HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Chili Hostel

Hostel | Pstrossova 7/205, Praha 1, Prague, Czech Republic 110 00

70.7% Overall Rating

170 out of 243 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2014)

"Clean, easy to find, good location, friendly accommodating staff (stayed an extra night without issue)"

Read all Chili Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 31.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation policy is 24 hour in advance. If any cancellations are made outside the 24 hours then you will be charged the FULL price of the first night.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

Zderaz Apartments
29.11 USD

Apartment 95.4% 36 reviews
Emma Hostel
10.71 USD

Hostel 83.8% 364 reviews
Prague Lion Hostel
7.71 USD

Hostel 72.3% 380 reviews
Mosaic House
18.34 USD

Hostel 91.5% 162 reviews
ATS Hostel Arnosta
18.19 USD

Hostel 61.4% 10 reviews
Hotel Colloseum
30.13 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.0% 3 reviews
River View Grande Apartment
56.24 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Prague Centre Apartments
16.98 USD

Apartment 90.3% 316 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.5%

Overall Rating

172 out of 245 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chili Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
66.4%
Value
75.2%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 145 of 227 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alican Tokdemir

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Alican would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap

Disliked: Clean lady is definately not polite. The hostel was too crowded and only 1 bathroom for each flat, so you should share it with 20-30 people.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, easy to find, good location, friendly accommodating staff (stayed an extra night without issue)

Disliked: Problems with the bathrooms

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Rodrigo Rubio

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014

Liked: The hostel is in a very good location, that's the only good thing about it

Disliked: The staff wasn't really helpful any time we had a question they were kind of rude. The floor that i stayed in had problems with one shower so the whole floor had only one shower for almost 24 people.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, quiet area but close to the night life

Disliked: Kitchen electricity kept cutting out, we were told when the hostel uses too much it either trips, cuts out or it was on a timer that shuts the power off

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is nice, good place to meet some fellow travelers. It was clean and good value for money. They sell bottles of beer/water at the 24h reception.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Asia Kennedy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2014

Liked: It is cheap. Very cheap.

Disliked: The shower water was ice cold.. like if you run it over your hands for more than a few seconds, they start to hurt. It never got warmer, and we were staying during a heatwave. Rooms on higher floors, because of high ceilings, 4th floor is almost 8 floors up, no lift. The staff are very unhelpful, often they just ignore you. You have to strip the bedding yourself (maybe cos of the stairs) which makes me think that cleaners dont really go in the rooms. One bathroom to several dorm rooms, and the toilet and shower are in the same room, so one toilet/shower/sink to 40ish people? The dorms are connected from the inside, so we had a 6 ppl dorm, but at least another ten ppl had access through that room to their room, basically like sleeping in a hallway. There was no form of heating or cooling in the rooms, which was fine cos it was hot, but in winter, maybe not great. The kitchen was good, but had no useable utensils, everything was broken or bent. Also they seemed to overbook occasionally, had a guy turn up in our dorm with a key to our room (which was never locked anyway cos of all the people, anyone could walk in, and he had no bed. I dont know what happened to him.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good

Disliked: There was just a bathroom and shower for the whole flat

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Not payable in Euro or Dollar

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Matthew Crellen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money and central location

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was an old building in the center, easily accessed from anywhere. There are many rooms and the kitchen area is large, with enough space for breakfast.

Disliked: The doors creak and the floors are a bit wobbly, so you feel everyone walking around the room from your bed (in the room I stayed in, at least). The cleaning ladies are not the nicest people I met in the Czech Republic. They acted like I was an intruder there, not a guest. At check-in, the receptionist didn't explain anything about the deposit for the key and the extra fee for the town (15 kc per person per night for sanitation services).

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean

Disliked: A bit far from the centre and the lockers are not working

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to town, many bathrooms

Disliked: not enough plugs for phones

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bobby Tolliver

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 June 2014 Bobby would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was always helpful no matter the request and always greeted me with a smile.

Disliked: I honestly have no complaints. Everything that I needed was on site and then they offered a free tour in the morning to help me familiarize myself with the city.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jeremy Montcel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good atmosphere, big rooms

Disliked: Beds not that confortable and "noisy"

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common area was nice. Wifi usually worked well and they had a kitchen which was nice.

Disliked: 2 toilets for 3-4 rooms of 12 people each. 2 showers. Very small bathroom. Not particularly very clean. The staff wasn't as helpful as in other hostels I've stayed in.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Brianna Jennings

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014

Liked: location was alright.

Disliked: Property was dirty. The walls had stains on them, the room adjacent to our room had a pile of what looked like dirty/old clothes as well as other bits of trash. There was no hand soap in the bathrooms. The no smoking rule was not enforced.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

M Kashan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014

Liked: Its central

Disliked: Not very friendly staff, they charge tax on top of your fees, no lift and I had to go 5 floors up and down

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Whitney Teal

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: It was filthy. From the entrance area to the common area to the rooms to the bathroom—every part of the hostel was really, really dirty and old. There is apparently no cleaning staff because bottles and trash were littered in the common area. My bunk was also disgusting—the duvet was stained with blood and so were the sheets that I was given, even though it was faded because apparently they had been washed. I ended up checking out after one night and moving to another hostel that was about the same price but way nicer. To their credit, the hostel did refund me 10% of what I had paid because of my bad experience.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2014

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Poor security. Dirty. Unhelpful staff.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, comfy bed in spacious room. 10 bed is actually 2 rooms, 4 and 6 beds. WiFi is a bit slow but even on 4th floor you can connect. Best thing is the value for money

Disliked: Most staff aren't exactly friendly. I arrived late at night after wandering round ages because the directions on here are to go to a metro station which is currently closed. So work out the route from another metro stop before you arrive, I told the receptionist this and she didn't really care. Also a 15 ck fee per night extra to pay, its written on here but its not that clear. No lift, so 4 the floor gets tiring, especially when my key didn't work. Ironic that the only nice member of staff I talked to, is a trainee gIrl. Maybe she should be teaching the others her Italian charm

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jessica jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2014 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: it was very easy to get to from the bus station and the atmosphere was very good and location was perfect walking distance from anything u want

Disliked: when we stayed the first time the kitchen was open 24/7 a few weeks later we came back again n the kitchen was closed at 10pm till 6 which is a little bit annoying cos u have to have food too early maybe 12 till 6 wopuld be perfect since the reception is open all night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mariusz Lapinski

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 March 2014 Mariusz would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to Old City for the cheap price.

Disliked: Could be little cleaner.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dilyara Vakhitova

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

25 March 2014 Dilyara would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location. The hostel had clean bathrooms in good conditions. The common room with Internet access seemed to be nice, though I didn't stay there really.

Disliked: We had a room on the 4th floor, and the hostel doesn't have an elevator, so after a full day of walking it was somewhat annoying. Then, there was an additional two-floor bed in our room that occupied quite a lot of space (we had a double room). The heating in my opinion is too high, it was too hot to sleep. And finally the walls do not protect at all from the noise, so if there's someone speaking loud in the common hall, you're gonna hear all, so make sure you bring a pair of ear plugs. Overall, it was an acceptable experience for the price that we paid.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tzafrir Ariel

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2014 Tzafrir would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel locate at most uniqe area of Prague, little streets and special coffee places, yet steel it is very close to the old city. The rooms are very big and comfortable, and the living room is also big and cozy.

Disliked: The kitchen was a little bit dirty and messy. The depossite fee for the key was inconvinient, espcialy when it's your last night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really good value for what I paid. The room was pretty big and even had a foosball table and a living area.

Disliked: There were some weird stains on some of the sheets, and the bathroom was tiny. But I only paid about 5 Euros, so I wasn't expecting the Hilton!


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels