We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Sokolska Youth Hostel

Hostel | 52 Sokolska str., Prague, Czech Republic 12000

78.2% Overall Rating

280 out of 339 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

Igor Sedlár thinks…

"Design of the room Kitchen with free cofee and tea Very close to a subway station & city center"

Read all Sokolska Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.74
  • Breakfast USD 4.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Parking places cost 300 Czk per 1 car per 24h. (If you want park your car in our hostel you mast reserve it by email before arrival) Upon arrival cash payments only. No drinking hard alcohol in the hostel! Silence hours are from 11 p.m. till 8 a.m. For the damages done by the fault of the guests the fine is charged. The amount of the fine is determined by the administration of the hostel. When going out always leave the key of your room at Reception.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

Hostel Centre
4.68 USD

Hostel 83.2% 262 reviews
Pension Brezina Prague
38.64 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Advantage Hostel
14.03 USD

Hostel 84.1% 641 reviews
Aparthotel Lublanka ***
41.22 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Residence Legerova
12.88 USD

Apartment 68.1% 11 reviews
CityStay Apartments and Hostel
11.69 USD

Hostel 78.5% 34 reviews
Miss Sophie's
10.29 USD

Hostel 90.2% 541 reviews
Joy Spot Hostel
15.59 USD

Hostel 71.7% 577 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.2%

Overall Rating

280 out of 339 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sokolska Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
76.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 267 of 324 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcin Musio?

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 Marcin would recommend this property

Liked: Very Friendliness and helpfulness staff ! Best regards, Marcin and Gosia

Disliked: Marcin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Izzah Zulkifli

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Izzah would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: None

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Alex Mackintosh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013

Liked: Good location and cheap. You get what you pay for.

Disliked: You often get locked out of the hall your room and then the common areas are in as well as they are at seperate ends you need a set of keys to get back and forth from them which is really annoying. Especially as a couple we only got one set of the keys for both of us which one of us kept getting locked out in the foyer and had to wait for someone to go past! Rooms and bathrooms were gross.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Drazen Njers

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Drazen would recommend this property

Liked: great location.

Disliked: Wifi not working sometimes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Sammut

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: It was much better then i expected from a Hostel. The location was just great next to a metro station, the rooms and bathroom/showers all clean. staff very friendly. working WIFI :) all the experience was great and if i have to visit again i would surely stay here. With a place like this there's absolutely no reason to spend lots of money of a useless hotel!

Disliked: maybe would just recommend when luggage is left a bit more security on that part since the guests themselves are dropping and taking luggage without being checked they took the right one.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 May 2013

Liked: Good location just 10 min from the centre

Disliked: I really didn't like this hostel, it was not clean, very basic furnitured, people are not friendly! Very uncomfortable bed, always parting and screaming and smoking even if they are not aloud making my room smells like ashtray! Always problems with wifi! One or both of computers in common zone never works correct! And staff just promised to check

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Albert Redfern

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 April 2013

Liked: secure & quiet

Disliked: A bit far from most of the sights

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diana Chobanyan

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

22 April 2013 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was amazing.

Disliked: Diana left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

marco cerami

Alone

Events / festivals

14 April 2013 marco would recommend this property

Liked: I have enjoyed above all the friendliness and helpfullness of the staff. The location as well was in the center city and very near to the old town, but in a zone with services and not so touristic restaurants.

Disliked: Even though I have found the room and the services clean, the room where I have slept was in a zone of the hostel that looked like as there have recently been building works, so it gave the impression that shouldn't be so clean. I guess it was just an impression.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Roellenblech

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: very nice staff

Disliked: lift was out of order

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You have to buzz in to get into the hostel. I stayed in the all-female dorm. In general, it felt fairly safe. It is also conveniently located. It's a few minutes walk from the train.

Disliked: The main clerk who assisted me was very friendly, however there was another one who was very dismissive when I was trying to check out. I guess it didn't matter since I was leaving anyway but it made me question the safety of placing my belongings behind reception when I needed to.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Cow

Alone

City break

17 January 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely great location, great value, great facilities and really helpful nice staff.

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel!!!

Disliked: -

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was easy to find and had everything you need in a hostel.

Disliked: The staff didnt really seam interested in helping and were not particularly friendly or welcoming but still polite.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

16 October 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: atomosphere

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Monika Pucko

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012

Liked: Fast internet. And not that far from the main station.

Disliked: No secure lockers as described. And there is also no breakfast as offered. They said you can only get breakfast as a bigger group and if you order it ahead. The room hat four beds and that was it. No chairs, no table, no trash can,... You couldn't put.your stuff anywhere. You basicly had to put all your stuff on the floor. And the worst: THE ROOM SMELLT LIKE CIGARETS! It gave me an headache to sleep there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how I was able to leave my luggage at the reception prior to checking in as well as after checking out. It is also located in a good location - it is right beside the I.P.Pavlova red-line. You can easily take it to reach Wencelas Square or the Old Town Square. The bathrooms were clean and the room was quite spacious (4-person room).

Disliked: Nothing in particular. It would have been nice to have new towels changed daily.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Enrique Jose Fernandez Ricoy

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012

Liked: The price is reasonable and the location is good.

Disliked: The manners of the guy at the reception are ridiculous. His unfriendliness really surprissed me. The garage is also small and the property is so old that it makes you laugh, in spite of the walls being recently painted in pink colour.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2012

Liked: The hostel was clean and the location is Ok. It is a 10 minute walk to the major attractions in the city. However, when I stayed, the entire hostel was deserted. I felt pretty unsafe and decided to leave that night. It might be different during summer time.

Disliked: Not enough people in the hostel!! It was the only one as far as I could tell.!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

JOSE ALEJANDRO QUINTERO ROJAS

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012

Liked: Lo espacioso del cuarto

Disliked: La propiedad es sucia, la recepción tiene un mal aspecto y mal olor, adicionalmente el cuarto jamas lo asearon mientras estuvimos hospedados. La distancia del hostal a las principales atracciones de la ciudad queda como a 40 minutos caminando y si quieres salir en la noche tienes que estar preparado a la larga caminata o a pagar taxi porque el metro solo sirve hasta media noche. Las personas de la recepción son poco amables y colaboradoras, no saben mucho ingles a excepción de un muchacho que nos recibió el primer día.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very near to underground and tram stops. Clean.

Disliked: Out of three showers only one was useable. Lighting poor or non-existant - in bedroom and loos. Room clean but extremely sparsely appointed - no hooks or shelves.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is located at very near metro as well as tram. Good value. Everyone is helpful. Worth !!!

Disliked: They should give safe in each room. we have to sleep keeping our valuable belongings in our arms. They are no complementary breakfast

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: since the price is pretty cheap, all things provided were great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Lisa mc Donough

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012

Liked: Location is good.

Disliked: Staff were rude, there werent enough bowls in the kitchen, the rooms did not have keys, security was terrible, while we were there someones passport got stolen from the rooms, people could easily just walk in off the street and go through your things.


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels