We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Arpacay Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Nerudova 40, Prague 1, Prague, Czech Republic 118 00

88.5% Overall Rating

447 out of 458 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/01/2015)

Joseph Höfler thinks…

"Arpacay Backpackers Hostel is definitely a hostel I'm going to choose again when visiting Prag again. First of all the staff was very helpful and kind. And for me its location right next to the…"

Read all Arpacay Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 22.70
  • Breakfast USD 3.04

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

The Golden Wheel Boutique Hotel
34.69 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Little Quarter Hostel
6.71 USD

Hostel 89.5% 85 reviews
Hostel Santini Prague
11.08 USD

Hostel 89.6% 28 reviews
Little Town
8.11 USD

Hostel 86.5% 487 reviews
SG1 Hostel
6.15 USD

Hostel 89.0% 14 reviews
Charles Bridge Economic Hostel
12.12 USD

Hostel 95.4% 98 reviews
Hostel Mango
6.85 USD

Hostel 88.9% 262 reviews
Charles Bridge Apartments
22.30 USD

Apartment 85.0% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

447 out of 458 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arpacay Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 298 of 453 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nicely presented, good location near to the castle.

Disliked: staff not particularly helpful or welcoming.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Marley Silva Pacheco

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013 Alan Marley would recommend this property

Liked: The room is great wide big with chairs and a really good bathroom, best bathroom I have seen in a hostel!

Disliked: Shops around are expensive you have to walk a bit to get a decent price

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013

Liked: Location was really good. Hostel was clean, rooms were in good condition.

Disliked: AFTER YOUR PAYMENT, ASK FOR A RECEIPT! Staff was nice to us but they made a unforgivable mistake. A woman on the reception desk took our payment as cash. However, she did not give us a receipt. On the next day, when we were checking out, there was another woman asking for the payment AGAIN; telling us that we have not paid. We thought we had her convinced and left the place. Two days later I realized that they withdrawed money from my CREDIT CARD right after we left the hostel AGAIN. So be careful!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

leah ha

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 leah would recommend this property

Liked: 프라하성 근처에 있어 위치가 좋습니다. 안델역으로 바로 가는 트램도 있고 무엇보다 이층침대가 아닌 것이 좋았습니다.

Disliked: leah left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noorazlan Ahmad Yaacob

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2013 Noorazlan would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap. Good location. Nice dorms. Great communal area. Can't get any better than this. Perfect.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike. But if I have to mention any, they sell carbonated drink slightly more expensive than most convenience store. But not a deal breaker.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large spacious rooms

Disliked: No A/C or fans. During my stay it was 29-35 C and unbearable at night. Staff was also not very helpful and did not seem to know much about the city.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were good and on the whole clean. The place was cleaned everyday. There was also a TV room and a number of films to watch in your own lanaguage. Internet facilities were good too as was the wifi and the free towel (but you have to ask for it). Breakfast was an extra but fair and could be easily utilised better to make sandwiches for an afternoon snack later. The self service kitchen was a boon especially when cash was getting tight.

Disliked: You have to be careful about the rooms you pick. I stayed in three different rooms. The most expensice room in the place is right at the top of the building - not the best place to be at the height of summer as heat rises! It also states on the website that the particular room came with a wash room but fails to mention you were to share it with the dorm below. I would say the best rooms I stayed in were the cheaper ones.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erica White

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013 Erica would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved this hostel. It was so very clean and it was located right under prague castle. You can walk everywhere worth seeing from this hostel, but if you don't want to there is a tram stop and Molestranska metro stop nearby. The beds were wooden frames which didn't make much noise and the lockers underneath are huge. I would recommend this hostel to everyone, simply beautiful. Wifi is okay and their computers are really fast! Met some great people in the lounge.

Disliked: nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location! Very clean and quiet at night. The lockers were like a drawer so they were very practical to put away our clothes for our stay in Prague. Very friendly and helpfull staff. The breakfast was very good!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel was great, literally right beside Prague Castle and a 5 minute walk to lots of restaurants, bars and the Charles Bridge. We arrived to the hostel quite early on in the day and although the room was not ready when we arrived we could still use the internet facilities, the television and dvd's which both had lots of English options and the kitchen facilities. The breakfast was good value for money.

Disliked: We had paid for the 4 bedroom shared dorm (Room 43). This was on the top floor and there was no lift which wasn't a problem at all for us. On the top floor there is a door that takes you in to rooms 43 and 44. Through the door you immediately enter room 44 which is a 10 bed sharing dorm, you need to walk through this room and up a set of stairs which leads you on to the 4 bed room. However, the people in the 10 bed dorm could have came and went in our room as they pleased as there was nothing separating the rooms. We also had to share the bathroom with the 10 people downstairs, which also wasn't a problem. I doubt I would stay at this hostel again purely because we paid for the 4 bed dorm but effectively, were staying in a 14 bed dorm.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent! The breakfast is great considering the price.

Disliked: Too noisy. Depending on the other guests the dorms can be really noisy and dirty.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's cheap, has a kitchen and decent breakfast for 75czk. good bathroom with a hair blow dryer, helps a lot especially for us girls.

Disliked: limited time to use the kitchen. we can't make our own breakfast, so its practical to purchase the breakfast before heading out.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful view and location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maryia Khadzinskaya

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Maryia would recommend this property

Liked: The location is what I liked most of all! and the view from the window is absolutely amazing) The hostel in general is quite friendly, and the stay was really enjoyable) will gladly stay there again)

Disliked: Maryia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious, clean rooms with high quality beds. Communal area were also clean and of high quality. Great location...couldnt fault the place!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Patricia Lake

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2013 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place. I liked the staff and the beds were comfortable.

Disliked: it was up a hill towards the castle which is nice but hard rolling your luggage all the way up there. I still liked it though because it was a great location and can't help that the tram doesn't stop up there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds and the lockers under the beds - great way to save space! The bathrooms / showers are great.

Disliked: Just 1 fridge is too short!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Violetta Teetor

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Violetta would recommend this property

Liked: Period building, nooks and crannies, lovely space altogether. Added to this was the staff who were gorgeous, welcoming and helpful. I have to say that this is the best hostel I've ever stayed at.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very clean and beautiful with its big open windows facing the street, only a 5 min walk to Charles bridge and maybe 10-15 into old town which was nice for avoiding lots of tourists.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was generally clean and the WiFi worked very well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice room. Good showers. Nice breakfast for a good price. Cozy but not cramped.

Disliked: Toilets were not flushing properly : /

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean and good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were in good condition and were clean. The breakfast was awesome. Bread, jam, cereal, juice, milk, some sliced meat, cheese, etc. It's worth the 79 koruna (all-you-can-eat too!). Don't need to wash the dishes too so it was quite nice. The location is excellent, not really close from the airport or main train station but you can reach quite everything by tram around Prague so it's fine. From the airport you can take the bus but I didn't take it because it never show within 45 min waiting (supposed to pass 3 times during that time). The bed bunk are good construction and don't crack. Mattress is fine and you have a little light and some outlet close. The nice thing is the locker : it's a drawer right under the bed, it use a big lock. You can fit a 40L backpack and a laptop bag easily. They provided a nice map and the staff were quite helpful for tram questions, etc.

Disliked: It was quite cold in the entire building. During the night the temperature was about 12-15 celsius and all the windows were open. It was freezing in the morning. There was construction in the building, from 9AM to 7PM, it was quite annoying especially on morning after a hard night. The washing machine cost is too expensive : about 7$US... come on.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jorge Velandia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Jorge would recommend this property

Liked: It's excellent ... it provides real value to your money

Disliked: Nothing ... Bed is too warm and comfortable , so it's difficult to wake up in the morning :p

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gonzalo Costa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2013 Gonzalo would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, lots of space and located right next to the castle.

Disliked: nothing.


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels