HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Generator Copenhagen

Hostel | Adelgade 5-7, 1304 Copenhagen K, Copenhagen, Denmark 1304

90.2% Overall Rating

782 out of 822 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2014)

Violetta Chekan thinks…

"Perfect facilities, everything you need is in your room. I like also much space for baggage."

Read all Generator Copenhagen reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note. Any reservation of 20 persons or more will be regarded as a group booking and different payment and cancellation terms and conditions may apply. The hostel reserves the right to contact the booking responsible to clarify these terms and conditions. In the event of the booking not being complete the deposit is non-refundable. If you pay by credit card an additional fee will be charged. It’s not us, it’s the banks

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Copenhagen?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Copenhagen

Hotel Maritime
70.49 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.9% 8 reviews
Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
29.73 USD

Hostel 86.1% 641 reviews
Danhostel Copenhagen City
33.18 USD

Hostel 87.8% 1818 reviews
Hotel Windsor
50.87 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Jørgensen
32.74 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.0% 262 reviews
Hotel Copenhagen
41.81 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.4% 503 reviews
Wakeup Copenhagen
50.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.2% 123 reviews
Rent a room Copenhagen
62.82 USD

Apartment 89.1% 110 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.2%

Overall Rating

782 out of 822 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Copenhagen'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 573 of 796 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bindu Joseph

Alone

City break

25 August 2014 Bindu would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness and the maps with self walking tours.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Violetta Chekan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 August 2014 Violetta would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect facilities, everything you need is in your room. I like also much space for baggage.

Disliked: The only one thing I would like to have is the information. The staff at the reception didn't say anything about available maps and trips, however next day I found all this at the bar.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terence Stenvold

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2014 Terence would recommend this property

Liked: This place is massive

Disliked: This place is massive (no really it is big)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to meet other travelers, friendly and helpful staff as well

Disliked: Not being able to bring in your own food is lame, and the food they sell on site is vastly overpriced for what you get

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014

Liked: The bar.

Disliked: It was a big hostel and very impersonal. Staff lacked the time to be friendly and give advice about the city. The dorm we stayed in was vile due to other peoples hygiene. It was so bad that you had to sleep with your face covered by a sheet so you didn't throw up. Not relaxing. Also these people did nôt use the linen provided properly so I would not stay there again in case of having to sleep on the smelly beds :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, close to everything, many different nationalities aged from 4-99, super clean, if you book a breakfast - it's massive!, otherwise you can eat and drink at the bar/restaurant, lots of activities, easy to find,..

Disliked: No possibility to cook your own food -> makes the stay even more expensive! The Hostel can get very busy and crowded and it's very anonym.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

chloe shields

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014 chloe would recommend this property

Liked: Really new, bar downstairs with a good vibe, and in a great location! The staff were also really helpful with recommending stuff and helping out with problems I had.

Disliked: The windows didn't really open so it got pretty stuffy and hot in the rooms, also there is no kitchen, and it's pretty expensive!!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hala Aly

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 Hala would recommend this property

Liked: The place is reaally good , exactly like photos. Rooms are well organized, practical. At night, u can go downstairs at the hall to read, use computer for free. Or u can stay in the bar or outside in the open area - you can join there free tour to discover the city or u can get one of discounted card to see any place discounted ;)

Disliked: I didn't like the room cleanness, specially toilets.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014

Liked: location was good. room was clean.

Disliked: it was a rip off. First they screwed me on the DKK-Euro conversion rate. Also, check-out time is 10 am - too early. Canyou leave your bags? sure, if you pay. Free tea? nope but if you buy your own tea-bags they'll still charge you ~one dollar just for the hot water.... way too expensive for what they offer. Hotel rates.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: I was trevelling with my husband and fahter in law and we were staying in a private room. Someone got inside of our room while we were sleeping and stole my father in law wallet, his watch and some money. We talked to the hostel staff and they told us that it happened probably because the our door was opened. Apperently their door locker system doesnt work properly, so if you are planning to stay at Generator, make sure you close your door, because their system does not work well.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Emma O'Connor

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Very well designed, clean, cool looking, friendly.

Disliked: Pretty overpriced, but so is everything in Copenhagen.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Banks

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness, friendly staff, facilities.... Everything! In my top10 hostels I've stayed at in the world.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Simon Harris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: You can't really fault this hostel, the bar is good and gets pretty lively, the location is good, and the staff are helpful.

Disliked: It's quite pricey (like everything in Denmark). Only two washers and dryers.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were very comfortable.

Disliked: Bar in hospital advertised they served food to 9 pm when arriving before then was rudely told that they were closed. Room door didn't always shut properly & swung open on more than 1 occasion.. .

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matt Townsend

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2014 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities. One of the best hostels I have been to.

Disliked: The neighbouring clubs can be quite loud at night

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice twin room, comfortable beds, nice staff in the reception, nice breakfast..

Disliked: As we stayed there from saturday to sunday it was very noisy and we couldn't sleep at all. The music was on very loudly so if someone needs a good nigts sleep on a fri/sat this is probably not the place.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, very clean with good security

Disliked: Lack of a good hostel atmostphere and no cooking facilities for budget backpacker. Even though individual reading light was provided, the walls between different beds were plastic and the light would shine through. A definite design flaw.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014

Liked: Is in the middle of the city and the Location is nice.

Disliked: The Price is to high and the Hostel Flair is Missing. Is more a Hotel with a bar

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Baker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Location and size

Disliked: Was not displeased at all

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Pamela Platt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and lovely duvet's for a hostel~!

Disliked: It was still very expensive for a shared room dorm - to not even have towels included in the price. Not enough luggage storage facilities either, even for quite a steep additional price - there was still not enough space.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014

Liked: I liked the large hangout areas and the nice bar (and the fact that it served food).

Disliked: My room smelled awful. It was so terrible, I thought I was not going to be able to sleep. On top of that, my bed was not clean.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mateusz Urbanczyk

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Mateusz would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Nice clean rooms. Linnen included in price.

Disliked: -

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Crenan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Huge common area with bar, very clean and staff were great - no complaints at all

Disliked: n/a

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is great, the staff was very helpful, the rooms are clean. I would go bach anytime.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: two showers instead of one

Disliked: one of the sinks in the room was clogged. Also, it felt as if I was being "nickeled and dimed" the entire time: having to BUY a lock instead of the common practice of putting down a deposit that I have experienced at many other hostels: paying extra for towels: etc.

The property's response is...