HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Baños hostels

Reviews of La Casa Verde

Hostel | El camino real, Baños, Ecuador Baños De Agua Santa

97.9% Overall Rating

25 out of 25 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/12/2013)

"Wonderful place to relax. Beautiful house, good breakfast and nice views. Price is a bit too high but I would stay there again anytime!"

Read all La Casa Verde reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Baños?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Baños

Hostal Restaurant Erupcion
9.00 USD

Guesthouse 86.1% 36 reviews
Great Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel 91.1% 23 reviews
Hostal Chimenea
9.00 USD

Guesthouse 88.1% 219 reviews
La Casa del Molino Blanco
9.40 USD

Guesthouse 90.9% 23 reviews
Hosteria Miramelindo
55.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostal Transilvania
7.05 USD

Hostel 82.9% 42 reviews
Hotel Donde Marcelo
24.40 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 3 reviews
Posada del Abuelo
9.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.9%

Overall Rating

25 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Casa Verde'

Atmosphere
100.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
99.2%
Cleanliness
100.0%
Staff
100.0%
Value
98.4%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 23 of 24 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely setting; helpful friendly staff; wonderful breakfast

Disliked: Further from Banos than I thought

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

28 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful place to relax. Beautiful house, good breakfast and nice views. Price is a bit too high but I would stay there again anytime!

Disliked: Prices are high.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the location, the atomsphere, the breakfast, the dinners, the eco-friendly nature of the hotel.

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

judith villacis

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

27 March 2013 judith would recommend this property

Liked: The environment, the management, everything in general was great, everybody was helpful,sweet and friendly

Disliked: Everything was great, can't complain about anything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emmeline broad

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2012 emmeline would recommend this property

Liked: It's awesome just totally awesome the river sent me to sleep at night Rebecca and Doug sorted out all our excursions and also cooked a wonderful Xmas dinner!!!!

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Luna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa

03 August 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very social environment, where you can socialize with other fellow travelers. Also, Doug and Rebecca were great with helping me connect with fellow travelers, make arrangements for my day trips, calling taxis, and making sure I was comfortable. The room with the ensuite bathroom is perfect. I wouldn't want them to change anything, it was great to stay at their guest house.

Disliked: The location, but it was best to stay away from the center of town. It's close to the river and it's quiet. I never felt unsafe.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, nice decoration, clean, good breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Chrisos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 June 2012 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: I cannot even begin to describe to you how AWESOME this place was!!! You are greeted by Rebecca and her husband. It is a super clean and super fancy place that went above and beyond our expectations. Their are movies for those of you that want to stay in on a rainy day and curl up with some hot tea, and a snack. The food is amazing and the brownies are to die for... I would know, I took a batch home : )- The spa services are great as well...super inexpensive but not cheap by any means. She gives a great mani pedi and full body massage for next to nothing. You can tell they care about their home because they treat you as though you are their family. We stayed there 3 or 4 days I think. They give you a clean place to sleep, breakfast and private ensuite baths. We were on the ground floor next to the common area/dining/kitchen/door patio and their was hardly any noise heard from the room. The worst part about la casa verde, was leaving. I almsot felt as thought I left my heart in that home. I cannot wait to come back!!!!

Disliked: You need to charge more money!!!!!!! I think people would gladly agree that it is worth more than what you are charging! : )

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were verey helpfuul and knowledgeable. The food was excellent offering a delicious breakfast and fantastic dinner. The rooms were clean and light. There were some good walks right nearby and the massuese came right into the hostel to a special room where she gave very intensive massages.

Disliked: It was a bit out of the centre of the city but that advantages in that it was not noisy. A taxi into the city cost $1.50

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved absolutely everything about this place and it's definitely one if the best we've stayed at so far in our 2 months on South America - from the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners, the large, beautiful and comfortable twin room and furnishings with amazing views and the sound of the river lulling you to sleep. The massive and yummy breakfast as we as the other bits and pieces on offer - homemade food, local massage lady, herbal teas etc. The property is laid out really well - light and airy, different comfy areas to chill out and/or be sociable. Something to note if your childphobic - there is a small child on the property and there is a/poss more than one family room but it's fine as there is lots of space. A lot of places in South America talk about being Eco with no real regulation, meaning or back up action. They really impressed me in truly fulfilling their Eco mission and their obvious actions in seeing this through - probably the one place that was actually walking the talk which I thought was great stuff. It was definitely a place to relax and rejuvenate for us in beautiful banyos.

Disliked: The only very minor niggle I would have is the property not offering a laundry service (either there or getting it picked up and dropped off), which would be very helpful if you're short of time.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

29 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful views, dinner on offer, friendly family and a nice place to chill out on a hammock.

Disliked: A little far from town if you just need to get minor things

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Slightly out of town With beautiful views, great rooms, very fast wifi and good breakfast. Lovely, helpful owners.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: Location - I wish there was an easier way to call over taxis to town so we didn't have to bother staff each time we needed one.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the whole atmosphere of the place, its structure and the behavier of the crew. The place is also very nice, close to the river and with a nice garden.

Disliked: Though the place is very nice it is too far from the town. The security is also not enough, actually there was not security at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Brown

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa

08 October 2010 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: We have stayed in many hostels, and this is without question our favorite. The house is nicely decorated, the rooms are very comfortable, and the owners are great people. We felt more like we were staying over at a friend or relatives house than staying in a hostel. The best part is breakfast! Everything is fresh, homemade (or homegrown), and delicious. It was also nice having homemade frozen meals available for when you didn't feel like going out or it is raining. We definitely recommend staying here if you are coming to Banos!

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly comfortable beds, incredible organic healthy breakfast, really peaceful and the staff were lovely!

Disliked: Slightly far out of town but not really an issue. Worth it for the tranquility!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tommy Forbes

16 May 2010 Tommy would recommend this property

Liked: Casa Verde is a great hostel. Clean, safe, nice rooms, hot showers, the very best breakfast we've had in South America (freshly baked break, fresh fruit salad, cereals, loads of coffee and tea, fresh tomato, avocado and cheese . . . it's immense), very comfortable beds, beautiful views and Rebecca and Doug are very helpful with everything. They also have an exceptionally good/cheap masseuse who comes over to rub you down. Stay here it's great.

Disliked: Tommy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rob Falconer

27 March 2010 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent on all levels!

Disliked: Rob left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luther Ness

24 March 2010 Luther would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful family and a great place to relax. Very safe and relaxing. all the necessary amenities are available! Thanks!

Disliked: Luther left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Ranalli

15 March 2010 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I can't praise this property enough! I've lived in Ecuador for 13 years and this is my favorite place now in the country! It's just out of town so it's quiet with a beautiful view, but in a few minutes walk you're in town. The owners are so helpful. The place is very comfortable and clean. Free wifi. Hot showers. Food available to buy if you want, free breakfast and a kitchen to use if you want to bring your own food. I LOVED this place, can't say enough about it!!!

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deborah Brennan

13 March 2010 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: This is possibly the best hostel I have ever stayed in - brand new, immaculately clean, large spacious rooms, quiet with beautiful views, excellent common area, all the facilities you could want and really helpful owners. I booked for three nights and stayed 6

Disliked: Deborah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Lawrence

29 October 2009 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to stay. Fantastic location just outside Banos. The only sounds in the morning were of the river and the birds singing.Very friendly and welcoming hosts, Rebecca and Doug. Also really helpful with advice and info about the area. Apart from a lovely breakfast with home made bread, fresh fruit, freshly squeezed fruit juice, granola etc, you can use their facilities to cook your own food. As well as this, there are some scrummy home made meals in the freezer that you can just heat up if you don't feel like cooking or going out to eat (and beer in the fridge too) and you can make yourself tea and coffee at any time of day.The communal kitchen/eating/seating area is large and comfortable with great views over the river and hills - we sat and watched humming birds in the trees in the garden.I can't recommend this place enough - a real treat and the best hostel we've stayed in so far in Central and South America.Jo and Steve

Disliked: Joanna left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Horwell

26 October 2009 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: 2km out of Banos .. no poblem with transport. Very Quiet ,

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.


See all Baños hostels