We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of City Public Hostel

Hostel | Absalonsgade 8, Copenhagen, Denmark 1658

74.2% Overall Rating

126 out of 162 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/08/2015)

Kellie Orton thinks…

"This is the cheapest place in Copenhagen and is within walking distance of everything. It's very very basic but so long as you're just using it as a place to crash, its fine."

Read all City Public Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Copenhagen?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Copenhagen

The Pea Blossom
60.52 USD

Guesthouse 95.2% 3 reviews
Hotel Loeven
42.21 USD

Hotel 1 star 85.4% 728 reviews
Woodah Hostel
33.88 USD

Hostel 87.4% 41 reviews
YMCA Interpoint
24.21 USD

Hostel 78.3% 79 reviews
Hotel Euroglobe
37.07 USD

Hostel 60.9% 466 reviews
Annex Copenhagen
42.82 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.4% 97 reviews
Absalon Hotel
68.09 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.6% 18 reviews
Urban House
31.02 USD

Hostel 84.0% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.2%

Overall Rating

126 out of 162 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'City Public Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
72.8%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 120 of 156 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

alessandro ghiori

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2015 alessandro would recommend this property

Liked: nice people in the hostel

Disliked: not much toilets.not much space close to the bed

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kellie Orton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2015 Kellie would recommend this property

Liked: This is the cheapest place in Copenhagen and is within walking distance of everything. It's very very basic but so long as you're just using it as a place to crash, its fine.

Disliked: My one complaint is that they aren't real bunk beds. I was on the lower bunk and you can't sit up fully or really at all. You also gave to crouch to get in without hitting your head and I'm of average height.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Em Jackson

Alone

City break

13 August 2015 Em would recommend this property

Liked: All staff were amazingly helpful, I'm a bit clumsy but had so much help from them in getting my things back. Really laid back atmosphere, easy to meet people. Nice grassy area for sunbathing. Great location just 5 minutes from the train station

Disliked: Lower bunk beds had a hook on them and a bar which were right at face level when you sat up. That was pretty painful.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Edmundo Rodriguez Quero

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2015 Edmundo would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly and helpful, and the place is quite close to the city center, and the area is not bad, is surrounded by pubs and bars and museums and shops.

Disliked: The beds and the showers are from 1962 and they should be renewed as soon as possible. Although the hostel is quite safe, is not far away from a part of Copenhagen that is full of drug addicts and prostitutes. But that's not as bad as the beds and the showers. Another bad thing is the big amount of children, very noisy children, that usually are there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MIHO FUJIMOTO

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2015 MIHO would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: support

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MIHO FUJIMOTO

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2015 MIHO would recommend this property

Liked: ・Staff kindness ・Public space is wide

Disliked: Towel paid rental

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2015

Liked: Fairly well-located, you get what you pay for

Disliked: Anyone seeking creature comforts should not come here, and it often feels like staying in a military barracks, especially if you stay in a 32-bed dorm like I did. The showers have very little privacy. Security is very poor so make sure to bring a padlock with you.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Mårten Mogerud

Alone

City break

17 June 2015

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Add a nota bene that you do not supply pillow and blanket in the price. Just having it in free-flowing text ain't enough!!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Kristína Kotzmanova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2015

Liked: The location is quite handy and also the kitchen is really nice (although only if not used by all the guests). We also enjoyed the outside are and benches for catching some sunshine.

Disliked: There were no sockets near the beds we were assigned. Considering how many people were staying, I don't think there is sufficient number of toilets and showers. If you are going to stay, definitely bring your own bedding unless you feel like paying extra money for already overpriced and crowded rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Milton Roiz

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 June 2015 Milton would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was close to the central station and it was easy to access other parts of the city from there.

Disliked: The only problem you did had to pay extra for things like bedding.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ludwig Gunnarsson Maeder

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2015 Ludwig would recommend this property

Liked: I loved The fact that there were so many friendly people there that i got to talk to and know.

Disliked: Only things i've wanted was that there improved The "social areal" and that The locker lock and bed set was complimentary with the bed fee.a

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

01 September 2014

Liked: Location was good. There is large kitchen with lot of facilities in order to cook your own food stuff. I liked it

Disliked: Cooling system, and crowd and noisy! if you are traveling with large group then it might be interesting otherwise it bothers

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christe Slabbers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 Christe would recommend this property

Liked: It was cool, fantastic kitchen!

Disliked: No plug sockets in the rooms.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2014

Liked: Only that it's cheap, really.

Disliked: I probably just booked the wrong hostel as it was nothing like I had expected. It was extremely different from all the hostels I had stayed in. However, I would first like to provide a disclaimer, it was probably not because the place was extremely bad, it was probably just me booking the wrong type of hostel; it was cheap and suitable for people who doesn't mind the environment. When I first arrive at slightly after midnight, the place felt like some workers' dormitory. Someone was already sleeping on the bed allocated to me. The place was dirty and dodgy. It wasn't the first time I stayed at a mixed dorm, but it was the first time I felt 'unsafe'. It was really dark, I had to use a torchlight, and someone slightly drunk I'd assume came walking in with a bottle of beer.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to walk to from the station. Had a nice common area and good wifi.

Disliked: The dorm rooms didn't lock. Bathrooms weren't very clean. Had to pay cash only at reception.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap, Nice park

Disliked: The showers are a little old

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shreyans Jain

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Shreyans would recommend this property

Liked: the kitchen is gud...although there it has 66 ed ad 32 bed dorms, the rooms are quit big so there is no suffocation inside and there is a lot of space to move around in the room

Disliked: they charge for everything, like bedsheet towel pillow ad linen. Also, the showers are in the basement, that means if u have a room on 1st floor, then also u will have to go to basment for showers

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014

Liked: The location is good. The staff is also helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Security is bad, anyone can enter the hostel and the room. The rooms need renovation.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness! Staffs are super nice and they know everything about Copenhagen!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and cheerful! Good if you want somewhere cheap to stay and the kitchen facilities were really useful and large, but not particularly pleasant with much character.

Disliked: No bed linen included, not even a pillow. Large rooms that didn't have any plug sockets.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Mehdi Salimi

Alone

Relaxation/spa

19 June 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: It was dirty. No linen and bed was poor

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2014

Liked: not much. kitchen has no plates, silverware, pots cups. totally bare bones.

Disliked: dim rooms. bunks stacked so low you can't sit on the lower one. bare walls.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location! free wi-fi, kitchen, staff

Disliked: n/a

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the price

Disliked: the connection of wifi is not so steady

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Pontus Eriksson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2014 Pontus would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and realativly close to the train station

Disliked: Only takes cash and not even coins. Not so friendly.