We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cuenca hostels

Reviews of Alternative Hostels

Hostel | Av. Huayna Capac, Casique Duma. Esq., Cuenca, Ecuador EC010110

89.4% Overall Rating

64 out of 68 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2014)

"The staff is super helpful and the setup of the building is pleasing. We watched movies in the lounge area every night comfortably, and the rooms and bathroom were very clean. The setup of the building allows for you to…"

Read all Alternative Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cuenca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cuenca

Hostal Villa Del Rosario
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 84 reviews
Hostal Hogar Cuencano
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 38 reviews
Hostal casa del Barranco
19.50 USD

Guesthouse 80.7% 41 reviews
Bauhouse hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 87.8% 14 reviews
Hostaled La Casona
30.50 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Villa Nova Inn
32.52 USD

Hotel 95.4% 15 reviews
Mallki Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Macondo
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 84.5% 35 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

64 out of 68 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alternative Hostels'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 56 of 67 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is super helpful and the setup of the building is pleasing. We watched movies in the lounge area every night comfortably, and the rooms and bathroom were very clean. The setup of the building allows for you to easily meet other travelers as well. The building was also very secure (have to be buzzed in the front door), and the staff would accommodate to us coming and going whenever we needed and even called to arrange tourist activities with agencies, as well as a cab to the airport at the end of out stay. There is a fridge in the full kitchen to leave food in and free coffee or tea as well. I really liked this place!

Disliked: I didn't get consistently hot showers, but the hot water always eventually worked...this is typical when in Ecuador in general though...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014

Liked: The hostel was fairly clean and had a kitchen- right next to our room of course. The hot water was also a bonus.

Disliked: The location is completely awful, at least a 20 minute walk to anything you would want to see or do. There are about 50 other, many cheaper and better value hostels, one will pass on the walk to the city center. It is very loud. Our room was right next to the kitchen, which was really noisy and meant everyone used the only bathroom on our floor. We ended up changing hostels, paying less, and having a far better stay elsewhere. We gave notice of an early departure, yet they refused to honour the deposit we paid for the two nights we actually stayed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lindsey Duel

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Lindsey would recommend this property

Liked: Alternative Hostels provided exactly what I was looking for during my weekend in Cueca: a clean, safe place to stay and safely leave my belongings while exploring the city. The people at the front desk were helpful, providing us with maps and any information we asked for. The wifi connection is also very good.

Disliked: The hostal lacks a bit of character. It's not necessarily the best place to stay if youre looking to meet people, however, it was perfect for what I was looking for! It is not in the middle of downtown Cuenca (about 15 minute walk), but it provided us with the chance to explore other parts of the city that we may have not seen had we stayed right in the center of downtown !

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tara peat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

17 March 2014 tara would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, full stocked kitchen, locks on doors, towel, clean and TV lounge and patio

Disliked: You pay 50¢ a day. O use lockers

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, great showers, great kitchen - best we've had, so clean and well equipped and they provide salt pepper etc.

Disliked: Not much atmosphere.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Duncan Allardyce

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2014 Duncan would recommend this property

Liked: New and clean feel to it. Small but very well equipped kitchen.

Disliked: Not very close to anything. No control over noise by guests very late.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma downes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2014 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely and clean Great staff Free coffee They give you a map

Disliked: edbdlittleadventures.blogspot.com Nothing. I liked this hostel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

31 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, cheap, good atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Verena Margraf

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 Verena would recommend this property

Liked: nice, clean

Disliked: internet sometimes does not work

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we liked that it is bright, clean and has a decent kitchen. There is a little convenience store next door with necessities and a bakery a few doors down. The bathrooms were nice and one or the other was always free; very important. You can walk to town center and it's kiddie corner to the big museum (museo Banco Central), you can say that to taxi drivers. The views from the patios are lovely.

Disliked: It's on a big, busy street.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Alternative hostel was more than hostel. You can get fresh bath towel every day, shampoo and soap as well! Perfect hot shower and bath room. Kitchen is very clean too. Great location. Everything is whitin walking distance. You can enjoy coffee all day long of you want and coffee isn't Nescafé.. Friendly and helpful staff can assist you very well. Enough outlet for the charge in the roo as wel.

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alexis hurt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013 alexis would recommend this property

Liked: Best bed I have had for 2 + months

Disliked: alexis left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Michelle Judge

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Great kitchen, friendly staff, very clean bathrooms. Lovely comfortable beds. Good security. GOod location next to the museum, walking distance to historic center and supermarket.

Disliked: Street noise in some rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very comfortable and clean!

Disliked: The dorm on the first floor is very noisy- one can hear the TV and the sounds coming from the kitchen.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sung Baek

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Sung would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, insanely hot showers, nice kitchen.

Disliked: All the beds were twins, the rooms are a bit small, and the noise from the kitchen echoes throughout the building.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel looks very nice, clean, staff is quite helpful (although sometimes it's clear they don't speak English that well). Beds are comfortable, showers are nice and hot. Kitchen is well equipped with everything you need, including a blender and an electrical oven. WiFi is pretty fast and stable, even in the rooms.

Disliked: Noise travels a lot - even though we were on a higher floor, you could hear everything going on in the kitchen (including people chopping stuff). Location is only so-so: about 15-20 min walk to the supermarket, around 30 min walk to the main square.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martina Simon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2013 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean Hostel. Very friendly staff. Highli recommended.

Disliked: Its a little bit out of the centre and in the evening its recommended to take a cab to the city centre

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff and kitchen

Disliked: A bit noisy at night - all rooms face onto the common area where people watch movies and listen to loud music.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very clean hostel. The kitchen was excellent and the staff willing to answer any questions in English. Excellent wifi and comfy beds.

Disliked: Because the the design of the hostel (around a central area) the noise does travel so may not be good for light sleepers or people who want to lie in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was super clean. The beds sooo comfy, Fresh towels every day (not sure if the new towel a day was a mistake by them or if it was standard, but it was amazing anyway!). The shower was almost too hot! Kitchen had everything. Free coffee. Walking distance to a big supermarket and mercado central. Internet fast. I wish I could take this hostel with me!

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alisha Yee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 Alisha would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostal! Rooms were very clean and beds were comfortable. Bathrooms and showers were cleaned everyday - hot water and great pressure. Kitchen facilities were good, and the front desk staff was very helpul (and good English too!). Unique layout, and awesome outside terrace. I would definitely stay here again

Disliked: Alisha left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great fully equipped kitchen, and fantastic hot showers with good water pressure. Towels and soap/shampoo(!) provided. Very comfortable beds, and several nice common areas. Staff were very helpful and spoke some English. Generally very clean and fairly new interior.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

VIKTORIA VIZI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2013 VIKTORIA would recommend this property

Liked: i had a Great time in the Alternative hostel.Met lots of nice people! The rooms are spotless,the hot showers are great! Towel and shampoo is included in the price and the you can serv yourself with free coffee all day long!!Really short walk to the centre and the bus station is close as well on foot!

Disliked: VIKTORIA left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and basic, lots of hang out areas, roof top and balcony. Comfy beds

Disliked: A bit soul-less, not much character.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Grahame Vowles

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

28 January 2013 Grahame would recommend this property

Liked: - Off street parking for motorcycles. - Quirky design which works rather well - Big outdoor balcony - Cleanliness

Disliked: Grahame left no negative feedback.


See all Cuenca hostels