HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Sokolska Youth Hostel

Hostel | 52 Sokolska str., Prague, Czech Republic 12000

78.2% Overall Rating

280 out of 339 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

Igor Sedlár thinks…

"Design of the room Kitchen with free cofee and tea Very close to a subway station & city center"

Read all Sokolska Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.17
  • Breakfast USD 4.60

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Parking places cost 300 Czk per 1 car per 24h. (If you want park your car in our hostel you mast reserve it by email before arrival) Upon arrival cash payments only. No drinking hard alcohol in the hostel! Silence hours are from 11 p.m. till 8 a.m. For the damages done by the fault of the guests the fine is charged. The amount of the fine is determined by the administration of the hostel. When going out always leave the key of your room at Reception.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

Hostel Centre
6.89 USD

Hostel 83.3% 264 reviews
Pension Brezina Prague
37.95 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Advantage Hostel
11.49 USD

Hostel 84.1% 642 reviews
Aparthotel Lublanka ***
40.48 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Residence Legerova
12.65 USD

Apartment 69.8% 12 reviews
CityStay Apartments and Hostel
16.09 USD

Hostel 78.5% 35 reviews
Miss Sophie's
5.19 USD

Hostel 91.4% 543 reviews
Joy Spot Hostel
15.32 USD

Hostel 71.7% 577 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.2%

Overall Rating

280 out of 339 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sokolska Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
76.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 267 of 324 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Igor Sedlár

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

14 September 2014 Igor would recommend this property

Liked: Design of the room Kitchen with free cofee and tea Very close to a subway station & city center

Disliked: Some rooms have windows facing the quite noisy Sokolska street

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robyn Briggs

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014 Robyn would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was ideal for my style of travel. They have a a kitchen with a fully functioning stove and a fridge that they keep clean. The common areas are really spacious and I really appreciated that they had a vending machine for food and beer if you wanted, at really good prices. They also have a coffee vending machine. The rooms were not cramped and they were clean. The mattresses weren't worn down and the staff is super helpful. This hostel suits my kind of traveling because I am traveling solo but I really hate HUGE hostels. This one was perfect for me. Lots of space to breathe, a kitchen for preparing your own meals, and just a calming atmosphere. There wasn't too much interaction with the staff so I can't really comment on that, but all-in-all, this was one of the better hostels I've stayed at.

Disliked: DO NOT opt for the breakfast at 2+kk restaurant for the 4£. First, it's a bit of a walk... not a big issue but you can't be bothered in the morning especially if you don't know where exactly it is. My friends and I got lost so we missed the time window (our fault so we went the next day). Second, they are assholes, or at least one blonde waitress and her coworker were in the morening. My friends ordered tea and they wanted honey. So the girl gave MEone honey but I repeated that, no, my friends wanted honey so we just need one more. She rolled her eyes and brought back two more, obviously not understanding what I had said but didn't bother, just already treated us like an inconvenience. Also, they don't tell you what's on the menu so when they brought out eggs and bacon (my friends are vegetarian), we kindly (really i mean it) asked to get it w/o bacon and maybe with cheese instead. My friends speak Spanish and so couldn't communicate; I translated for them. The waitress through the biggest hissy-fit ever and took the plates away and stormed off to the kitchen. And when my friend tried to say please and thank you for fixing this, she turned around and blamed us and said that we needed to tell them beforehand. But they didn't tell us what was on the menu for breakfast! So after that episode they just brought out a plate of bread for them. Look, I've stayed in loads of hostels and everything so I'm not picky. Also, I've worked IN a restaurant and hostel for a long time. But how that girl treated my friends was appalling and I was quite surprised at her rude attitude and I thought I had to say something. I felt bad for my friends who were trying to communicate as much as they could. All-in-all, don't get the breakfast: they are assholes and it's not even worth it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is okay. Not the fancy part of Prague but everything's in walking distance. Also close to the metro station. They have wifi, kitchen, hot shower for all day. It's good enough for me, for this price! There's always someone at the reception for 24 hours. They were nice and helpful.

Disliked: As I didn't expect much for this price, nothing really. My roommate was a bit annoying and it was so loud outside at night, but it's nothing to do with the hostel so. But maybe it's better to have some kind of sign outside with the name of the hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Karol Bembenek

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 Karol would recommend this property

Liked: location, amount of toilets and showers on the floor

Disliked: Karol left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great value for money. Surpassed my expectations given how low the price was.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

helen slater

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2014 helen would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and a nice building, excellent wifi and very comfortable, great location

Disliked: helen left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is such a good hostel, the location is perfect. Being just outside the centre of town, it brings the price right down, but it is such a short walk to the centre that you wont feel like you're outside of it. The staff are also really friendly and helpful and make everything so easy for you while you are staying there.

Disliked: Nothing much to complain about. The toilet paper is probably the worst part but that was the case in a lot of Prague.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rodrigo Labastida

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2014 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: The neer from the center

Disliked: The room it has like humidity in the roof

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014

Liked: Free wifi Linen and towel included Good common areas

Disliked: Very poor sleep due to: - collapsing mattress so you could feel the bed frame in your back - proximity of room to common areas meant it was very loud (people talking and playing music) - people coming in and out at all hours - very hot, humid room Wifi was patchy Room/bed smelt Showers clogged with lots of hair

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very conveniently located near the metro station and all facilities were there. The staff was helpful and friendly and there was a very relaxed atmosphere. Good value for money but I would pay a bit more for better comfort and security.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: A bit dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Berk Unal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013 Berk would recommend this property

Liked: Very sociable place and very good wi-fi! Also there are 2 computers to use for free. Clean kitchen bathrooms and showers! Staff is great and helpfull. Also there are free tea in the kitchen. Beds are comfortable i stayed in 8beds room and it was really cool! Hostel itself very sociable! If you travel alone or two people you can meet a lot of people there and have partys with them as like us.

Disliked: Nothing really. They do give towels (its unusual for hostels) but it was a little bit small towel. Well i shouldn't complaine about it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hélder Melo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013 Hélder would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. More than one bathroom available, so you don't have to wait so long. A little "kitchen" with micro-wave and coffee machine.

Disliked: The windows don't have blinds.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Within walking distance of the sites but in a slightly cheaper area.

Disliked: Lack of a bar.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Eleanor Bland

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2013 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: The location and facilities were great, and the rooms were spacious and comfortable.

Disliked: It perhaps was not as clean as it could have been, but this generally wasn't a problem.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, size of the rooms, cleanliness

Disliked: an oven in the kitchen would be nice and the wifi on the 4th floor did not work consistently.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gayane Kazhoyan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013 Gayane would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazingly helpful! We had a problem with our car, so the guy on the reception took us to a car repair after his shift ended and talked to the people there in czeck as we didn't speak the language. He also showed us around the city a little bit. The other members of staff were also very friendly. The atmosphere in general was very nice! Definitely good value for money.

Disliked: Gayane left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, big kitchen, good common area

Disliked: Staff not helpful

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cerca de la estacion de tren y del centro. Cocina bien equipada. Tiene ordenadores de libre acceso.

Disliked: Es bastante facil que entre cualquiera porque las puertas estaban abiertas

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location with shops, trains and restaurants near by. Also only a 15 minute walk to the museum and the beginning of main town area.

Disliked: The showers and toilets weren't clean with one shower having a stack of leafs in weirdly. There is very little space in the rooms and there isn't anywhere to put your bag away so there were six bags dotted around on the floor with no where to secure them.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Naomi Rolef

Alone

Business / conference

26 July 2013 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: I came for a conference and took a private room. They are located in a separate building the courtyard, which had its own shower, bathroom and kitchenette (no fridge though, you'd have to go to the main building for that). This was perfect for my purposes. Plenty of work space and privacy. The hostel is centrally located, and you could reach the main attractions on foot or with a short ride. I understood before I booked it that the hostel was on a busy street. The room was quite though, with windows to the court yard. Two of the three staff members I met were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: My bed only had a very thin mattress. Since there were two beds in the room I put the mattress from the other bed on top of mine. This wasn't very comfortable. The room and facilities were very clean, but there was a last touch missing for a welcoming feeling. Mattresses rapped in plastic were left lying in the hallway. Some repair work had been done and the walls weren't painted over. That was a pity, because it wouldn't take much to make this place feel more hospitable.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rasmus Kragelund Larsen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 Rasmus would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fine. 5-10 minutes of walk to Wenceslass square. 24 hour open reception.

Disliked: At arrival we were given a less comfortable room than we ordered. The chief manager wasn't very helpful, when we told him that we weren't satisfied. Parking is rather expensive - 300 CzK a Night (aprroximately 15 €)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordi Mogas Recalde

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2013 Jordi would recommend this property

Liked: Happy to had booken this hostel in Praha.

Disliked: The hostel charges a fee if paying by credit card.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2013

Liked: Hostel is located at city center.

Disliked: Hostel was too dirty. So I don't wanna cook anything in the kitchen.


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels