We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Baños hostels

Reviews of Hostal Transilvania

Hostel | 16 De Diciembre e Oriente, Baños, Ecuador 000

82.9% Overall Rating

34 out of 42 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/07/2014)

"The breakfast is great. Showers are hot-always. Great value for money with soavious twin rooms for about $8/9! Lots of information about activities and even book for you in the hostel! Great location too. We arrived…"

Read all Hostal Transilvania reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 90.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Prices do not include 12% VAT

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Baños?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Baños

Hostal Chimenea
9.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 221 reviews
Great Hostel
9.50 USD

Hostel 90.5% 26 reviews
Hostal Restaurant Erupcion
9.00 USD

Guesthouse 86.1% 36 reviews
La Casa del Molino Blanco
9.40 USD

Guesthouse 90.5% 24 reviews
La Casa Verde
23.00 USD

Hostel 97.9% 25 reviews
Hosteria Miramelindo
55.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Donde Marcelo
24.40 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 3 reviews
Posada del Abuelo
19.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.9%

Overall Rating

34 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Transilvania'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
80.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 35 of 39 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is great. Showers are hot-always. Great value for money with soavious twin rooms for about $8/9! Lots of information about activities and even book for you in the hostel! Great location too. We arrived at 6.30 am and they let us into our room- amazing!! Gret hostel.

Disliked: Not easy to meet other travelers in the hostel, common tea but no activities or good space to sit and chill and chat, but maybe because there were a lot of Israelies and they tend to stay in their own groups- not the hostels fault!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly Kretschmar

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

16 June 2014 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! The staff was so incredibly helpful, they went above and beyond. They even took a disk and shrunk the size so I could upload it on Facebook. The breakfast was great, with 3 options. The rooms and beds were good. The location was perfect! The staff is bilingual, which made it easy to ask questions and plan trips. The view of the waterfall and the church lit up at night was amazing. It was a quite laid back hostel at night. You can't beat the price either. I would highly recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Kelly left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price, the location, the breakfast

Disliked: Nothing!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the center and everything is in walking distance.

Disliked: There is a shared kitchen with the family but you only can use salt. So you have to bring your own oil and spices for cooking. The room will not be cleaned during your stay, even if you spend two nights there or more.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location in baños, walking distance to everything, friendly staff, great hot water, definitely great value for the price and of course great breakfast (and food at the restaurant!!) highly recommend

Disliked: Nothing really

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

tara peat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

17 March 2014

Liked: Breakfast was good

Disliked: Beds were thin foam, the lady at reception isn't pleasant when you ask about anything. The walls are thin and taps leak so loud. I'm surprised it was rated as high as it was probably wouldn't go back

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simon Bentley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was awesome. Location was good. Warm shower!!

Disliked: Booked a double bed, big dip in the middle, not comfortable. Need to update beds!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arvind Jayashankar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2013 Arvind would recommend this property

Liked: Was in a good location, but Banos is quite small and you can get around by foot anywhere. The beds were good and the staff was very helpful. They were able to arrange any tours and sightseeing for us right from the hostel so it was perfect. We went canyoning, hiking in the forest, and took a ride around Banos during the day and up near Tungurahua at night. This is a place run by Israelis and the food they had at the hostel was great!

Disliked: Arvind left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mairi McGilveray

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2013 Mairi would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great, didn't really need to eat much the rest of the day! Tv's in the dorm rooms! Hot water! Friendly staff and cute pets!

Disliked: Common areas weren't very comfortable.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is pretty good value- $8pp including breakfast and internet. Breakfast was great- 3 options, we had the fruit salad and granola which was really good

Disliked: We found the room a bit small, if you are staying only a short stay that wouldnt be a problem. We are in Banos for 2 weeks, so decided to move to a different hostel with a more spacious room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MACIEJ PIOTROWSKI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2012 MACIEJ would recommend this property

Liked: THE BEST BREAKFAST EVER! You get 3 options: fruit salad with granola, pancakes with sauces and eggs. The place is in great locations and indeed there were lots of Israelis but of a very nice kind. The restaurant serves middle eastern food too! There is a pool table and two TV, good wifi and computers. Kitten chasing the rabbit was amusing!

Disliked: Nothing!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Marisha Naz shakil Ahmad

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012 Marisha Naz would recommend this property

Liked: hot showers, fast internet

Disliked: slightly run down

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice outdoor terrace and chairs. Comfortable rooms and hot high pressure water. V large breakfasts which really set you up for the day. Quieter pocket of Banos but v near the Zona Rosa for bars and restaurants.

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay at Hostal Transylvania. The staff is friendly, the room was clean and the breakfast was very delicious.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Heather Amin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2011

Liked: For $14 a couple can get their own private room with bathroom and breakfast, we haven't found another hostel that will give you that good of a deal.

Disliked: The breakfast is okay, the room is okay, the bathroom is a bit grungy, you can hear everything next door either side so when the people in the room next to you use the toilet it sounds like their in your room. If you get a room off the courtyard it's also the smoking area, so if you don't like smoke you'll end up with the lovely smell of it in your room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Denis Ahern

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Denis would recommend this property

Liked: Warm showers

Disliked: The rampant pet rabbit that roamed the hostel. Wanted to always come into our room and would pee at you if you stood in its way.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, tv in bedroom, fun atmosphere.

Disliked: Silence after midnight rule, not very useful if you want to rest.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: too much israelis

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Blair Roberts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2011 Blair would recommend this property

Liked: As everyone has mentioned the breakfast is really good. The owners are nice too. Very helpful. I only stayed for nights but one of hte owners knew my name.

Disliked: I notice in the past people have commented on cleanliness. First impression was that it wasn't clean but I don't think that's true. Not sure what it is, perhaps it requires a paint job or just a general tidy up?

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Nicolas Sansone

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2011

Liked: The breakfast included in the price was very good.

Disliked: The property was fairly run-down, and the noise levels were pretty extreme at night. They lock you in at night.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Stephen Cunningsworth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2011 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice animals, great powerful hot shower

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

scott sharman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2011 scott would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet, Breakfast included and close to everything! Awesome hostal

Disliked: not much hot water, but who cares

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Haggart

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: $1 for a grande pilsner. The location is great! The restaurant next door is super for lunch.

Disliked: Thin walls and very small rooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anna Claussen

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 January 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, AMAZING breakfast included, fun staff.

Disliked: Can't think of anything serious. Was a bit loud on Saturday night, but nothing abnormal for a hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic hostel,great owners very friendly,great location,breakfast is very good pancakes are amazing.was there during the volcano and they organised transport for us to see the lava at night from a safe place.would definately stay again good size rooms with cable tv.

Disliked: nothing


See all Baños hostels