HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Sokolska Youth Hostel

Hostel | 52 Sokolska str., Prague, Czech Republic 12000

77.3% Overall Rating

269 out of 326 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"The property was very conveniently located near the metro station and all facilities were there. The staff was helpful and friendly and there was a very relaxed atmosphere. Good value for money but I would pay a bit…"

Read all Sokolska Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 35.19
  • Breakfast USD 5.03

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Parking places cost 300 Czk per 1 car per 24h. (If you want park your car in our hostel you mast reserve it by email before arrival) Upon arrival cash payments only. No drinking hard alcohol in the hostel! Silence hours are from 11 p.m. till 8 a.m. For the damages done by the fault of the guests the fine is charged. The amount of the fine is determined by the administration of the hostel. When going out always leave the key of your room at Reception.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

Hostel Centre
10.05 USD

Hostel 79.9% 245 reviews
Pension Brezina Prague
41.43 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Advantage Hostel
15.08 USD

Hostel 84.6% 597 reviews
Aparthotel Lublanka ***
44.19 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Residence Legerova
13.81 USD

Apartment 60.7% 8 reviews
CityStay Apartments and Hostel
17.59 USD

Hostel 76.1% 16 reviews
Miss Sophie's
6.79 USD

Hostel 92.1% 487 reviews
Hostel and Apartments Krakovska
22.62 USD

Hostel 71.9% 573 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.3%

Overall Rating

269 out of 326 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sokolska Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
68.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 258 of 311 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Roellenblech

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: very nice staff

Disliked: lift was out of order

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You have to buzz in to get into the hostel. I stayed in the all-female dorm. In general, it felt fairly safe. It is also conveniently located. It's a few minutes walk from the train.

Disliked: The main clerk who assisted me was very friendly, however there was another one who was very dismissive when I was trying to check out. I guess it didn't matter since I was leaving anyway but it made me question the safety of placing my belongings behind reception when I needed to.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Cow

Alone

City break

17 January 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely great location, great value, great facilities and really helpful nice staff.

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel!!!

Disliked: -

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was easy to find and had everything you need in a hostel.

Disliked: The staff didnt really seam interested in helping and were not particularly friendly or welcoming but still polite.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

16 October 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: atomosphere

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Monika Pucko

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012

Liked: Fast internet. And not that far from the main station.

Disliked: No secure lockers as described. And there is also no breakfast as offered. They said you can only get breakfast as a bigger group and if you order it ahead. The room hat four beds and that was it. No chairs, no table, no trash can,... You couldn't put.your stuff anywhere. You basicly had to put all your stuff on the floor. And the worst: THE ROOM SMELLT LIKE CIGARETS! It gave me an headache to sleep there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how I was able to leave my luggage at the reception prior to checking in as well as after checking out. It is also located in a good location - it is right beside the I.P.Pavlova red-line. You can easily take it to reach Wencelas Square or the Old Town Square. The bathrooms were clean and the room was quite spacious (4-person room).

Disliked: Nothing in particular. It would have been nice to have new towels changed daily.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Enrique Jose Fernandez Ricoy

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012

Liked: The price is reasonable and the location is good.

Disliked: The manners of the guy at the reception are ridiculous. His unfriendliness really surprissed me. The garage is also small and the property is so old that it makes you laugh, in spite of the walls being recently painted in pink colour.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2012

Liked: The hostel was clean and the location is Ok. It is a 10 minute walk to the major attractions in the city. However, when I stayed, the entire hostel was deserted. I felt pretty unsafe and decided to leave that night. It might be different during summer time.

Disliked: Not enough people in the hostel!! It was the only one as far as I could tell.!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

JOSE ALEJANDRO QUINTERO ROJAS

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012

Liked: Lo espacioso del cuarto

Disliked: La propiedad es sucia, la recepción tiene un mal aspecto y mal olor, adicionalmente el cuarto jamas lo asearon mientras estuvimos hospedados. La distancia del hostal a las principales atracciones de la ciudad queda como a 40 minutos caminando y si quieres salir en la noche tienes que estar preparado a la larga caminata o a pagar taxi porque el metro solo sirve hasta media noche. Las personas de la recepción son poco amables y colaboradoras, no saben mucho ingles a excepción de un muchacho que nos recibió el primer día.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very near to underground and tram stops. Clean.

Disliked: Out of three showers only one was useable. Lighting poor or non-existant - in bedroom and loos. Room clean but extremely sparsely appointed - no hooks or shelves.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is located at very near metro as well as tram. Good value. Everyone is helpful. Worth !!!

Disliked: They should give safe in each room. we have to sleep keeping our valuable belongings in our arms. They are no complementary breakfast

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: since the price is pretty cheap, all things provided were great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Lisa mc Donough

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012

Liked: Location is good.

Disliked: Staff were rude, there werent enough bowls in the kitchen, the rooms did not have keys, security was terrible, while we were there someones passport got stolen from the rooms, people could easily just walk in off the street and go through your things.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city and public transportation.

Disliked: only a small kitchen and the computers in the lounge didn;t work.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet at night, but people to talk to during the day.

Disliked: They (accidentally I presume) took our own towels.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paulo Moreira

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012 Paulo would recommend this property

Liked: reception is open 24h

Disliked: Paulo left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location not too far from Old Town or bus station

Disliked: Inadequate number of toilets for the amount of guests. Staff added an additional person on a cot into our already packed 8 bed dorm

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kelly sheppard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was located right near the food and restaurant strip of Prague and was a quick metro ride to the old town. They also had wifi in the rooms!

Disliked: We had serious trouble opening our room door! There were only two showers where one of the lights were blown in it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proper, personeel heel vriendelijk.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ashley Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 August 2012 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the common areas! Nice places to sit good kitchen facilities and two computers to use free of charge! It created a great atmosphere for socializing and meeting other travelers!

Disliked: The toilets and shower rooms were a bit dirty an run down. At first a member of the staff was quite rude to me because he was working a 24 hr shift! The location to the city center areas wasn't great!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kalsey Belle

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2012 Kalsey would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful, always willing to be of assistance. It was also really good that if arrival was befor ehceck in you could leave your luggage in a secure place in the reception area. Even upon checkout, they were willing to hold your bag for you in the reception. I loved the location of the hostel, very convenient ! The atmosphere was great as well!

Disliked: There was only one toilet for quite a few people but that being said, the toilets were always clean and the showers as well. Also, although there were two computers in the common room, only one worked.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Thomas Sadler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, the staff were helpful, double room was decent

Disliked: Weren't allowed to open windows when raining due to being over the bed


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels