HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Arpacay Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Nerudova 40, Prague 1, Prague, Czech Republic 118 00

90.4% Overall Rating

396 out of 406 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/03/2014)

"Way better than I expected. I stayed at a different hostel before this place and i wish I had stayed here the whole time. Very clean, yes you have to walk up a big hill but you are soooo close to many awesome main…"

Read all Arpacay Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 28.18
  • Breakfast USD 3.77

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

The Golden Wheel Boutique Hotel
61.56 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Little Quarter Hostel
15.22 USD

Hostel 87.8% 79 reviews
Hostel Santini Prague
19.23 USD

Hostel 89.1% 17 reviews
Little Town
10.06 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.7% 472 reviews
SG1 Hostel
15.22 USD

Hostel 91.4% 3 reviews
Budget Hostel
17.98 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Charles Bridge Economic Hostel
22.64 USD

Hostel 97.1% 76 reviews
Hotel U Krize
83.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

396 out of 406 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arpacay Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 264 of 401 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tom Waddell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2012 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself is very nice looking and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was huge and it was nice to have shelves and drawers to put our stuff and a table to sit at. There was also a table and chairs outside our room which was nice (except when some girls decide to sit there and sing at 4am.)

Disliked: The location is quite good, but you need to cross Charles Bridge and walk up a big hill to get to it from the main square. The first couple of times you do this it's enjoyable, but I can definitely say I hated that bridge and hill by the time I left Prague. We had our own bathroom but the shower started flooding into the hall after the second day. We told reception and we were handed an old floor cleaner and some old towels. They didn't really seem to care that it was probably a burst pipe and never sent anyone up to have a look at it. We had to spend an hour mopping up water with old towels and ringing them out in the sink any time we had a shower. It was a bit disappointing that they never helped us out with it, because apart from that the hostel was very good.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucy Clark

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2012 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing views of the city. Perfect for travelling with a large group.

Disliked: Lucy left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had an attic room which was very spacious and clean. Got a single bed and not a bunk bed! Good location, near the Charles Bridge. It is up a bit of a hill but this is no problem, a bit of exercise if anything! Nice breakfast for only 3 euros and could buy water from reception for very cheap.

Disliked: Only one bathroom between quite a few people so had to wait a little bit for a shower. No big problems though.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The style, the equipment, location, staff, everything was meant to make the stay there a memorable and nice one.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen available to make food in plus personal lockers in the room. A bit of a hike to get up to the hostel, but this helped with sobering up each night to be ready for the next day. Several restaurants and pubs nearby as well. Also even though it was a 10 person room, it was very spacious making it seem like there were less people there.

Disliked: Common area set up was not the best for hanging out in. It should also be noted that there is a bath instead of a shower (with a detachable nozzle for spraying). Not sure if this is the case for all rooms however.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, spacious and comfortable beds.

Disliked: The room above us on the second night was quite noisy and the sound travelled into our room but overall wasnt really an issue.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and comfortable

Disliked: location - it's out of the city centre and a bit of a climb up the hill.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central, very friendly, not very big

Disliked: steep way up, but kind of comfy bcs of surrounding although

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alejandra Maya

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Alejandra would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really nice and clean. It's renovated and everything looks brand new. The staff, specially Mike, is very kind and helpful. Location is perfect, it's 5 min walking to the castle and 10 min walking to the city center.

Disliked: We were two people and booked in the 4-bed shared dorm. We did not like that the room was in the last floor of the building and it had only one access door for two rooms: one with 8-bed room (first floor) and one with 4-bed room (second floor). We felt that we were in a 12-bed dorm. Also, there was only one bathroom for the two rooms (12 people). In addition, we were there in the hottest day of the year (37 degrees) and the room was really hot and it did not have AC or fan. Also we did not like that it's not allowed to use the kitchen between 6am -12 m.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Lielpetere

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Very calm, very comfortable.

Disliked: Problems with wi-fi on the upper floors.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Katharina Scherger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2012 Anna Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: This place is AWESOME!!! The staff is really friendly and helpful, the rooms are nice (you get free lockers), and there's free internet. There's also a buffet breakfast for 3 Euros which is really tasty. This hostel was the best one I stayed in during my whole Europe trip.

Disliked: There's no lift in this hostel (as the building is from the 16th century) but the awesome staff help you carrying your luggage up the stairs to your room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent Location, nice place

Disliked: the little walk uphill to get to the hostel

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The clean room and the linen.

Disliked: When I arrived at this hostel, I found my reservation was not organized by staff. I had to change the room twice and the room that I stayed in had only guys. Other guest had same experiece like me. I was uncomfortable about this point.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and in a very central location. Also, the breakfast here war pretty good.

Disliked: nothing much

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carla Esteves

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2012 Carla would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice place to stay in Prague!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Conor Lennon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2012 Conor would recommend this property

Liked: The building itself was full of character and the staff were friendly and helpful. The room and bed were clean and comfortable. The facilities present covered most needs that one may have. The atmosphere was warm and convivial.

Disliked: Nothing of note.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brooke Chudleigh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012 Brooke would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so nice, the location couldnt have been better. The common areas are really nice and the rooms were lovely for a hostel. The food areas around are cheap and the breakfast is 75 Korun and it is so good, so much variety.

Disliked: The slow internet

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012

Liked: Good location, clean beds, free internet.

Disliked: Even once you had checked in and had a key you still had to be buzzed in to the building. This wouldnt have been an issue, but I had been in the lobby several times when the staff had walked away and someone was buzzing to get in, and there was no one to let them in. Staff was also an issue, I found. Check in took a long time, and while they do book tours for you, I found they didnt really have much feed back on what was good or bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: kind, helpful staff. 24hr reception. great location. clean facilities.

Disliked: nothing really...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrew Moss

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty decent location. Good TV room with sociable atmosphere. Good self catering facilities. Beds wide and comfortable.

Disliked: Only one sink and toilet for the whole dorm. Showers were very weak.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pavel Torpan

Alone

Events / festivals

15 August 2012 Pavel would recommend this property

Liked: It's as good as a hostel may get. Good location, clean, nice, very helpful staff. Totally enjoyed it.

Disliked: Pavel left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The communal areas/dorms were especially good for meeting other travellers. It had a wonderful location close to Prague Castle, although it was a bit of a hike up - but it was definitely worth it! There is a very good rooftop bar/steak restaurant right next to the hostel that can be visited - the food there is great, and the Pilsner of course! The dorm I stayed in was spotless - also very secure and I had a locker. There were a few computers available where you could go online and print things off. There were also plenty of brochures in the reception area so you could get ideas for where to go next. The staff were very informative and helpful. It was also possible to get breakfast from there cheaply and you could eat as much as you wanted. Above all, Prague is a great city which I'd strongly recommend people to visit and my stay here was the icing on the cake really - very good place.

Disliked: In all honestly, I have no criticisms to make really as I had such a good time there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jeff Olshan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2012 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: A great atmosphere and a friendly staff who is always on call. They have free internet terminals (which I find the mark of elite hostels) and while the breakfast is not included it's cheap and very good. They provide you with a locker and lock, which again is rare. Awesome place

Disliked: It is far away from the train station, up a hill from the nearest TRAM station, and about a 15 minute walk into Old Town.... but it is right under the Castle :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ugo Orlando

Alone

City break

12 August 2012 Ugo would recommend this property

Liked: Great big rooms

Disliked: Ugo left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing rooms, really clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels