HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Arpacay Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Nerudova 40, Prague 1, Prague, Czech Republic 118 00

90.4% Overall Rating

431 out of 442 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2014)

Amanda Houghton thinks…

"Hostel is in excellent location, beautiful building, amazingly comfy beds and clean nice linen, spacious and clean ! shared bathroom was always clean and could not fault acomadation"

Read all Arpacay Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 27.26
  • Breakfast USD 3.65

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

The Golden Wheel Boutique Hotel
86.41 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Little Quarter Hostel
18.76 USD

Hostel 87.0% 81 reviews
Hostel Santini Prague
21.30 USD

Hostel 89.0% 24 reviews
Little Town
14.60 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.2% 480 reviews
SG1 Hostel
16.08 USD

Hostel 89.7% 10 reviews
Budget Hostel
16.08 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Charles Bridge Economic Hostel
24.34 USD

Hostel 97.0% 86 reviews
Hotel U Krize
80.39 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

431 out of 442 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arpacay Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
79.2%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 286 of 437 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nuno Sousa

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Nuno would recommend this property

Liked: 1. place was clean and staff was friendly (24 hour reception) 2. other people in the room were nice and respectful of each one's space so do not be afraid of sharing the room with other people (I stayed in the 16 people mixed room) 3. free wifi everywhere 4. nice lounge in the common area 5. drinks and snacks available for good prices

Disliked: Nuno left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Manuel Medeiros

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2012 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, Good enviornment and the same time ridicously cheap. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Manuel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alina Mavlikeeva

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Alina would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Thank you!!!

Disliked: Alina left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Nataliia Chernysh

Alone

Business / conference

16 October 2012

Liked: I canceled the reservation at the hotel for 24 hours, but the hotel took my money with the payment card within 13 days of the cancellation order at night, at 4.16! Too bad! That's not right! 'll Never use the services of the hotel and this site-all friends in different countries tell about it! Nataliia Chernysh

Disliked: Cheating customers and embezzlement from plastic cards!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adesh Ladha

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012

Liked: every thing other than location

Disliked: location far from station

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Great breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

DAVID YAMADA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 DAVID would recommend this property

Liked: This is located in the middle of the tourist area. I could climb the hill and be at the Castle at the top and get great views

Disliked: The walk up the hill with baggage was a bit hard for my old bones. I suggest a taxi from the train station is worth the money.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ryan Palfreyman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Great furnishing, everything is clean and nice-looking. The location couldn't be better.

Disliked: Some of the staff were less than helpful: For example, I asked for a good place to change money and the girl at reception described a place a very long way from the hostel, which supposedly offered better rates than the ten or so places just across the road. When I finally got there I found that the place she had described was actually slightly more expensive! That is just one of several such occurrences.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, very friendly staff, very confortable beds and amazing tasty breakfast!!

Disliked: Temperature of the water of the shower, but still it was good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Farah Razzak

Alone

City break

07 October 2012 Farah would recommend this property

Liked: Most hostels in Prague are located in the Old Town. I selected this hostel for its location as it seemed to be on a slightly different side of Prague. It is located very close to Castle. I loved the location, I always walked to The Old Town the walk is very picturesque crossing Charles bridge, but a bit of a hike on its way back. The Hostel itself is in a historic building and is full of charm. Wooden beams, wooden floor boards, lovely prints on walls. The reception/lobby area is also very well decorated along with the dining hall. The building retains many of its original features and is beautiful to live in. The hostel also has a very pretty living room with a huge TV screen and all the mod cons. The internet and wifi were free to use, so were the towels and the Iron, which was great. The kitchen seemed nice, although I didn't use it at all. The toilets and communal areas were always clean.

Disliked: There is no lift and my room was on the third floor so a bit difficult to carry my trolly case all the way up. The light in the communal areas would switch off after 20 seconds while I was still going up the stairs, they should at least be on for 2 minutes, as couple of times I tripped because of this, this system is common in Prague, but most people staying at the hostel are first time travelers to Prague and the hostel should consider a time delay to avoid major claims in the future as it can lead to accidents. One particular staff member who sounded American, who I confused as tourist initially was a bit loud at all times, and did not reserve himself to his work desk at all, so i could not figure out the domain of his work, although he was very helpful at times, compared to other members of staff. The female members of staff were OK overall, there were 2 during my stay. I can't write anyone's name as no one was wearing any badges or least the same coloured shirt, for this reason at all times it was very confusing to tell as to who actually works there, as they all seemed very casual and lazy overall. This one particular male member of staff (not the American) had a very rude tone and seemed least interested in his job. I asked him to help me fix the TV twice and he didn't, and finally after a half hour when he decided to get up from his chair he accused me of doing something to the remote (didn't seem like a joke) and finally the American member of staff fixed it. Another incident where I politely asked him where to put the dirty towel and he said in a rude way to find the big sign, and several other incidents which just left a bad taste in my mouth.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mariia Veselova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2012 Mariia would recommend this property

Liked: hostel is situated in a really cool building!!i liked wooden floor and celing and interier at all

Disliked: bathroom is unlocked

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location excellent - on Nerudova Street virtually right beneath Prague Castle. Our room was spacious, with kitchenette and small balcony at th door.

Disliked: Everythng was fine.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

YEONJEONG JI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 YEONJEONG would recommend this property

Liked: The room was broad and seperated. It was very useful and clean. Also, I used their kitchen well and breakfast was nice. There were diverse bread, ham, cheese and tea.

Disliked: The hostel was located on the hill, so I had to go up there with my carriage. However, it didn't bother me that much.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juliana Santos

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Juliana would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location.

Disliked: Breakfast not included. A lot of noisy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ENEMBE OKOKON

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 ENEMBE would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, congenial atmosphere, great location with regard to choice city monuments, and helpful staffs.

Disliked: The hilltop location made strenuous climb; too much noise coming from the fourth floor apartment; and finally, the hostel does not cater specifically for persons with special needs e.g. those with limb defects.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great, the atmosphere was super.

Disliked: Just the fact that it is on top of the hill and you must haul all your stuff up there

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy and clean beds, good value breakfast for 75CKK. Great location next to Prague castle and wasy access to Charles bridge and 15 minute walk to old town square. Free internet and good facilites.

Disliked: The locks on the room doors dont automatically lock so can be a bit unsafe when staying in a mixed dorm and areunsure if the last person out has locked the room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very clean, nice location and the stuff was helpful.

Disliked: The 4 bed dorm wasn't a 4 bed dorm at all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice dorms

Disliked: on top of a hill and no lift, a bit of a treck when we arrived with our heavy backpacks on

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: OMG, it is by far the best place I have ever stayed at for the money! It is located right by the Prague Hrad (Castle) - 3 minute walk and the building itself is an old castle but with everything new, clean and shiny inside! The lockers are extremely secure and place is super clean! The climb by Nerudova street could be a bit hard if you were partying all night but it is totally worth it since the street itself is one of the oldest and has much historic buildings! Truly amazing - LOVED this place! Can't wait to go back to Prague and stay there again! Just one thing: If you are on a tight budget, be aware the kitchen is closed for Breakfast (for 3 Euro) from 6-12.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vinicius Carvalho

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 Vinicius would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are confortables, the staff are friedliness and the breakfast is amazing.

Disliked: The hostel is far away to the center of the city. And I think the bathroom are shared ofr too much people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, straight in the old town. Nice rooms and good atmosphere.

Disliked: Whenever you want to go out, there's a bit of a walk, although tram is quite close.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tom Waddell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2012 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself is very nice looking and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was huge and it was nice to have shelves and drawers to put our stuff and a table to sit at. There was also a table and chairs outside our room which was nice (except when some girls decide to sit there and sing at 4am.)

Disliked: The location is quite good, but you need to cross Charles Bridge and walk up a big hill to get to it from the main square. The first couple of times you do this it's enjoyable, but I can definitely say I hated that bridge and hill by the time I left Prague. We had our own bathroom but the shower started flooding into the hall after the second day. We told reception and we were handed an old floor cleaner and some old towels. They didn't really seem to care that it was probably a burst pipe and never sent anyone up to have a look at it. We had to spend an hour mopping up water with old towels and ringing them out in the sink any time we had a shower. It was a bit disappointing that they never helped us out with it, because apart from that the hostel was very good.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucy Clark

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2012 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing views of the city. Perfect for travelling with a large group.

Disliked: Lucy left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had an attic room which was very spacious and clean. Got a single bed and not a bunk bed! Good location, near the Charles Bridge. It is up a bit of a hill but this is no problem, a bit of exercise if anything! Nice breakfast for only 3 euros and could buy water from reception for very cheap.

Disliked: Only one bathroom between quite a few people so had to wait a little bit for a shower. No big problems though.


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels