HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Baños hostels

Reviews of La Casa del Molino Blanco

Guesthouse | Misioneros Dominicanos, y Juan Leon Mera.Barrio S.Jose, / subida a la Virgen, Baños, Ecuador N/A

90.1% Overall Rating

18 out of 20 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/03/2014)

"Easily the cleanest hostel I've stayed in in South America. Very chill, quiet location. Nice hammocks out front. The beer was priced the same as the local tiendas which is nice. The owners were super friendly and…"

Read all La Casa del Molino Blanco reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If cancelled up to 2 days before date of arrival, no fee will be charged. If cancelled later, 100 % of the first night will be charged. In case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged. Reservations are accepted at least 2 nights and up. Only Children older than 10 years Please note that due to new regulations with Visa & Mastercard this hostel requires the 3 digit security from the back of your credit card ! Please contact us if you have any questions After check out, if you want to use the showers of the hostel has a cost per person.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Baños?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Baños

Great Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 91.0% 12 reviews
Hostal Restaurant Erupcion
8.25 USD

Guesthouse 85.5% 35 reviews
Hostal Chimenea
9.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 212 reviews
La Casa Verde
23.00 USD

Hostel 97.9% 25 reviews
Hosteria Miramelindo
39.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostal Transilvania
7.05 USD

Hostel 81.7% 39 reviews
Hotel Donde Marcelo
20.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 3 reviews
Posada del Abuelo
25.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

18 out of 20 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Casa del Molino Blanco'

Atmosphere
87.0%
Location
71.0%
Facilities
95.0%
Cleanliness
98.0%
Staff
91.0%
Value
93.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 17 of 18 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easily the cleanest hostel I've stayed in in South America. Very chill, quiet location. Nice hammocks out front. The beer was priced the same as the local tiendas which is nice. The owners were super friendly and helpful. I had the single room upstairs which was like having a hotel room it was so nice. Never had to wait for the bathroom. Reasonably warm water. Also stayed in the 5 person dorm after I missed my bus and that was clean as well. Great buffet for breakfast, various breads, pancakes, eggs and ham. Rented a bike and the owner gave me a map and bottle of water and explained in detail how to navigate the waterfalls. Great experience and highly recommended.

Disliked: My locker in the dorm was broken. They probably would have fixed it, but I had biked 50km (in the rain and because I missed the last cascada and kept going) and just wanted to sleep and told them not to worry about it.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorna Barker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

02 March 2014 Lorna would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Whatever you wanted to do or to know, they organised it for you or helped you to organise it. I felt very very relaxed and overall there is a great atmosphere at this hostel. You have a tiny bit extra to walk to get there but it is worth it for being quieter but still near the action if you like. Was great to be able to escape the huge noise of the election campaigns going on!

Disliked: Nothing I disliked

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucie Kruse

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 November 2013 Lucie would recommend this property

Liked: AMAZING! Really nice beds, they didn't make any sound at night and were really comfortable.. A HOT shower.. The staff was really nice and the woman can speak spanish, english and german!! They knew a lot about the area and were always helpful! It was really easy to get to know other travellers and we were able to sit outside in the evening! And the best part... They had REAL BREAD for breakfast :D

Disliked: /

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities - comfy rooms, hot showers and extensive breakfast. Great value, and the private rooms had a great view.

Disliked: a bit of a walk out of the centre, up a hill, but I think this helped to make it quieter than other hostels

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very new hostel. Friendly and very helpful staff. It's a 10 minute walk outside the city center which makes it even nicer: it's in a good neighborhood and from the garden view windows you have a great view of the city. Well equiped kitchen and community area with loads of dvds and cds. It was really hard to leave - wouldn't ever stay anywhere else in Banos!

Disliked: The laundry we gave to the laundry service didn't come back really clean - but that's not a big deal...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was spotless and looked more like a hotel than a hostel. The bathroom also was spotless. The hostel looks really new... and Elba was amazingly helpful!

Disliked: It is a short walk out of the city center (and up a steep hill), but that also makes it quieter there... I wished that the breakfast would have started earlier than 8:10AM; many of us were waiting around in the kitchen area for the breakfast to be ready.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Damien Gautrot

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2013 Damien would recommend this property

Liked: The team is available and very kind. They offer a large choice of activities (canyoning, rafting, byking...). The breakfast is outstanding! The hostel is located on the top of the city, near the mountain and the starts of the hikings.

Disliked: It may be a little far from the center, but this allows to be in a quiet place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, very clean and yummy breakfasts. The bathrooms are huge and the showers were really good. The common room was so comfortable and they had tons of movies.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, new, great kitchen, lovely atmosphere, nice family... can't expect more!!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the nicest hostels we have stayed in. It is exceptionally clean, has a great kitchen and TV area. Also the lady who runs it really takes care of you. We booked tours through the hostel for the same price as going to agencies in town and they provided us with towels and even lunch which no one else in our group received. Highly recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Only negative is that it is about a 10 minute walk to the main part of town. Not a big deal though and very waslkable .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julian Ginn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are exceptionally helpful- I had an issue requiring the Police and the offers of assistance were so awesome. The breakfast was good and the beds were like staying in a really nice hotel.

Disliked: Julian left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: House in excellent, excellent condition. How good a property is this?: You can actually flush toilet paper down the toilet and the shower thermostat works actually adjusts the temperature of the water. Great comfortable beds. Good breakfast. DVDs, TV and bean bags upstairs.

Disliked: A little ways off from the center of Baños, maybe a 10 minute walk.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice new place with a friendly owner. It's usually kept spotlessly clean and breakfast is above average too, with a staple of bread, butter, jam, coffee or tea, accompanied by varying other items, like cake or eggs. While we didn't book with them, there are tours on offer and from what they told us, their prices seem reasonable. The best thing about the place are the staff members though, they really will make you feel at home at this place!

Disliked: WiFi is only available in some rooms, so people tend to use the kitchen area to go online, which means usually there are more people hanging out there than in the common area/living room upstairs. Also if you plan on cooking, keep in mind that there are only two fires, so if other people want to cook too, you may have to wait for quite a bit. One of the two private rooms we stayed in only had a tiny window, so it didn't get much light at all.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, brand new, quiet & safe location, very modern, plush blankets & pillows, great breakfast

Disliked: hot water not consistent

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simone Meyer

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2013 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: Al momento en que llegamos al hostel necesitabamos utilizar una compu para hacer una llamada urgente y el personal del lugar nos ayudó rápidamente. Cuando nos fuimos llamaron un taxi que nos buscó del lugar. El desayuno está muy bueno y la casa está muy linda. La dueña del lugar tiene muy buena onda y nos explicó todo sobre el lugar. Si algun día volvemos a Baños, nos vamos a quedar en el mismo hostel.

Disliked: Simone left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cameron Drew

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2013 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: Out of 100 plus Hostels I have stayed at through the past 6 months in Latin America La Casa del Molino Blanco in Baños would have to be the cleanest, best quality mattress', linen, bathroom & kitchen facilities in fact its the only hostel Kitchen I've cooked in over the past 6 months as most hostels in this price range don't even provide a clean sponge to wash thier dishes with. This is not a party hostel & Banos is not a party place so everything works. THE best hostel provided breakfast I have had in now over 53 countries, just book the place you'll see.

Disliked: Cameron left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thieme van Beek

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Thieme would recommend this property

Liked: I had a very good stay in La Casa del Molino. Jimmy and Elba are very good hosts and very hospital. I liked the stay there very much. They always make time for a chat or to give information. I can recommend this place to you. About the room: we had a very nice double room. Good bed and very much place to put your thing in. The bathroom is outside but it is big and modern. We didn't have to wait at all in the four days we were there.

Disliked: Thieme left no negative feedback.


See all Baños hostels