HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Zadar hostels

Reviews of Apartments and rooms Old town paradise

Apartment | Verica Grbić, Borelli 2, Zadar, Croatia 23000

67.1% Overall Rating

16 out of 24 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/05/2012)

Pawel Sado thinks…

"Please don`t believe the bad reviews. After reading all the negatives about this place i was a little worried about my holiday, but believe me i had nothing to worry about. Great location and very…"

Read all Apartments and rooms Old town paradise reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 20.87
  • Breakfast USD 8.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zadar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Zadar

Sobe Goga
39.14 USD

Guesthouse 94.9% 5 reviews
The Four Corners Hostel
27.83 USD

Hostel 92.4% 3 reviews
Old Town Hostel
20.87 USD

Hostel 91.2% 272 reviews
Zadar Downtown
26.09 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Elena
26.09 USD

Hostel 95.5% 292 reviews
Agora Central Rooms
43.49 USD

Hostel 80.6% 15 reviews
Hostel Home
22.61 USD

Hostel 89.8% 42 reviews
Zadar Apartment Ancient Town
23.88 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.1%

Overall Rating

16 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Apartments and rooms Old town paradise'

Atmosphere
55.8%
Location
95.0%
Facilities
52.5%
Cleanliness
61.7%
Staff
67.5%
Value
67.5%
Safety
70.0%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 23 reviews
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

20 August 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: They gave us an apartment in another location without the service described on the website. It was dirty (we found two roach). They didn't give us the key to enter to the main door so they ruined our evening because we passed all the night to find a solution (reception is not 24 hour open). The staff was arrogant, insolent and ignorant and made fun of us. All the negative review and the complaints are true, don't book this apartments, because they are cheap but too expensive for what they offer.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

28 August 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: A place I would definitely not recommend. We had booked for a 3 rooms apartment and were given a hot and dark attic, getting light from a tiny garret. The room was stuffed with 6 beds where one could stand only in the middle. The place was the kitchen of a 3 rooms apartment built under the roof of the building. It had no independent access from the other rooms and we were supposed to share the bathroom with other guests. Upon our firm complaint, the landlady accepted to give us the entire attic, but the situation didn’t get much better. The two bedrooms had no furniture apart the beds and were extremely hot. The portable air conditioners placed right beside the beds were so noisy one could not sleep and the temperature never went below 30°. The main door could not be locked and guests staying in the rooms downstairs were not informed the bathroom was private. Taking a shower was another hard task: water would suddenly and randomly disappear, every time somebody in the apartment below would turn the tap on. After 2 nights in this hell we asked to get our money back and ran away.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Victor Serrano Organero

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: Casi todo, está muy bien situado y las instalaciones son buenas

Disliked: Casi nada, salvo que había que subir escaleras, pero vamos, ya lo dice en la descripción del hostal...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pawel Sado

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 May 2012 Pawel would recommend this property

Liked: Please don`t believe the bad reviews. After reading all the negatives about this place i was a little worried about my holiday, but believe me i had nothing to worry about. Great location and very friendly staff. We had a private room for 2 person. The room was very clean, and there was everything that we needed - kitchenette with fridge, private bathroom and even a washing machine! Great value for money! I recommend this hotel to everyone! :)

Disliked: Pawel left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing, right in the old town. We got given a great studio apartment which was air conditioned on the ground floor when we booked something less. The other reviews are pretty harsh - people expecting the ritz for 20 euros a night.

Disliked: Nothing

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011

Liked: Nothing but the fact that it was in the center of Zadar

Disliked: everything, above all the fact that they treated us like that maybe only because we were two young guys

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Owner was kind of rude and unhelpful when checking in. Location is great, the place is very cheap but shabby.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Gun Lövström

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2011 Gun would recommend this property

Liked: The location and a very helpfulness and friendly lady

Disliked: They say to us that the price we get from HostelBookers on our ticket was for one night not for two! But we don´t give them more so they say we get one night free - i don´t know if this was true!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very central location in old town. The owner endeavoured to be helpful but -see below

Disliked: Owner did not speak any of the languages we do ( English, French, Dutch or German).Furniture and fittings rather old and shabby. We arranged and paid for collection from the airport but nobody arrived. We had to telephone and then wait more than an hour - not an ideal start to a holiday and after a long journey.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Hurst

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: We tookthe ground floor apartment which had air conditioning and was really convenient and felt safe and secure. Valerie and her son Marko were very nice and helpful.

Disliked: The bathroom is very small and one of the hobs didn't work but it wasnt a major problem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

april souini

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 april would recommend this property

Liked: the location is fantastic and marco is so friendly and helpful and has lots of facts about what is good to see and do in Trogir.

Disliked: nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Daniele Grambone

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 July 2011

Liked: Since the room is located in the middle of Zadar, the location is quite good. But if you have the windows open (because it is too hot in the room, because it is right under the roof) it is therefore quite noisy since it is in the very city center.

Disliked: Tiny, hot and dirty! It is directly under the roof, rather a garret (Estrich, Dachkammer) than a room, with only a tiny window. There is no place for putting the towel or any thing else in the room. There is a radio that does not work and that takes the only place available. There was also an open pot of colour standig around, apparently the owner was doing some painting work but had not yet finished. It says that it is a private room, apartment (1 bedroom), but in reality you share the bathroom with 2 other rooms and nothing to do with an apartment. The bathroom was really dirty! The owner was saying that this is not her fault, but who else if not the owner would clean the room - of course it is her duty to clean regularly! The shower was also not working well: Or there was almost no water, or there was cool instead of warm water. There was no double bed but two single beds that could not even be put together due to the small size of the room and due to a joist in the middle of the room!! It was really hot in the night, despite the fans (no air condition as it said!), almost not bearable for sleeping!! Additionally, during about one hour in the night it was raining and the rain was (I am not exagerating!) dropping through the roof on one of the beds!! Since the room is so small we could not even move the bed for not becoming wet!! In a nutshell: We would never ever stay there again, it was a really awful place!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect! And the price was ok taking into consideration the great location.

Disliked: No air-con and very tiny rooms at the attic, the fans did not work properly.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, staff really helpfull

Disliked: Could have done with a kettle

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011

Liked: in the old town

Disliked: Very noisy as it overlooks a central street and too stuffy inside to keep the windows closed

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011

Liked: Location was good. But also quite noisy as it's very central.

Disliked: Absolutely awful, awful room in the attic. Dirty, dusty, 2 small uncomfortable beds in attic room with low ceilings so that we couldn't even stand up. Small wardrobe with no coat hangers or anywhere to store your clothes - but plent of other useless furniture stored there (we think we were given the 'spare' room that is not usually let out. Small pokey window that you couldn't see out off as it was on the roof. Dirty bathroom that we had to share. Toilet and shower not clean with hairs and debris. I think the ownder had over-booked and we were given the maid's room - certainly the room was not fit for commercial letting. The site didn't mention that we would have to share a bathroom - even though we'd asked for private lodgings. It is also 66 steps up to the accommodation - not easy when you're travelling with luggage. Our room had the key to the lock missing and we had to ask several times before we got this - meaning we had to carry our valuables with us. The door was also glass with dirty Venetian blinds - which meant that light just flooded into the room everytime the communal light was switch on. The owner was doing some refurbishment work in the attic - so it felt like being on a building site. Thank God we were only there for one night. We arrived late - about 8pm - by which time it would have been impossible to find other accommodation - but there is no way I will ever stay at this place again.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the middle of the Old Town of Zadar. Next to restaurants, bars, places of cultural interests, historical monuments, old churches.

Disliked: Small room with very old furnitures and no space for your belongings. Nice bed though. Can be noisy at night - very close to bars and restaurants - but no traffic noise.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Inxepensive place in absolute city center with a friendly lady (owner?) who will offer you help if needed! We also had a room with own bathroom and wc, which was great.

Disliked: As we left in the evening the biggest issue concerned the absence of a luggage room. No air condition was also a disappointment.


See all Zadar hostels