We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Arpacay Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Nerudova 40, Prague 1, Prague, Czech Republic 118 00

90.7% Overall Rating

440 out of 451 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/12/2014)

"This hotel is brilliant - it's in a beautiful cosy building in a lovely part of Prague - near the castle and just 10 minutes walk or so to the Charles Bridge, and then on into town. Staff very helpful and lots of…"

Read all Arpacay Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 25.74
  • Breakfast USD 3.45

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

The Golden Wheel Boutique Hotel
72.74 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Little Quarter Hostel
8.86 USD

Hostel 87.0% 81 reviews
Hostel Santini Prague
13.79 USD

Hostel 89.6% 27 reviews
Little Town
18.38 USD

Hostel 85.8% 485 reviews
SG1 Hostel
8.86 USD

Hostel 90.3% 13 reviews
Budget Hostel
16.45 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Charles Bridge Economic Hostel
20.68 USD

Hostel 96.2% 96 reviews
Hostel Mango
9.15 USD

Hostel 89.8% 255 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.7%

Overall Rating

440 out of 451 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arpacay Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 293 of 446 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good staff, rooms and bathrooms.

Disliked: The location is near to the castle, bur far from all other places, and it is at a top of a huge rise street, so prepare your legs for that.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is really helpful, and I loved the lockers!

Disliked: The location is a little bit far away from the center and on the top a hill D:

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 October 2013

Liked: The bed was so sturdy. It didn't make any noise.

Disliked: No electricity access up bunk bed. I could hear every noise from the shower room and toilet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mohit Chawla

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Mohit would recommend this property

Liked: - Great location - Exactly like we saw in the pictures - Super friendly staff - Cleanliness and well managed

Disliked: Nothing as such, it was just great experience!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, exceptionally clean, front staff most helpful, fantastic location

Disliked: Nothing, it was great and very clean

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Papa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2013 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Good buffet breakfast for only 3 euro, close distance to Charles bridge, the kitchen facilities are better than most hostels

Disliked: The floorboards are a bit creaky

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very comfortable,great space to keep your things save they even give you a padlock. The breakfast is simple but cheap so it's okay. Nice choice.

Disliked: The towel they give u is a little bit small. The hostel is a little bit more far than the description of 300mts but that's not a real dislike, just so others now.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Juan Aragone

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place. Good vibe. Clean and safe. It's good to stay some days. Breakfast cost you 3 euros but its great and all you can eat

Disliked: Location, just a little bit uphill. The rest great!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrei Salama

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 Andrei would recommend this property

Liked: There is very helpful and friendly staff, commodious clean rooms, wi-fi is everywhere, very close to historical sights, close to public transport - about 5 min walk from the tram stop.

Disliked: Stupid roommates woke us up at the midnight (just switched all lights on in the room) and in early morning (roommate was sleeping and didn't stop the alarm clock - woke up all other roommates). I think staff have to better explain rules of habitation in dorm rooms. Elevator was under construction.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: character, quiet location, lovely guests - it seems to attract mature independent travellers not drinkers! Nice to have female only dorm.

Disliked: Bit far up the hill when carrying luggage! Difficult to cook own food when kitchen is used for breakfast catering.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: OK WiFi speed, big kitchen seating area, great staff at the recption, big loackable bathroom, great location right under the castle, 24H reception.

Disliked: The woman in the kitchen denying me hot water for my puny teabag in the morning, got it for free thogugh from the great woman in the reception. The first upper left bed in dorm 18 is not flat anymore due to all the people sleeping on it, steer away! A lot of Australians coming home late at night drunk making a lot of noise.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fine. The building and the rooms were very nice. Atmosphere is good. The breakfast is also good. Staff was alright.

Disliked: Nothing I disliked.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely building and rooms. Clean and very comfortable beds. Quick walk to Charles bridge and close to all main attractions.

Disliked: They do not advertise that you cannot use the kitchen between 6am and 12 lunchtime as they want you to pay for their breakfast. This is very inconvenient if you want to save money by providing your own breakfast or an early lunch. Staff not overly willing to help you.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and friendly staff. Safe storage areas in the room. Great location near Prague Castle.

Disliked: Distance from the Old Town

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice communal areas for relaxing

Disliked: everything creaked (doors, floors) so if you are a light sleeper than take your earplugs. I also felt that the lockers situated under the bottom bunk were not easily accessible and if you wanted to get to anything during the night you would definitely be waking people up

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2013

Liked: The location was close to the castle.

Disliked: The entrance is a little difficult to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Lown

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! the rooms are full of character and although there was 9 other people in the room, it didn't feel that way, it was spacious and well planned. the room had beams running across the ceiling and had some subtle decor, which if you like a more pleasant room to stay in, choose this hostel. plenty of choice for breakfast at just 75Kc, eat whatever you fancied, it was really good, but don't turn up right at 11 or you won't be able to get any!! the ,location just under the castle was wonderful and the views from the hostel on a clear day was amazing, you could see across Prague. Just a short walk roundthe corner is the castle where the views get even better.....make sure to go to the castle at noon to see the changing of the guard! it was fab! a great friendly hostel which i would stay in again. for the price it was a bargain!

Disliked: only 2 showers by our room (which was a 10 bed) so by the time i got to have my shower the water went cold on the second day...... no big deal for me, but may be for some!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Paul Yu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2013 John Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very helpful. Monica even help me to post my postcards.. The food is worth it.. Very good value for money

Disliked: The floors makes some noise when walking

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cok temiz, oldukca düzenli bunlarin yani sira konumu da oldukca guzeldi

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Yunnan Chen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2013 Yunnan would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely views and location overlooking the castle. Building is full of character and very old.

Disliked: Though it's not too far from the station on the map, trudging up to the top of a hill to find the hostel was quite a trek. We arrived to be rewarded with another trudge to the attic room, and despaired to find that the "four person" dorm we'd booked was actually just a wooden platform above a larger, 8-bed dorm in the attic - roomy, with all the furniture, but it was quite cheeky to advertise it as a private room when it was connected by open stairs, no door, to the rooms below and quite, quite open to the noise and boistrous revels of the 18-year-old bar-crawling Lads below at 4am.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nicely presented, good location near to the castle.

Disliked: staff not particularly helpful or welcoming.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Marley Silva Pacheco

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013 Alan Marley would recommend this property

Liked: The room is great wide big with chairs and a really good bathroom, best bathroom I have seen in a hostel!

Disliked: Shops around are expensive you have to walk a bit to get a decent price

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013

Liked: Location was really good. Hostel was clean, rooms were in good condition.

Disliked: AFTER YOUR PAYMENT, ASK FOR A RECEIPT! Staff was nice to us but they made a unforgivable mistake. A woman on the reception desk took our payment as cash. However, she did not give us a receipt. On the next day, when we were checking out, there was another woman asking for the payment AGAIN; telling us that we have not paid. We thought we had her convinced and left the place. Two days later I realized that they withdrawed money from my CREDIT CARD right after we left the hostel AGAIN. So be careful!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

leah ha

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 leah would recommend this property

Liked: 프라하성 근처에 있어 위치가 좋습니다. 안델역으로 바로 가는 트램도 있고 무엇보다 이층침대가 아닌 것이 좋았습니다.

Disliked: leah left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noorazlan Ahmad Yaacob

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2013 Noorazlan would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap. Good location. Nice dorms. Great communal area. Can't get any better than this. Perfect.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike. But if I have to mention any, they sell carbonated drink slightly more expensive than most convenience store. But not a deal breaker.


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels