HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Sokolska Youth Hostel Prague Hostel

Sokolska 52, Prague, Czech Republic

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 67%

Location 82%

Safety 78%

Staff 71%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Elevator
  • Express check-in / out
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free city tour
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Parking
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 31.14USD
  • Breakfast 4.45USD

Important Information

Parking places cost 300 Czk per 1 car per 24h. (If you want park your car in our hostel you mast reserve it by email before arrival)

Upon arrival cash payments only.
No drinking hard alcohol in the hostel!
Silence hours are from 11 p.m. till 8 a.m.
For the damages done by the fault of the guests the fine is charged.
The amount of the fine is determined by the administration of the hostel.

When going out always leave the key of your room at Reception.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 67%

Location 82%

Safety 78%

Staff 71%

Value 82%

Showing 11-20 of 43 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Hostel was extremely clean

Disliked: The lift was broken so had to walk up many stairs to get to our room

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was great. The hostel was quite clean and cosy. We met some nice new friends there.

Disliked: We had some problems at the beginning. We had reserved places in a female only dorm. First we were put in a dorm full of men, there was only one bed left although we were two. When we went to say about this, we were said that we would have booked a mixed dorm and they gave us places in a mixed dorm, that was not that full. The dorm was ok. On the next day they came to say that we have to change to a female only -dormitory.It was expensive to use the washing machine, it was fully self-service and still four euros. In other hostels it has been 4-7 euros of laundry service (washing, drying, folding) and somewhere free use with self service.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good locatioin

Disliked: rest room is not good

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Very good location, helpful staff.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Near metro and tram station.I got what i paid for.

Disliked: Dorm upper bunk did not have power outlet.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Parking space at the location

Disliked: Very expensive during NYE, no breakfast included

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Cheap, safe lockers in bedrooms and location (10 mins walk to Dancing House or Wenceslas Square)

Disliked: I suggest a toaster on the kitchen. The showers are in a corridor so they aren´t the warmest of the places when you want take a shower after a frosty day...

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Romantic getaway, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Design of the roomKitchen with free cofee and teaVery close to a subway station & city center

Disliked: Some rooms have windows facing the quite noisy Sokolska street

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel was ideal for my style of travel. They have a a kitchen with a fully functioning stove and a fridge that they keep clean. The common areas are really spacious and I really appreciated that they had a vending machine for food and beer if you wanted, at really good prices. They also have a coffee vending machine. The rooms were not cramped and they were clean. The mattresses weren't worn down and the staff is super helpful. This hostel suits my kind of traveling because I am traveling solo but I really hate HUGE hostels. This one was perfect for me. Lots of space to breathe, a kitchen for preparing your own meals, and just a calming atmosphere. There wasn't too much interaction with the staff so I can't really comment on that, but all-in-all, this was one of the better hostels I've stayed at.

Disliked: DO NOT opt for the breakfast at 2+kk restaurant for the 4£. First, it's a bit of a walk... not a big issue but you can't be bothered in the morning especially if you don't know where exactly it is. My friends and I got lost so we missed the time window (our fault so we went the next day). Second, they are assholes, or at least one blonde waitress and her coworker were in the morening. My friends ordered tea and they wanted honey. So the girl gave MEone honey but I repeated that, no, my friends wanted honey so we just need one more. She rolled her eyes and brought back two more, obviously not understanding what I had said but didn't bother, just already treated us like an inconvenience. Also, they don't tell you what's on the menu so when they brought out eggs and bacon (my friends are vegetarian), we kindly (really i mean it) asked to get it w/o bacon and maybe with cheese instead. My friends speak Spanish and so couldn't communicate; I translated for them.The waitress through the biggest hissy-fit ever and took the plates away and stormed off to the kitchen. And when my friend tried to say please and thank you for fixing this, she turned around and blamed us and said that we needed to tell them beforehand.But they didn't tell us what was on the menu for breakfast!So after that episode they just brought out a plate of bread for them. Look, I've stayed in loads of hostels and everything so I'm not picky. Also, I've worked IN a restaurant and hostel for a long time. But how that girl treated my friends was appalling and I was quite surprised at her rude attitude and I thought I had to say something. I felt bad for my friends who were trying to communicate as much as they could.All-in-all, don't get the breakfast: they are assholes and it's not even worth it.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location, amount of toilets and showers on the floor

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability