HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Baños hostels

Reviews of Hostal Chimenea

Guesthouse | Luis A. Martinez y, Rafael Vieira, Baños, Ecuador 180250

90.1% Overall Rating

201 out of 212 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

Louise Choquette thinks…

"This hotel is well-located and offers excellent value for the price.It was very nice to have a dip in the cold pool after a long hike."

Read all Hostal Chimenea reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Newspapers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.50

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Payment is required upon check-in

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Baños?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Baños

Great Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 91.0% 12 reviews
Hostal Restaurant Erupcion
8.99 USD

Guesthouse 85.5% 35 reviews
La Casa del Molino Blanco
9.40 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 20 reviews
La Casa Verde
23.00 USD

Hostel 97.9% 25 reviews
Hosteria Miramelindo
39.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostal Transilvania
7.05 USD

Hostel 81.7% 39 reviews
Hotel Donde Marcelo
20.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 3 reviews
Posada del Abuelo
25.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

201 out of 212 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Chimenea'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
94.4%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 188 of 205 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Choquette

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is well-located and offers excellent value for the price.It was very nice to have a dip in the cold pool after a long hike.

Disliked: I had a room on the 3rd floor, just under the terrace where there is a restaurant. That made it quite noisy since everytime someone moved a chair above me, I could definitely hear it. It was quiet between 11 pm and 7 a.m however, so if you stick to those hours for sleeping, you should be fine. Consider a room in the lower floors however...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Daily new towels. Swimming pool. Staff very relaxed. Good beds.

Disliked: Beware! They provide a kitchen for use, but apart from pots and pans there is nothing. No spoons forks or knives. The kitchen physically closes at 22.30 so you cannot access your food in the fridge. The common area around the reception closes at the same time and you are not allowed to be there anymore, not even quietly reading a book. Oh and the kitchen is closed for breakfast, so u cannot cook breakfast but have to buy it from them

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikole Bulman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014 Nikole would recommend this property

Liked: The quaint atmosphere is lovely. A friendly staff and beautiful roof top kitchen/Terrence over looking the the waterfall.

Disliked: Nikole left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Josh Moos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2014

Liked: The hostel is clean and the dorm beds are comfy. There is also a communal kitchen and while breakfast is not included it is tasty.

Disliked: The hostel lacks any real social area. Also, the dorms rooms are across from the reception which doubles up as the social area and therefore it can be quiet loud at night. Finally, while for me it was ok, the staff do not speak much English.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The swimming pool, kitchen and the location are great

Disliked: No lockers and hard to get in touch with fellow backpackers

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Catherine Merbler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: The property was well maintained and nicer than I had expected!

Disliked: Catherine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Strine

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 March 2014 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: We paid $30 for a triple room during a big holiday weekend. The room was spacious and the bathroom was clean. Great spa and pool, wonderful location for walking around Banos. Staff was friendly and spoke good English. Two if us got fantastic massages that the hostal offers - they have their own massage room and the masseuses were both very good. Prices for spa services are better than otherwise available in town. Would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Wifi was a bit slow.... Probably the server was overloaded, but they offer 3 computers for guest use in the lobby. We were here during Carnival and it was noisy, so if you want peace and quiet in Banos in the weekend or during a holiday, you will probably want to stay further out of town. Nothing that is a deal breaker however, because this hotel is fantastic value for the money!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Nice room. Great breakfasts (u pay for them). Clean and safe. Would stay there again, very good value for the price.

Disliked: Not very central but still only short walk. Shower was sometimes not hot. Wifi signal not great, especially in room. Was a bit noisy late at night, no enforcement of the quite after hours rule (this was like 3am)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

James Wiper

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 January 2014

Liked: Location was good and there seemed as if there was a good atmosphere.

Disliked: We were put into a 6 person dorm when we had booked a 4 person dorm. The room was not very clean and we asked to be moved into a 4 person dorm, like we had booked. After asking the staff we were told we could not move as they were fully booked so we asked for a discount but they would not budge on the price and were quite rude. My girlfriend got really sick and so we decided to move to the hostel next door where we could get a private room easily. If you want to stay here than book in advance and you won't have any problems!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in (big call I know!) We arrived at 7am following an overnight bus and were able to check in straight away. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned each day, the beds were comfortable and the shower was hot with good water pressure. There is a good breakfast menu available at extra cost ($2-4) served on the rooftop terrace with incredible views. The hostel is very close to the thermal baths (300m) and is walking distance to the town centre. The staff were helpful and friendly.

Disliked: The kitchen available is the same used for preparing breakfast and thus isn't available until 11am, and it is quit poorly stocked. The wifi became a problem at night when everybody was trying to use it and the connection was very slow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Bennett

Alone

Relaxation/spa

17 January 2014 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms serviced daily. Wifi everywhere Kitchen for guests' use Cheap laundry & quick service Swimming Pool Rooms felt very secure

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to everything. Excellent massage. Nice to be able to keep food and cold drinks in the fridge.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice place, clean and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good prices, very nice terasse and very good breakfast!

Disliked: Service staff could be a little more helpful and polite.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

09 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, hot water in the shower, fresh towels and room cleaned daily, great location, staff was very friendly and helpful, breakfast was a good value for the money. The view from the rooftop terrace was amazing!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Plenty of other backpackers to meet

Disliked: Hard to communicate if you don't know spanish

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nichola Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Nichola would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel with a swimming pool, sauna and Jacuzzi (the latter two you pay for). Good wifi. The breakfasts are huge, cheap and yummy. There is a beautiful view from the terrace of the nearby waterfall and surrounding hills. The staff were also fab in letting me check in at 6am and hang around all the day when I was getting a night bus.

Disliked: There aren't any lockers in the dorms, which are on the ground floor next to the computers/wifi zone. Also, as the dorms are located right next to reception, it's hard to sleep past 7.30am!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Adam Ryan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 July 2013

Liked: Clean, cheap and well located right near the hot spring baths

Disliked: Felt more like a hotel than a hostel. Also it was the 1st time in my long traveling history that the staff wouldn't let me take a shower the afternoon after I had checked out even though there are shared bathrooms in the dorms and the hostel wasnt even busy. I had left at 8 am for a bike ride and returned about 3pm but they wouldn't allow a quick shower.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and an easy walk from the bus station. Hostel was really clean and had a good roof top terrace where an optional (but cheap breakfast) is served. Hostel didnt have a formal bar but sold cheap beer at reception.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a double room with a balcony. The room was lovely : spacious, with a table and chairs and an extra bed, clean and comfortable bed, nice clean bathroom with hot water. Stayed for 3 nights and always had a good nights sleep. Laundry service cheap and efficient. Staff friendly. We would recommend this hostal and would choose to stay here again if we return.

Disliked: The kitchen on the top floor was not very large, clean or well equipped.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big kitchen well equipped. Nice spacious rooms which are cleaned daily. Rooftop terrace really nice with great views. Only a couple of minutes walk from town,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesse Greenwald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2013 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet hostel with a friendly staff. Price is good so what more can you ask for.

Disliked: Jesse left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dale stroh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 April 2013 dale would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price.....

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the cleanest, more modern looking hostels we have stayed at. Clean hallways, and rooms, located right next to some of the hot spring bathing establishments and town square - although it is a small town. Balcony and view are nice, and management is easily accommodating. Easy walk to everything.

Disliked: Pillows were hard as bricks. One of us chose not to use a pillow and the other awoke with a headache. Bathroom window could not be closed, and the noise from the rooftop terrace, and music playing outside could not be closed out. With concrete walls and tile floors (typical of the entire region) the interior noise echoed as well. However once the terrace closed all was fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place with great location, great staff, very clean rooms. Very highly recommended!

Disliked: none


See all Baños hostels