HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Pension Tara

Guesthouse | Havelska 15, Praha 1, Prague, Czech Republic 11 000

75.2% Overall Rating

27 out of 35 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2012)

"Staff was courteous and helpful. They provided large closets and locks for those closets. I felt safe; good location. Sheets and towel were included. I had my own key for the main entrance, a secondary gate, and my…"

Read all Pension Tara reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 26.00
  • Breakfast USD 3.50

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

Hostel HOMEr
20.01 USD

Hostel 86.2% 70 reviews
Prague Square Hostel
20.01 USD

Hostel 87.2% 232 reviews
Residence Kozna
41.13 USD

Apartment 92.1% 69 reviews
ABC Suites
34.50 USD

Apartment 91.9% 76 reviews
Ahoy! Hostel
19.77 USD

Hostel 94.9% 51 reviews
U Tri Bubnu Hotel-Prague
265.36 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Ritchies Hostel & Hotel
16.44 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.7% 20 reviews
Old Town Home Prague
19.90 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.2%

Overall Rating

27 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Pension Tara'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
87.2%
Value
78.4%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 33 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was courteous and helpful. They provided large closets and locks for those closets. I felt safe; good location. Sheets and towel were included. I had my own key for the main entrance, a secondary gate, and my room. There was a refrigerator and kettle, but I didn't use them. The location is really good for downtown and on the east side of the river. Near metro and a market with goods/fruit.

Disliked: The outlet by my bed didn't work, but they gave me an extension cable. The lamp didn't work by the bedside. There's no common room. When coming back at night, it's very dark inside the hostel, but after the first floor there were illuminated light switches which turned hallway lights on. The shower didn't drain fast enough, so you're standing in a puddle of water, which negates using flip flops / thongs.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

JAVIER PAZ PIQUERO

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 August 2011 JAVIER would recommend this property

Liked: The situation.

Disliked: It´s old.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely helpful and kind! Felt safe in hostel and location was excellent!

Disliked: climbing the stairs

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was a really good location and a very big room and the staff was super

Disliked: there were no courtains

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Hamish Banks

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011

Liked: Nothing we will never return.

Disliked: The worst thing was the we payed a higher price for a nice room and it wasnt.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Salim Askar

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011 Salim would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a double private room and got a huge 6 bed dorm just for the two of us. It was very bright room with an unbelievable view on the market in front of the house. Plus, the location is in the centre of the buzzing tourist hotspots of prague!

Disliked: I didn't like the carpet on the floor, which looked very old and gray and hidden behind curtains were some spots without any flooring. Another minus was the abscence of a community room or a hangout area, so we didn't get in contact with other travellers, but i think it's because the house seems to be very historical with too less space to implement such features.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011

Liked: Location was great and staff were very helpful. Lockers were big enough to hold our massive packs!

Disliked: One of our dormmates got a wart on her foot from the shower, so always wear thongs! The handle on our door had fallen off, so our room wasn't really secure and the room had no windows.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pension Tara, though not the most beautiful hostel (pension), has a great character and feel to it. I liked the older rooms, it felt like staying at my grandmother's house! It's completely fine, and considering it's about half the price and distance from other hostels which look pretty, I'd go back in a heartbeat. The guy downstairs was extremely friendly and helpful

Disliked: The bathroom mat is a little confusing if not disgusting, but nothing a pair of thongs doesn't fix.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent localisation

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

NICOLAS GABRIEL FERNANDEZ

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 February 2011 NICOLAS GABRIEL would recommend this property

Liked: It is a pension... so it would be good to have a kitchen.

Disliked: The 4th floor... related with the huge baggages.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was good, frendly staff. Near to Charles bridge, centre of the city. It was very calm, was not noisy. It was clean room and was comfortable, some days it is good.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Wood

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay in Pension Tara! Room was clean and warm and for good price. Receptionist also helped us to get to see all monuments in Prague, hostel itself is located in a walking distance from all of them! I would definitely come again.

Disliked: ...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Daniel Walker

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 August 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: its was in an ideal location and a great way to meet people

Disliked: the rooms seemed slight below average, it could have been cleaner but was fine just to sleep in

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Rito

01 May 2010 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: really great location, helpful friendly staff. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Pleasure to stay there!

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

03 February 2010

Liked: HiJust few words about Pension Tara; - horrible- smelly- no characterWe usually travel on a budget and choose budget accommodation but that was not a very enjoyable experience. The room we have stayed in was very old with manky old pillows and stinky carpet; not at all as shown on the pictures on the website. maybe we've been unlucky and got the worst room in the hostel but I wouldn't risk it if I was you!Coffe making facilities with no coffee!The only good point was the location; Prague was beautiful!!!If you want to see the real pictures have a look on my tripadvisor review on pension tara ( member magsk)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

18 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Room service breakfast optional. Reception desk not open 24 hours but key available at adjacent hotel reception. Friendly staff, willing to answer questions or lookup answers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

SHUO YI SHIH

02 January 2010 SHUO YI would recommend this property

Liked: the location is good and the room for this price is also worthy.

Disliked: SHUO YI left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

19 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The most central place I ever stayed at. Good value for cheap price. Cleanniness ok for that price.Good value!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jaime Hemmett

30 November 2009 Jaime would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were sectioned off in a nice way, it was right in the center, the jug and cups etc was a nice touch. The price was AMAZING. There are Christmas markets on this month right outside the door!! I rated down security a little because our left luggage was kept behind the front desk.

Disliked: Jaime left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

KWANHEE YANG

19 August 2009

Liked: only good location

Disliked: KWANHEE left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap and great location. weird room arrangements though.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i think is a very good place for the money that it cost,but it isn't a good place to meet people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

23 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a bit of a hike up all the stairs to the top floor but well worth the view. Nice and quiet too

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Carien Swale

22 July 2009

Liked: Very good location close in old town

Disliked: Carien left no negative feedback.


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels