We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Ragtime hostel

Guesthouse | Opatovicka 26, Prague, Czech Republic Prague 1, 110 00

81.4% Overall Rating

97 out of 101 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/06/2014)

"Good location, very close to the old town & spots. Large room with clean toilet and kitchen. Very helpful staff."

Read all Ragtime hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 22.98

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please read the directions in your booking confirmation, the check-in is in the Emma hostel nearby.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

Equity Point Prague
7.72 USD

Hostel 91.3% 151 reviews
The MadHouse Prague
19.30 USD

Hostel 96.9% 182 reviews
ATS Hostel Arnosta
17.23 USD

Hostel 61.4% 10 reviews
Hotel Colloseum
18.98 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.0% 3 reviews
Hostel Downtown
16.41 USD

Hostel 92.6% 624 reviews
Prague Centre Apartments
13.33 USD

Apartment 89.0% 319 reviews
Prague Centre Hostel
14.25 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Mosaic House
10.25 USD

Hostel 90.9% 189 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.4%

Overall Rating

97 out of 101 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ragtime hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
76.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 65 of 97 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very close to the old town & spots. Large room with clean toilet and kitchen. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: Room look clean but a bit smelly. Noise from the street is a bit disturbing at night. A very minor one: Have to inform the staff of the check-out time for returning the deposit and checking the room, making the schedule not that flexible.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ho Ting Chan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2014 Ho Ting would recommend this property

Liked: It likes a B&B rather than a hostel. I lived at the end of the corridor on the third floor. No elevator is provided. The apartment had three rooms with a big big big toilet and a clear kitchen (good for having lunch or dinner). The twin room is quite small. Ragtime has the good facilities (a nice kitchen and toilet) and the good location with a reasonable price.

Disliked: It seems a little dangerous for the street. Therefore, we went back to hostel early everyday.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DUYGU ÇANAKÇI

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 DUYGU would recommend this property

Liked: it was near to city center and in a quiet region of Prag which is perfect for slleeping. Room and bathroom was so clean. Kichen has every stuff you may need for cooking.

Disliked: The room was a little big and it causes a heating problem but it was acceptable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olya Karailieva

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2014 Olya would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and quiet. Close to the city center. That was my second time there so I can definitely recommend it.

Disliked: The reception is at another hostel near by.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect!! Pretty basic accommodation but plenty of space and the facilities are good. I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damir Budanec

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013 Damir would recommend this property

Liked: It's in the city. It was clean and nice. We got clean towels and bed linen. The owner explained everything nicely, gave us a map and was very helpful and honest.

Disliked: The property has no reception and it's in a building full of graffiti, so when you arrive at the location it gives you a hostel-the-movie kind of vibe. At the entrance door there is a small, almost invisible note that says you need to go to a totally different hostel to check in. That was very inconvenient. Make the note bigger and inform the guest prior to their arrival WHERE they need to come first to check in.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ich war mit meinem Freund in einem großen Zimmer mit Doppelbett, es war ein simples, aber schönes und sauberes Altbauzimmer. Direkt vor der Tür findet man interessante Kneipen, die nicht nur von Touristen belagert werden und eine dementsprechend entspannte Atmosphäre haben. Das Badezimmer mit großer Dusche und Badewanne (!!!) war sehr sauber, auch in der Küche ist es sauber und es gibt die wichtigsten Kochutensilien. Für diesen Preis war das wirklich alles sehr gut!

Disliked: Wenn man direkt zum Ragtime Hostel geht, steht da nur eine Telefonnummer an der Tür, die man bitte anrufen solle bzw. solle man eben gleich zum Hostel Emma laufen (schon ein gutes Stück weiter und nicht gerade nebenan!) Im Hostel Emma muss man dann eine Weile warten, bis jemand kommt und mit dir wieder zurück zum Ragtime Hostel läuft - mit viel Gepäck alles SEHR anstrengend. Ich wäre gleich zum Hostel Emma gelaufen, wäre die Wegbeschreibung von HostelBookers, welche mit Google Translator gemacht wurde, nicht komplett seltsam und unverständlich gewesen. Habe dann alles nur mithilfe eines Prager Einwohners gefunden. Unser Zimmer war zur Straße hin gerichtet, dort kann es nachts laut sein, draußen laufen auf der Straße eben Betrunkenen herum und man hört sie sehr deutlich. Aber gut, damit muss man in der Prager Innenstadt rechnen. Es fehlen Vorhänge, mit denen man das Fenster komplett verhängen kann. Bin dementsprechend morgens von der Helligkeit ständig aufgewacht.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was an amazingly big room with a big double bed and a big glass front. You were able to see that the bed sheets were washed. There were even couches and a table with seating-accommodations in our room. The kitchen is nice for travellers and there are two mirrors with two basins.

Disliked: because of the big windows we weren't able to darken the whole room but I personally don't care about that. the bath tube wasn't really clean.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013

Liked: Good location within walking distance of old town area and room was large.

Disliked: There is no reception at the hostel. Instead it is at the nearby Emma hostel and you have to go there and be taken to the Ragtime hostel by the owner from Emma hostel. Emma hostel staff were grumpy and rude and Ragtime owner was not helpful at all (no introduction to the city at all) but was polite. No air conditioning in room, kitchen was not cleaned well (e.g. mould on washboard), no towel or paper towels in toilet, teatowel in kitchen was filthy so difficult to wash up dishes. Building looks a bit dodgy from outside. No bin in the bedroom, bedding was wearing a bit thin and no proper curtains so they didn't keep out the light. Not a very good travelling hostel, maybe better if you're using it for temporary accommodation if coming to stay longer in Prague. Wouldn't stay here again or recommend!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

devin gallagher

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 May 2013 devin would recommend this property

Liked: Love ragtime hostel. this was our second time staying in one of their apartments. a different room this time, but nice, clean, and very reasonably priced. The wners were very reasonable when it came to our early check out, and we will stay here every time we visit prague.

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is in the centre of Prague, you can reach all important sights on foot.

Disliked: The bad smell in the bath room...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Maria Finke

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: big room, good location,

Disliked: noisy in the evenings because of the bar in the building,

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elisha Tham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2013 Elisha would recommend this property

Liked: Massively spacious rooms with a 5-star grade bathroom. The guy that showed us the place, Pedro, was extremely friendly and helpful. Tesco is just 5 mins walk away. Wi-fi is fast and coverage extended to the rooms. Backpacked across Europe for a month, and Ragtime was the best hostel I've stayed in. Ironically, also the cheapest.

Disliked: Intimidating from the outside, with graffiti scrawled all over the building walls. Check-in is at another hostel 5 mins away.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very small hostel, only 4 rooms in a flat. Very quiet.

Disliked: No reception, but very friendly and helpfull staff.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

09 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location location location

Disliked: no complaints

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Runhao Tan

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

04 December 2012 Runhao would recommend this property

Liked: the room is good and clean,the location is very good too and the boss is very nice.

Disliked: the curtain is too transparent

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012

Liked: Spacious clean room, Good location, Free tea and coffee, Nice bathroom, Cheap, Sofas in Room, Good kitchen

Disliked: Not good for meeting fellow travellers, No communal living room, Doesn't have proper curtains so light not kept out, No reception (it's at another hostel 10 mins walk away) Looks a bit daunting from the outside-graffiti all over outside wall, Bedding had some holes and was a bit ropey

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent- we could walk everywhere, including to the night life. The place was very clean (minus the sheets) and the price is absolutely unbeatable. Also, we were the only people staying there that night so we had the kitchen and bathroom to ourselves, which was nice. Also, the staff (even the guy at Hostel Emma, where we checked in) were very helpful.

Disliked: When I emailed them about parking, they didnt mention that the parking garage offered closes at 18:00, so when we arrived late at night we had to spend over an hour driving around the city looking for parking. Also, this is not the place to stay if youre looking for a place to meet people/party. We liked that because we just wanted to go out, but I can see other people being disappointed by this.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We got what they promised, a bed, a toilet, a shower, a kitchen and a good location. Nothing more, nothing less.

Disliked: Only the bare basics are offered, a soap to wash your hands would be nice. It was not promised but woul be very helpful.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The high quality finish of the bathroom. Large, spacious rooms which were light and airy. The other guests staying at the hostel seemed to be all couples, and were all quiet, considerate and friendly, giving the hostel a really nice atmspohere of privacy and respect. The area of Nove Mesto is brilliant, there are three lovely cafe/bars situated within a few paces of the hostel, and the river is also a short walk.

Disliked: Our double bed had two single duvets - one winter, one summer - instead of a double which was inconvenient and annoying. The room didn't have proper curtains along the whole length of the window. There was also no soap in the toilet or towel in the toilet which doesn't equate with the hospitality promised.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, light and airy rooms

Disliked: Toilet wasn't the cleanest

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location - Old Town was within walking distance as well as great bars and pubs in Nové Mesto. It was easy to get to Florence bus station with a short metro ride. I loved that the kitchen facility was of good quality, and wireless internet worked inside the rooms, not only in public places. I also loved the architecture of the place, really simple, understated Bauhaus style building with great window handles and inbuilt closets for clothes storage - a piece of local history.

Disliked: There was some noise from the pubs downstairs during the night, and the fact that they don't have a reception. I guess that is just a fact you have to consider and allow extra time for check in, expect a five min extra walk with your luggage and be ready to actually leave the place promptly at check out. The ensuite rooms are much smaller than the ones with a shared bathroom. Cleanliness could be better, but it is good enough.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Einar Jon Gunnarsson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Einar Jon would recommend this property

Liked: Not your average hostel, no bar, dorms or reception, but a Bauhaus apartment in great condition, split up into (huge) private rooms. Once the hassle of checking in is over, you have the place to yourself until check-out. Kitchens are nice, and contain everything you need. Toilets were clean and nice, and showers were really hot.

Disliked: Furniture was often the cheapest available from IKEA. No reception makes check-in and out a bit more complicated than otherwise. En-suite rooms are much smaller than the ones with a shared bathrooms, but still fairly big.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

charles jackson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2012 charles would recommend this property

Liked: Huge room, stunning bathroom, brilliant kitchen, there is no reception you get to the door and have to phone the guy and wait for a while which was a bummer. Bed was fairly comfy, people were super helpful and a quiet sleep was had. Free, fast Wifi too.

Disliked: Lots and lots of stairs to get to your room, or an old open shaft lift to use which is one of the scariest experiences I had whilst travelling Europe.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything, besides...

Disliked: ...every morning it was very noisy, cause we had the first room in the first floor, so everyboday who wants to get out has to pass out door. And some of the doors were partly made out of glas, so it clanged all the time, when somebody closed the front door.


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels