We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Sokolska Youth Hostel

Hostel | 52 Sokolska str., Prague, Czech Republic 12000

80.3% Overall Rating

286 out of 345 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/12/2014)

"Cheap, safe lockers in bedrooms and location (10 mins walk to Dancing House or Wenceslas Square)"

Read all Sokolska Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 28.45
  • Breakfast USD 4.06

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Parking places cost 300 Czk per 1 car per 24h. (If you want park your car in our hostel you mast reserve it by email before arrival) Upon arrival cash payments only. No drinking hard alcohol in the hostel! Silence hours are from 11 p.m. till 8 a.m. For the damages done by the fault of the guests the fine is charged. The amount of the fine is determined by the administration of the hostel. When going out always leave the key of your room at Reception.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

Hostel Centre
7.32 USD

Hostel 80.0% 272 reviews
Pension Brezina Prague
33.37 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Advantage Hostel
16.26 USD

Hostel 93.5% 665 reviews
Aparthotel Lublanka ***
36.70 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Residence Legerova
11.12 USD

Apartment 69.8% 12 reviews
Miss Sophie's
5.37 USD

Hostel 93.3% 572 reviews
CityStay Apartments and Hostel
16.26 USD

Hostel 82.7% 44 reviews
ABE Hotel
100.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.7% 22 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.3%

Overall Rating

286 out of 345 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sokolska Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
80.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 272 of 330 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place, big rooms, free internet.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

David Santos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Minutes away from all the major attraction.

Disliked: Not the cleanest hostel ever but for the price it is a great value.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Irem APAYDIN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2011 Irem would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and nice. Location is not far for walking to places to see.They have free internet. And I really like the kitchen.

Disliked: none

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011

Liked: Location was the only thing going for this place.

Disliked: I booked this hostel because of the location and the fact that it had a bed available in a 6 bed dorm. I arrived in Prague at 9pm, exhausted and injured since I had twisted my ankle three nights before. I wanted to check-in quickly and go straight to bed. When I arrived at the hostel I had to stand at the door of reception for 20 minutes while the staff chatted to each other. When I finally received acknowledgement I was given a key and asked to pay the owing amount. For some reason it occurred to me to confirm that I was in a 6 form bed. I have never done this before, but in this case I had a bad feeling. Soon after requesting confirmation the staff looked at each other and asked me what I was talking about. I told them that I had booked a 6 dorm room and wanted to confirm that everything was fine with this booking. They then told me that I was in a 12 room dorm since they gave away all the other beds. I told them that I had booked a 6 bed dorm and had paid the deposit. They did not even apologize for their mistake. They just shrugged their shoulders and told me that I could leave if I wanted to. I could not believe this mess. I had been traveling for months and not once had I experienced some like this. To make matters worse, the dorm was a disgusting mess. To add insult to injury, the following morning the front desk was demanding I pay for a 6 bed dorm when I had stayed in a 12 bed one. I could not get out of there fast enough, even with my injured foot. I got really lucky to have found the hostel Sophie, which was located around the corner from this dump. I got to Sophie's at 10am and told them that I knew I was there too early to check in. But they said that it was important to rest my injured ankle, and they set me up with an ice pack and had a bed ready for me in minutes. They even came to check in on me later that day and offered to take me to the doctors. Maybe it was because I was incredibly tired, but Sophie's beds were AMAZING!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Nielsen

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2011 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap, right by the metro and easy to find.

Disliked: There's no lockers in the rooms and the beds are a bit hard.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything worked as it was supposed to. I don't know why there are reviews about small towels, the towels we got were perfectly normal, and everything was clean and functioned well. You can lock the doors to the room and even to the common area so security is good. All in all a good hostel.

Disliked: No complaints.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Carlos Scheuch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

01 December 2011

Liked: The location

Disliked: - There are a lot of bed bugs. - they take our backpacks without our permission when we were out and change to another room because they recived a group. - the noices in the kitchen were very close to our room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a kitchen and is not far of a walk to the sites.

Disliked: The common room was directly outside of our room and so we heard people partying all night.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Daniel Martinez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: CHEAPY

Disliked: OUE ROOMMATE WAS A PIG

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: incomplete kitchen.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2011

Liked: Not much honestly, I've had much better experiences elsewhere.

Disliked: The place has no atmosphere at all, it feels more like a dirty hotel than a hostel. Staff weren't rude but made you feel like you were bothering them if you asked a question. Most annoying of all though, ridiculously thin walls. Not awesome when you have to share a wall with a private room.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: so noisy that we can not sleep till 2 a.m

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good. kindly and available rate.

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011

Liked: I liked how cheap this hostel was, and its location was just far enough outside the city to be quiet, but still within walking distance from everything.

Disliked: The showers and bathrooms were disgusting. In one of the showers the door didn't stay on, and in the other one the drain didn't work.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Przemyslaw Maryan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2011 Przemyslaw would recommend this property

Liked: For me Sokolska is good hostel. Location is exelent, staff is ok, and price is not very high. Poza dogodnym położeniem i dobrą ceną, można tam zostać również ze względu na fajny klimat i przyjazną obsługę. Bez problemów można dogadac się po polsku.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Benjamin Crompton

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 October 2011 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff and a great atmosphere. The hostel has a good sized kitchen and common room, and the rooms are (mostly) spacious and very comfortable.

Disliked: The cleanliness of the place could be improved; showering or visiting the bathroom was always a bit of a let down.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michelle Olivas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: it`s a very good hostel, reception guy was really kind, excellent service..!!

Disliked: i liked everything!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Danielle Latimer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2011 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Location, free used of computers and kitchen.

Disliked: Broken Lockers, so no-where to put bags/valuables.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Minna Ollila

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2011

Liked: We don't have much good things to say about the hostel. Location was ok and the staff was fine, but otherwise we will not recommend this hostel to anyone.

Disliked: The side where 8 bed-rooms are is filthy. Bathrooms, kitchen and showers are disgusting. The bathrooms wall was broken and was "fixed" with PAPER, so a very nice worm was climbing from the hole. We stayed 3 nights and the same amount of old coffee was floating in the coffee makers pan. Our beds were broken, the bodys were twisted. So uncomfortable; like sleeping in a hole. And there are no night lamps next to all of the beds so you can't read at night time without the roof lamp on. The towels are the size of a stamp and you have to wear shoes ALL THE TIME cause it's so dirty. Our last night we had to move from the 8 bed-room to another room cause there was a mix-up with the bookings and the rooms were overbooked. We had to drag our staff into one of the private rooms, which was ofcourse nice for us to stay there, but the group who were supposed to have our beds were angry and confused. Overall very disappointing place.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, good facilities and great location. great value for money and helpful staff.

Disliked: not much space for socialising/not many guest being sociable - but possibly due to the time of year..there is a kitchen/lounge area but we only saw one person using it in 4 days other than us.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: room is good

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

André Zahradnik

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 André would recommend this property

Liked: It s a pretty central located hostel, which allows to reach all main highlights of prag in a couple of days by foot, it provides towels and bedding as well as wifi and helpful 24h personal. ofcause it aint a 5* hotel but it s overall good value

Disliked: the hydraulic front door is much to slow ;-)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Oleksiy Vasylyev

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Oleksiy would recommend this property

Liked: nice place

Disliked: problems with internet

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gaelle Colas

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

05 September 2011 Gaelle would recommend this property

Liked: good deal

Disliked: it is just normal hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valeriy Ossiyevskiy

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 August 2011 Valeriy would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel with great location

Disliked: -


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels