We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Baños hostels

Reviews of Hostal Chimenea

Guesthouse | Luis A. Martinez y, Rafael Vieira, Baños, Ecuador 180250

89.1% Overall Rating

228 out of 241 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/05/2015)

"Hostal Chimenea is possibly the best hostal we have stayed at in over 3 months in South America. We had a private room with an ensuite and it was just like being in a hotel with an amazing view of the mountains. The…"

Read all Hostal Chimenea reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Newspapers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.50

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Payment is required upon check-in

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Baños?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Baños

Great Hostel
8.99 USD

Hostel 88.5% 37 reviews
Hostal Restaurant Erupcion
8.50 USD

Guesthouse 85.3% 38 reviews
La Casa Verde
25.00 USD

Hostel 98.2% 26 reviews
Hosteria Miramelindo
75.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostal Transilvania
7.59 USD

Hostel 79.8% 45 reviews
Posada del Abuelo
10.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.1%

Overall Rating

228 out of 241 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Chimenea'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
84.0%
Value
92.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 209 of 233 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Imogen Hay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2015 Imogen would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable, friendly staff and a nice view from the terrace!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Clean room with hot shower. Good value.

Disliked: Slow wifi

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostal Chimenea is possibly the best hostal we have stayed at in over 3 months in South America. We had a private room with an ensuite and it was just like being in a hotel with an amazing view of the mountains. The kitchen area upstairs is great and in general we just really really enjoyed our stay here.

Disliked: The wifi and internet are slow.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreas Thornblad

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2015 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: Really cheap private rooms and the food there is just great. Try the morning steam bath for four dollars extra. It was great!

Disliked: Andreas left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie Beschler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2015 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: the price is really great. the staff is friendly.

Disliked: Unfortunately the Wifi is just available on the ground floor, so most of the people were sitting downstairs in the dark reception area. so nearly no one was in the big kitchen area on the rooftop, even there it was much nicer and you have a great view over the city and to the mountains. Actually the Wifi is also available in the pool area outside, nobody was there as it was raining.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jennifer Ayres

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 April 2015 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: The steam bath was certainly an experience and the massages were great!

Disliked: Not really a place for meeting people.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kenneth Smith

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2015 Kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: Very professionally run, very clean, comfy bed, and hot water if you are willing to wait a few minutes for it. Fantastic breakfast in the morning upstairs. I really liked being so close to the waterfall, I could see it from my balcony. Is very quiet in the evening.

Disliked: The vibe isn't super friendly and guests go elsewhere to hang out. While the place seemed safe, they ask you to leave your key on the desk where it sits in the open. While there is almost always someone at the front desk, when there isn't, it would be very easy for someone to take your key. If they fixed this I would call this a super safe place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

15 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, simple and nice looking rooms. Great terrace cafe with awesome views. In a quiet area of town but not far from centre.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Safioen nabibaks

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2015 Safioen would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great to meet other travelers. dorms are not that big but still spacious enough. Gets cleaned every day. Hostel offers massages and other treatments. The breakfast is outstanding. And they speak English!

Disliked: Wifi is bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Briggs

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 March 2015 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, great facilities and a chilled out environement.

Disliked: nil

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious rooms. Location. Atmosphere.

Disliked: Internet did not function properly. Cannot use kitchen between 10pm and noon.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've ever stayed. Definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Kruning

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa

19 January 2015 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Quiet, not near any clubs! Love breakfast on the roof!!

Disliked: I have been staying here for years and things are looking more worn!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samuel Heffner

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

14 January 2015 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: The mountain views, the price the location, and the condition of the hotel.

Disliked: I can say that there was nothing that we disliked other than the staff could have been more co-operating

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eileen McMillan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2015 Eileen would recommend this property

Liked: Booked for only two nights but extended it for seven we were so impressed. Accommodation, location,facilities excellent value. Breakfast is extra at 2-3 dollars. Great selection of fresh bread, Jams eggs cooked to your liking and fresh juices. Pancakes too. Would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: For the money, nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location walking distance to everything but not right in the center of town which can be loud. Clean rooms, hot water, and good breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful views, quiet location, great breakfasts, very clean and the staff are very helpful. Great value for money!

Disliked: The hot water didn't always work and the towels are a little old

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great facility - large clean rooms, pool, hammocks, breakfast restaurant on roof and great view and sounds from the waterfall.

Disliked: Wasn't as social as you'd think based on how conducive hostel is for getting to meet and chill with guests. Owners could easily facilitate more interaction with evening events like cookouts, cocktail hour or even just selling beer, wine and some food on rooftop.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and quiet. Stayed on 3rd floor. No issues.

Disliked: We went during low season, not many travellers. Staff was helpful but didn't speak English.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms, great breakfast, jacuzzi, mountan view and so on...

Disliked: couldn't say - would definitely stay there again!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Choquette

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is well-located and offers excellent value for the price.It was very nice to have a dip in the cold pool after a long hike.

Disliked: I had a room on the 3rd floor, just under the terrace where there is a restaurant. That made it quite noisy since everytime someone moved a chair above me, I could definitely hear it. It was quiet between 11 pm and 7 a.m however, so if you stick to those hours for sleeping, you should be fine. Consider a room in the lower floors however...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Daily new towels. Swimming pool. Staff very relaxed. Good beds.

Disliked: Beware! They provide a kitchen for use, but apart from pots and pans there is nothing. No spoons forks or knives. The kitchen physically closes at 22.30 so you cannot access your food in the fridge. The common area around the reception closes at the same time and you are not allowed to be there anymore, not even quietly reading a book. Oh and the kitchen is closed for breakfast, so u cannot cook breakfast but have to buy it from them

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikole Bulman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014 Nikole would recommend this property

Liked: The quaint atmosphere is lovely. A friendly staff and beautiful roof top kitchen/Terrence over looking the the waterfall.

Disliked: Nikole left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Josh Moos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2014

Liked: The hostel is clean and the dorm beds are comfy. There is also a communal kitchen and while breakfast is not included it is tasty.

Disliked: The hostel lacks any real social area. Also, the dorms rooms are across from the reception which doubles up as the social area and therefore it can be quiet loud at night. Finally, while for me it was ok, the staff do not speak much English.


See all Baños hostels