HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Arpacay Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Nerudova 40, Prague 1, Prague, Czech Republic 118 00

90.3% Overall Rating

430 out of 441 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2014)

Amanda Houghton thinks…

"Hostel is in excellent location, beautiful building, amazingly comfy beds and clean nice linen, spacious and clean ! shared bathroom was always clean and could not fault acomadation"

Read all Arpacay Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 27.44
  • Breakfast USD 3.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

The Golden Wheel Boutique Hotel
86.85 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Little Quarter Hostel
17.50 USD

Hostel 87.0% 81 reviews
Hostel Santini Prague
21.41 USD

Hostel 88.4% 22 reviews
Little Town
14.70 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.2% 479 reviews
SG1 Hostel
16.16 USD

Hostel 89.7% 10 reviews
Budget Hostel
16.16 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Charles Bridge Economic Hostel
24.50 USD

Hostel 97.6% 84 reviews
Hotel U Krize
80.79 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

430 out of 441 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arpacay Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
78.4%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 286 of 437 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Juan Aragone

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place. Good vibe. Clean and safe. It's good to stay some days. Breakfast cost you 3 euros but its great and all you can eat

Disliked: Location, just a little bit uphill. The rest great!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrei Salama

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 Andrei would recommend this property

Liked: There is very helpful and friendly staff, commodious clean rooms, wi-fi is everywhere, very close to historical sights, close to public transport - about 5 min walk from the tram stop.

Disliked: Stupid roommates woke us up at the midnight (just switched all lights on in the room) and in early morning (roommate was sleeping and didn't stop the alarm clock - woke up all other roommates). I think staff have to better explain rules of habitation in dorm rooms. Elevator was under construction.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: character, quiet location, lovely guests - it seems to attract mature independent travellers not drinkers! Nice to have female only dorm.

Disliked: Bit far up the hill when carrying luggage! Difficult to cook own food when kitchen is used for breakfast catering.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: OK WiFi speed, big kitchen seating area, great staff at the recption, big loackable bathroom, great location right under the castle, 24H reception.

Disliked: The woman in the kitchen denying me hot water for my puny teabag in the morning, got it for free thogugh from the great woman in the reception. The first upper left bed in dorm 18 is not flat anymore due to all the people sleeping on it, steer away! A lot of Australians coming home late at night drunk making a lot of noise.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fine. The building and the rooms were very nice. Atmosphere is good. The breakfast is also good. Staff was alright.

Disliked: Nothing I disliked.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely building and rooms. Clean and very comfortable beds. Quick walk to Charles bridge and close to all main attractions.

Disliked: They do not advertise that you cannot use the kitchen between 6am and 12 lunchtime as they want you to pay for their breakfast. This is very inconvenient if you want to save money by providing your own breakfast or an early lunch. Staff not overly willing to help you.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and friendly staff. Safe storage areas in the room. Great location near Prague Castle.

Disliked: Distance from the Old Town

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice communal areas for relaxing

Disliked: everything creaked (doors, floors) so if you are a light sleeper than take your earplugs. I also felt that the lockers situated under the bottom bunk were not easily accessible and if you wanted to get to anything during the night you would definitely be waking people up

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2013

Liked: The location was close to the castle.

Disliked: The entrance is a little difficult to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Lown

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! the rooms are full of character and although there was 9 other people in the room, it didn't feel that way, it was spacious and well planned. the room had beams running across the ceiling and had some subtle decor, which if you like a more pleasant room to stay in, choose this hostel. plenty of choice for breakfast at just 75Kc, eat whatever you fancied, it was really good, but don't turn up right at 11 or you won't be able to get any!! the ,location just under the castle was wonderful and the views from the hostel on a clear day was amazing, you could see across Prague. Just a short walk roundthe corner is the castle where the views get even better.....make sure to go to the castle at noon to see the changing of the guard! it was fab! a great friendly hostel which i would stay in again. for the price it was a bargain!

Disliked: only 2 showers by our room (which was a 10 bed) so by the time i got to have my shower the water went cold on the second day...... no big deal for me, but may be for some!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Paul Yu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 John Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very helpful. Monica even help me to post my postcards.. The food is worth it.. Very good value for money

Disliked: The floors makes some noise when walking

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cok temiz, oldukca düzenli bunlarin yani sira konumu da oldukca guzeldi

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Yunnan Chen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2013 Yunnan would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely views and location overlooking the castle. Building is full of character and very old.

Disliked: Though it's not too far from the station on the map, trudging up to the top of a hill to find the hostel was quite a trek. We arrived to be rewarded with another trudge to the attic room, and despaired to find that the "four person" dorm we'd booked was actually just a wooden platform above a larger, 8-bed dorm in the attic - roomy, with all the furniture, but it was quite cheeky to advertise it as a private room when it was connected by open stairs, no door, to the rooms below and quite, quite open to the noise and boistrous revels of the 18-year-old bar-crawling Lads below at 4am.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nicely presented, good location near to the castle.

Disliked: staff not particularly helpful or welcoming.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Marley Silva Pacheco

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013 Alan Marley would recommend this property

Liked: The room is great wide big with chairs and a really good bathroom, best bathroom I have seen in a hostel!

Disliked: Shops around are expensive you have to walk a bit to get a decent price

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013

Liked: Location was really good. Hostel was clean, rooms were in good condition.

Disliked: AFTER YOUR PAYMENT, ASK FOR A RECEIPT! Staff was nice to us but they made a unforgivable mistake. A woman on the reception desk took our payment as cash. However, she did not give us a receipt. On the next day, when we were checking out, there was another woman asking for the payment AGAIN; telling us that we have not paid. We thought we had her convinced and left the place. Two days later I realized that they withdrawed money from my CREDIT CARD right after we left the hostel AGAIN. So be careful!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

leah ha

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 leah would recommend this property

Liked: 프라하성 근처에 있어 위치가 좋습니다. 안델역으로 바로 가는 트램도 있고 무엇보다 이층침대가 아닌 것이 좋았습니다.

Disliked: leah left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noorazlan Ahmad Yaacob

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2013 Noorazlan would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap. Good location. Nice dorms. Great communal area. Can't get any better than this. Perfect.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike. But if I have to mention any, they sell carbonated drink slightly more expensive than most convenience store. But not a deal breaker.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large spacious rooms

Disliked: No A/C or fans. During my stay it was 29-35 C and unbearable at night. Staff was also not very helpful and did not seem to know much about the city.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were good and on the whole clean. The place was cleaned everyday. There was also a TV room and a number of films to watch in your own lanaguage. Internet facilities were good too as was the wifi and the free towel (but you have to ask for it). Breakfast was an extra but fair and could be easily utilised better to make sandwiches for an afternoon snack later. The self service kitchen was a boon especially when cash was getting tight.

Disliked: You have to be careful about the rooms you pick. I stayed in three different rooms. The most expensice room in the place is right at the top of the building - not the best place to be at the height of summer as heat rises! It also states on the website that the particular room came with a wash room but fails to mention you were to share it with the dorm below. I would say the best rooms I stayed in were the cheaper ones.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erica White

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013 Erica would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved this hostel. It was so very clean and it was located right under prague castle. You can walk everywhere worth seeing from this hostel, but if you don't want to there is a tram stop and Molestranska metro stop nearby. The beds were wooden frames which didn't make much noise and the lockers underneath are huge. I would recommend this hostel to everyone, simply beautiful. Wifi is okay and their computers are really fast! Met some great people in the lounge.

Disliked: nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location! Very clean and quiet at night. The lockers were like a drawer so they were very practical to put away our clothes for our stay in Prague. Very friendly and helpfull staff. The breakfast was very good!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel was great, literally right beside Prague Castle and a 5 minute walk to lots of restaurants, bars and the Charles Bridge. We arrived to the hostel quite early on in the day and although the room was not ready when we arrived we could still use the internet facilities, the television and dvd's which both had lots of English options and the kitchen facilities. The breakfast was good value for money.

Disliked: We had paid for the 4 bedroom shared dorm (Room 43). This was on the top floor and there was no lift which wasn't a problem at all for us. On the top floor there is a door that takes you in to rooms 43 and 44. Through the door you immediately enter room 44 which is a 10 bed sharing dorm, you need to walk through this room and up a set of stairs which leads you on to the 4 bed room. However, the people in the 10 bed dorm could have came and went in our room as they pleased as there was nothing separating the rooms. We also had to share the bathroom with the 10 people downstairs, which also wasn't a problem. I doubt I would stay at this hostel again purely because we paid for the 4 bed dorm but effectively, were staying in a 14 bed dorm.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent! The breakfast is great considering the price.

Disliked: Too noisy. Depending on the other guests the dorms can be really noisy and dirty.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's cheap, has a kitchen and decent breakfast for 75czk. good bathroom with a hair blow dryer, helps a lot especially for us girls.

Disliked: limited time to use the kitchen. we can't make our own breakfast, so its practical to purchase the breakfast before heading out.


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels