HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Hostel Lipa

Hostel | Tachovske namesti 6/288, Prague, Czech Republic 13000

94.7% Overall Rating

111 out of 114 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

Tyler Quick thinks…

"Hostel Lipa is in a great location just 15 minutes from Downtown. It is cozy and warm and is more like an apartment or guest house than an actual hostel. The kitchen is spacious and large. Also, it…"

Read all Hostel Lipa reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

Hotel Prokopka**
15.08 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.3% 5 reviews
Hotel Bily Lev
414.31 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.4% 3 reviews
Don Jose Apartments
19.33 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Sleep Easy Hostel Prague
13.81 USD

Hostel 95.2% 3 reviews
Hotel Residence Tabor
14.74 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.7% 81 reviews
Hotel Golden City
11.85 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.3% 132 reviews
Hotel Carlton
45.57 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hostel One Prague
16.59 USD

Hostel 93.9% 985 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.7%

Overall Rating

111 out of 114 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Lipa'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
98.4%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 76 of 110 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tyler Quick

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Lipa is in a great location just 15 minutes from Downtown. It is cozy and warm and is more like an apartment or guest house than an actual hostel. The kitchen is spacious and large. Also, it is usually quiet at night.

Disliked: The Wifi connection usually didn't work.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A small and calm hostel with a fully equipped kitchen (even an oven! a roommate made lasagnas one night), floor heating in the shared bathroom, well connected to public transport (bus stop 50m away), the lovely traditional pub under the hostel was great. I would seriously recommend Hostel Lipa to everybody.

Disliked: It got a bit loud in the street around pub closing time; I slept through it, but my friends said they woke a couple of times. We also had an issue one day with parking, since there really isn't space reserved for the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere in the first place, bedding - clean, smells very nice and price!

Disliked: Creaking beds :-)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chun Man Wong

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 Chun Man would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really nice and helpful. The hostel is good, has the feeling of home.

Disliked: Chun Man left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly place/room and staff.

Disliked: noise of traffic when window is opened.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susann Stanisch

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Susann would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I stayed in! Very friendly and helpful staff. Felt more like visiting a friend`s home than a hostel. Free towls, linen, coffee... I highly recommend it!!!

Disliked: Street is a bit noisy, but with closed windows it is ok.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Disser

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 July 2013 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Lipa is quite possibly the best hostel I've ever stayed in-- for real. It felt like staying in someone's home. It was a very welcoming, quiet environment with a fair amount of privacy. Also the place is very secure and close to some fabulous watering holes. Michal is super helpful with suggestions and is enthusiastic about the neighborhood. If you want a comfortable place to stay with an excellent kitchen in an interesting neighborhood that's far away enough from obnoxious tourists but still close enough to all that Prague has to offer, I highly recommend this place.

Disliked: nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very simple, but clean and spacious apartment that feels like home. Although you share the kitchen, bathroom and toilet with other guests, the rooms are quiet and private. My friend and I stayed in quite a big bedroom, with a large double bed (good matress!), a sofa and a big wardrobe. The ceilings of the apartment are very high and give the place an open feel. There's free wifi available, tons of flyers and travel guides about Prague in different languages, a fully equiped kitchen and a very clean bathroom with bath/shower combination and a separate toilet. Michal, the owner, is wonderfully kind and very patient. He takes his time to get to know you a little bit, trusts his guests, offers advice if wanted, and provides a free (and very kinky) map of the city. Michal is very flexible: a lot is possible. For example: it was no problem at all for him that we wanted to check in early because of changed travel plans. Also, he put a large chest at our disposal to keep our luggage in after check-out, so we could enjoy another wonderful, carefree day in the beautiful city of Prague. In short: We LOVED it here!

Disliked: The fridge was quite stuffed with food that nobody really used/it was unclear to whom the food belonged. Although the rest of the apartment was very tidy and clean, the kitchen was a bit smudgy. Not too bad though. To some, this apartment might be a bit too basic, but if you're looking for a good budget option, it really is worth a try!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Friendly staff. Kitchen + other amenities were nice. Very close to a Billa.

Disliked: Bit far from the city centre. Not the best value for money, considering location and size of room (we paid around the same for a room twice the size that was in the Old Town earlier in the month).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Miller

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a kitchen stocked with a lot of stuff that you need. Michael was very friendly and it had a free washer/dryer. Michael was able to suggest a lot of things to do and was okay with me paying a day or two later than I should have.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Apartment-style hostel, which gave it a homely feel. Nice little kitchen with some free food available in the fridge. The owner (I believe?) Michal was very nice and took the time to sit down with us to show us different places to go to, grocery stores nearby, and bars he recommended. The toilet and shower/laundry room were separate and relatively clean. They seemed to be missing the piece of metal that held the shower head, but that's just a minor detail. The room we stayed in was the White Room, which was the smallest room in the hostel. The mattress was on a very low bed frame and pretty much took 2/3 of the room, but we still had a good night's sleep!

Disliked: The hostel is right above a bar called 'Lipy' and sometimes it may get noisy at night, but that's not an issue if you close the window.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ho Man Yue

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013 Ho Man would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: No at all.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mike Kent

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

21 April 2013 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great. There is a free washing machine available. Great pub down below the hostel. Excellent map provided by the owner, Michal.

Disliked: The toilet and shower rooms can become quite busy when the hostel is full.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Korey Moore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2013 Korey would recommend this property

Liked: There was plenty of space when I stayed there and it was almost like I had my own flat in prague since none of the other beds were taken, the host was more than helpful and the map he gave me was probably one of the best I received at any hostel

Disliked: Nothing really comes to mind that I didnt enjoy

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Gareth Golder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2012

Liked: Free washing machines, free tea, coffee and other things. When the staff is there he is very helpful.

Disliked: Not sure if it was because it was winter or what but when I went I was pretty much the only person staying there. Never even saw the other residents but apparently they existed. Very small which would have been good if it was packed out would have been a great family atmoshpere but it was empty. Also the only time the staffs there is around 9am. Thats it. Dont go if you're a solo traveller!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner gives you an excellent map full of special tips where to eat, what to see in Prague, etc. He is really nice with all of his guests. If you want a small, cozy place with a friendly atmosphere, this is it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johannes Röttger

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Johannes would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our stay in Hostel Lipa - the owner is super nice and helpful, our room (we stayed in the green room) were big, clean and cozy and the general atmosphere in the hostel is just nice.

Disliked: Johannes left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trip Smith

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2012 Trip would recommend this property

Liked: I really could not overstate how positive my experience at Hostel Lipa was. The property was clean, warm and enjoyable to stay in, but what really exceeded my expectations was the hospitality of the staff. Michal went out of his way to make sure that all residents need were met. Without his guidance, my sightseeing experience would not have been nearly as easy or efficient. Furthermore, when my original flight home was cancelled, Michal went out of his way to make sure I was prepared for the extra days in Prague. I would rate my experience at Hostel Lipa as 10 out of 10, I would happily stay there again, and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Prague.

Disliked: There's very little I disliked about this property. The shower head seemed a little messed up, but it wasn't a big deal for a short stay and I imagine it has been fixed by now.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHIA YIN TSAI

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

29 October 2012 CHIA YIN would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place! Strongly recommended.

Disliked: A bit hard to find the locaiton.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the green room, and it was big, clean and comfortable. The common kitchen was cleen and we had the opportinity to use the a computer with internetacess. Even though it's a bit out of the center of Prague, we liked the location a lot. Nice local restaurants with good local food, local bars with local people good bus and tram connections to the center of Prague.

Disliked: It was a bit cold in the room, it was like the windows was not isolated very good. We stayed at the end of October, and it was not a big problem, but it might be a problem when it gets really cold.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mike Love

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 October 2012 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely place. Easier to meet travellers there as much smaller, and the owner Michael was so helpful.

Disliked: n/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

21 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The host is great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Norman

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 October 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to get around. Everything written about the hostel manager is true.

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathy Spiro

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Kathy would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very nice. It is an apartment with only a few rooms and a central proper kitchen. This makes it quiet and comfortable. The owners live in another part of the building so aren't here all the time but will meet you when you arrive, are available by phone if necessary and keep the hostel very clean. He was also very helpful with information about the city and getting around and bus routes when I arrived. My bed was comfortable and I had a locked cupboard,not big enough for my whole bag but I could have emptied my bag and fit it all in on the shelves. There is a bus right outside that goes to the centre in a few minutes and a tram nearby.

Disliked: A little hard to find the door when I arrived as there is only a very small sign but I phoned and he came outside.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yutaka Nagashima

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Yutaka would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen.

Disliked: Nothing special.


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels