We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Sokolska Youth Hostel

Hostel | 52 Sokolska str., Prague, Czech Republic 12000

78.2% Overall Rating

280 out of 339 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

Igor Sedlár thinks…

"Design of the room Kitchen with free cofee and tea Very close to a subway station & city center"

Read all Sokolska Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.17
  • Breakfast USD 4.60

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Parking places cost 300 Czk per 1 car per 24h. (If you want park your car in our hostel you mast reserve it by email before arrival) Upon arrival cash payments only. No drinking hard alcohol in the hostel! Silence hours are from 11 p.m. till 8 a.m. For the damages done by the fault of the guests the fine is charged. The amount of the fine is determined by the administration of the hostel. When going out always leave the key of your room at Reception.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

Hostel Centre
4.96 USD

Hostel 83.3% 264 reviews
Pension Brezina Prague
37.95 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Advantage Hostel
11.49 USD

Hostel 84.1% 642 reviews
Aparthotel Lublanka ***
27.83 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Residence Legerova
12.65 USD

Apartment 69.8% 12 reviews
CityStay Apartments and Hostel
13.33 USD

Hostel 78.5% 35 reviews
Miss Sophie's
5.19 USD

Hostel 91.2% 545 reviews
ABE Hotel
28.15 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.7% 22 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.2%

Overall Rating

280 out of 339 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sokolska Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
76.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 267 of 324 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city and public transportation.

Disliked: only a small kitchen and the computers in the lounge didn;t work.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet at night, but people to talk to during the day.

Disliked: They (accidentally I presume) took our own towels.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paulo Moreira

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012 Paulo would recommend this property

Liked: reception is open 24h

Disliked: Paulo left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location not too far from Old Town or bus station

Disliked: Inadequate number of toilets for the amount of guests. Staff added an additional person on a cot into our already packed 8 bed dorm

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kelly sheppard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was located right near the food and restaurant strip of Prague and was a quick metro ride to the old town. They also had wifi in the rooms!

Disliked: We had serious trouble opening our room door! There were only two showers where one of the lights were blown in it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proper, personeel heel vriendelijk.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ashley Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 August 2012 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the common areas! Nice places to sit good kitchen facilities and two computers to use free of charge! It created a great atmosphere for socializing and meeting other travelers!

Disliked: The toilets and shower rooms were a bit dirty an run down. At first a member of the staff was quite rude to me because he was working a 24 hr shift! The location to the city center areas wasn't great!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kalsey Belle

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2012 Kalsey would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful, always willing to be of assistance. It was also really good that if arrival was befor ehceck in you could leave your luggage in a secure place in the reception area. Even upon checkout, they were willing to hold your bag for you in the reception. I loved the location of the hostel, very convenient ! The atmosphere was great as well!

Disliked: There was only one toilet for quite a few people but that being said, the toilets were always clean and the showers as well. Also, although there were two computers in the common room, only one worked.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Thomas Sadler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, the staff were helpful, double room was decent

Disliked: Weren't allowed to open windows when raining due to being over the bed

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

javier casarrubias

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 javier would recommend this property

Liked: A cheap but very nice hostel, the location is very good, its clean and the staff is friendly. Id come back to this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jaime Resende

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

01 July 2012 Jaime would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Anthony Jose

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012 John Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place . Cheap and neat and bang in the center. Is well connected by public transport.

Disliked: John Anthony left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2012

Liked: location good , next to Metro

Disliked: 1. lots of traffic , too noisy if sleep with window open 2. bed need change , i feel a "hole" in the middle of bed 3. book female room but the fact is different from the booking

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

YINING ZHANG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2012 YINING would recommend this property

Liked: friendly environment

Disliked: noisy at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Butchers

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 June 2012 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: I was really pleasantly surprised as I arrived at this hostel it was really clean and the rooms were really nice, I would stay here again

Disliked: Ruth left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Eeva Louhela

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Eeva would recommend this property

Liked: good location, easy to find

Disliked: the stuff was not really nice

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enojyed satying in sokolska hostel- very good location, you can use kitchen which is well-equipmented and rooms are nice. really big living room for chat with others travelers and TV screen if u want to watch some movies.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, cozy room, nice staff. Very adequate conditions for what it costs

Disliked: Shower cabins are a bit shaky, though for a hostel it's ok.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Marissa Stein

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2012 Marissa would recommend this property

Liked: That the location wasn't bad, and the common room was nice. It had Internet access and computers which were helpful.

Disliked: That the rooms were small and everything echoed. Was hard to sleep.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place, big rooms, free internet.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

David Santos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Minutes away from all the major attraction.

Disliked: Not the cleanest hostel ever but for the price it is a great value.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Irem APAYDIN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2011 Irem would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and nice. Location is not far for walking to places to see.They have free internet. And I really like the kitchen.

Disliked: none

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011

Liked: Location was the only thing going for this place.

Disliked: I booked this hostel because of the location and the fact that it had a bed available in a 6 bed dorm. I arrived in Prague at 9pm, exhausted and injured since I had twisted my ankle three nights before. I wanted to check-in quickly and go straight to bed. When I arrived at the hostel I had to stand at the door of reception for 20 minutes while the staff chatted to each other. When I finally received acknowledgement I was given a key and asked to pay the owing amount. For some reason it occurred to me to confirm that I was in a 6 form bed. I have never done this before, but in this case I had a bad feeling. Soon after requesting confirmation the staff looked at each other and asked me what I was talking about. I told them that I had booked a 6 dorm room and wanted to confirm that everything was fine with this booking. They then told me that I was in a 12 room dorm since they gave away all the other beds. I told them that I had booked a 6 bed dorm and had paid the deposit. They did not even apologize for their mistake. They just shrugged their shoulders and told me that I could leave if I wanted to. I could not believe this mess. I had been traveling for months and not once had I experienced some like this. To make matters worse, the dorm was a disgusting mess. To add insult to injury, the following morning the front desk was demanding I pay for a 6 bed dorm when I had stayed in a 12 bed one. I could not get out of there fast enough, even with my injured foot. I got really lucky to have found the hostel Sophie, which was located around the corner from this dump. I got to Sophie's at 10am and told them that I knew I was there too early to check in. But they said that it was important to rest my injured ankle, and they set me up with an ice pack and had a bed ready for me in minutes. They even came to check in on me later that day and offered to take me to the doctors. Maybe it was because I was incredibly tired, but Sophie's beds were AMAZING!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Nielsen

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2011 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap, right by the metro and easy to find.

Disliked: There's no lockers in the rooms and the beds are a bit hard.


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels