We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Sokolska Youth Hostel

Hostel | 52 Sokolska str., Prague, Czech Republic 12000

78.2% Overall Rating

280 out of 339 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

Igor Sedlár thinks…

"Design of the room Kitchen with free cofee and tea Very close to a subway station & city center"

Read all Sokolska Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.17
  • Breakfast USD 4.60

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Parking places cost 300 Czk per 1 car per 24h. (If you want park your car in our hostel you mast reserve it by email before arrival) Upon arrival cash payments only. No drinking hard alcohol in the hostel! Silence hours are from 11 p.m. till 8 a.m. For the damages done by the fault of the guests the fine is charged. The amount of the fine is determined by the administration of the hostel. When going out always leave the key of your room at Reception.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

Hostel Centre
4.96 USD

Hostel 83.3% 264 reviews
Pension Brezina Prague
37.95 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Advantage Hostel
13.79 USD

Hostel 87.4% 645 reviews
Aparthotel Lublanka ***
27.83 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Residence Legerova
12.65 USD

Apartment 69.8% 12 reviews
CityStay Apartments and Hostel
14.71 USD

Hostel 79.9% 36 reviews
Miss Sophie's
5.61 USD

Hostel 91.3% 547 reviews
ABE Hotel
23.72 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.7% 22 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.2%

Overall Rating

280 out of 339 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sokolska Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
76.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 267 of 324 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Catherine Grover

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: It was filthy - the showers and the toilets looked as if they were only cleaned once a week - if that. There were no covers for the duvets and they had clearly never been cleaned. The carpets were threadbare and wallpaper was peeling off the walls and the ceiling. The shower door had a hole in it and you shared 2 showers between 25-30 people so they were always wet and disgusting. The staff were completely unfriendly and unhelpful. We arrived at 0530 and despite them claiming there was a 24 hour reception it took them 20 minutes before they opened the door. Then we were told that we would be unable to use any of the facilities until we checked in at 1400 but that everything in town was open - which of course it was not at 0530 so we had to sit on a park bench until 0700 when Starbucks opened. The doors did not lock when you closed them which meant that people always forgot to lock them when they left and as our room backed onto the lounge it was completely accessible to everyone. In fact my bed was written on by a previous tenant that wrote 'fellow traveller, it is a shame that you chose to stay here. My friend's bag got stolen yesterday, so i chained mine to the bed but when i came home i noticed that the chain had been cut with bolt cutters and my bag too had been stolen. Spread the word We felt so unsafe and so uncomfortable in this hotel that we actually did not stay for our full stay but checked into a hotel. When we told the guy at reception all the problems we had with it he just shrugged and did not care.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very good location, and is a good value for the money but don't expect too much since is a very cheap hostel...perhaps, is clean and the beds were very good, and I felt very confortable!

Disliked: The internet didn't work for a whole day and I really needed it to book my next steps. When I ask the guy from reception if I could stay 1 more night he told me that I should book in the internet because he couldn't do it in the system...???... but, they didn't have the internet for the whole day, so how was I suppose to book it? So, I had to wake up the next day, ckeck out at 11 and come back at 14 to know if they had places or not... terrible!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011

Liked: Not much

Disliked: No curtains, won the hostelbookers cleanliness award but was not at all clean (kitchen and bathrooms have not been cleaned during our stay, and according to what could be found in the fridge it had been a long time) noisy rooms, staff who wouldn't believe I payed the deposit, who gave me the wrong keys, they also did not know where the nearest supermarket was... Small and dirty towels, dirty linnen

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean and pretty rooms

Disliked: we stayed in rooms for three at the top floor, they have pretty and clean rooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Naveen Jayaram

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

29 July 2011 Naveen would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are awesome.....privacy is good

Disliked: No safety lockers .

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable. Pretty good location.

Disliked: No coffee, no tea in the morning. A guy from the staff showed all the rooms to an unknown person at 1 am in the night !!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa

15 July 2011

Liked: safe

Disliked: many. like cleaness

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ROOM

Disliked: no breakfast

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 June 2011

Liked: ok staff advice, clean kitchen

Disliked: no facilities on offer, very basic equipment, bad building condition

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simon Lajos

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 June 2011 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: cute hostel. easy to access to city center and station.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nina Straathof

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very good..nice rooms, location, and the people working in the hostel were very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 June 2011

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: The hostel was overbooked for a few nights. The guy in the reception had no clue as to how many beds were occupied and actually didn't know anything about anything.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has places to spread, a kitchen to prepare your own breakfast and a living room with enough space. It's not awesome, but the price is not high so it's a good value for the money although don't expect too much. It has wi-fi and no curfew, It's just OK.

Disliked: I was in a 8 bed room (that had actually 9 beds), and it is really small for all those people. It is just OK, not awesome but not dreadful either.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big fridges

Disliked: you cant open the door yourself

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: needs renovation

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Urvakhsh Mehta

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

07 June 2011 Urvakhsh would recommend this property

Liked: it's like coming back home everyday!! :) Free to enter at anytime. The place is sooooooooooooooooo clean!!!!! I liked to see the street from the windows in the kitchen :) :)

Disliked: My stay got over :(

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Esther Erickson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2011 Esther would recommend this property

Liked: 3 person room was nice and big; common room with tea kettle, microwave, refrigerator and computer on our floor (full kitchen downstairs), quiet on our floor

Disliked: nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011

Liked: Near to the city.

Disliked: Very awful sanitary facilities!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, professional crew, clean and tidy facilities.

Disliked: Some guest were not respectful keeping quite after midnight.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nothing much

Disliked: actually, because of the guy who snore and sleepwalk/talk during his sleep this place was a total nightmare. without him in my memory, it's not that bad. there is a kitchen for visitors.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ivan Fucak

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 May 2011 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It,s a safe place to sleep, but not much of a party hostel or anything.

Disliked: Staff was average, at best. Didnt speak much English

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011

Liked: i didnt like it

Disliked: the people that work there are not nice

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

grainne kilroy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011

Liked: price, could sit upright on the bunk bed, free internet

Disliked: slept in sleeping bags because the linen didnt seem clean. shower door fell off whilst taking a shower, building works going on whilst we were there.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ok

Disliked: showers


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels