We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Zadar hostels

Reviews of The Drunken Monkey Hostel

Hostel | 21 Jure Kastriotica skenderbeg, Zadar, Croatia 23000

95.0% Overall Rating

140 out of 147 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/09/2014)

Neil Smith thinks…

"everything staff are awesome and the people I met were cool and the bar is excellent partying in zadar is awesome defo be back nxt year"

Read all The Drunken Monkey Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.66

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zadar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Zadar

The Wild Fig Hostel
14.73 USD

Hostel 85.8% 63 reviews
Apartmani Nina
18.54 USD

Apartment 94.4% 28 reviews
Roki&Diva - 1 MINUTE TO MAIN BUS STATION
13.24 USD

Guesthouse 94.6% 8 reviews
Villa Aloe
29.80 USD

Guesthouse 87.2% 34 reviews
Tara Rooms
24.83 USD

Hostel 85.0% 12 reviews
House Hostel Zadar
16.55 USD

Hostel 88.9% 20 reviews
Art Hostel Zadar
18.54 USD

Hostel 82.3% 24 reviews
APARTMANI VEDMAR
16.55 USD

Apartment 95.1% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.0%

Overall Rating

140 out of 147 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Drunken Monkey Hostel'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
98.4%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 135 of 146 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil Smith

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2014 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: everything staff are awesome and the people I met were cool and the bar is excellent partying in zadar is awesome defo be back nxt year

Disliked: not long enough stay here

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lukas Vieyra

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

31 August 2014 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, friendly owner, met nice people.... good facilities, awesome hostel...

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Drunken Monkey staff were very welcoming and accommodating. The place is a pleasant walk from the Old Town and only about two to three minutes from the closest beach point. I think I was lucky in that I found a bunch of other single travellers whom I did stuff with for a few days. Extra thanks to Mirna at the front desk for giving me an extra hand with stuff and Kyle for driving us out to both Krka and Plitvice.

Disliked: If I had to be extremely nitpicky, the beds were a little on the uncomfortable side.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rasmus Stenmark Persson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

14 August 2014 Rasmus would recommend this property

Liked: After about 45min at this hostel I immediately regretted only booking one night. What happened? The receptionist calls my hostel in Zagreb and gets me a free pass on canceling one night there to stay longer in Zadar at Drunken Monkey. Extremely helpful and fun staff! Start off by chilling with some drinks on the sun-terrace, have a bbq in the backyard and join the personal pub crawl simply amazing! A HUGE shoutout to the Tazmanian Devil Kara!

Disliked: Nothing. People who complain about the location obviously doesnt read the description before booking.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen facilities. Good atmosphere in the bar area. Swimming area which is excellent for a hostel. Close to bus station. Good Directions to hostel was provided. Friendly staff.

Disliked: It is quite far from the city centre (but this was provided in the description) . Mixed bathrooms and no choice for female only dorms. No kettle in the kitchen.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really decent atmosphere, super helpful staff willing to go on nights out and book things for you, clean, safe, kitchen, bar. All round excellent hostel. Absolutely makes up for any problems lazy people have with walking 20 minutes along the sea front. I'd definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Although its location isn't in old town, this is only a 20 minute walk. Plus you get to walk along the seafront towards town and enter through a beautiful city gate. In any case the hostel is right next to the pebble/stone beach and a 5 min walk from Tequila Sunrise - a bar from which you can jump off rocks into the sea.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Mayer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like home! The staff immediately treat you like you're an old friend. It's really cute and comfy with a cool lounge and bar that make it easy to mingle with other guests. It's in a quiet neighborhood with a local feel and a nice walk to town. I'm definitely coming back!!

Disliked: Christina left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome outdoor common area to hang out - for swimming, bbq-ing , chilling.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Hearns

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and owners are wonderful! So welcoming!!

Disliked: The part of town is convenient for the bus and trains, but a little tough learning the streets. It does give you a little more urban adventure though!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, great staff, and fellow travellers. Secure, friendly, tidy, and has an amazing roof terrace with great views. Zadar is some place and I loved every minute here, and the hostel was perfect, wouldn't change a single thing!! I didn't want to leave in all honesty and if I am ever back in Zadar then this is the only place I would stay at :)

Disliked: Nothing at all.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect for young travellers and those travelling alone as there is a small bar where everyone socialises in the evening. Had a nice chilled out atmosphere and the staff were really helpful and friendly. Aussie guy who checked us in recommended three amazing restaurants and had great local knowledge. The hostel is walking distance to the beach and about 15-20 minute walk into Zadar central. We parked for free in the square just up the road. I really enjoyed my stay here.

Disliked: A little difficult to find - little streets! Can be a little loud in the evenings and you can hear the staff chatting in the stairwell in the morning so if you want peace and quiet this probably isn't for you. Bit annoying that they didn't have a card machine to take the payment either.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities were great and it was very clean.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

scott hendry

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 scott would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean, friendly, nice atea right next to sea

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Martindale

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing - really went the extra mile to look after us and make us feel comfortable. Meticulously clean, excellent facilities and great environment for meeting people and socialising. Only a short walk from the old town and it's a beautiful walk along the beach. Really cheap to drink and beautiful splash pool. As we were in a large group the owners personally took us on a fantastic trip to the national park - could not find a single fault and would highly recommend and re-visit when we return to Croatia.

Disliked: Having to leave

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Felipe Molleda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2014 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Was very clean and very nice staff. And good advice from staff when they recomend you to drink somemthing in tequila sunrise, a beach bar near the hostel.

Disliked: In the room 1 the wifi signal was very low.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean as a whistle, super friendly and helpful staff, cool lounge area and backyard. Awesome hostel, would highly recommend.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Duchesne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2014 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: I mean...everything! The staff is AWESOME, the atmosphere: you will feel that you are with a bunch of friends...but in hollidays, location: perfect to not feel too guilty at the bar after a great dinner on the BBQ;). It's clean and safe: my lap top was in the lounge for the whole week and I never locked my door...I would not even do that where I live...I mean: JUST GO THERE...you found the place to be in Zadar!

Disliked: Now i know that it will be more than difficult to find better hostels than this one

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great stay in this Hostel. The Owner waited for me until midnight, because my flight was very late. Hey provided me in advance with a the door code and in hostel waited for me a handwritten letter as welcome message.

Disliked: It is directly nexy to the bus terminal, but the old town is still far away. So for every way you have to take the public transport and in the evening a taxi.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonardo De Viana Grossi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is great! Staff was great! Has loads of stuff!

Disliked: Not really close to the old town.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Federico Sutter

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Federico would recommend this property

Liked: Place is clean and very well taken care of. Mirna and Brad were extremely helpful and went above and beyond to help me figure out my way around Zadar and the surroundings. Excellent hostel by any means. Will come back next time when I'm in town!

Disliked: Nothing in particular.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danny Hudson

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

17 September 2013 Danny would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel is right by the sea front of zadar, perfect location. We stayed their two nights and the best night was everyone having a good laugh in the hostel all aged 16-30. The staff were brilliant they were as happy as I could be, I have always been sceptical about hostels but I would recommend this hostel and I will definitely go back there.

Disliked: Danny left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful staff, good location with walkable distance to the beach and town, great facilities and fun atmosphere. Made some great friends and really enjoyed my time in Zadar and the Drunken Monkey.

Disliked: Nothing :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominic Price

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Dominic would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a great atmosphere, plenty of relaxation areas with the pool, roof terrace and the bar.

Disliked: Bit of a walk into the old town, but nothing excessive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Dryden

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, sociable and lively, all you could want from a hostel! I stayed in Zadar last year at the 'Wild Fig Hostel' which was equally great, except no pool, (but we didnt use that anyway).

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Sanford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2013 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was amazing!! Definitely stay here. Super friendly and helpful staff. It has a great backyard with a little pool, lots of chairs to hang out in and a bbq! Close walk to a really big grocery store (by the bus station) so you can make your own food if you want. Good directions from the website, really easy to find the place. The hostel has great character and they have fun activities for people staying here all the time. There's a bar downstairs and a great lounge area to meet other travellers. There is also a beautiful rooftop terrace to hang out on. I was travelling in a group of 5 and we loved hanging out here and met some great people! The hostel also offers a pub crawl led by one of the Zadar (Croatian) native staff members who is really friendly and awesome. Great way to meet people and see some local nightlife scenes and clubs! Wasn't loud at night either - easy to get a good nights sleep if you want to stay in and have a quiet night (A/C in the rooms too). Bathrooms were clean. Cliff jumping and the beautiful water is about 5 minutes walk away. Loved this hostel!! Would 100% come back here.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing! Stay here!


See all Zadar hostels