HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Zagreb hostels

Reviews of Hostel Nokturno

Hostel | Skalinska 2a, Zagreb, Croatia 10000

83.3% Overall Rating

322 out of 361 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/04/2014)

Thomas Vosper thinks…

"The staff, especially Ana are very friendly and in my opinion are prepared to exceed their job description in order to make your stay as enjoyable and hassle free as possible. There are laundry…"

Read all Hostel Nokturno reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zagreb?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Zagreb

Fulir Hostel Zagreb
26.95 USD

Hostel 87.1% 545 reviews
Apartman Jasmin
36.26 USD

Apartment 96.1% 19 reviews
Apartment & Private Rooms Lessi
16.32 USD

Apartment 89.7% 157 reviews
Kaptol Hostel
22.11 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Central
16.14 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Taban Hostel Zagreb Centre
16.32 USD

Hostel 85.4% 50 reviews
Chillout Hostel Zagreb
13.60 USD

Hostel 95.1% 104 reviews
Hostel Shappy
19.94 USD

Hostel 92.8% 60 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.3%

Overall Rating

322 out of 361 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Nokturno'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 256 of 279 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Vosper

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 April 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, especially Ana are very friendly and in my opinion are prepared to exceed their job description in order to make your stay as enjoyable and hassle free as possible. There are laundry facilities and free internet and the premises are spotlessly clean and modern.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike about this property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nina Lazovic

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 January 2014 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, location, friendly staff

Disliked: Nina left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city centre, good value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, good location near the main place

Disliked: windows only to the corridor (private room single)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lianne Williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2013 Lianne would recommend this property

Liked: We had an excellent stay at Hostel Nokturno! It's in such a good location and the directions available on hostelbookers made it really easy to get to. We stayed in the four bed dorm and it was very basic but had everything you'd need. The staff were very helpful and even let me borrow an umbrella on a rainy day. The restaurant that is owned by the hostel is also pretty good and VERY cheap, brilliant for those on a tight budget. I'd definitely recommend Hostel Nokturno and it is particular good for travellers who are looking for somewhere quiet and comfortable.

Disliked: Mostly this hostel was excellent! The bed sheets did have quite a lot of holes in them and the bathroom got very busy as it was shared by a lot of people. None of this really bothered us though as they were only very minor things.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Lumpy pillows, no air conditioning, spotty wifi...oh and bedbugs! Arriving late after a long day of travel the receptionist was less than thrilled to greet us. We were taken to our stifling 3 person dorm, with thin, holey sheets. After settling in we noticed little bugs crawling up and down the walls. A few minutes later we noticed more bugs crawling on the walls and beds. When the Internet wasn't going out every 3 minutes we were able to identify these bugs as bedbugs. Immediately we notified reception who had no idea what they were or what to do. At this point it was too late to leave and find other accommodations so we spent the night and left first thing in the morning. Thankfully we were given a full refund without any problems. The location might be "perfect" but Zagreb isn't that big of a city with really reliable public transportation. It's not worth staying here just because of its location.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money and a good location. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location (you can walk everywhere), clean bathrooms, nice staff, equipped kitchen... Overall a good choice. And they have the cutest dog ever.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap accomodation, good facilities and excellent location in central Zagreb. Right above Nokturno Restaurant which does excellent food + drink and is very cheap.

Disliked: The apartments are in a different building to where we stayed so there was a split between our group who stayed in two different rooms, but it's not too much hassle.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location at the best

Disliked: nothing particular

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was beautiful!

Disliked: There were no locks on the doors

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Nuno Costa

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 July 2013 Nuno would recommend this property

Liked: We love the location realy center and the restaurante in the hostel streets are probably the best quality-price for the City.. A big pizza for 3 euros! The hostel is clean and safe. Realy liked.

Disliked: No breakfast, no conditioned air and a bit hot

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Elizabeth Taylor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The apartment was nice and the location was fantastic. The staff were really helpful.

Disliked: The toilet in the apartment smelled slightly of urine and also the wifi in the apartment did not work. The single bed was not very sturdy and the slats fell out quite frequently.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Grace Kit Ying Yeung

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2013 Grace Kit Ying would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: No hot water guaranteed. The room was very hot if we didn't open the window. However, if we opened the window, it would be very noisy.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the old part of the city, very easy to walk to from the train station.

Disliked: We booked a double room and were given a very shabby room with two single beds pushed together. The sheets had holes in them and the towels were very old. There was no soap at all and someone else's food had been left in the fridge.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Fetterplace

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, and the directions on how to get there were perfect. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Showers were clean and I had a good sleep.

Disliked: Sophie left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2013

Liked: The central location made it easy to walk around.

Disliked: We requested a non smoking room, yet the staff puffed away frequently just outside our door, which technically made the room non smoking, but still smoke filled!! That was the worst part of the stay, but there were other bad parts. We knew there would be no air conditioning, but there was no fan in the room. It was humid and hot. To top it off in the morning, the showers had no hot water, not even warm water - staff apologised, but we perceived their reactions as if this was a common occurrence.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 June 2013

Liked: Location...

Disliked: Simply impossible to sleep in double bedroom because of the noisy street underneath the window. No hot water in bathroom + got sick probably because of the tap water... VERY well located and charming anyway... Seems better in dorms

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Eun-Yeoung Lee

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

18 June 2013 Eun-Yeoung would recommend this property

Liked: Restaurant is very close, location is not bad.

Disliked: Bath room is bad due to bad smell, shower booth was broken, it was hard to go to sleep at night due to noise from restaurant Noktruno.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013

Liked: The hostel is a good location. Unfortunately being unable to sleep over shadowed any positive aspects for me.

Disliked: The layout of this hostel is just not adequate. I was given a room right by reception / common area, and it was impossible to sleep. I ended up getting up at 3am to ask to be moved, at which point the receptionist apologised and moved people away from outside my door. There was also a washer dryer right outside my door which was on continuously through out the night - clearly didn't help. Added insult to injury as heard the receptionist laughing with other guests about me complaining the night before.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Macvie

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2013 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: A greatstay. The location is unbeatable, in the centre of the old town, close to the market, the cathedral, the street with all the bars, and the main square. The rooms are a good size, and clean. There is a bar and restaurant for the hostel, which are excellent and cheap. And most of all, the staff are fantastic. For information, phoning taxis, looking after bags, and just speaking to us after a night out, all in perfect English.

Disliked: Don't expect a 5 star hostel, with all modern fittings. It's a very well looked after but basic hostel. But that isn't a negative comment, just an observation. For the cost, the value cannot be faulted. It is close to the bars, so there is noise at night, but nightlife was exactly what we were looking for. No negatives. This is a great hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dimitar Donchev

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Dimitar would recommend this property

Liked: In the heart of Zagreb. Great place, very colorful and beautiful. Staff was nice, rooms were clean though not very big.

Disliked: No parking nearby. Expensive yellow and red parking zones. Best priced parking is an hourly one in a mall nearby.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the location couldn't have been better. It is right around the corner from the center square, market and other cafes and bars, very ideal!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, friendly staff, nice living room

Disliked: it is quite hard to find it,found no hlt water in the morning


See all Zagreb hostels