We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Baños hostels

Reviews of Hostal Chimenea

Guesthouse | Luis A. Martinez y, Rafael Vieira, Baños, Ecuador 180250

89.3% Overall Rating

221 out of 234 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/03/2015)

"Clean, simple and nice looking rooms. Great terrace cafe with awesome views. In a quiet area of town but not far from centre."

Read all Hostal Chimenea reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Newspapers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.50

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Payment is required upon check-in

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Baños?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Baños

Great Hostel
10.23 USD

Hostel 89.7% 31 reviews
Hostal Restaurant Erupcion
10.34 USD

Guesthouse 86.6% 37 reviews
La Casa Verde
23.00 USD

Hostel 98.2% 26 reviews
Hosteria Miramelindo
75.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostal Transilvania
7.59 USD

Hostel 82.6% 44 reviews
Posada del Abuelo
10.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

221 out of 234 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Chimenea'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
83.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 202 of 226 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

15 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, simple and nice looking rooms. Great terrace cafe with awesome views. In a quiet area of town but not far from centre.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Safioen nabibaks

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2015 Safioen would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great to meet other travelers. dorms are not that big but still spacious enough. Gets cleaned every day. Hostel offers massages and other treatments. The breakfast is outstanding. And they speak English!

Disliked: Wifi is bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Briggs

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 March 2015 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, great facilities and a chilled out environement.

Disliked: nil

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious rooms. Location. Atmosphere.

Disliked: Internet did not function properly. Cannot use kitchen between 10pm and noon.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've ever stayed. Definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Kruning

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa

19 January 2015 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Quiet, not near any clubs! Love breakfast on the roof!!

Disliked: I have been staying here for years and things are looking more worn!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samuel Heffner

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

14 January 2015 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: The mountain views, the price the location, and the condition of the hotel.

Disliked: I can say that there was nothing that we disliked other than the staff could have been more co-operating

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eileen McMillan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2015 Eileen would recommend this property

Liked: Booked for only two nights but extended it for seven we were so impressed. Accommodation, location,facilities excellent value. Breakfast is extra at 2-3 dollars. Great selection of fresh bread, Jams eggs cooked to your liking and fresh juices. Pancakes too. Would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: For the money, nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location walking distance to everything but not right in the center of town which can be loud. Clean rooms, hot water, and good breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful views, quiet location, great breakfasts, very clean and the staff are very helpful. Great value for money!

Disliked: The hot water didn't always work and the towels are a little old

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great facility - large clean rooms, pool, hammocks, breakfast restaurant on roof and great view and sounds from the waterfall.

Disliked: Wasn't as social as you'd think based on how conducive hostel is for getting to meet and chill with guests. Owners could easily facilitate more interaction with evening events like cookouts, cocktail hour or even just selling beer, wine and some food on rooftop.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and quiet. Stayed on 3rd floor. No issues.

Disliked: We went during low season, not many travellers. Staff was helpful but didn't speak English.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms, great breakfast, jacuzzi, mountan view and so on...

Disliked: couldn't say - would definitely stay there again!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Choquette

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is well-located and offers excellent value for the price.It was very nice to have a dip in the cold pool after a long hike.

Disliked: I had a room on the 3rd floor, just under the terrace where there is a restaurant. That made it quite noisy since everytime someone moved a chair above me, I could definitely hear it. It was quiet between 11 pm and 7 a.m however, so if you stick to those hours for sleeping, you should be fine. Consider a room in the lower floors however...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Daily new towels. Swimming pool. Staff very relaxed. Good beds.

Disliked: Beware! They provide a kitchen for use, but apart from pots and pans there is nothing. No spoons forks or knives. The kitchen physically closes at 22.30 so you cannot access your food in the fridge. The common area around the reception closes at the same time and you are not allowed to be there anymore, not even quietly reading a book. Oh and the kitchen is closed for breakfast, so u cannot cook breakfast but have to buy it from them

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikole Bulman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014 Nikole would recommend this property

Liked: The quaint atmosphere is lovely. A friendly staff and beautiful roof top kitchen/Terrence over looking the the waterfall.

Disliked: Nikole left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Josh Moos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2014

Liked: The hostel is clean and the dorm beds are comfy. There is also a communal kitchen and while breakfast is not included it is tasty.

Disliked: The hostel lacks any real social area. Also, the dorms rooms are across from the reception which doubles up as the social area and therefore it can be quiet loud at night. Finally, while for me it was ok, the staff do not speak much English.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The swimming pool, kitchen and the location are great

Disliked: No lockers and hard to get in touch with fellow backpackers

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Catherine Merbler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: The property was well maintained and nicer than I had expected!

Disliked: Catherine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Strine

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 March 2014 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: We paid $30 for a triple room during a big holiday weekend. The room was spacious and the bathroom was clean. Great spa and pool, wonderful location for walking around Banos. Staff was friendly and spoke good English. Two if us got fantastic massages that the hostal offers - they have their own massage room and the masseuses were both very good. Prices for spa services are better than otherwise available in town. Would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Wifi was a bit slow.... Probably the server was overloaded, but they offer 3 computers for guest use in the lobby. We were here during Carnival and it was noisy, so if you want peace and quiet in Banos in the weekend or during a holiday, you will probably want to stay further out of town. Nothing that is a deal breaker however, because this hotel is fantastic value for the money!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Nice room. Great breakfasts (u pay for them). Clean and safe. Would stay there again, very good value for the price.

Disliked: Not very central but still only short walk. Shower was sometimes not hot. Wifi signal not great, especially in room. Was a bit noisy late at night, no enforcement of the quite after hours rule (this was like 3am)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

James Wiper

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 January 2014

Liked: Location was good and there seemed as if there was a good atmosphere.

Disliked: We were put into a 6 person dorm when we had booked a 4 person dorm. The room was not very clean and we asked to be moved into a 4 person dorm, like we had booked. After asking the staff we were told we could not move as they were fully booked so we asked for a discount but they would not budge on the price and were quite rude. My girlfriend got really sick and so we decided to move to the hostel next door where we could get a private room easily. If you want to stay here than book in advance and you won't have any problems!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in (big call I know!) We arrived at 7am following an overnight bus and were able to check in straight away. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned each day, the beds were comfortable and the shower was hot with good water pressure. There is a good breakfast menu available at extra cost ($2-4) served on the rooftop terrace with incredible views. The hostel is very close to the thermal baths (300m) and is walking distance to the town centre. The staff were helpful and friendly.

Disliked: The kitchen available is the same used for preparing breakfast and thus isn't available until 11am, and it is quit poorly stocked. The wifi became a problem at night when everybody was trying to use it and the connection was very slow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Bennett

Alone

Relaxation/spa

17 January 2014 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms serviced daily. Wifi everywhere Kitchen for guests' use Cheap laundry & quick service Swimming Pool Rooms felt very secure

Disliked: Nothing


See all Baños hostels