HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Zagreb hostels

Reviews of Hobo Bear Hostel

Hostel | Meduliceva 4, Zagreb, Croatia 10000

94.7% Overall Rating

381 out of 401 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2014)

"Friendly staff, can give advice on day trip to Plitvice Lakes and book a bus too, convenient location a few minutes from the main square."

Read all Hobo Bear Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 20.01
  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please let property know the estimate time of arrival before check in due to reception opening hours.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zagreb?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Zagreb

apartment - Cebalo
43.81 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Swanky Mint
21.51 USD

Hostel 95.5% 32 reviews
The Brit Hostel Zagreb
17.52 USD

Hostel 89.5% 52 reviews
Villa Hostel & Apartment
22.78 USD

Hostel 90.4% 85 reviews
Hostel Shappy
22.78 USD

Hostel 93.8% 62 reviews
Chillout Hostel Zagreb
18.40 USD

Hostel 91.1% 142 reviews
Ciliga Studio Apartment
31.54 USD

Apartment 96.6% 16 reviews
Henrik Apartments
38.55 USD

Apartment 62.6% 85 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.7%

Overall Rating

381 out of 401 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hobo Bear Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 365 of 387 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, can give advice on day trip to Plitvice Lakes and book a bus too, convenient location a few minutes from the main square.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location and helpful staff.

Disliked: Kitchen is very close to rooms, noisy

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

claire hull

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014 claire would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Own apartment across the street from hostel with three dounle rooms very clean very spacious. Close to town. Easy to find

Disliked: Only open between 8-11pm. Not always there tho. No atmosphere really as you are away.from hostel. The hostel said email us if you will be arriving early so we van check you in. I did explain we would be two hours early, they replied with see you at 8am. They said not buy a ticket for.tram as its only three stops. But apprantly this is old info. And no longer true after having to pay the fine for not having a ticket. And in the apartments our room was great but only ones iust off the kitchen/seating area. So everyone wakes you up with kitchen light and talkinh Cooking. The door says please dont lock this lock (as we dont have a key for you) other people staying in apartments kept locking it from inside. so we had to wake them up everynight which they didnt like and also meet the neighbour who could hear is ringing our apartments bell through her wall. Great. Left bags at Hostel on last day. Came to bag at end of day.anf both big and small rucksafe was opened. I asked the staff but they didn't see anyonemgo near them three meters rrom desk. Not secure. Not too happy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eugenia Goh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2014 Eugenia would recommend this property

Liked: It was excellent! The rooms looked very cosy with the wooden decorations. I loved the decorations of the hostel too. Plus, providing breakfast is great!

Disliked: It was a little hard to find as the unit number was rather small but otherwise, the directions was great.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean McBride

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the helpful and friendly staff. Marko the manager helped me with bus to Plitvice. Ida gave me a great idea for a hotel in the lakes and Milche was very chatty and friendly girl to talk to. The link to the bus station is outstanding the number 6 tram 6 stops and your're there more or less. It is less than 10 minutes walk to the fashionable trendy areas and the historical and touristy parts too! The common room is also a nice area to chill.

Disliked: It was extremely quiet but this is out of season so its not their fault.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were wonderful and so helpful; they pointed me in all the right directions to experience everything I wanted to do! The location was perfect, right close to everything you could want!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, very cosy and friendly environment.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel with even more awesome staff. Clean and well kept. Great atmosphere. Staff are very helpful and provide a wealth of local knowledge. Best place :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice place with friendly, realexed athmosphere. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

27 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - within walking distance of pubs and night clubs. Great rooms, good prices, friendly and helpful stuff! Lots of fun in common room. I certainly recommend and will definitely come back!!!!

Disliked: I have no objections.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels. A real friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Max Mitchell

Alone

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Max would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and cool atmosphere. The owner and staff are very nice and totally helpful. Good wifi.

Disliked: A little noisy from morning traffic.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Žiga Mlakar

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 Žiga would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very clean, kitchen, new furniture. Only 10 min walk from the center. Staff was very helpful.

Disliked: Žiga left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Lowe

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful and friendly. I also like hostels that have a common area where you can meet other people. This is particularly nice when you are a lone traveler.

Disliked: Benjamin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeffrey Morrison

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2013 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: I was able to book a trip to Plitvice Lakes through reception. The staff was very helpful. Ida was the best!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gustavo Costa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2013 Gustavo would recommend this property

Liked: Hobo bear was fantastic. One of my favorite hostels during my trip. The staff were super nice and very helpful with everything. The beds are clean and comfortable. There's a nice area with couches to hang out and meet fellow travelers. Its centrally located in Zagreb, few minutes walk from a lot of the sights (and all the best drinking spots).

Disliked: Gustavo left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location lockers under the bed

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Meagher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and nice little hostel.

Disliked: Property advertised Air Conditioning but our room only had two fans in it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremy Grasnick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff.

Disliked: Jeremy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great for solo-backpackers. Coming to Croatia was my first experience back-packing alone, and HoboBear was the first hostel. I met lots of great people in my room and the neighbouring rooms. We all congregated in the lounge around 10p for beer and conversation, and went out after the reception shut. Its a small and intimate place. I met some great people here, and will give the hostel the benefit of the doubt, saying it attracts great people. Very central location. Facilities are good, what you'd expect from a hostel. Airport pickup was prompt and friendly. Staff are very helpful, suggested activities, and helped booked a cheap trip to Split through Plitvice.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lisa Dockman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: My partner stayed in the dorm before I arrived, and it was great! We booked a private room afterward which was clean, beautiful and well located. The common room was awesome, we met a lot of travelers and went for dinners/beers with them. Internet is great. Oh and reception has Happy Hour beer prices that were dirt cheap!

Disliked: Nothing to report!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has such a nice atmosphere, and you feel welcome from the start. The facilities are great and the people are nice.

Disliked: Perhaps some of the showers need makeover, but I think that's about it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its position and good service.

Disliked: No dislikes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great for partying or chilling. Nice showers, equipped kitchen.

Disliked: Nithing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013

Liked: Friendliness of staff, common room, free breakfast

Disliked: Uncomfortable beds, showers that must be repeatedly turned on, small, hot rooms


See all Zagreb hostels