We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Galapagos Best Home Stay

Guesthouse | Santa Cruz Island Galapagos, Puerto Ayora, Escalesia Ave Piqueros Galapagos, Ecuador 9999

87.5% Overall Rating

120 out of 123 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/04/2015)

"Kevin greeted us on arrival and he was very friendly. He took us on a free tour of the area (very helpful!) and pointed out restaurants, banks, tour agencies etc. We had a private room with a bathroom and..air…"

Read all Galapagos Best Home Stay reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Children's play area
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

***Credit cards not accepted. Cash only on arrival***

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Galapagos?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

120 out of 123 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Galapagos Best Home Stay'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
88.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 96 of 121 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Bit out of the way

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kevin greeted us on arrival and he was very friendly. He took us on a free tour of the area (very helpful!) and pointed out restaurants, banks, tour agencies etc. We had a private room with a bathroom and..air conditioning!! Had a kitchen area with free drinking water and a fridge. Our bed was made everyday and a general clean - towels weren't changed everyday but the option was there if you simply asked which was fine with us! You could borrow beach towels from them and a bag to carry them in which was very handy! You could buy cold beers and soft drinks from the main reception area. WiFi isn't great anywhere in Galapagos so don't expect fast Internet - hostel still provides WiFi access though. Location is about 20 minutes away from the main strip but if you don't mind walking, it's not that bad. If you do mind walking, a taxi to and from the main road is only $1! A couple of corner shops and launderettes less than 1 minute away. Great hostel!

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Garreth Curran

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2015 Garreth would recommend this property

Liked: Large room, hot water, lots of free drinking water, fridge, 2 showers and 2 toilets.

Disliked: Confusion over amount to pay. 15% deposit was paid and that seemed to be an issue. The total room price was $56 and the girl at reception was only taking $4 off the room price instead of $8.40. I even had the print out stating the amount due in dollars. Wifi is terrible. It's actually pointless having it because it's not functional.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Carmen Renschler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 February 2015 Carmen would recommend this property

Liked: Grosse räume, super klimaanlage, gute betten, in jedem raum eine kleine kochnische

Disliked: Ich geh gerne zu Fuß! Trotzdem es ist ziemlich abseits und abends für eine frau alleine zu abgelegen. Klar kann man ein taxi nehmen, aber trotzdem.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was large and very clean with small private balcony. Good water pressure for shower. Room even had a mini-kitchenette and fridge.

Disliked: Location is really inconvenient to waterfront and center of town. You need to take a taxi each way, which is only $1. WiFi is slow.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

15 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value. We had a great room with a refrig and stove. Liked the neighborhood the hostel was located in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elleonora Nagasava

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 September 2014 Elleonora would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly and helpfull. The room is clean, the shower is good, there is a small kitchen inside your room, comfortable beds with clean blankets.

Disliked: Nothing with the property but if its a little closer to the main street would be perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness.

Disliked: Heavy smell of bleach in rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hayley Mighall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: Kevin is so helpful and informative. On arrival I was provided with a full orientation of the island which really helped me to plan my stay. His advice was invaluable!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eva-Maria Heigl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2014 Eva-Maria would recommend this property

Liked: We especially liked the room on the 2nd floor, because from the patio you have a nice view over the city and you even see the ocean. Kevin, the owner, is very friendly and took a lot of time to explain to us the city and the sights and to answer all our questions. There are soft (!!!!) pillows in the rooms, which is such a rare pleasure in South America!! More benefits: fresh drinking water in the room and luggage-lockers at the lobby.

Disliked: Windows are not very well insulated against noise, especially if you have a room facing the road. But this is the same everywhere in Ecuador we've been so far. And luckily, it is a rather quiet side-street.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mark Glasgow

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 August 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Comes with free water in the rooms. Kitchenette in the room allows to cook our own meals. Kevin is friendly and offers a free tour of the town on arrival. Nice hot shower.

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Newbigging

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2014 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious rooms with very serviceable kitchen. The owner (Kevin) is very helpful.

Disliked: Bit far from the center of town, but the $1 taxis are everywhere so this doesn't pose a real problem.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tamara Salter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2014

Liked: Clean rooms (although the bathroom in the dorm on the ground floor does always smell of urine!), great to have a fridge and cooking space and drinking water. Comfortable beds

Disliked: Wifi didn't even connect, and struggled to use the PC also. Wasn't offered this free tour when I arrived and there seems to be some lack of communication between staff as had a Few issues being assigned the right bed/room and moving my belongings. Was close enough to walk to town 15/20mins to the further end near darwin centre, but another ten mins to the main port/harbour! Can actually find dorms and privates on the main road for same price with decent wifi and much more convenient

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ich kann Best Home Stay nur empfehlen. Es wird tatsächlich grosser Wert darauf gelegt, dass man sich wohl fühlt und das ist in diesem gemütlichen und sehr sauberen Hostel auch nicht schwer.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed one night with my girlfriend prior to going on a tour. Kevin was really helpful and knowledgeable way beyond what I expect of a manager. He knew about everything and had great advice regarding every feature of my stay on the islands. I cannot fault Kevin for anything and was hands down the most personable and helpful hostel operator I have ever met, I would say the tripadvisor certificate is well deserved. Accommodation logistics. The room was fitted with almost every conceivable amenity. Check the room details. I felt respected having so many facilities and this allowed me a different experience than just dinner at a restaurant. I appreciated, and heavily used the drinking water and fridge. Note that this place is a 15 minute walk from the port. This should not be seen as a negative I am forewarning you should take a hat and study the map more. This place is the best in Puerto Ayora and you will feel this when you put the map away and step through the front gate. David

Disliked: Nothing whatsoever

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Esekaia Kamunaga

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2014 Esekaia would recommend this property

Liked: An excellent place to stay. The host Kevin is a great gentleman and very helpful. His familiarisation tour downtown after you check in is a worthwhile exercise.

Disliked: A slight distance from downtown but this does not take away everything else that this place has going for it. And taxi to town is only USD1.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kevin and his wife are awesome hosts and the accommodation was great.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ronny Richter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

24 April 2014 Ronny would recommend this property

Liked: - friendly staff - very clean

Disliked: Ronny left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malgorzata Janecka

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014 Malgorzata would recommend this property

Liked: Welcome letter with details how to find a hostel; city tour on the main points (cash withdraw, restaurants, market, travel agencies), support in finding a solutions for unexpected situation.

Disliked: Recommended Travel Operator not delivered good service in some tours - agreed time and specified boats was changed without information for me. Agency name - Joybe Tours S.A. I suggest to compare offer with other agencies in a Puerto Ayora.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Flemming Hemdorff

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

10 April 2014 Flemming would recommend this property

Liked: They run this hostel like a hotel with clean towel and your bed maked up every day really nice

Disliked: Seaview yes from the top of the hill.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its great service and cleanliness. Kevin is super helpful. Hot showers, internet the whole package!

Disliked: Its a little bit of a walk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooms. Great personal attention from owner. Spotless clean. Best hostel ever stayed at!!

Disliked: If anything could use a mirror in the room in addition to the bathroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly nature of the owners. Great greeting with town tour to orientate yourself on arrival. Nothing was too much trouble. Spacious rooms with air con. Kitchenette within room well equipped and clean. Beer and milk for sale. One delicious and one nutritious.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kevin, the owner, gives a very usefull and comprehensive free walking tour of Puerto Ayora! This can utlimately make the difference on your approach to the Santa Cruz by potentially making you win some time and money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner is more than helpful and friendly. He has all the information and directs you to fair services/tours elsewhere.

Disliked: Taxi almost anywhere, but at least it's only one dollar e ery taxi ride.