HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Hostel HOMEr

Hostel | Melantrichova 11, Praha 1, Prague, Czech Republic 110 00

86.1% Overall Rating

67 out of 72 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/09/2014)

Jessica Lever thinks…

"The location was really good! Right in the old town... the staff were pretty friendly."

Read all Hostel HOMEr reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

Prague Square Hostel
18.38 USD

Hostel 90.1% 236 reviews
Pension Tara
13.00 USD

Guesthouse 75.2% 35 reviews
ABC Suites
30.99 USD

Apartment 91.9% 76 reviews
Residence Kozna
43.64 USD

Apartment 92.1% 69 reviews
U Tri Bubnu Hotel-Prague
253.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Ahoy! Hostel
15.05 USD

Hostel 94.6% 58 reviews
Hostel Golden Bridge
13.92 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Ritchies Hostel & Hotel
15.86 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.7% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.1%

Overall Rating

67 out of 72 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel HOMEr'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
80.0%
Value
88.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 54 of 69 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Lever

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really good! Right in the old town... the staff were pretty friendly.

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frances Robinson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2014 Frances would recommend this property

Liked: It is in an ideal location right next to the main square and therefore all the night life!! The reception staff are friendly and approachable. The kitchen/coomon room is the highlight of this hostel! The kitchen facilities are the best I have found whilst travelling Europe! With all the utensils needed to cook and easy dinner, fridge/freezer, hob, oven and storage. There was plenty of room for more than one group to cook, two dinning tables and additional chairs and sofas. There was personal lockers in the rooms which were great to leave valubles.The pub crawl meets from only 5 minutes out the front door. And the bar/club next door, Double Trouble is a top night out! The pizza resturant you walk throught to get to the front door is also really good and brilliant on a hangover!

Disliked: There was only one bathroom between 7 people. Which when everyone is getting ready to go out at the same time is not enough! Especially as the toilet is in the same room as the shower! Also on that topic a mirror in the rooms would be great as the only one was in the very crowded bathroom! That said the bathroom was very nice and kept very clean.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jacqueline Michaels

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2014

Liked: The location was great, right in the old town.

Disliked: Our room was very small to be holding 12 beds. While that could be overlooked, what we could not deal with was our very inconsiderate roommates and staff's unwillingness to intervene. Despite the policy of quiet hours, we experienced the most obnoxious night I've EVER spent in a hostel. While I understand that it was a Saturday night and many people will come and go throughout the night and may wake others in doing so, what our roommates put us through, at the knowledge of staff, was completely unacceptable. From the hours of 2:30am- 4:30am, about 4-5 of our roommates decided to engage in the following behaviors: yelling at one another (remember this is a very small room, no need to yell to get one's attention), throw trash, throw water bottles which subsequently splashed me with water, repeatedly call each other vulgar names, and laugh about how they were keeping others up. We had a very nice common area connected to the kitchen and an outdoor terrace, which would have been a perfectly fine place to hang out for hours while drunk. My friend and I were trying to remain understanding and only once did I say something to express our displeasure, hoping this would end. We had to be awake at 5:30am to catch our plane. When we checked out, we explained our dissatisfaction with this hostel, noting that the front desk was in an area which shared a wall with our room. He admitted that he had heard them, even caught them trying to climb up the fire escape, that he wanted to call the police, but didn't, and that it is Saturday night in Prague and this is a hostel. While we understood this, we couldn't understand why this staff member let it go on for so long. We reminded him of the policies we signed off on and the signs that post these rules in the bedroom. I asked about the 10pm quiet time and the statement about the hostel taking violations of the city's codes against noise seriously. He assured that they would not be getting their deposit back for the keys, to which we asked if we could have their deposit then, which he said was not possible. While we understand there are limitations and certain expectations when staying in a hostel, we believe some of these problems could have been solved had staff been willing to put a stop to it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy location and atmosphere

Disliked: Complicated system to get in, having only one key in our group. But this did make it very safe.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities!!! Big open bedroom, common area and large kitchen as well. Best hostel I've been in

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very nice kitchen and very clean.

Disliked: More bathrooms, when large groupa had tot check out there was a que.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hillary Cain

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Hillary would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was really nice! The kitchen had plenty of glasses and was really nice. The fridge is huge and has ice!!! Definite plus. Also, the wifi was really reliable. The bathrooms were very big , and I always had hot water. The hostel is very safe too. There's three different sets of keys plus the one for your stuff, so i felt very safe and secure. It's also in a great location in Prague. I'm glad I stayed here, and I would definitely recommend it!

Disliked: It was not hard to findthe area, but to actually find the hostel entrace was a little confusing. There needs to be a specific "Hostel Homer" sign outside of the italian restaurant or by the juice stand. I don't have any complaints, but just a warning that the Wifi is only in the kitchen. Also, I thought the staff was really great and helpful. On Friday, they were super busy and so just be patient because there is only one person working.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good bathroom, kitchen facilities and location

Disliked: large cramped dorms, no personal space, security not brilliant

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location near the old town square.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Fröhlich

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: It's a pretty decent hostel. I've seen better hostels but you get what you pay for. I liked: very good location, very friendly staff with excellent recommendations about pubs, bars, beer gardens and activities which weren't touristy orientated.

Disliked: I didn't like the showers that much. There are only three showers (I didn't find more). They should get a new shower head for the one on the middle floor and a shower curtain for the bad thub-shower on the top floor. My mattress in the 12-people-dorm was very thin and therefore sleeping wasn't really comfortable. It also gets extremely hot in the room if the outside temperature is rising because any air cooling devices are missing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenna McCartan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

30 June 2014 Jenna would recommend this property

Liked: Homer hostel is very central. We stayed in a 16 bed mixed dorm, which was massive. There was a massive kitchen, living room and a few shower rooms. It was the most luxurious hostel I have ever stayed at. I would definitely recommend homer hostel!

Disliked: On the website it said we got free pasta and spices but when we asked about it the guy at the front desk didn't seem to know what we were talking about. He wasn't very knowledgeable about many things but he was in training.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located by the Old Town Square, it was walking distance to most attractions. The property was very clean and well taken care of.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very modern bathroom and kitchen

Disliked: no elevator

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jakub Redziniak

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Jakub would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and very good location

Disliked: Lockers could be bigger

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rafael Silva

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2014 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very well located in the old town, less than ten minutes walking from the astronomic clock. I liked the bathrooms too, because they were big, have proper places to sit the towel, clothes, soap, sponges, besides the shower cabin which blocks the water to go out of the cabin.

Disliked: The staff is apparently short in number. When i got to the hostel to check in i had to ring the front door bell several times till someone came down to open the door and the person said she was checkin in another guest. The beds were too noisy at any slight movement which could wake up the other guest during the night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Gonzalez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located right next to the center of the Old Town Square where the Astronomical Clock is, so it's great if you're into doing all the tourist related features of Prague. It's located at the end of a cute little alley where a nice Italian restaurant is, very nice location, and very secure at night as you have to go through two doors to get in. The hostel has a ton of leaflets for things to do in the city and outside of it, leaflets for hostel outside of Prague, and free city maps. There's a few bathrooms, a huge kitchen, two big tables, foosball, and some couches. Everything was cleaned daily and the hostel was between quiet and party mode. We stayed in the 12 bed dorm off the kitchen which had a nice little balcony outside, secure lockers, and dividers between the beds for a little added privacy. It wasn't a party hostel per say, although there was a lot of party people, but it also wasn't too quiet. The staff was really friendly and helpful. There's a metro really close by (which you don't need in the city) and an Albert market place where you can get some cheap eats.

Disliked: Sometimes the kitchen equipment was a little faulty or broken, otherwise everything was pretty good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

caitlin gilliland

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: From the excellent location to the clean rooms, Hostel Homer more than lived up to my expectations. The hostel had cute Simpson touches everywhere that added to the experience. I would recommend anyone in Prague to stay here!

Disliked: None

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the other visitors, the dishwasher

Disliked: the kitchen equipment, there werent enough and half the stove worked

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location

Disliked: Recargan un porcentaje por pagar con tarjeta. Eso no me pasó en ningún otro lugar de praga. They charge extra for credit card payment. That happened to me nowhere else in Prague.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing. We wanted to take a side trip to Plzen and the staff gave us all the information we asked for. Helped us figure out trains to and from Plzen and when the brewery in Plzen did tours. Went above and beyond what I expected. The place is secure and you cannot get a better location (less than 5 minutes from Old Town Square).

Disliked: This isn't so much an issue with this hostel as it is with all hostel's: we were in a private room across from a dorm, and a large group was staying there for a part of the trip. They made a lot of noise and sort of took over the common spaces with their stuff and to eat while they were there. Other than that, nothing to complain about at HostelHomer!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not a bad hostel. A bit tucked away but otherwise good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jemma Beedie

Alone

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2014 Jemma would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in the 4 bed female dorm. Perfect, would recommend wholeheartedly. Felt safe and secure, not cramped in.

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gorgeous old building, fantastic location in the old town, and probably the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: Could perhaps use more bathrooms. A few of the staff were unhelpful and bordering on unfriendly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was so clean, and all staff were so kind. And location was awesome!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is probably one of the cleanest hostels I have stayed in and the location was perfect, literally just a couple of minutes walk from the old town square.

Disliked: Nothing really.


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels