We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Arpacay Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Nerudova 40, Prague 1, Prague, Czech Republic 118 00

89.8% Overall Rating

439 out of 450 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

Katie Thick thinks…

"Very clean and traditional property with great views of the city. Also only a short walk all the best tourist sites."

Read all Arpacay Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 25.74
  • Breakfast USD 3.45

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

The Golden Wheel Boutique Hotel
54.97 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Little Quarter Hostel
8.86 USD

Hostel 87.0% 81 reviews
Hostel Santini Prague
13.79 USD

Hostel 89.4% 26 reviews
Little Town
9.19 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.8% 485 reviews
SG1 Hostel
8.22 USD

Hostel 90.2% 12 reviews
Budget Hostel
16.45 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Charles Bridge Economic Hostel
17.23 USD

Hostel 96.1% 94 reviews
Hostel Mango
9.61 USD

Hostel 89.8% 255 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.8%

Overall Rating

439 out of 450 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arpacay Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
82.4%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 292 of 445 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Merrit

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Great location by the caste with views over the city, a 10-15minute walk across the bridge into the city centre

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wiktoria Hausner

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2012 Wiktoria would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is fabulous... Perfect location, very nice staff, and a great atmosphere in general!!! Especially the breakfast is amazing! :)

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peta Simmons

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2012 Peta would recommend this property

Liked: I have been traveling for 5 months and this is unquestionably the best hostel I have stayed at, EVER. The rooms are so beautiful and everything is really clean. The staff have a great sense of humour and there is a movie room that I didn't even get a chance to use. The bathroom and kitchen facilities there are top notch and and I wish I could have stayed longer. My whole experience there was absolutely wonderful.

Disliked: Having to leave.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great wifi and g8 price

Disliked: sometimes the wifi didnt work but it always works in reception

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

courtney hockaday

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2012 courtney would recommend this property

Liked: prettyy close to the castle and vitus cathedral so could easlly get to the cghanging of the guard

Disliked: very little the uphill struggle to reach it frrom the tram stop at the sqaure below proved bit hard on me (an old man) after a long day out sightseeing but the clean accomodation provided counterbalnced that

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beauiful building, very spacious, trendy and clean. Secure box for belongings, washing done for a fee, very good and cheap breakfast, all the staff friendly and helpful, everything new and modern.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nuno Sousa

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Nuno would recommend this property

Liked: 1. place was clean and staff was friendly (24 hour reception) 2. other people in the room were nice and respectful of each one's space so do not be afraid of sharing the room with other people (I stayed in the 16 people mixed room) 3. free wifi everywhere 4. nice lounge in the common area 5. drinks and snacks available for good prices

Disliked: Nuno left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Manuel Medeiros

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2012 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, Good enviornment and the same time ridicously cheap. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Manuel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alina Mavlikeeva

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Alina would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Thank you!!!

Disliked: Alina left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Nataliia Chernysh

Alone

Business / conference

16 October 2012

Liked: I canceled the reservation at the hotel for 24 hours, but the hotel took my money with the payment card within 13 days of the cancellation order at night, at 4.16! Too bad! That's not right! 'll Never use the services of the hotel and this site-all friends in different countries tell about it! Nataliia Chernysh

Disliked: Cheating customers and embezzlement from plastic cards!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adesh Ladha

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012

Liked: every thing other than location

Disliked: location far from station

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Great breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

DAVID YAMADA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 DAVID would recommend this property

Liked: This is located in the middle of the tourist area. I could climb the hill and be at the Castle at the top and get great views

Disliked: The walk up the hill with baggage was a bit hard for my old bones. I suggest a taxi from the train station is worth the money.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ryan Palfreyman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Great furnishing, everything is clean and nice-looking. The location couldn't be better.

Disliked: Some of the staff were less than helpful: For example, I asked for a good place to change money and the girl at reception described a place a very long way from the hostel, which supposedly offered better rates than the ten or so places just across the road. When I finally got there I found that the place she had described was actually slightly more expensive! That is just one of several such occurrences.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, very friendly staff, very confortable beds and amazing tasty breakfast!!

Disliked: Temperature of the water of the shower, but still it was good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Farah Razzak

Alone

City break

07 October 2012 Farah would recommend this property

Liked: Most hostels in Prague are located in the Old Town. I selected this hostel for its location as it seemed to be on a slightly different side of Prague. It is located very close to Castle. I loved the location, I always walked to The Old Town the walk is very picturesque crossing Charles bridge, but a bit of a hike on its way back. The Hostel itself is in a historic building and is full of charm. Wooden beams, wooden floor boards, lovely prints on walls. The reception/lobby area is also very well decorated along with the dining hall. The building retains many of its original features and is beautiful to live in. The hostel also has a very pretty living room with a huge TV screen and all the mod cons. The internet and wifi were free to use, so were the towels and the Iron, which was great. The kitchen seemed nice, although I didn't use it at all. The toilets and communal areas were always clean.

Disliked: There is no lift and my room was on the third floor so a bit difficult to carry my trolly case all the way up. The light in the communal areas would switch off after 20 seconds while I was still going up the stairs, they should at least be on for 2 minutes, as couple of times I tripped because of this, this system is common in Prague, but most people staying at the hostel are first time travelers to Prague and the hostel should consider a time delay to avoid major claims in the future as it can lead to accidents. One particular staff member who sounded American, who I confused as tourist initially was a bit loud at all times, and did not reserve himself to his work desk at all, so i could not figure out the domain of his work, although he was very helpful at times, compared to other members of staff. The female members of staff were OK overall, there were 2 during my stay. I can't write anyone's name as no one was wearing any badges or least the same coloured shirt, for this reason at all times it was very confusing to tell as to who actually works there, as they all seemed very casual and lazy overall. This one particular male member of staff (not the American) had a very rude tone and seemed least interested in his job. I asked him to help me fix the TV twice and he didn't, and finally after a half hour when he decided to get up from his chair he accused me of doing something to the remote (didn't seem like a joke) and finally the American member of staff fixed it. Another incident where I politely asked him where to put the dirty towel and he said in a rude way to find the big sign, and several other incidents which just left a bad taste in my mouth.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mariia Veselova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2012 Mariia would recommend this property

Liked: hostel is situated in a really cool building!!i liked wooden floor and celing and interier at all

Disliked: bathroom is unlocked

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location excellent - on Nerudova Street virtually right beneath Prague Castle. Our room was spacious, with kitchenette and small balcony at th door.

Disliked: Everythng was fine.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

YEONJEONG JI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 YEONJEONG would recommend this property

Liked: The room was broad and seperated. It was very useful and clean. Also, I used their kitchen well and breakfast was nice. There were diverse bread, ham, cheese and tea.

Disliked: The hostel was located on the hill, so I had to go up there with my carriage. However, it didn't bother me that much.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juliana Santos

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Juliana would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location.

Disliked: Breakfast not included. A lot of noisy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ENEMBE OKOKON

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 ENEMBE would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, congenial atmosphere, great location with regard to choice city monuments, and helpful staffs.

Disliked: The hilltop location made strenuous climb; too much noise coming from the fourth floor apartment; and finally, the hostel does not cater specifically for persons with special needs e.g. those with limb defects.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great, the atmosphere was super.

Disliked: Just the fact that it is on top of the hill and you must haul all your stuff up there

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy and clean beds, good value breakfast for 75CKK. Great location next to Prague castle and wasy access to Charles bridge and 15 minute walk to old town square. Free internet and good facilites.

Disliked: The locks on the room doors dont automatically lock so can be a bit unsafe when staying in a mixed dorm and areunsure if the last person out has locked the room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very clean, nice location and the stuff was helpful.

Disliked: The 4 bed dorm wasn't a 4 bed dorm at all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice dorms

Disliked: on top of a hill and no lift, a bit of a treck when we arrived with our heavy backpacks on


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels