We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Casa de Romero

Hostel | Velez 501 y Boyaca, 7th floor, Guayaquil, Ecuador 593

91.0% Overall Rating

144 out of 149 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2014)

Adam Hiner thinks…

"This place is great. I only stayed one night on the way to the airport. They arranged a cab for me at 5am and came down to my room to check on me 10mins prior. I accidentally left my laptop there and…"

Read all Casa de Romero reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.00
  • Luggage Room USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guayaquil?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guayaquil

Atlantic Suites Hostal
37.63 USD

Hostel 82.3% 5 reviews
Manso Boutique Guesthouse
13.93 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 96 reviews
Hostal Suites Madrid
16.99 USD

Guesthouse 83.0% 24 reviews
Hotel Jeshua
18.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.9% 17 reviews
Hotel Eloy Alfaro
15.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Tangara Guest House
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 46 reviews
RE bed and breakfast
17.00 USD

Hostel 98.2% 13 reviews
Hostel Nucapacha
12.50 USD

Hostel 84.3% 88 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

144 out of 149 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa de Romero'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 110 of 138 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Hanneke Huisman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2014 Hanneke would recommend this property

Liked: Clean modern rooms

Disliked: A bit expensive compared to other hostels in South America. Location: the hostel is on the 7th floor of an appartment building. First we got a room on a different floor which looked more like a normal appartment floor instead of a hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergio Leandro Mora

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Sergio Leandro would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay, close to Guayaquil's main attractions.

Disliked: Low Wi-Fi signal strength in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Hiner

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2014 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great. I only stayed one night on the way to the airport. They arranged a cab for me at 5am and came down to my room to check on me 10mins prior. I accidentally left my laptop there and they are fedexing it back to the US for me. Couldn't ask for better service. Everything was clean, internet works well, and bathroom was nice with hot water. Thanks!

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, felt save. Rooms are clean and breakfast is good!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were amazingly helpful - our airline lost our bags, and the staff called them up regularly to find out where they were and helped us to be reunited with them! Quiet, relaxing hostel

Disliked: Location wasn't amazing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria George

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the ambience of the room, the Buddha painted on the wall.

Disliked: Maria left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It actually feels more like a hotel as it's a really nice little place. It's also in a great spot, right on the two streets you can actually walk around safely at night on. Grocery store across the street, water a few blocks away. Really a pretty sweet little place other than the price, which is a bit expensive. But I would stay again as the location makes it worth the extra few bucks. It is on a busy street but we slept with earplugs and slept great. Staff also recommended a vegetarian place for us which turned out to be surprisingly nice.

Disliked: Just a bit expensive but other than that fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and spacious rooms. Airconditioning. Within walking distance of all mayor attractions.

Disliked: The rooms on the third floor are a bit noisy, You can hear all the traffic on the road.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Ong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Good location downtown close to all the sites

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable, safe, helpful staff, good location.

Disliked: Wifi only works in common area

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We felt very comfortable. Room and bathroom were clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent!

Disliked: The building's entrance was rundown as well as the elevator and had no sign or security guard. We arrived at night and the neighborhood was desolated. We felt suspicios at first glance.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Lymbery

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: The people were friendly and said they were worried about me when I went out for a walk and didnt return for many hours. The also took a contact phone number in my home country.

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2012

Liked: Clean room, comfortable bed, helpful staff.

Disliked: Very noisy--had trouble sleeping even with ear plugs in. The windows facing the street did not block any traffic noise. Wi-fi was only reliable in the common area, and the router crashed pretty regularly, requiring a reset.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Sneddon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

07 October 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, nice kitchen to cook in. Great breakfast!! Very nice bread and a toaster!! Comes with eggs and yummy jams. Our booking for a double room ended up being a triple room for the same price with a great view over Guayaquil.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isabelle Truyers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

07 October 2012 Isabelle would recommend this property

Liked: The bathroom was very clean and breakfast was included in the price

Disliked: We only stayed for one night (arrived late and had an early connection flight) so not much time to find any dislikes

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Koen en Linda

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2012 Koen would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms, living and communial kitchen are very clean and location is close to all toerist attractions. It's a good please to stay

Disliked: Room on the street side are a bit noizy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nicely designed and clean accommodations. Breakfast included with eggs and as much toast as you like. Free internet and very helpful staff. Location is close to a huge supermarket. Easy to walk to the waterfront and Parque Seminario where you can find the cute green iguanas. Casa de Romero even stored my big suitcase while I was travelling to Puerto Lopez for three nights. Absolutely safe. Thanks a lot again.

Disliked: The front desk is not always staffed. Sometimes you have to wait a while or other guest have to let you in as it happened to me when I wanted to check in for the first time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean room with clean bathroom and towels. Friendly and helpful stuff. Nice atmosphere. Fast internet. Nice kitchen

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Hendy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Fast internet service, spacious, clean, modern rooms with added availability of using the kitchen.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tania Connolly

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 Tania would recommend this property

Liked: Secure, central location. Aircon in rooms. Nice staff.

Disliked: Tania left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We've been travelling for a long time and to find somewhere homely is recharge is a rarity! The helpful and friendly staff are full of advice on what to see and the location is perfect for everything! But, if you feel lil sitting on the WIFI or watching a movie or simply just having a sleepin in a nice clean bed your not only comfortable but very welcome!

Disliked: Not sign posted on the road but not such a big deal.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location one block from main street and 6 blocks from the Malecon. Friendly staff gave good advise on what to do and safe streets. Room was big.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El hostel tiene una buena ubicacion y las instalaciones son excelentes. Super limpio y el staff muy amable. Es recomendable si buscan una estadia tranquila, sin clima de fiesta.

Disliked: Lo unico malo en toda la estadia fue un error en relacion a la reserva que teniamos. Es el unico punto debil que le encontramos al hostel: les falta un sistema confiable en cuanto a las reservas.. Llamen y reconfirmen que la misma esta en condiciones. De todas formas, nos solucionaron el problema.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was near the centre of Guayaquil

Disliked: Not much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, safe pick up. Very clean and comfortable. As soon as you walk inside you feel at home. Walking distance to attractions and enjoyed our stay here, thank you. They even cooked us eggs in the morning for breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.