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Suites Madrid

Guesthouse | Quisquis 305, Guayaquil, Ecuador 0000

83.0% Overall Rating

20 out of 24 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/11/2012)

"Hostal Suites Madrid is in an ideal location just blocks away from the centre and 10 minutes walk to the riverfront. The room was clean and secure with an excellent shower!"

Read all Hostal Suites Madrid reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.99
  • Breakfast USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guayaquil?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guayaquil

Hotel Jeshua
18.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.9% 17 reviews
Tangara Guest House
23.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 46 reviews
Casa de Romero
20.00 USD

Hostel 91.0% 149 reviews
Atlantic Suites Hostal
37.63 USD

Hostel 82.3% 5 reviews
Manso Boutique Guesthouse
13.93 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 94 reviews
RE bed and breakfast
17.00 USD

Hostel 98.2% 13 reviews
Hostel Nucapacha
12.50 USD

Hostel 84.3% 88 reviews
Funky Monkey Hostel and Camping
10.25 USD

Hostel 73.4% 41 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.0%

Overall Rating

20 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Suites Madrid'

Atmosphere
76.7%
Location
85.0%
Facilities
75.8%
Cleanliness
94.2%
Staff
84.2%
Value
78.3%
Safety
86.7%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 24 reviews
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 2 Free comp on the roof. In the center of the city.

Disliked: I did not like that the shower had no shower curtain. No matter how far you move the showerhead towards the wall, you end up seriously wetting the floor. They can put a rack in the bathroom with a curtain....The hot water cut off after 15 minutes. And even if you wait an hour, still no hot water.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2013

Liked: This property was pretty clean and the staff were relatively helpful.

Disliked: It was soooo expensive which is what we realised when we got there. You can pick up a hotel in the main street for $17 a night - half the price of this and it was just as nice with an airconditioner and TV that worked... the TV in the Madrid Suites did not work and the air conditioner was incredibly noisy!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostal Suites Madrid is in an ideal location just blocks away from the centre and 10 minutes walk to the riverfront. The room was clean and secure with an excellent shower!

Disliked: We did find the odd mosquito in the room! The room was apparently sealed?! On checking out we were offered a taxi by the man at reception at an inflated rate, on refusal he became annoyed and began explaining that our safety cant be guaranteed (mind you we had been using taxis all weekend and he didnt seem to mind) he then questioned if we had paid our bill for the room! I had actually paid him personally the day before! After several minutes of him talking on the phone and looking through note books he said ¨yeah you did pay me, you can leave¨ We had enjoyed our stay up to this moment!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gillian Gale

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012 Gillian would recommend this property

Liked: spotlessly clean and every single staff member was friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. The room was large and comfortable with a good shower. The location was excellent and it was safe to walk back at night. excellent value for money. Room very noisy from traffic but thats the same wherever you are in this location, ear plugs got rid of the issue. As an aside, we booked our Galapagos trip with the hotel, with three days notice, it was a stunning trip, the man at hotel very helpful in sorting the money etc.

Disliked: Could have put a shower curtain up to stop you soaking the loo!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

brooke pollack

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2012 brooke would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place and good location, good sized rooms with hot water

Disliked: Really a hotel. No kitchen or breakfast, though we knew that ahead of time. Quiet without much of an atmosphere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooms, helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amelia Lawrence

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2011 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: The shower was the first hot one we'd had in ages!

Disliked: The receptionist tried to put us in a more expensive room on our arrival, and we had to argue to get our original booking at the price booked. This made us a little angry upon arrival, especially as the price he tried to charge us was more than double what we had originally booked.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff and extremly clean and safe!

Disliked: .

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stacy Yelland

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2011 Stacy would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, cable TV, good shower, terrace

Disliked: Not much, not that nice a road - noisy all night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean hostel with everything you need. Good location and helpful staff. Air conditioning was great!

Disliked: there was no hot water in the shower and it sprayed all over the place. Bed was rock hard!!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2011

Liked: Cable tv and hot shower

Disliked: Rock solid beds and pillows. No atmosphere as we are the only guests in the hotel. Way too expensive for what they provide. They lock the front door so you have to wait for someone to come to reception to let you out and in.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 January 2011

Liked: Very helpful with luggage and responding to emails prior to trip. Quiet. Wi-fi

Disliked: Very hard bed, only one sheet, very tired towels, forgot wakeup call. No detailed bill and did not price did not reflect credit for deposit made with HostelBookers

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was large, as was the bathroom, and the staff were lovely - especially the guy on reception.

Disliked: Our room was quite noisy from early in the mornings, with a lot of traffic on the street below.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

john blumer

20 April 2010 john would recommend this property

Liked: air conditioned room, beer for sale, very friendly and accomodating staff

Disliked: john left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

19 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were very helpful and friendly. the room was very secure and clean. i don´t imagine there any rooms that are quiet in guayaquil.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

richard zambelli

23 October 2009 richard would recommend this property

Liked: staff very friendly and helpful

Disliked: richard left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was beautiful, great little outdoor terrace and indoor sitting area (common). The rooms were beautiful and very clean and the staff very, very, very helpful! More than I could have asked for!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Karl Mulcahy

27 September 2009 Karl would recommend this property

Liked: We were only using this hostel as a place to stay on our way elseware from Guayaquil. The hostel was spotless and we had a large room for the 3 of us travelling together. We also had a great breakfast thrown in for free. The only down side was it was quite noisy - it was on a busy street and it was also a friday night with lots of people out and about (so bring your ear plugs). We didn´t go anywhere as we got in late and were leaving early the next morning, but were told that we could walk to the river in about 15mins.The manager (Christopher) was excellent! He went out his way to help us organise the next part of our trip in Ecuador. He took us to the bus station on our departure and even came in with us to help us get the right tickets.

Disliked: Karl left no negative feedback.