We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels

Reviews of Sophie's Hostel

Hostel | Melounova 2, Prague, Czech Republic 120 00

94.3% Overall Rating

573 out of 589 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2015)

Judd McPherson thinks…

"Fantastic price and staff. Stayed multiple nights; the hostel was clean, excellently located, and great overall."

Read all Sophie's Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Café
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 22.91
  • Breakfast USD 6.25
  • Towel USD 1.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”]. **We accept a MAXIMUM of 7 nights stay in every 3 month period in dormitory style rooms. **No check out and check in on same date allowed, minimum 2 nights between check out and check in. **Groups of 9 or more people cannot make an online booking; group bookings can be made by request only. **Booking multiple beds in dorm rooms does not guarantee you to all stay in one room; to ensure you all stay together, book private rooms. **Age restrictions apply for dorm rooms: only guests aged 18-39 will be accepted into shared dormitory rooms. **We are a 100% non-smoking property; smoking is not allowed anywhere inside the building. “Hostelbookers Sale Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to charge your card for the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“Sale Non Refundable”]. ****New Years Eve Bookings**** For all bookings which include 30.12, 31.12 or 01.01 there is a minimum stay of 4 nights. We reserve the right to not honour any booking for less than 4 nights. Further, these bookings will all be prepaid and non-refundable at the time of booking. ****Easter Bookings**** For all bookings which include 25.03.16 or 26.03.16 there is a minimum stay of 3 nights. Further, full non-refundable prepayment will be made to the card which you book with once we receive your booking. Cancellations and modifications will be accepted at our discretion and refunds are not guaranteed. **We are a 100% non-smoking property; smoking is not allowed anywhere inside the building. ****New Years Eve Bookings**** For all bookings which include 30.12, 31.12 or 01.01 there is a minimum stay of 4 nights. We reserve the right to not honour any booking for less than 4 nights. Further, these bookings will all be prepaid and non-refundable at the time of booking. ****Easter Bookings**** For all bookings which include 25.03.16 or 26.03.16 there is a minimum stay of 3 nights. Further, full non-refundable prepayment will be made to the card which you book with once we receive your booking. Cancellations and modifications will be accepted at our discretion and refunds are not guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Prague?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Prague

Miss Sophie's Hotel
59.99 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hostel Centre
9.16 USD

Hostel 81.3% 279 reviews
Sokolska Youth Hostel
9.16 USD

Hostel 78.7% 356 reviews
Advantage Hostel
12.50 USD

Hostel 91.8% 695 reviews
Joy Spot
16.66 USD

Hostel 81.1% 125 reviews
CityStay Apartments and Hostel
9.58 USD

Hostel 78.1% 55 reviews
Pension Brezina Prague
33.80 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Residence Legerova
11.27 USD

Apartment 69.8% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.3%

Overall Rating

573 out of 589 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sophie's Hostel'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
98.4%
Value
96.8%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 464 of 556 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Judd McPherson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2015 Judd would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic price and staff. Stayed multiple nights; the hostel was clean, excellently located, and great overall.

Disliked: Nothing.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Yurii Stets

Alone

Business / conference

23 August 2015 Yurii would recommend this property

Liked: Everytrhing was clean and the staff is cool/

Disliked: Small refrigerator on the kitchen

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is serously nice. Clean, with comfortable beds, big lockers and nice bathrooms. Power outlets and shelves for every bed, even the top ones. My bed cost me less than 5 euro a night- talk about value for money.

Disliked: The location is less central than other places I've been to, but the neighbourhood is nice and with prices like that it's a steal even factoring in the public transportation costs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: just everything, after staying in hundreds of hostels around the globe, the Sophie's hostel has clearly the right concept... it is what hostel should be: 1. affordable, 2. clean and useful facilities 3 welcoming staff... Sophie's hostel has gone the extra mile... and offers what the Arabs owned hostels in London can only dream about or the Chinese owned hostel in Hong Kong, Malaysia, Singapore or the Thai hostels - money should be made not on expense of being human.

Disliked: basically nothing the concept is pretty much flawless as long they keep the fares within the hostel spirit

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam French

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2015 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, very clean and comfortable and really well priced!

Disliked: Sam left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and the hostel itself is located close to the city center. With cheap price, it is bingo.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent service, good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was much better than we expected and actually resembled more a hotel room than a hostel room. The breakfast was very nice and the staff are very helpful (apart from two guys). Also the wifi worked well in the rooms and towels were provided

Disliked: Hard to think of any disadvantages! Only thing I'd say is that, due to being so nice, there was a lot more older people staying there than we expected.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yong Tae Kim

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2015 Yong Tae would recommend this property

Liked: Very Clean and nice staff.

Disliked: Kitchen was too small. Only one group(less than 4) can use at a time. Wifi is struggling in the room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cute rooms and bathrooms, nice common areas to sit and read and relax. All in all, nice atmosphere. Good breakfast too.

Disliked: Nothing except that it's a bit far from the common, happening areas such as Charles Bridge and Old Town Square. It was slightly troublesome to figure transport everyday.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and helpful staff. Clean, modern and really big bathrooms! Close to subway and tram station! Loved the pub crawling.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryan Hamade

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2015 Bryan would recommend this property

Liked: Wass more like a hotel than hostel. The staff was friendly and nice. Super cheap beer in their bar which helped with meeting people. A nice kitchen on each floor was a nice plus. The showers were also the nicest I've seen. They also had an awesome policy of cleaning every day it seemed. Would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: The only thing that'd make it better is a common room with a TV or something for groups to watch a movie and chill out while nursing a hangover from the previous night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Fabian Bänsch

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2015 Fabian would recommend this property

Liked: The design and atmosphere was great. The hostel is close to the city center so we safed time to reach the attractions of the city.

Disliked: Fabian left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Miss Sophie's is in a great location if you don't mind a bit of a walk to the main city centre and Old Town. Its about a 15/ 20 min stroll. Its really easy and cheap to get to the hostel from the airport via public transport. Its a bus ride and then a train (you'll need to change to a different line which is easy to do) and then a 5 min walk to the hostel. When we arrived we were greeted by a receptionist called Nico who was very welcoming and friendly!! He made us feel completely at home as he answered all of our questions, gave us some great recommendations for bars, restaurants etc and gave us directions for how to get around as this was out first time in the city. The apartment we stayed in was lovely. Stylish, modern, clean and everything workedl!! Oh and breakfast was AMAZING! Bread, cheese, cold meats, cereal, fruit, eggs and bacon etc. A great start to the day and a good lining for your stomach if you're planning to sample the Czech beers on offer ☺ Would definitely come back and stay in this hostel again. A great place to come back to at the end of a busy day exploring the delights of Prague.

Disliked: The directions via public transport need to be updated. When we arrived in Prague the man at the stand where we bought our ticket from informed us that we'd have to get off at a different stop to get on the correct train to the hostel. I think the bus route has changed and the named stop to get off at on the Miss Sophie's website is now incorrect. If this could be updated it would be good. Also, we wanted to do a pub crawl on the Friday and we were told that we had unlimited access to alcohol in the hostel and we'd only be moving on to 4 other places at about 11:30pm. We'd much rather go to a pub/bar rather than sitting in the hostel for a few hours before heading out so we decided not to do the pub crawl. Its a shame because it would have been a good way to meet new people. Maybe you could consider moving onto a different location a bit earlier on in the evening.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gal geisler

Alone

City break

07 April 2015 gal would recommend this property

Liked: it was amazing, the room was nice and clean, the showers and toilets are in a really high class, and the staff, i loved every single one of them! they are so nice and helpfull! i will definatly come again!

Disliked: nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very nice and more than helpfull for anything at anytime! Showers are hot. Breakfast was awesome and well worth paring the extra (hot plate prepared for you : pancake, eggs, bacon, plus all you can eat continental lots of variety). Nice music in common room.

Disliked: Everything was nice, but the bathrooms could be cleaned better I think..! But that's it!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Devan Hartung

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2015 Devan would recommend this property

Liked: i enjoyed the atmosphere and the amenities they offered with the restaurant especially.

Disliked: Devan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and modern. Good location

Disliked: Every room key carded - lacks the community vibe of other hostels

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amparo diaz

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2015 Amparo would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean, super modern!

Disliked: Pretty much anything

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

02 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Arai Tilyek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2014 Arai would recommend this property

Liked: Place was good and clean. Feels like a fancy hotel. Price arrangement is pretty good. Staffs are friendly.

Disliked: They did not have enough padlock. But they told me to leave my staff in reception which is nice

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nik Ahmad Rusydan Nik Hafizi

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2014 Nik Ahmad Rusydan would recommend this property

Liked: The apartment was stunning.

Disliked: Nik Ahmad Rusydan left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, high speed wifi in the dorm

Disliked: There was no security locker in the dorm


See all Prague hostels
See all Prague hotels