HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Havana

Hostel | U Svateho Ducha 135, City Centre, Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic 381 01

83.9% Overall Rating

67 out of 84 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

Bryn Thomas thinks…

"My girlfriend and I booked two of the cheapest dorm beds. We showed up and found ourselves upgraded to a private single, free of charge. The receptionist had turned the heating on in the room, we had…"

Read all Hostel Havana reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 2.52

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cesky Krumlov?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cesky Krumlov

Pension Sebastian
23.79 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 38 reviews
Pension Antoni
35.21 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 29 reviews
Hostel Postel
14.59 USD

Hostel 96.2% 225 reviews
Hostel Merlin
12.58 USD

Hostel 85.4% 398 reviews
Hotel Na Louzi
28.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 93.1% 14 reviews
Pension Adalbert
35.21 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 39 reviews
Travel Hostel
12.58 USD

Hostel 76.9% 55 reviews
Hotel Peregrin
49.30 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

67 out of 84 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Havana'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
90.4%
Value
92.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 65 of 72 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryn Thomas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Bryn would recommend this property

Liked: My girlfriend and I booked two of the cheapest dorm beds. We showed up and found ourselves upgraded to a private single, free of charge. The receptionist had turned the heating on in the room, we had two fluffy down blankets and super soft pillows. What the heck?? The bathrooms were so clean I even felt guilted into putting the toilet seat down! There is a great place to chill outside with a fire pit and a view, it was quiet at night after everyone went to bed lol ahhh man not your typical cheapest hostel on the list! The staff made a great effort to speak English as our Czech is embarrassingly non-existent. The kitchen was clean and well equipped. What a great place.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nichole Jesse

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2014 Nichole would recommend this property

Liked: Good locaion. Quiet but still within good walking distance to everything central.

Disliked: Nichole left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Ralf Grabuschnig

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 January 2014 Ralf would recommend this property

Liked: Good price

Disliked: No bathroom in the private rooms, not very clean, far from the town centre, bad mattress

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

HIROKI OHASHI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2013 HIROKI would recommend this property

Liked: Although I booked dorm, they changed room to other hostel with private room. That was so comfortable and clean. And staff was so nice.

Disliked: I arrived to hostel around 11AM. However, there was nobody in reception. I had to call to staff and wait to 2 hours. That was very inconvenience.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and, unlike most places in Eastern Europe at this time of year, not overheated, but comfortably warm. It was close enugh to the city centre to walk in less than 10 minutes but far enough away to be quiet.

Disliked: Nothing really.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, clean, with a kitchen, a supermarket nearby

Disliked: far from town centre, reception is often closed and visitors are asked to call the owner as written on a notice but this is difficult as we might not have a local number, late check in time at two pm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shuji Higashimae

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2013 Shuji would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel!

Disliked: Shuji left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location:beside river,calm

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

BRUNO KONDER

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 BRUNO would recommend this property

Liked: Free parking for cars. Its loacated at walking distance from the attractions in a very tranquil naighborhood, by the river. There is a big food market (coop) just across the road.

Disliked: Nothing in particular.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location because it was NOT right in the middle of Krumlov (where I have stayed many times before) but is right by river, supermarket, a few pubs, and under 10 mins to old town centre. The people working there were very friendly. The garden was nice to sit in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

derek emson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2013 derek would recommend this property

Liked: The situation by the river is perfect and far enough out of the centre of Cesky Krumlov to be quiet. People there were very friendly and helpful and speak pretty good English too. There is a good bus service from the railway station which is on the opposite side of town but to walk is not so bad if luggage is not heavy. Supermarket 5 min away from hostel. Pleasant garden to sit in at the front.

Disliked: The kitchen is not so good with a lack of decent cooking equipment. Only one small 2 ring hob and there is not a microwave. Also lacking in cooking pots. A few mice about which could be a problem for some people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We decided to extend our stay for one more day, we liked it so much. Great people, helpful staff, car parking across the street, had a good time. Great garden.

Disliked: Only one bathroom and two WC for all the people in one house.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Magdalena Zakrzewska

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 August 2013 Magdalena would recommend this property

Liked: 4 -bed room appeared to be two double rooms, quite.

Disliked: Could be closer to the city centre.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nejc Novak

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Nejc would recommend this property

Liked: I would recommend if you go here for one night and aren't picky. It's not as close to the center as they would like you to think, but it's nonetheless close enough, just a nice 10 min walk to the city. It's cheap and the staff is very friendly.

Disliked: There was no hot water in the shower, which was not such a big problem for us since we were only there for one night. Don't plan to cook anything on the kitchen stove, after heating it for 15 min and putting the eggs in the pan and waiting for another 5, the egg whites were still not white, that's how slow it heats up. The backyard BBQ place also isn't as beautiful and perfect as they would have you believe..

42.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2013

Liked: It is very cheap, but the location is very far. Everyone need to take the taxi to get there The host do not live there, and they leave in the afternoon If you have any problems, they won't go back and you need to call them

Disliked: No 24 security Bad location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JIYEON KIM

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 JIYEON would recommend this property

Liked: Havana hostel is wonderful. You can see river in the your room and store is very close.

Disliked: JIYEON left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had an awesome time staying at this hostel. Actually it's more like a pension than a hostel. It's beautiful, spacious, clean, quiet and the staff are supremely helpful and friendly. It was also one of the cheapest hostels by far. I highly recommend staying here. Thanks Hostel Havana!

Disliked: There was no shower curtain, so the water goes onto the bathroom floor.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Linping Li

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 Linping would recommend this property

Liked: Best price.

Disliked: A little bit far from the town centrum.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Te lady that works there was really nice, funny and helpful. The hostel is situated near the center.

Disliked: It was a bit cold, but still cosy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernd Wahlen

Alone

City break

29 April 2013 Bernd would recommend this property

Liked: value for money, reception girl ;-)

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheerful, cosy room. Loved it.

Disliked: Could use a long mirror on wall in bathroom. A small matter! Otherwise_great!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cheapest one I'd ever seem, but still friendly.

Disliked: the heater truns off too earlly and truns on too late.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Parking lot for your car, WIFI, Friendly staff, good value for price, nice garden

Disliked: a bit old already, no special atmosphere

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very beautiful, just beside the river nice staff

Disliked: a little far away from central and little difficult to find

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geraldine Byrne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2012 Geraldine would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this place!!! It was perfect. A+ It was like renting a cottage by the river. You had a massive (and proper) kitchen downstairs, with nice size rooms upstairs, and a lovely court yard out the back looking onto the river. I really loved it here. It felt like a home away from home. When I first looked at the map the tourist office gave me, I thought that the walk would take a while, but it took only about 5 (10 at tops) to walk to the hotel.

Disliked: Geraldine left no negative feedback.