We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cuenca hostels

Reviews of Hostal casa del Barranco

Guesthouse | Calle Larga 841 y Luis Cordero, Cuenca, Ecuador 000

80.7% Overall Rating

33 out of 41 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/10/2011)

Gordana Johnson thinks…

"The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, the property is on the excellent location and has a lot of charm."

Read all Hostal casa del Barranco reviews

Facilities

  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cuenca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cuenca

Hostal Hogar Cuencano
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 38 reviews
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 84 reviews
Mallki Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Bauhouse hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 87.8% 14 reviews
Hostaled La Casona
30.50 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Villa Nova Inn
32.52 USD

Hotel 95.4% 15 reviews
Alternative Hostels
9.00 USD

Hostel 89.4% 68 reviews
Hostal Macondo
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 84.5% 35 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.7%

Overall Rating

33 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal casa del Barranco'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
81.6%
Value
73.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 34 of 38 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergio Leandro Mora

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014 Sergio Leandro would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent view to the Tomebamba river. Good location.

Disliked: Sergio Leandro left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff

Disliked: you can not have any vistors. even if its your best bud bring you a aspirin they must wait in lobby and you have to go see them. early noise from guest and staff going by room to cafe down stairs. but i did not ask to be moved i had a room with a view.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gordana Johnson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2011 Gordana would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, the property is on the excellent location and has a lot of charm.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very clean and staff very helpful. They bought a cake for our son's birthday.

Disliked: The hot water isn't always there and the internet connection drops out constantly. You pay an extra $1 for eggs with breakfast.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Simon Lindsay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and swell!

Disliked: The cost can be a little bite cheaper

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Evandro Holz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2010 Evandro would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, lots of space, good location, nice view from the restaurant.

Disliked: Environment seems kinda cold.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Allan Beard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2010 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast and super clean. Staff were always ready to help with anything. Great hot water!!!

Disliked: If they give a downstairs room, ask to be moved! These are possibly the noisiest rooms I have ever stayed in. You will hear every foot step if someone is above you and they start early!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

29 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, good shower, good wifi, good breakfast with eggs and nice bread

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hidde Rupp

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

28 August 2010 Hidde would recommend this property

Liked: character property, large, comfortable room, very friendly staff, nice breakfast

Disliked: there were no mirrors in our room

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

30 July 2010

Liked: Nothing,

Disliked: Everithing, in very noise street. Filthy, ugly, tiny room, with not ventilation, or windows for $30?. Think twice before you book this, Just on advice.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

David Collis

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2010

Liked: Some staff were friendly and the breakfast was great - eggs and nice bread included in price.

Disliked: Room stank of paint - we had to move after our first night as it gave us a headache. Perhaps the hostel will be nicer when the paint has finished drying. Language was a problem for us a bit as very few staff spoke english. It was easy enough to sort out rooms, but difficult to get useful information about the area and about trips (e.g. ingapirca/devils nose)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margaux Caffa

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2010 Margaux would recommend this property

Liked: Highly recommend this hostel! Great room, very clean, lovely terrace and breakfast area.

Disliked: Margaux left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

caroline scott

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2010

Liked: the location, the cleaning lady was very nice.

Disliked: They didnt have a good customer service attitude, I accidentally cracked the glass on the coffee table, and they charged me for it, which I just thought was a bit unfriendly, so I moved hostals, also there is no kitchen and it's a bit of gloomy dark place to stay.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

22 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to all the things of interest. Rooms are ok, it gets a little bit noisy in the mornings as it's on a main road. Very nice terrace for breakfast, food is pretty decent too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

19 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff...good city hotel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

jesus utia

24 February 2010 jesus would recommend this property

Liked: i like room, but no soap nither shampoo

Disliked: jesus left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of my favourites. The staff are so friendly - we arrived 2 days after our reservation due to illness and bus problems but they were so understanding and accommodating. Rooms are really clean and well-maintained, great breakfast, great location...overall excellent value for money. More of a guesthouse rather than a hostel so if you´re looking for a big party it´s not the liveliest place but there are plenty of cool bars nearby. I would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

26 January 2010

Liked: The location is perfect and the staff is very friendly. The view on the river from the room was awesome and relaxing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Valerie Garea Balado

01 January 2010 Valerie would recommend this property

Liked: well located to explore Cuenca. Nice hostel with good breakfast. Plenty of bars & restaurants in area. Cuenca´s pretty dead over Christmas though

Disliked: Valerie left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????GOOF???

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Wullems

31 October 2009 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: A fantastic place with fantastic staff - we arrived early in the morning after an overnight bus, they gave us breakfast and they made some phone calls to get us onto a tour of the national park that day. Couldn´t have been more helpful! Perfect location to with fantastic views over the river from the breakfast balcony.

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas y Lynn Hamann

26 October 2009 Thomas y Lynn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great. The roof had beautiful views and atmosphere, a good place to meet people, play pool or just relax in a hammock. The breakfast was excellent.

Disliked: Thomas y Lynn left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 October 2009

Liked: Great location but didnt like the room too much...maybe we have been spoilt by previous hostels but this one wasnt all that clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Cuenca hostels