We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Manso Boutique Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Malecon 1406, Aguirre, Guayaquil, Ecuador 00000

87.9% Overall Rating

83 out of 96 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Tom McKenna thinks…

"A good place to spend a night or two, the hostel has it's own clothes shop and restaurant (which serves very healthy food - we went to McDonalds (the shame)) I could hear a lot of pots and pans being…"

Read all Manso Boutique Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Newspapers
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Pets allowed
  • Cot / crib

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.00
  • Luggage Room USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

This booking system has a limitation regarding its flexibility to show that our rooms can be single, double or triple, so we have opted to double-list some of our rooms. If you are booking more than two rooms please wait until you receive a confirmation from us. Manso has a no-show penalty of 50% of your stay. To not be considered a no-show, you need to cancel your booking at least 24 hours in advance. The $12.29 shared dorm rate does not include breakfast. Breakfast is $3 under that rate plan PET Policy: We allow to bring pets, the charge per pet is $15 plus tax (12%) In a triple room we can accept the pet as the third guest

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guayaquil?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guayaquil

Casa de Romero
20.00 USD

Hostel 91.0% 149 reviews
Atlantic Suites Hostal
37.63 USD

Hostel 82.3% 5 reviews
Hotel Eloy Alfaro
15.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostal Suites Madrid
16.99 USD

Guesthouse 83.0% 24 reviews
Hotel Jeshua
18.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.9% 17 reviews
Tangara Guest House
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 46 reviews
RE bed and breakfast
17.00 USD

Hostel 98.2% 13 reviews
Hostel Nucapacha
12.50 USD

Hostel 84.3% 88 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

83 out of 96 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Manso Boutique Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
88.8%
Value
80.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 80 of 92 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tom McKenna

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2014 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: A good place to spend a night or two, the hostel has it's own clothes shop and restaurant (which serves very healthy food - we went to McDonalds (the shame)) I could hear a lot of pots and pans being banged about.

Disliked: The beds are very low and we did see a couple of bugs in the bathroom - an inevitability in tropical climates. We aked for a 4am taxi to arrive which was 20 mins late. not sure if this was the hostel or the taxt driver though

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

11 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms had air con and wifi was strong. Clean hostel and close to Malecon and Las Penas

Disliked: Breakfast was very average, fruit was rotten everyday and the eggs were ok. We never got served for breakfast, and the staff at the desk would always ask if we have been served, answer being no..... It isn't cheap, but then nothing is really cheap in Guayaquil. The staff are ok, not very helpful when asking questions, a few times they were great, but very inconsistent. I asked where to get a late dinner at 10pm, and they couldn't help me.......they should know the city. All they said was nothing was open, this can't be true for the biggest city in Ecuador. Also wanted info on Galapagos, and couldn't get specific info, which was annoying and very poor. Luggage room costs $1 per day.....and it isn't properly locked. Bathrooms didn't have hot water, they knew about the problem and didn't fix it. I think it has been like this for a while. We ate at the restaurant for lunch one day, we didn't get served for literally 45mins, and it wasn't busy. The waiter walked passed us like 5 times and we communicated to him that we wanted to order about twice. Also, wasn't very helpful once he came and took our order. Food took a while to come out and was very average (don't waste your time) No atmosphere either, more of a hotel than a hostel. All in all, could be the best hostel ever if they fix up a few things.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Chi Kei Yim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Chi Kei would recommend this property

Liked: staff is helpful and friendly. Excellent location.

Disliked: washroom is not clean enough

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Rhoni Speed

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 July 2014

Liked: The location.

Disliked: The noise and dishonesty about it along with the lack of food.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel located at the beautiful malecon! Our room, the standard double room was quite big. We enjoyed the nice atmosphere and the delicious breakfast (organic food). The staff was friendly. We really can reccomend this hostel. Thank you for the comfortable stay!

Disliked: The wifi didn't work in our room (standard double room), just in the commun area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful rooms and great breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Bell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2014 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: great location next to the malecon, nice balconies, wifi good, hostel was comfortable, met some nice people in the common area. dorm had its own bathroom and good hot water.

Disliked: no kitchen, breakfast was overpriced and not very good, there are lockers but they are very small and outside the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aiko Inoue

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2013 Aiko would recommend this property

Liked: This place is so clean and so safe. Great location. The guesthouse is close to correos or Catedral station on metrovia. Everything is within walking distance. The staff is so friendly and gives you a lot information. Wifi worked really good in the common area.

Disliked: Maybe the bathroom is a bit too small and the water wasn't hot enough. And wifi didn't work in the room.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Barbara Rotherham

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2013 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Once we got a decent room that we had prepaid for it was good. This room needed double glazing as busy road is noisy.Had to insist we got the room we had paid for. Excellent location which is a huge bonus.

Disliked: Noisy road but double glazing would fix this. Taps needed updating-like they were 50years old. Vegetarian dinner not wonderful neither were the breakfasts. Just spruce it up a bit to make it more desirable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, safe facilities, good food.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. On the tourist - safe Malecon 2000 promenade within a tourist friendly district. Minutes walk from cathedral and parks. Cheaper through HostelBookers than direct.

Disliked: Tacky boutique decor. Lockers do not for large travel backpacks.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harry Tewkesbury

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013 Harry would recommend this property

Liked: Stunning hostel in a stunning location for a very reasonable price, given the above. Good albeit expensive breakfast options available. Limited mostly vegetarian fare more evenings, reasonably priced; the lentil burger is seriously good. Sipping a beer on the balcony above the Malecon is very nice indeed.

Disliked: Harry left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013

Liked: It is well located on the Malecon in what feels like a safe part of town. We had lunch in the cafe which was excellent value.

Disliked: The rooms are poor quality, the walls are very thin and there was a musty smell in the rooms. There is only one bathroom on a floor of 10 rooms. The shower is electric... The only place in Ecuador that we've seen this. The reception, whilst friendly is not particularly helpful. We asked for a map and they tried to sell us one for $2. While its great having a cafe on site, some of the rooms are almost within the cafe area - not great for noise or security.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rory O'Callaghan

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 May 2013 Rory would recommend this property

Liked: A wonderfully relaxed atmosphere, with balconies, hammocks and beer in the fridge right on the Malecon/waterfront.

Disliked: Nothing. It´s one of the best I´ve ever stayed in.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diego Alexander Chalan Tejada

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Diego Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Bien ubicado y habilitado para unos dìas en Guayaquil! El staff fue muy amable. Recomendable para estar unos dìas por Guayaquil.

Disliked: Diego Alexander left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

William Bromiley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: great staff

Disliked: not much atmosphere

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Their location on the Malecon is very convenient. The staff were friendly and kept the place very clean. WIFI worked very well. The vegetarian almuerzo offered was yummy and a good value at $4 for 3 courses. The filtered water available.

Disliked: The dorm room is tight for 4 people and don't have lockers (though there is a lock on the door). They indicate that they participate in Ho.La Hostels but won't honor the discount if you book through this site. I used their taxi service to go to the bus terminal (it was more expensive than getting one on the street, but they indicated it was more secure) and the guy dropped me about a block away instead of going up to the terminal entrance like the other taxis...so I wouldn't say it was worth the extra fare.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jürgen Husch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2012 Jürgen would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful place in Guayaquil, just perfectly set close to everything you might like to see. It's a $5 taxi ride from the airport and in walking distance to Malecon2000, Las Penas, Av. 9 de Oct., etc.. Great installations with good Wifi, free water to refill your bottles, great breakfast and a nice veg restaurant.

Disliked: The only little thing is the low distance you have between the lower and upper bed in the dorm (at least the one I was in). But it's a great place so don't hesitate.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, nice little place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really great hostel, the atmosphere is really nice, relaxed and I really like the style they have gone for, nice scented candles, nice music, funky art work. The rooms are really nice, comfy beds, great bathroom, a/c, water in rooms, towels and Wifi. The staff are amazingly nice and helpful, they went out of there way to help me with finding shops, buses etc, really can not say enough good things about this hostel or the people that work there. Restaurant is nice as well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keeley Hampton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

15 August 2012 Keeley would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is more like a hotel with beautiful designs and decoration. It is safe and secure, very clean. The food is good, if not a little on the small side, but I could not fault them. Nicole is so helpful. I had a problem with the shower in my room not having hot water and she kindly let me us another and arranged to get mine fixed.

Disliked: Nothing apart from not being able to have hot water in my shower which was resolved

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carles sanchez lozano

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2012 carles would recommend this property

Liked: IF you stay in Guayquil there is no reason to stay anywhere but at Manso! The location is amazing- right on the Malecon with all of the major sights of the city within easy walking distance. Although it might be $1 more than other hostels you won't ever need to take a cab so it is really cost effective. The area is very safe and the staff are great. This 'hostal' feels like an eco-friendly hotel and has a great atmosphere. Overall great place to stay in Guayaquil!

Disliked: carles left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, lovely decor. Friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Disliked: The room we had was very stuffy with no windows and little ventilation. The little air-conditioner didn't do very much. It made it very difficult to get a good night's rest. It's also more expensive than the other hostels we stayed at during our trip.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Adeline westerveld

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2012 Adeline would recommend this property

Liked: good location, friendly staff

Disliked: The food you can order is overpriced and not at all the quality I expected. Shame shame. The Internet does not work. It's on and off and we really needed to book a ticket but that was completely ruined by the fact the router (or what ever) did not work. All the time they were saying, we working on it. They probably did but still: if you sell your rooms for this price and it concludes the Internet. Make sure it works.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MEI YING WONG

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 MEI YING would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very convenient and safe for walking around. The atmosphere is nice as well.

Disliked: no