We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Sokolska Youth Hostel

Hostel | 52 Sokolska str., Prague, Czech Republic 12000

78.2% Overall Rating

280 out of 339 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

Igor Sedlár thinks…

"Design of the room Kitchen with free cofee and tea Very close to a subway station & city center"

Read all Sokolska Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.63
  • Breakfast USD 4.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Parking places cost 300 Czk per 1 car per 24h. (If you want park your car in our hostel you mast reserve it by email before arrival) Upon arrival cash payments only. No drinking hard alcohol in the hostel! Silence hours are from 11 p.m. till 8 a.m. For the damages done by the fault of the guests the fine is charged. The amount of the fine is determined by the administration of the hostel. When going out always leave the key of your room at Reception.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

Hostel Centre
6.99 USD

Hostel 83.2% 262 reviews
Pension Brezina Prague
38.54 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Advantage Hostel
13.99 USD

Hostel 84.1% 642 reviews
Aparthotel Lublanka ***
41.10 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Residence Legerova
12.85 USD

Apartment 68.1% 11 reviews
CityStay Apartments and Hostel
11.65 USD

Hostel 78.5% 35 reviews
Miss Sophie's
11.51 USD

Hostel 90.7% 542 reviews
Joy Spot Hostel
18.65 USD

Hostel 71.7% 577 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.2%

Overall Rating

280 out of 339 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sokolska Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
76.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 267 of 324 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything worked as it was supposed to. I don't know why there are reviews about small towels, the towels we got were perfectly normal, and everything was clean and functioned well. You can lock the doors to the room and even to the common area so security is good. All in all a good hostel.

Disliked: No complaints.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Carlos Scheuch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

01 December 2011

Liked: The location

Disliked: - There are a lot of bed bugs. - they take our backpacks without our permission when we were out and change to another room because they recived a group. - the noices in the kitchen were very close to our room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a kitchen and is not far of a walk to the sites.

Disliked: The common room was directly outside of our room and so we heard people partying all night.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Daniel Martinez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: CHEAPY

Disliked: OUE ROOMMATE WAS A PIG

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: incomplete kitchen.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2011

Liked: Not much honestly, I've had much better experiences elsewhere.

Disliked: The place has no atmosphere at all, it feels more like a dirty hotel than a hostel. Staff weren't rude but made you feel like you were bothering them if you asked a question. Most annoying of all though, ridiculously thin walls. Not awesome when you have to share a wall with a private room.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: so noisy that we can not sleep till 2 a.m

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good. kindly and available rate.

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011

Liked: I liked how cheap this hostel was, and its location was just far enough outside the city to be quiet, but still within walking distance from everything.

Disliked: The showers and bathrooms were disgusting. In one of the showers the door didn't stay on, and in the other one the drain didn't work.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Przemyslaw Maryan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2011 Przemyslaw would recommend this property

Liked: For me Sokolska is good hostel. Location is exelent, staff is ok, and price is not very high. Poza dogodnym położeniem i dobrą ceną, można tam zostać również ze względu na fajny klimat i przyjazną obsługę. Bez problemów można dogadac się po polsku.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Benjamin Crompton

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 October 2011 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff and a great atmosphere. The hostel has a good sized kitchen and common room, and the rooms are (mostly) spacious and very comfortable.

Disliked: The cleanliness of the place could be improved; showering or visiting the bathroom was always a bit of a let down.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michelle Olivas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: it`s a very good hostel, reception guy was really kind, excellent service..!!

Disliked: i liked everything!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Danielle Latimer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2011 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Location, free used of computers and kitchen.

Disliked: Broken Lockers, so no-where to put bags/valuables.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Minna Ollila

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2011

Liked: We don't have much good things to say about the hostel. Location was ok and the staff was fine, but otherwise we will not recommend this hostel to anyone.

Disliked: The side where 8 bed-rooms are is filthy. Bathrooms, kitchen and showers are disgusting. The bathrooms wall was broken and was "fixed" with PAPER, so a very nice worm was climbing from the hole. We stayed 3 nights and the same amount of old coffee was floating in the coffee makers pan. Our beds were broken, the bodys were twisted. So uncomfortable; like sleeping in a hole. And there are no night lamps next to all of the beds so you can't read at night time without the roof lamp on. The towels are the size of a stamp and you have to wear shoes ALL THE TIME cause it's so dirty. Our last night we had to move from the 8 bed-room to another room cause there was a mix-up with the bookings and the rooms were overbooked. We had to drag our staff into one of the private rooms, which was ofcourse nice for us to stay there, but the group who were supposed to have our beds were angry and confused. Overall very disappointing place.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, good facilities and great location. great value for money and helpful staff.

Disliked: not much space for socialising/not many guest being sociable - but possibly due to the time of year..there is a kitchen/lounge area but we only saw one person using it in 4 days other than us.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: room is good

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

André Zahradnik

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 André would recommend this property

Liked: It s a pretty central located hostel, which allows to reach all main highlights of prag in a couple of days by foot, it provides towels and bedding as well as wifi and helpful 24h personal. ofcause it aint a 5* hotel but it s overall good value

Disliked: the hydraulic front door is much to slow ;-)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Oleksiy Vasylyev

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Oleksiy would recommend this property

Liked: nice place

Disliked: problems with internet

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gaelle Colas

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

05 September 2011 Gaelle would recommend this property

Liked: good deal

Disliked: it is just normal hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valeriy Ossiyevskiy

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 August 2011 Valeriy would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel with great location

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sofiya Zaynutdinova

Alone

Shopping

18 August 2011 Sofiya would recommend this property

Liked: excellent. no complaints..would choose sokoska 52 again if needed!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: thank you very much!)

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Carrol

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: I just stayed one night and everything was fine. Good solid hostel.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tina Arrow

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 August 2011 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: Though the location isn't in the most ideal place, it's still walkable to everything. Other then location the hostel was perfect! You don't have to pay for sheets or for a towel.

Disliked: The towel you're given is small, but getting it for free made it worth it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graeme Johnson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2011 Graeme would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good hostel in a great area. Would prefer not any stairs.

Disliked: No airconditioning and no laundry.


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels