HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Prague Lion Hostel

Hostel | Na Zborenci 273/6, Praha 2 - Nové Mesto Prague, Czech Republic 120 00

68.2% Overall Rating

336 out of 374 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/11/2013)

Stephen Dixon thinks…

"We arrived after reception had closed, called a number and a lady was there to help us in less time than she had predicted over the phone: everything was sorted quickly and efficiently and our clean…"

Read all Prague Lion Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 30.16
  • Linen USD 2.51

Important Information

These special conditions are valid during New Year period, from 27th of Dec 11 until 1st Jan 12 : *During this time we require a minimum stay of 5 nights. *All the guests during this period MUST pay a DEPOSIT of 250 Euro or 6000 CZK in cash which is refundable only after inspection of the room. *The cancellation conditions for these bookings are following: - cancellations less than 30 days prior to arrival date will be charged for the first night stay - cancellations less than 20 days prior to arrival date will be charged for the whole stay (meaning the whole balance due specified on the confirmation voucher). Beware that we have a right to precharge your credit card within 20 days prior to your arrival date for the whole balance due. If it fails we have a right to cancel your booking. We will contact you to inform you about that and we can arrange also other way of payment (IBAN transfer).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

Emma Hostel
11.05 USD

Hostel 81.6% 354 reviews
Zderaz Apartments
30.16 USD

Apartment 95.4% 36 reviews
Mosaic House
11.56 USD

Hostel 90.7% 108 reviews
Chili Hostel
7.54 USD

Hostel 83.8% 214 reviews
Prague Centre Apartments
17.59 USD

Apartment 92.3% 311 reviews
Hotel Colloseum
30.38 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.0% 3 reviews
River View Grande Apartment
58.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
ATS Hostel Arnosta
18.85 USD

Hostel 61.4% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.2%

Overall Rating

336 out of 374 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Prague Lion Hostel'

Atmosphere
57.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
56.0%
Staff
76.8%
Value
72.0%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 283 of 357 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012

Liked: .

Disliked: .

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 September 2012

Liked: Room was light and airy with big windows.

Disliked: we ended up paying far more money for a room that was not as described online (we ended up with a double bed n shared bathroom- we booked a twin room and private bathroom) and they also kept our deposit, stating this was also towards the room!!! whislt trying to sort this muddle out we waited until 2pm to move to our new room only to find she had prepared it for one person not 2 as requested, and so she said the price be higher again!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

carey mackenzie

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 September 2012 carey would recommend this property

Liked: good location and good size rooms that werent too crowded,

Disliked: not very pretty

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2012

Liked: ensuite

Disliked: shower water sprays on floor that has no drain Reception not open on arrival bit pricey for Prague

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe, central location.

Disliked: Stains on bedsheets but they were clean. They need to invest in stain remover.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Very cheap, and we get a private room. - Plates and cutleris in the room. - Towel in the room. - Comfortable bed.

Disliked: - The dark curtain didn't work properly. - The fridgider didn't work. . The toilet is moving while you sit it. - The shower isn't the best.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Lucas Almeida Lamoia

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2012

Liked: The location is nice.

Disliked: Room isn't clean, one bathroom for 10 people and they didn't clean the bathroom on the weekend.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2012

Liked: nothing at all..for sure the worst hostel i have ever been..

Disliked: Totally dirty..discasting..with hair at the floor at all the time of our stay. No secure at all..no lock to the room..there was a robery one week before we go,as others travelers told as.. The people there was too unfriendly.. Only the score at tripadvisor represent this hostel..

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: No locks on doors, very dirty, was not cleaned from former guests when we arrived... Water was all over the floor in our room, and the sheets were stained. My comforter was taken from an already slept in bed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Casandra Silva

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Casandra would recommend this property

Liked: The property was so much nicer than the other hostel we tried first in Prague. It was inexpensive, yet clean and pleasant. I would definitely come again!

Disliked: The reception was not open very late, but if you arrive on time, it's not an issue.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Nikita Zonov

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012

Liked: Location is near the center,

Disliked: No door between badroom and shower. It's not comfortable for mixed dom.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Loes Abrahams

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012

Liked: The location of the hostel is great, it's near the center and a metro station.

Disliked: It wasn't very clean, the floor of the "bathroom" was wet all the time, so the floor of the entire room got wet. Furthermore, the blonde woman who works there is friendly and helpful, but the owner isn't. On the day we arrived there, there was no matress on my bed so the people of the hostel told me to sleep on another bed. But on our third - and last - night, I was sitting on my bed when the owner came in with another guest, and he got all angry with me, because that bed was for the other guest. I tried to explain to him that his staff told me to take that bed, so that I couldn't help it because I just did what they told me to do, but he wouldn't even listen to me and quite mean.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 July 2012

Liked: vending machines on property, kitchen

Disliked: wifi not working, no tv, no hot water for shower

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ahmad Nazmi Bin Idrus

Alone

City break

22 June 2012 Ahmad Nazmi would recommend this property

Liked: Got a room in the basement, it might seem like a bad thing but since its hot outside, the cold basement is a good place to cool down

Disliked: Hot water not working, internet not working...have to complain till it works again. Basement is damp. No common room. No microwave. Toilet have no lock. Shower have no door, just a curtain and the floor is always wet from the shower and cleaning is done once for the whole 5 days im there.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

20 June 2012

Liked: There were beds, and the location was good. Manager helped me find a bus for next destination.

Disliked: Our room was dark and dingy, there was water on the floor because showe curtains was too short. No locks on bathroom door and no door for shower, you have a curtain seperating u from the rest of the mixed dorm. No maintenance on the rooms; so still sheets from people who have left. We had to complain because there was no hot water for the first two days i was here. There is no common room, so you cant meet anyone. Also got locked out of the hostel upon arrival with two other guys for an hour ringing and knocking untill manager came

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

João Gabriel Domingos de Oliveira

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 João Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: It's very confortable and ver well located. Everything is clean. It's ideal for those who want to be in a calm place.

Disliked: Almost nothing. I just though a little strange the fact that there were never someone there.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, great accomodation, clean bathroom, tv, fridge, towels, big wardrobe included!

Disliked: Staff tried to sell us parking spot for the weekend - when parking is free on the street. But, they were also very nice to stay till 19h and wait for us (they work till 18h).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amplia,limpia y economica

Disliked: Nada

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location next to karlovo namesti metro station, WiFi in the room

Disliked: Computer at the lobby didnt work

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful Staff. Location is ideal. Short walking distance to Charles Bridge and other Prague highlights. Very clean property.

Disliked: Several bars are on street side windows and drunken singing and yelling pretty much goes on all night and into the morning hours.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

florent cassignol

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 florent would recommend this property

Liked: the global experience was fine

Disliked: florent left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, very clean and good atmosphere. We've got room with kitchen, but we didn't pay for it - extra value.

Disliked: Everything was in order. Only problem with wireless internet during all stay.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kapil Jain

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

30 April 2012 Kapil would recommend this property

Liked: Close to city centre, nice big room with balcony!

Disliked: Not a very new set up. Hot water was not available for bathing at 2 instances.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Teresinska

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Location of this hostel is great.

Disliked: I can't say anything I dislike.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joseph Kennedy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2012 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: The place was clean, comfortable and quiet. It is located only 2 blocks from the Vlatva river and it is easy to walk along the river to the Charles Bridge. There are a lot of great neighborhood restaurants nearby

Disliked: Nothing, though it is not a place where you can easily meet fellow travellers as there is no lounge/bar in the hostel.


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels