HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Alternative Hostels Cuenca Hostel

Av. Huayna Capac y Casique Duma Esq., Cuenca, Ecuador

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 91%

Location 73%

Safety 98%

Staff 90%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cuenca?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 91%

Location 73%

Safety 98%

Staff 90%

Value 90%

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The accommodations, atmosphere, location and staff were all excellent! I really enjoyed my stay!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff is friendly, the hostel is very cool looking, good facilities and nice rooms. I had a really good stay at this hostel

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff is super helpful and the setup of the building is pleasing. We watched movies in the lounge area every night comfortably, and the rooms and bathroom were very clean. The setup of the building allows for you to easily meet other travelers as well. The building was also very secure (have to be buzzed in the front door), and the staff would accommodate to us coming and going whenever we needed and even called to arrange tourist activities with agencies, as well as a cab to the airport at the end of out stay. There is a fridge in the full kitchen to leave food in and free coffee or tea as well. I really liked this place!

Disliked: I didn't get consistently hot showers, but the hot water always eventually worked...this is typical when in Ecuador in general though...

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was fairly clean and had a kitchen- right next to our room of course. The hot water was also a bonus.

Disliked: The location is completely awful, at least a 20 minute walk to anything you would want to see or do. There are about 50 other, many cheaper and better value hostels, one will pass on the walk to the city center. It is very loud. Our room was right next to the kitchen, which was really noisy and meant everyone used the only bathroom on our floor. We ended up changing hostels, paying less, and having a far better stay elsewhere. We gave notice of an early departure, yet they refused to honour the deposit we paid for the two nights we actually stayed.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Alternative Hostels provided exactly what I was looking for during my weekend in Cueca: a clean, safe place to stay and safely leave my belongings while exploring the city. The people at the front desk were helpful, providing us with maps and any information we asked for. The wifi connection is also very good.

Disliked: The hostal lacks a bit of character. It's not necessarily the best place to stay if youre looking to meet people, however, it was perfect for what I was looking for! It is not in the middle of downtown Cuenca (about 15 minute walk), but it provided us with the chance to explore other parts of the city that we may have not seen had we stayed right in the center of downtown !

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Good hostel, full stocked kitchen, locks on doors, towel, clean and TV lounge and patio

Disliked: You pay 50¢ a day. O use lockers

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean, great showers, great kitchen - best we've had, so clean and well equipped and they provide salt pepper etc.

Disliked: Not much atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: New and clean feel to it. Small but very well equipped kitchen.

Disliked: Not very close to anything. No control over noise by guests very late.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Lovely and cleanGreat staffFree coffeeThey give you a map

Disliked: edbdlittleadventures.blogspot.comNothing. I liked this hostel

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Clean, cheap, good atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability