HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cuenca hostels

Reviews of Hostal casa del Barranco

Guesthouse | Calle Larga 841 y Luis Cordero, Cuenca, Ecuador 000

80.7% Overall Rating

33 out of 41 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/10/2011)

Gordana Johnson thinks…

"The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, the property is on the excellent location and has a lot of charm."

Read all Hostal casa del Barranco reviews

Facilities

  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cuenca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cuenca

Hostal Hogar Cuencano
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 38 reviews
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 84 reviews
Mallki Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Bauhouse hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 89.1% 16 reviews
Hostaled La Casona
30.50 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Villa Nova Inn
32.52 USD

Hotel 95.4% 15 reviews
Alternative Hostels
9.00 USD

Hostel 89.4% 68 reviews
Hostal Macondo
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 84.5% 35 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.7%

Overall Rating

33 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal casa del Barranco'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
81.6%
Value
73.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 34 of 38 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergio Leandro Mora

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014 Sergio Leandro would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent view to the Tomebamba river. Good location.

Disliked: Sergio Leandro left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff

Disliked: you can not have any vistors. even if its your best bud bring you a aspirin they must wait in lobby and you have to go see them. early noise from guest and staff going by room to cafe down stairs. but i did not ask to be moved i had a room with a view.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gordana Johnson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2011 Gordana would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, the property is on the excellent location and has a lot of charm.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very clean and staff very helpful. They bought a cake for our son's birthday.

Disliked: The hot water isn't always there and the internet connection drops out constantly. You pay an extra $1 for eggs with breakfast.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Simon Lindsay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and swell!

Disliked: The cost can be a little bite cheaper

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Evandro Holz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2010 Evandro would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, lots of space, good location, nice view from the restaurant.

Disliked: Environment seems kinda cold.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Allan Beard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2010 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast and super clean. Staff were always ready to help with anything. Great hot water!!!

Disliked: If they give a downstairs room, ask to be moved! These are possibly the noisiest rooms I have ever stayed in. You will hear every foot step if someone is above you and they start early!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

29 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, good shower, good wifi, good breakfast with eggs and nice bread

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hidde Rupp

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

28 August 2010 Hidde would recommend this property

Liked: character property, large, comfortable room, very friendly staff, nice breakfast

Disliked: there were no mirrors in our room

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

30 July 2010

Liked: Nothing,

Disliked: Everithing, in very noise street. Filthy, ugly, tiny room, with not ventilation, or windows for $30?. Think twice before you book this, Just on advice.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

David Collis

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2010

Liked: Some staff were friendly and the breakfast was great - eggs and nice bread included in price.

Disliked: Room stank of paint - we had to move after our first night as it gave us a headache. Perhaps the hostel will be nicer when the paint has finished drying. Language was a problem for us a bit as very few staff spoke english. It was easy enough to sort out rooms, but difficult to get useful information about the area and about trips (e.g. ingapirca/devils nose)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margaux Caffa

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2010 Margaux would recommend this property

Liked: Highly recommend this hostel! Great room, very clean, lovely terrace and breakfast area.

Disliked: Margaux left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

caroline scott

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2010

Liked: the location, the cleaning lady was very nice.

Disliked: They didnt have a good customer service attitude, I accidentally cracked the glass on the coffee table, and they charged me for it, which I just thought was a bit unfriendly, so I moved hostals, also there is no kitchen and it's a bit of gloomy dark place to stay.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

22 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to all the things of interest. Rooms are ok, it gets a little bit noisy in the mornings as it's on a main road. Very nice terrace for breakfast, food is pretty decent too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

19 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff...good city hotel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

jesus utia

24 February 2010 jesus would recommend this property

Liked: i like room, but no soap nither shampoo

Disliked: jesus left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of my favourites. The staff are so friendly - we arrived 2 days after our reservation due to illness and bus problems but they were so understanding and accommodating. Rooms are really clean and well-maintained, great breakfast, great location...overall excellent value for money. More of a guesthouse rather than a hostel so if you´re looking for a big party it´s not the liveliest place but there are plenty of cool bars nearby. I would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

26 January 2010

Liked: The location is perfect and the staff is very friendly. The view on the river from the room was awesome and relaxing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Valerie Garea Balado

01 January 2010 Valerie would recommend this property

Liked: well located to explore Cuenca. Nice hostel with good breakfast. Plenty of bars & restaurants in area. Cuenca´s pretty dead over Christmas though

Disliked: Valerie left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????GOOF???

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Wullems

31 October 2009 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: A fantastic place with fantastic staff - we arrived early in the morning after an overnight bus, they gave us breakfast and they made some phone calls to get us onto a tour of the national park that day. Couldn´t have been more helpful! Perfect location to with fantastic views over the river from the breakfast balcony.

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas y Lynn Hamann

26 October 2009 Thomas y Lynn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great. The roof had beautiful views and atmosphere, a good place to meet people, play pool or just relax in a hammock. The breakfast was excellent.

Disliked: Thomas y Lynn left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 October 2009

Liked: Great location but didnt like the room too much...maybe we have been spoilt by previous hostels but this one wasnt all that clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Cuenca hostels