HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Sokolska Youth Hostel

Hostel | 52 Sokolska str., Prague, Czech Republic 12000

77.3% Overall Rating

269 out of 326 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"The property was very conveniently located near the metro station and all facilities were there. The staff was helpful and friendly and there was a very relaxed atmosphere. Good value for money but I would pay a bit…"

Read all Sokolska Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 35.22
  • Breakfast USD 5.03

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Parking places cost 300 Czk per 1 car per 24h. (If you want park your car in our hostel you mast reserve it by email before arrival) Upon arrival cash payments only. No drinking hard alcohol in the hostel! Silence hours are from 11 p.m. till 8 a.m. For the damages done by the fault of the guests the fine is charged. The amount of the fine is determined by the administration of the hostel. When going out always leave the key of your room at Reception.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

Hostel Centre
10.06 USD

Hostel 79.9% 245 reviews
Pension Brezina Prague
41.47 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Advantage Hostel
17.61 USD

Hostel 84.6% 597 reviews
Aparthotel Lublanka ***
44.23 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Residence Legerova
13.82 USD

Apartment 60.7% 8 reviews
CityStay Apartments and Hostel
17.61 USD

Hostel 76.1% 16 reviews
Miss Sophie's
6.79 USD

Hostel 91.5% 488 reviews
Hostel and Apartments Krakovska
22.64 USD

Hostel 71.9% 573 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.3%

Overall Rating

269 out of 326 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sokolska Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
68.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 258 of 311 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

javier casarrubias

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 javier would recommend this property

Liked: A cheap but very nice hostel, the location is very good, its clean and the staff is friendly. Id come back to this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jaime Resende

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

01 July 2012 Jaime would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Anthony Jose

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012 John Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place . Cheap and neat and bang in the center. Is well connected by public transport.

Disliked: John Anthony left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2012

Liked: location good , next to Metro

Disliked: 1. lots of traffic , too noisy if sleep with window open 2. bed need change , i feel a "hole" in the middle of bed 3. book female room but the fact is different from the booking

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

YINING ZHANG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2012 YINING would recommend this property

Liked: friendly environment

Disliked: noisy at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Butchers

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 June 2012 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: I was really pleasantly surprised as I arrived at this hostel it was really clean and the rooms were really nice, I would stay here again

Disliked: Ruth left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Eeva Louhela

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Eeva would recommend this property

Liked: good location, easy to find

Disliked: the stuff was not really nice

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enojyed satying in sokolska hostel- very good location, you can use kitchen which is well-equipmented and rooms are nice. really big living room for chat with others travelers and TV screen if u want to watch some movies.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, cozy room, nice staff. Very adequate conditions for what it costs

Disliked: Shower cabins are a bit shaky, though for a hostel it's ok.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Marissa Stein

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2012 Marissa would recommend this property

Liked: That the location wasn't bad, and the common room was nice. It had Internet access and computers which were helpful.

Disliked: That the rooms were small and everything echoed. Was hard to sleep.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place, big rooms, free internet.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

David Santos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Minutes away from all the major attraction.

Disliked: Not the cleanest hostel ever but for the price it is a great value.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Irem APAYDIN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2011 Irem would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and nice. Location is not far for walking to places to see.They have free internet. And I really like the kitchen.

Disliked: none

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011

Liked: Location was the only thing going for this place.

Disliked: I booked this hostel because of the location and the fact that it had a bed available in a 6 bed dorm. I arrived in Prague at 9pm, exhausted and injured since I had twisted my ankle three nights before. I wanted to check-in quickly and go straight to bed. When I arrived at the hostel I had to stand at the door of reception for 20 minutes while the staff chatted to each other. When I finally received acknowledgement I was given a key and asked to pay the owing amount. For some reason it occurred to me to confirm that I was in a 6 form bed. I have never done this before, but in this case I had a bad feeling. Soon after requesting confirmation the staff looked at each other and asked me what I was talking about. I told them that I had booked a 6 dorm room and wanted to confirm that everything was fine with this booking. They then told me that I was in a 12 room dorm since they gave away all the other beds. I told them that I had booked a 6 bed dorm and had paid the deposit. They did not even apologize for their mistake. They just shrugged their shoulders and told me that I could leave if I wanted to. I could not believe this mess. I had been traveling for months and not once had I experienced some like this. To make matters worse, the dorm was a disgusting mess. To add insult to injury, the following morning the front desk was demanding I pay for a 6 bed dorm when I had stayed in a 12 bed one. I could not get out of there fast enough, even with my injured foot. I got really lucky to have found the hostel Sophie, which was located around the corner from this dump. I got to Sophie's at 10am and told them that I knew I was there too early to check in. But they said that it was important to rest my injured ankle, and they set me up with an ice pack and had a bed ready for me in minutes. They even came to check in on me later that day and offered to take me to the doctors. Maybe it was because I was incredibly tired, but Sophie's beds were AMAZING!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Nielsen

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2011 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap, right by the metro and easy to find.

Disliked: There's no lockers in the rooms and the beds are a bit hard.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything worked as it was supposed to. I don't know why there are reviews about small towels, the towels we got were perfectly normal, and everything was clean and functioned well. You can lock the doors to the room and even to the common area so security is good. All in all a good hostel.

Disliked: No complaints.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Carlos Scheuch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

01 December 2011

Liked: The location

Disliked: - There are a lot of bed bugs. - they take our backpacks without our permission when we were out and change to another room because they recived a group. - the noices in the kitchen were very close to our room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a kitchen and is not far of a walk to the sites.

Disliked: The common room was directly outside of our room and so we heard people partying all night.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Daniel Martinez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: CHEAPY

Disliked: OUE ROOMMATE WAS A PIG

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: incomplete kitchen.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2011

Liked: Not much honestly, I've had much better experiences elsewhere.

Disliked: The place has no atmosphere at all, it feels more like a dirty hotel than a hostel. Staff weren't rude but made you feel like you were bothering them if you asked a question. Most annoying of all though, ridiculously thin walls. Not awesome when you have to share a wall with a private room.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: so noisy that we can not sleep till 2 a.m

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good. kindly and available rate.

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011

Liked: I liked how cheap this hostel was, and its location was just far enough outside the city to be quiet, but still within walking distance from everything.

Disliked: The showers and bathrooms were disgusting. In one of the showers the door didn't stay on, and in the other one the drain didn't work.


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels