We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Sokolska Youth Hostel

Hostel | 52 Sokolska str., Prague, Czech Republic 12000

78.7% Overall Rating

294 out of 356 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2015)

Sophie McArthur thinks…

"The property was very social and there was a large kitchen and sitting area. Also the wifi was good."

Read all Sokolska Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 29.16
  • Breakfast USD 4.17

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Parking places cost 300 Czk per 1 car per 24h. (If you want park your car in our hostel you mast reserve it by email before arrival) Upon arrival cash payments only. No drinking hard alcohol in the hostel! Silence hours are from 11 p.m. till 8 a.m. For the damages done by the fault of the guests the fine is charged. The amount of the fine is determined by the administration of the hostel. When going out always leave the key of your room at Reception.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

Hostel Centre
9.17 USD

Hostel 81.3% 279 reviews
Pension Brezina Prague
33.79 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Advantage Hostel
12.50 USD

Hostel 91.8% 695 reviews
Aparthotel Lublanka ***
37.17 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Residence Legerova
11.26 USD

Apartment 69.8% 12 reviews
Sophie's Hostel
5.50 USD

Hostel 94.3% 589 reviews
CityStay Apartments and Hostel
9.58 USD

Hostel 78.1% 55 reviews
Miss Sophie's Hotel
55.99 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.7%

Overall Rating

294 out of 356 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sokolska Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
73.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 276 of 340 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, size of the rooms, cleanliness

Disliked: an oven in the kitchen would be nice and the wifi on the 4th floor did not work consistently.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gayane Kazhoyan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013 Gayane would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazingly helpful! We had a problem with our car, so the guy on the reception took us to a car repair after his shift ended and talked to the people there in czeck as we didn't speak the language. He also showed us around the city a little bit. The other members of staff were also very friendly. The atmosphere in general was very nice! Definitely good value for money.

Disliked: Gayane left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, big kitchen, good common area

Disliked: Staff not helpful

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cerca de la estacion de tren y del centro. Cocina bien equipada. Tiene ordenadores de libre acceso.

Disliked: Es bastante facil que entre cualquiera porque las puertas estaban abiertas

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location with shops, trains and restaurants near by. Also only a 15 minute walk to the museum and the beginning of main town area.

Disliked: The showers and toilets weren't clean with one shower having a stack of leafs in weirdly. There is very little space in the rooms and there isn't anywhere to put your bag away so there were six bags dotted around on the floor with no where to secure them.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Naomi Rolef

Alone

Business / conference

26 July 2013 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: I came for a conference and took a private room. They are located in a separate building the courtyard, which had its own shower, bathroom and kitchenette (no fridge though, you'd have to go to the main building for that). This was perfect for my purposes. Plenty of work space and privacy. The hostel is centrally located, and you could reach the main attractions on foot or with a short ride. I understood before I booked it that the hostel was on a busy street. The room was quite though, with windows to the court yard. Two of the three staff members I met were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: My bed only had a very thin mattress. Since there were two beds in the room I put the mattress from the other bed on top of mine. This wasn't very comfortable. The room and facilities were very clean, but there was a last touch missing for a welcoming feeling. Mattresses rapped in plastic were left lying in the hallway. Some repair work had been done and the walls weren't painted over. That was a pity, because it wouldn't take much to make this place feel more hospitable.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rasmus Kragelund Larsen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 Rasmus would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fine. 5-10 minutes of walk to Wenceslass square. 24 hour open reception.

Disliked: At arrival we were given a less comfortable room than we ordered. The chief manager wasn't very helpful, when we told him that we weren't satisfied. Parking is rather expensive - 300 CzK a Night (aprroximately 15 €)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordi Mogas Recalde

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2013 Jordi would recommend this property

Liked: Happy to had booken this hostel in Praha.

Disliked: The hostel charges a fee if paying by credit card.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2013

Liked: Hostel is located at city center.

Disliked: Hostel was too dirty. So I don't wanna cook anything in the kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcin Musio?

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 Marcin would recommend this property

Liked: Very Friendliness and helpfulness staff ! Best regards, Marcin and Gosia

Disliked: Marcin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Izzah Zulkifli

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Izzah would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: None

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Alex Mackintosh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013

Liked: Good location and cheap. You get what you pay for.

Disliked: You often get locked out of the hall your room and then the common areas are in as well as they are at seperate ends you need a set of keys to get back and forth from them which is really annoying. Especially as a couple we only got one set of the keys for both of us which one of us kept getting locked out in the foyer and had to wait for someone to go past! Rooms and bathrooms were gross.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Drazen Njers

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Drazen would recommend this property

Liked: great location.

Disliked: Wifi not working sometimes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Sammut

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: It was much better then i expected from a Hostel. The location was just great next to a metro station, the rooms and bathroom/showers all clean. staff very friendly. working WIFI :) all the experience was great and if i have to visit again i would surely stay here. With a place like this there's absolutely no reason to spend lots of money of a useless hotel!

Disliked: maybe would just recommend when luggage is left a bit more security on that part since the guests themselves are dropping and taking luggage without being checked they took the right one.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 May 2013

Liked: Good location just 10 min from the centre

Disliked: I really didn't like this hostel, it was not clean, very basic furnitured, people are not friendly! Very uncomfortable bed, always parting and screaming and smoking even if they are not aloud making my room smells like ashtray! Always problems with wifi! One or both of computers in common zone never works correct! And staff just promised to check

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Albert Redfern

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 April 2013

Liked: secure & quiet

Disliked: A bit far from most of the sights

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diana Chobanyan

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

22 April 2013 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was amazing.

Disliked: Diana left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

marco cerami

Alone

Events / festivals

14 April 2013 marco would recommend this property

Liked: I have enjoyed above all the friendliness and helpfullness of the staff. The location as well was in the center city and very near to the old town, but in a zone with services and not so touristic restaurants.

Disliked: Even though I have found the room and the services clean, the room where I have slept was in a zone of the hostel that looked like as there have recently been building works, so it gave the impression that shouldn't be so clean. I guess it was just an impression.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Roellenblech

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: very nice staff

Disliked: lift was out of order

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You have to buzz in to get into the hostel. I stayed in the all-female dorm. In general, it felt fairly safe. It is also conveniently located. It's a few minutes walk from the train.

Disliked: The main clerk who assisted me was very friendly, however there was another one who was very dismissive when I was trying to check out. I guess it didn't matter since I was leaving anyway but it made me question the safety of placing my belongings behind reception when I needed to.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Cow

Alone

City break

17 January 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely great location, great value, great facilities and really helpful nice staff.

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel!!!

Disliked: -

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was easy to find and had everything you need in a hostel.

Disliked: The staff didnt really seam interested in helping and were not particularly friendly or welcoming but still polite.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

16 October 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: atomosphere


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels