We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cuenca hostels

Reviews of Hostal Villa Del Rosario

Guesthouse | Honorato Vasquez 5-25, y Mariano Cueva, Cuenca, Ecuador -

88.6% Overall Rating

77 out of 84 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/04/2014)

Janice Tanguay thinks…

"Wonderful location to el centro. . .owners are very friendly and go above and beyond to make your stay a great one---fell like you are actually staying in their home. Though the owners speak no…"

Read all Hostal Villa Del Rosario reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cuenca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cuenca

Hostal Hogar Cuencano
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 38 reviews
Alternative Hostels
9.00 USD

Hostel 89.4% 68 reviews
Hostal casa del Barranco
19.50 USD

Guesthouse 80.7% 41 reviews
Bauhouse hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 87.8% 14 reviews
Hostaled La Casona
30.50 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Mallki Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Villa Nova Inn
32.52 USD

Hotel 95.4% 15 reviews
Hostal Macondo
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 84.5% 35 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

77 out of 84 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Villa Del Rosario'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 68 of 83 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly, clean and very well located.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janice Tanguay

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

12 April 2014 Janice would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful location to el centro. . .owners are very friendly and go above and beyond to make your stay a great one---fell like you are actually staying in their home. Though the owners speak no English and we speak very little Spanish, we always were able to communicate effectively. They sometimes have a English/Spanish translator available and there are usually others in the hostel that can translate. On our final morning there, the owner called us a taxi and ran out to the street to make sure that the taxi we were getting in was the one she called and knew the location where we needed to be dropped. We departed with a big hug and promises to return in the future.

Disliked: nothing negative to report

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roberta Korcz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Roberta would recommend this property

Liked: It is a beautiful building with a great courtyard and dining area.

Disliked: If you are arriving late, be sure to know that reception is next door and may be closed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Family-run Hostel, friendly atmosphere, good value for money

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere the owners even organized a new years eve party for all the guests.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Traditional Cuencan house. It was as if I were staying with a local family. Friendly owners. Quiet location yet central to all of Cuenca´s historic sights.

Disliked: The no-smoking rules were not enforced in the common area whereby cigarette smoke wafts into the surrounding rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Prox to malecon and shopping district. Large rooms with private bath. Computer always available for use.

Disliked: Nothing.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

07 August 2013

Liked: I saw a hummingbird in their freezing, damp, roofless 'lounge' next to the cold and damp, dirty bedrooms.

Disliked: The room was dark, damp, cold, and made me feel like I was about to get sick. The sheets had hairs on them, so we asked them to clean them. The staff were unfriendly. The head of staff, a woman named Dolores, did not return our money for the night we decided not to stay due to the cold, damp, and dirty room. (We paid $24/night for 2 people up front). We were very polite about it (we had tried to take a nap on the first day but it was so gross, smelly, cold and damp that we could not sleep so we found other accommodations) but Dolores refused to reimburse us for the second night. (We did not ask or expect to be reimbursed for the first night, even though we did not stay there.) She was lying to our faces that the owner had already collected money, saying it with a smirk. It was a very uncomfortable situation.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great showers, lovely owners who made you feel welcome, got to check in early and it has a nice courtyard area!

Disliked: We had net curtains covering our window so stayed pretty light...not a big deal really!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Rowley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely, friendly staff, really helpful, great location.

Disliked: Beds a bit saggy and uncomfortable

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a very nice atmosphere and the staff is very helpful. The location is two blocks from the center, in a quiet area.

Disliked: The kitchen is nice, but the equipment is not that good.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super friendly owners, very helpful, feels like a homestay nice price

Disliked: no sence for cleaness or atmosphere in the whole building

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely owner who doesn't speak a word of English but tries quite hard. Rooms set around a gorgeous courtyard. Really nice location near middle of town near micro-brewery and lots of cute little restaurants.

Disliked: The kitchen wasn't entirely workable, and the private bathroom was not closed off from the bedroom. I'm not so sure how clean the shower was. It kept clogging up, especially by our third day, because there is no cleaning service.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very friendly and helpful. The location is central but quite. During the holiday season a lot of the restaurants and bars in the neighbourhood were closed, but at other times you find a lot to go out. The property is clean and has good WiFi connection. The kitchen is usable for coffee making. The patio is nicely planted and there are even flowers und the shared bath area. Water is hot. Our double room was spacious enough und had large shelfs for storing clothes. We were spontaneoulsy invited to the new year's party they had in the kitchen area! Really nice.

Disliked: I was freezing a bit at day time as outside temperatures were not the hottest.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ryan James

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2012

Liked: The location is okay. There are a number of restaurants within 2-3 blocks. Downtown is a 15-20 minute walk.

Disliked: They don't speak English. Our bedroom is right next to a huge patio. The 2nd night we were here, we returned at 9pm to find out they were having a 2nd year anniversary party for the hostel. There were about 20 guests with live and recorded music that was unbearably loud. They played party games that created more noise. This continued to 2:30 am. We were so angry, we almost left, but since we had only one more night, we decided not to waste our day looking for another accommodation. They never come in to clean out the toilet paper from the bathroom. You cannot put it in the toilet, so cleaning it daily would be hygenic. They are barely around for questions, but when they are, they don't speak English.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

William Giuggio

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was completely one of the sweetest guys I've met. He was really looking out for you and cared about you. That is really had to find but he really made that impression on me. He helped me with everything.

Disliked: The bed was a little uncomfortable but for the price I was able to have my own little room with privacy and I was fine with a little soreness in the back. :D

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sergio Salgado

Alone

Business / conference

19 November 2012 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the owners were available all the time and they were great people. The room was big enough and the bathroon and hot watr was awsome. Also I liked the common rooms, were one can sit down and talk, relax, or just use the computer. Great hotel. To the left one kind find great resturants and bars.

Disliked: The bed was kind of soft for myself. to the right of the hotel teh neighborhood isnt the best.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

beth hamilton

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

16 November 2012 beth would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and plenty of space to mixwith other travellers.

Disliked: Don't get the front room. It is next to the road and also the front door, so is very loud. Wifi went off occassionally.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Wi-Fi & hot water

Disliked: The kitchen wasn't available for cooking breakfast as the hostel staff use it to prepare paid guest breakfasts.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luisa Margiotta

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2012 Luisa would recommend this property

Liked: We had a lovely 2 night stay by the incredibly welcoming husband and wife that ran the hostel. There was a bit of a mix up with our room as we were given an upgrade to a large double with ensuite which had a nice hot water shower and towels; it was very nice. The couple gave us the room for the original price we agreed upon which was very generous of them. Breakfast wasn't included but was available for only $2.50 which was eggs, bread (with jam and butter), juice and coffee, tea or hot chocolate. Overall the hostel was beautiful, the staff very friendly and helpful and I would highly recommend it!

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Villa del Rosario is in a great location, right in a very interesting part of Cuenca's old city and close to the river. The interior courtyard is attractive, they provide kitchen facilities, it is kept very clean and the WIFI quality is excellent.

Disliked: We were only there for one night, but it was empty - good for quiet, but it took away from the atmosphere. That was the main detraction for us, the lack of a cogenial atmosphere.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We ended up in a double room with ensuite. The room had a lot of character and the shoeers were hot. Although the owners spoke no English the were friendly and tried to be very helpful. The hostel had a nice sitting area and a lovely garden.

Disliked: From previous reviews we suspected that the owners are not up on bookings so we sent an email (although it was in English). Sure enough they were not aware of our booking. We had booked two doubles with shared bathroom. We ended up in an ensuite room whilst our friends were in an 8 bed dorm to themselves with an ensuite (although the shower and toilet did not work). When we were leaving the owners wanted to charge us for ensuite rooms although they eventually honoured our hostelbookers booking.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2012

Liked: The location was great. Staff were helpful and friendly

Disliked: Could do with a good clean. There were only 2 showers for everyone, not nearly enough. No breakfast to speak of but there were good restaurants nearby offering good food.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Davies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is clean and in a good location, but it feels much more like a guest house than a hostel. I'm not sure if anyone else was staying there when we were, but we didn't see anyone. The room was nice enough, and the hostel has a kitchen you can use.

Disliked: There's no real communal area where you can sit and relax. There's tables near the kitchen, and a small 'library' but they're both outside. We barely saw the owner, so couldn't ask things about buses or banks, etc. Really doesn't feel like a hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mika Hiltunen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Mika would recommend this property

Liked: The room was big and simple. Place was clean and the inner garden gives to the place a nice special touch. Staff was happy and friendly when we saw them - even we didn't have a common language. They clean the bathrooms at least once per day. The location is excellent: just one block from Calle Larga. There are number of restaurants just in few blocks and laundry service is located just around the corner. For ATM you have to walk few blocks.

Disliked: If the place has reception, we have any idea where it is. We just hoped to see the staff in garden when we needed them. If you need some kind of service, you better learn Spanish or choose other accommodation. The walls are quite thin and sound insulation is poor. If there are customers who like to talk loudly in their room (or even worse, in the garden) you can hear them all.


See all Cuenca hostels