HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Prague Lion Hostel

Hostel | Na Zborenci 273/6, Praha 2 - Nové Mesto Prague, Czech Republic 120 00

69.7% Overall Rating

342 out of 383 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/08/2014)

Samuel Smith thinks…

"Decent location. Free wifi. Big room, with fridge and sink. Basically a small apartment for the price of a normal twin room. Quiet. Good value if you're willing to put up with the negatives."

Read all Prague Lion Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 27.58
  • Linen USD 2.30

Important Information

These special conditions are valid during New Year period, from 27th of Dec 11 until 1st Jan 12 : *During this time we require a minimum stay of 5 nights. *All the guests during this period MUST pay a DEPOSIT of 250 Euro or 6000 CZK in cash which is refundable only after inspection of the room. *The cancellation conditions for these bookings are following: - cancellations less than 30 days prior to arrival date will be charged for the first night stay - cancellations less than 20 days prior to arrival date will be charged for the whole stay (meaning the whole balance due specified on the confirmation voucher). Beware that we have a right to precharge your credit card within 20 days prior to your arrival date for the whole balance due. If it fails we have a right to cancel your booking. We will contact you to inform you about that and we can arrange also other way of payment (IBAN transfer).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

Emma Hostel
3.80 USD

Hostel 83.1% 370 reviews
Zderaz Apartments
27.58 USD

Apartment 94.5% 40 reviews
Mosaic House
11.39 USD

Hostel 92.0% 186 reviews
Chili Hostel
4.83 USD

Hostel 66.1% 258 reviews
Prague Centre Hostel
14.25 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Prague Centre Apartments
17.92 USD

Apartment 88.8% 318 reviews
Hotel Colloseum
25.30 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.0% 3 reviews
River View Grande Apartment
53.13 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.7%

Overall Rating

342 out of 383 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Prague Lion Hostel'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
72.0%
Value
74.4%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 289 of 366 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well priced, room was HUGE (more like an apartment than a hostel room), staff were helpful and prepared room early for us!

Disliked: Not much atmosphere, no bar etc.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and quiet. Awesome staff, extremely helpful

Disliked: nothing much.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Get what you pay for, in a central part of prague easy walking distance to the sights and bars etc. Laundry service on offer a stones throw away, 200 koruna a basket. Free wifi with excellent reception, also a hostel computer which is very useful. Would definately recommend!

Disliked: Minor- but the signing was fairly difficult to see however it was dark and raining when I got in. But could be inproved to a big more inviting sign.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Robin Ratcliffe

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 August 2011

Liked: Spacious rooms. Cheap price. Staff are trying hard. They have tried to design a good hotel. Location is fine but not near old town area.

Disliked: Limited opeing times, poor plumbing (leaks and blockages), new fixtures beginning to break, very noisy at night you can hear all other guests moving around. Local drunks try to get into lower and basement rooms. Poor quality bedding supplied.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, very short walk to centre of Prague. Fob entry made property feel secure as main door was always locked, also option to lock door to the floor (though obviously other people staying on the floor have keys and may not always lock it). Bathroom only shared on floor (1 private double room and a dorm). Helpful chap working there, boiler flooded during our stay, but was dealt with efficiently (even though it was late at night).

Disliked: Nothing really, it was good for a hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we arrived in the morning and booked on the same day, a twin bedroom. what we got was a clean, spacious apartment with a fully equipped livingroom/kitchen and a big room with four comfy beds and sliding doors to the kitchen. Miró-Prints on the Walls. It felt super-homey, was very quiet and bright. shared bathroom with one or 2 other rooms (we didn't see anyone) + microwave + kettle + 10min walk to"MUSEUM", 10 to the river + comfy beds + elevator + hot and proper shower

Disliked: > the "free internet" computer is superold and slow. but it works! > the receptionist can be a bit strange, but is generally very helpful.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Nur Doganay

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011

Liked: The location of the hostel is really good . It is next to the old town of Prague .So you can go by walk everywhere in few minutes We stayed trible room ensuite .And our room, bed sheets and bathroom are so clean

Disliked: When we arrived the hostel although it is one o clock the reception is closed so we had to ring the bell for five minutes and we waited in front of the hostel with our luggage .After somebody opened the door we could enter the inside the hostel is really strange it is dark and there was nobody in it .I don't like it .I think this hostel isn' good enough to be one of the best hostels in prague and it is too much expensive

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Antonio Zhu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: It has a good location and the rooms were big.

Disliked: The staff were not available after 12 am.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Muy buena ubicación, la habitación contaba con una cocina cómoda con una mesa y sillas para comer.

Disliked: Nada.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guy at the reception desk(I forgot his name) was very helpful and friendly. The location of the hostel was good. You dont need to use any public transportation at all to reach the historical places. Our room was big and clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katarína Hajduová

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Katarína would recommend this property

Liked: we booked the private room for 3 people, it was nice, clean, we also had a kitchen. The bathroom was shared between 2 rooms, it was clean. Everything was OK, the staff - Miroslav was very kind and helpful. the hostel is within walking distance from the city center and the sights, it is very close to the metro station and a tram station. We were very satisfied and will surely come back to this hostel if we will be again in Prague.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice facilities for a good price. Staff is very helpful and the location is great. It was also very safe.

Disliked: The staff is only at the deck at certain times, so when we had to check out there was no one around and no where to place the keys. Luckily we managed to open the shutter to the front desk to toss the keys in there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there was a lift! extremely convenient for those who have huge luggage. walking distance to the main square which is fantastic. staff was extremely helpful with directions and suggestions.

Disliked: the main gripe we had was that the steps leading into the hostel was difficult for us with our huge luggage. at night, the hostel(or hotel) opposite gets extremely noisy. rowdy tourists who create a lot of noises at night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jonathan Eenkhoorn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2011 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel is great, you can reach the center of Prague and the old town just by walking. The staff also was very friendly and helpful, especially Miroslav. The private rooms we stayed had a nice atmosphere, the walls where decorated with posters of paintings of Dahli. The hostel is really cheap for what you get.

Disliked: A boiler/heater broke down in the middle of our stay, It could not be fixed in time, so we had to share the shower with two floors instead of one. The hostel has a kitchen, but you can not use a stove because of safety regulations. We had to eat out everyday, if you have a very low budget that may be a disappointment.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wen Yeng Swee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 Wen Yeng would recommend this property

Liked: They provide free luggage storage after check out,very helpful and friendly owner.We stayed in private twin with shared bathroom,the room equipped with tv and fridge.The bathroom is very clean and huge.Location is good,near to the metro station and new town.

Disliked: No

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Khoi Nguyen Bui

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 Khoi Nguyen would recommend this property

Liked: Location, private ensuite room, elevator.

Disliked: No 24-hours reception.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James McGarva

As a family with children

Family Holiday

01 July 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice. Private double room was bigger than I expected, staff were very helpful, facilities were good.

Disliked: I disliked nothing. It was excellent.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's central location and heaps of room in 4 bed room

Disliked: Wifi was not always working

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were big and nice! The guy working the desk was insanely nice too!

Disliked: Nothing really although I broke a bed (my fault)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

brandon reinus

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 brandon would recommend this property

Liked: The property was great, the staff was really nice and helpful, and the bar right next to it is super cheap

Disliked: the internet was slow.. and it is definitely not a place to meet other travelers, but the city has plenty of bar crawls and pub tours that make it not a very big deal. prag is a very easy city to meet people in.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: they clean the bathroom everyday, and even better when its shared!! Not close but not far from the city center. we booked a double bed room, and gave us a apt for 4 people with fridge, microwave, sink, everything, perfect for food ....

Disliked: no breakfast included...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our host Miroslav was the nicest guy. He was very helpful and committed. The hostel was great. A large 2 person room with a small fridge, electric water boiler and satellite TV. The shared bathroom and toilet was only for 2 rooms and it was equipped with a rain shower. Awesome neighborhood, close enough to the city center to go by foot and far away to be quiet at night.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff. Good location, only 5 minutes walking distance to metro, tram, supermarket Albert or famous beer-bar U Fleku. Very useful: a small fridge and a water boiler in the room and a computer with internet access near the reception free of charge.

Disliked: No coat-hangers in the wardrobe

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kushala Satyanarayana

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011 Kushala would recommend this property

Liked: its location, cleanliness, spacious rooms and neat bathrooms/wc. a suggestion is that, the hostel could think of introducing small breakfast to its inmates for a price.

Disliked: nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was lovely, and we felt totaly safe.

Disliked: Its a tad further from old town, but about a 10-15 min walk. A value for your money though


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels