We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Sokolska Youth Hostel

Hostel | 52 Sokolska str., Prague, Czech Republic 12000

78.7% Overall Rating

294 out of 356 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2015)

Sophie McArthur thinks…

"The property was very social and there was a large kitchen and sitting area. Also the wifi was good."

Read all Sokolska Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 28.91
  • Breakfast USD 4.13

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Parking places cost 300 Czk per 1 car per 24h. (If you want park your car in our hostel you mast reserve it by email before arrival) Upon arrival cash payments only. No drinking hard alcohol in the hostel! Silence hours are from 11 p.m. till 8 a.m. For the damages done by the fault of the guests the fine is charged. The amount of the fine is determined by the administration of the hostel. When going out always leave the key of your room at Reception.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

Hostel Centre
6.20 USD

Hostel 81.3% 279 reviews
Pension Brezina Prague
33.54 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Advantage Hostel
14.46 USD

Hostel 92.0% 692 reviews
Aparthotel Lublanka ***
36.90 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Residence Legerova
11.18 USD

Apartment 69.8% 12 reviews
Sophie's Hostel
5.45 USD

Hostel 94.2% 588 reviews
CityStay Apartments and Hostel
9.50 USD

Hostel 78.1% 55 reviews
Miss Sophie's Hotel
55.51 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.7%

Overall Rating

294 out of 356 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sokolska Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
73.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 276 of 340 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Monika Pucko

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012

Liked: Fast internet. And not that far from the main station.

Disliked: No secure lockers as described. And there is also no breakfast as offered. They said you can only get breakfast as a bigger group and if you order it ahead. The room hat four beds and that was it. No chairs, no table, no trash can,... You couldn't put.your stuff anywhere. You basicly had to put all your stuff on the floor. And the worst: THE ROOM SMELLT LIKE CIGARETS! It gave me an headache to sleep there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how I was able to leave my luggage at the reception prior to checking in as well as after checking out. It is also located in a good location - it is right beside the I.P.Pavlova red-line. You can easily take it to reach Wencelas Square or the Old Town Square. The bathrooms were clean and the room was quite spacious (4-person room).

Disliked: Nothing in particular. It would have been nice to have new towels changed daily.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Enrique Jose Fernandez Ricoy

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012

Liked: The price is reasonable and the location is good.

Disliked: The manners of the guy at the reception are ridiculous. His unfriendliness really surprissed me. The garage is also small and the property is so old that it makes you laugh, in spite of the walls being recently painted in pink colour.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2012

Liked: The hostel was clean and the location is Ok. It is a 10 minute walk to the major attractions in the city. However, when I stayed, the entire hostel was deserted. I felt pretty unsafe and decided to leave that night. It might be different during summer time.

Disliked: Not enough people in the hostel!! It was the only one as far as I could tell.!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

JOSE ALEJANDRO QUINTERO ROJAS

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012

Liked: Lo espacioso del cuarto

Disliked: La propiedad es sucia, la recepción tiene un mal aspecto y mal olor, adicionalmente el cuarto jamas lo asearon mientras estuvimos hospedados. La distancia del hostal a las principales atracciones de la ciudad queda como a 40 minutos caminando y si quieres salir en la noche tienes que estar preparado a la larga caminata o a pagar taxi porque el metro solo sirve hasta media noche. Las personas de la recepción son poco amables y colaboradoras, no saben mucho ingles a excepción de un muchacho que nos recibió el primer día.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very near to underground and tram stops. Clean.

Disliked: Out of three showers only one was useable. Lighting poor or non-existant - in bedroom and loos. Room clean but extremely sparsely appointed - no hooks or shelves.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is located at very near metro as well as tram. Good value. Everyone is helpful. Worth !!!

Disliked: They should give safe in each room. we have to sleep keeping our valuable belongings in our arms. They are no complementary breakfast

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: since the price is pretty cheap, all things provided were great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Lisa mc Donough

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012

Liked: Location is good.

Disliked: Staff were rude, there werent enough bowls in the kitchen, the rooms did not have keys, security was terrible, while we were there someones passport got stolen from the rooms, people could easily just walk in off the street and go through your things.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city and public transportation.

Disliked: only a small kitchen and the computers in the lounge didn;t work.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet at night, but people to talk to during the day.

Disliked: They (accidentally I presume) took our own towels.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paulo Moreira

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012 Paulo would recommend this property

Liked: reception is open 24h

Disliked: Paulo left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location not too far from Old Town or bus station

Disliked: Inadequate number of toilets for the amount of guests. Staff added an additional person on a cot into our already packed 8 bed dorm

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kelly sheppard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was located right near the food and restaurant strip of Prague and was a quick metro ride to the old town. They also had wifi in the rooms!

Disliked: We had serious trouble opening our room door! There were only two showers where one of the lights were blown in it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proper, personeel heel vriendelijk.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ashley Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 August 2012 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the common areas! Nice places to sit good kitchen facilities and two computers to use free of charge! It created a great atmosphere for socializing and meeting other travelers!

Disliked: The toilets and shower rooms were a bit dirty an run down. At first a member of the staff was quite rude to me because he was working a 24 hr shift! The location to the city center areas wasn't great!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kalsey Belle

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2012 Kalsey would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful, always willing to be of assistance. It was also really good that if arrival was befor ehceck in you could leave your luggage in a secure place in the reception area. Even upon checkout, they were willing to hold your bag for you in the reception. I loved the location of the hostel, very convenient ! The atmosphere was great as well!

Disliked: There was only one toilet for quite a few people but that being said, the toilets were always clean and the showers as well. Also, although there were two computers in the common room, only one worked.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Thomas Sadler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, the staff were helpful, double room was decent

Disliked: Weren't allowed to open windows when raining due to being over the bed

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

javier casarrubias

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 javier would recommend this property

Liked: A cheap but very nice hostel, the location is very good, its clean and the staff is friendly. Id come back to this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jaime Resende

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

01 July 2012 Jaime would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Anthony Jose

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012 John Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place . Cheap and neat and bang in the center. Is well connected by public transport.

Disliked: John Anthony left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2012

Liked: location good , next to Metro

Disliked: 1. lots of traffic , too noisy if sleep with window open 2. bed need change , i feel a "hole" in the middle of bed 3. book female room but the fact is different from the booking

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

YINING ZHANG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2012 YINING would recommend this property

Liked: friendly environment

Disliked: noisy at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Butchers

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 June 2012 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: I was really pleasantly surprised as I arrived at this hostel it was really clean and the rooms were really nice, I would stay here again

Disliked: Ruth left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Eeva Louhela

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Eeva would recommend this property

Liked: good location, easy to find

Disliked: the stuff was not really nice


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels