We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Sokolska Youth Hostel

Hostel | 52 Sokolska str., Prague, Czech Republic 12000

79.2% Overall Rating

285 out of 344 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/12/2014)

"Cheap, safe lockers in bedrooms and location (10 mins walk to Dancing House or Wenceslas Square)"

Read all Sokolska Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 27.63
  • Breakfast USD 3.95

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Parking places cost 300 Czk per 1 car per 24h. (If you want park your car in our hostel you mast reserve it by email before arrival) Upon arrival cash payments only. No drinking hard alcohol in the hostel! Silence hours are from 11 p.m. till 8 a.m. For the damages done by the fault of the guests the fine is charged. The amount of the fine is determined by the administration of the hostel. When going out always leave the key of your room at Reception.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

Hostel Centre
4.14 USD

Hostel 79.9% 271 reviews
Pension Brezina Prague
32.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Advantage Hostel
13.81 USD

Hostel 92.5% 660 reviews
Aparthotel Lublanka ***
35.76 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Residence Legerova
10.84 USD

Apartment 69.8% 12 reviews
Miss Sophie's
5.21 USD

Hostel 92.8% 567 reviews
CityStay Apartments and Hostel
14.80 USD

Hostel 83.1% 43 reviews
ABE Hotel
195.08 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.7% 22 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.2%

Overall Rating

285 out of 344 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sokolska Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 272 of 329 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Min Yao

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

06 September 2010 Min would recommend this property

Liked: Super cheap. GREAT value for the money

Disliked: noisy at night, right next to a major road

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was very helpful,location was great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Semen Denisov

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 September 2010 Semen would recommend this property

Liked: Good location!

Disliked: Shower...:(

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

28 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: for the value you really can't beat this place. it's a quick walk to old town (or a 2 minute underground ride if you don't feel like walking). close to a good, cheap, cleaners. nice staff, clean rooms, free computers and wifi. probably one of the best deals i've got since traveling

Disliked: ...nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grzegorz Bajer

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 August 2010 Grzegorz would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location. Extremely helpful staff. I booked bed in 8-bed dormitory and I got bed in 4-bed room at the same price! Thanks guys!

Disliked: Grzegorz left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

21 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and not terribly far from the tourist center.

Disliked: It is on a busy street, so it is incredibly noisy at night (loud drunk people, racing cars, police cars, ambulances, etc).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

21 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all the thins are great.

Disliked: the milk in the refrigerator is easily used out.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

16 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location since it was close to the center of the city, just 15 minuts walking down hill. I also liked the fact that they were well informed, for ex. though they didn't have laundry service, they did have indications for a place close by, and other stuff as free tours, pub crawl, etc... Also liked the decoration and the common room.

Disliked: I didn't really like the room because it was kinda of crowded for the size of it and it had a wierd smell and since the windows weren't easy access it was hard to get rid of it. Also, the showers don't give you privacy between boys and girls, each shower place is devided but the screen is kinda of transparent and there is no place do dress seperatly.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: no credit card accepted

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Stephen McGoldrick

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2010

Liked: it was cheap, but still not worth the money

Disliked: Everything, it was filthy throughout the hostel the staff were only friendly when taking our money, the very worst hostel i have ever stayed in. Stank of stale smoke and drink. The kitchen was unusable and was in a state of disrepair and possibly a hazard The toaster was broken, and the response was we will fix it later.. not bad until we asked when was later and the answer was maybe tomorrow... most unhelpful

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

09 August 2010

Liked: It was clean and the room was nice.

Disliked: Not much of a chance to meet fellow travellers. Computer facilities were poor. Lots of stairs. A bit of a walk away from the best sites.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Szabolcs Göblös

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2010 Szabolcs would recommend this property

Liked: Simplicity

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Iacob Alexandru

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2010 Iacob would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty close to the main railroad station, and within walking distance to all the major sights. Nice staff, and good layout.

Disliked: Iacob left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: was great place to meet new people, not far from the centre of town,

Disliked: the night before we'd got there they had a leak so we couldn't use the kitchen which was a bit of a shame but not really there fautl we dont think. the internet connection was really weak and took ages. not enough showers for the amount of people in the dorms, didnt do breakfast

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the centre, the staff was helpful and the reception was open 24 hours. The rooms where ok, nicely furnished. the cleaninglady could do a better job, but the sheets where clean.

Disliked: She bathroom facilities were dirty, old and broken. So I only showered once there, didnt want to do it again. The room was ok, clean sheets.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

John Chapman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2010 John would recommend this property

Liked: Handy for Metro and late night buses. Generaly a clean and tidy hostel.

Disliked: They have recently had a water leak which has come through into the kitchen so there is a funny smell and a damp carpet. Modern technology could have assisted the drying process but they seem happy to leave it to nature.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean and it has lmost all the facilities they promise on the website

Disliked: One of the guys at the receptions was rude and they don't have lockers in the rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Samuel Jefferson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2010 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the located easy to find as soon as you get off the metro. I also enjoyed the fact that they had wifi at the hostel

Disliked: The fact that the building wasn`t air conditioned, the hostel was extremely hot and one day I took three cold showers throughout the course of the day. Two rooms got robbed at night while the people were in the room sleep!!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a dorm for this night, we ended up in a shared room for the same price, so it was quite a pleasant surprise. Otherwise, very good location and good value

Disliked: Cleanliness: could be worked on, mostly regarding bathrooms. Also, a little noisy during the night, since the Hostel is on a big street/boulevard.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Manuel Fluck

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2010 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: good location.

Disliked: the street is indeed quite loud.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Dunbar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: Common room area. Secure locks on doors and reception staffed 24/7

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location and comfortable, good common area and kitchen.

Disliked: Very, very, hot at night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Mc Glade

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

14 July 2010 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Was very close to the Pavlova metro station. Plenty of shared bathrooms so that was never a problem.

Disliked: Was a 30 minute walk to Old Town Square. Was pretty much deserted when we were there so we couldn't meet other travellers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2010

Liked: The location is really good. In general is quite OK. They have two fridges in which to store your food, which is really good. The internet is quite ok and the computer they have (although it would be better if they had more than one) is really useful.

Disliked: There are too few showers. The lockers don't work as they should. I traveled with a friend and they wouldn't give us another set of keys, which in the hostel is necessary because you might need an extra key for the kitchen.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to a metro station, so it was convenient.

Disliked: Have been sweating since I stepped in the property. No A/C and there's no real good air coming in the windows so everyone is very hot all the time. They should at least put in some fans or ceiling fans.


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels