HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Tangara Guest House

Guesthouse | Manuela Sáenz & O´Leary, block F, house 1, Ciudadela Bolivariana Guayaquil, Ecuador 09-01-10275

81.9% Overall Rating

39 out of 46 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/02/2014)

"My hosts were very welcoming and even though my plane was late a young man with Tangara waited an extra hour for me to arrive and take me to Tangara."

Read all Tangara Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Newspapers
  • Outside area
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Payment is to be in cash on arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guayaquil?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guayaquil

Hotel Jeshua
18.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.7% 16 reviews
Hostal Suites Madrid
16.99 USD

Guesthouse 83.0% 24 reviews
RE bed and breakfast
17.00 USD

Hostel 98.2% 13 reviews
Atlantic Suites Hostal
14.00 USD

Hostel 82.9% 4 reviews
Casa de Romero
20.00 USD

Hostel 91.0% 149 reviews
Hostel Nucapacha
12.50 USD

Hostel 82.9% 85 reviews
Manso Boutique Guesthouse
13.93 USD

Guesthouse 89.7% 92 reviews
Funky Monkey Hostel and Camping
10.25 USD

Hostel 72.2% 39 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.9%

Overall Rating

39 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tangara Guest House'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
72.8%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 29 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My hosts were very welcoming and even though my plane was late a young man with Tangara waited an extra hour for me to arrive and take me to Tangara.

Disliked: I was a little nervous because my room did to not have burglar bars on the window as some other rooms did.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012

Liked: -Staff very friendly and helpful -Property clean and orderly -Wi-fi worked well -Hot shower

Disliked: -Breakfast was so-so -Room perhaps overpriced for age of property and location -Jets flying low overhead (really loud) until past midnight -Location is **horrible**: there are no bars, and almost no restaurants (just fried food stalls) within walking distance; when I walked out at night to find food at 8:30 pm the streets around the hostel were totally deserted and it felt unsafe. It was a 10 minute walk to the nearest food stall, which was at the Malecón along the river. If you are looking for an area with places to sit and eat, have coffee, or perhaps go to a bar and drink within safe walking distance, there is no way I would recommend Tangara. I can't really think of a type of traveller this location would appeal to.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, big room with a big bathroom, hot wather, tv, wifi... nice place, faraway from the touristplace but the taxis are cheap!!!

Disliked: Nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Sara Quigley

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2011 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was quite helpful.

Disliked: There were cobwebs in the room. The location was a bit sketchy, especially at night. The staff did a good job of warning us about that, and gave us maps to give to any taxi driver who would bring us back at night.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

jim hall

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2010 jim would recommend this property

Liked: i arrived here early and they managed to accomodate me in fact my room was ready. the place is secure and the staff is very helpfull. the room is large and bed was comfortable and plenty of hot water and good pressure. breakfast this morning was excellent. my only complaint is that the airplanes take off just over head during the day every 15 minutes or so until about 10 pm then mostly stop until morning. fan in room helped to drown out noise. otherwise it was perfect choice.

Disliked: noisy when planes take off and can´t hear television in room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Brecht

15 August 2009 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful......gracious hospitality

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice place and a very helpful owner/travel agent. Good place at a fair price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

18 February 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free internet at the hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

29 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to airport...friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We very apreciated the friendly atmosphere and the location near the university with a lot of facilities, bistros etc.. Surprisingly the hostel provided the possibility to use common rooms incl. Internet and to have a shower(public) before we left at midnight. Great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Melissa Ballantine

17 November 2008 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, Helpful staff, good amenities - nice kitchen, fast internet access, nice room

Disliked: Melissa left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

08 September 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful paintings.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gricelda Iglesias

19 June 2008 Gricelda would recommend this property

Liked: I felt like home.

Disliked: Gricelda left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Ashley stuart

31 May 2008 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable

Disliked: Ashley left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

29 May 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and good security.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alejandro piedrahita

07 May 2008 alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff

Disliked: alejandro left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Diana Lejins

27 April 2008 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: What a lovely treasure. The staff and family made my stay wonderful. I am so glad that I did not heed my travel agent advice about Guyaquil and visited it anyway. It is an interesting city and I enjoyed my stay there.

Disliked: Diana left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 April 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

23 March 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location between downtown and the airport were good for us. There was internet, national phonecalls included and telephones in rooms, breakfast sufficient, airconditioning in rooms, plants and art a plus.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

28 January 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean, near the airport, air conditionated,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

alina phillips

25 November 2007 alina would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff.Lovely braekast and willing to do laundry for a small charge

Disliked: alina left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 August 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Travel agency with great service in the hostal

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margarita Ramos

06 August 2007 Margarita would recommend this property

Liked: the owners, antonio and alicia are very friendly and helpful. they made sure that my request for a taxi the following day at 5am is attended to and they even had a light breakfast prepared for me that early in the morning... very homey atmosphere.

Disliked: Margarita left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 August 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very helpful and the guest house is lovely, relaxed and a perfect place to stay while in Guayaquil. It was just a little more expensive than we were expecting.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

24 July 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.