We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Zadar hostels

Reviews of The Drunken Monkey Hostel

Hostel | 21 Jure Kastriotica skenderbeg, Zadar, Croatia 23000

94.1% Overall Rating

154 out of 162 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2015)

Isabella Loughland thinks…

"Really nice Staff, bar in the hostel, cool location with more chilled atmosphere and quieter beaches than in Zadar old town. Best place to be"

Read all The Drunken Monkey Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.48

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zadar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Zadar

Apartmani Nina
21.07 USD

Apartment 94.4% 31 reviews
Roki&Diva - 1 MINUTE TO MAIN BUS STATION
19.29 USD

Guesthouse 94.6% 8 reviews
Tara Rooms
22.25 USD

Hostel 83.8% 16 reviews
House Hostel Zadar
14.84 USD

Hostel 85.1% 26 reviews
Art Hostel Zadar
14.84 USD

Hostel 82.6% 33 reviews
APARTMANI VEDMAR
14.84 USD

Apartment 94.7% 31 reviews
The Hostel
20.03 USD

Hostel 94.1% 36 reviews
apartment "just cozy"
14.84 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.1%

Overall Rating

154 out of 162 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Drunken Monkey Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
95.2%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 149 of 161 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Korsmit

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2015 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Drunken monkey is a very pretty hostel, lovely beds, AC in the rooms, nice bathrooms. The staff is cleaning the hostel a lot of times during the day. The garden is amazing, nice swimming pool, BBQ. The location is very good, it's a 15 min walk to the old town but it's very safe and it's a lovely walk. It's also close to the busstation. The people are very social.

Disliked: We didn't know that there was a night clock. So the people came back into the room to finish there "party". The staff was not that helpful, the didn't had patches, we try to rent bikes for the next day, the girl of the reception told us that we can rent them at lazy monkey (the sister hostel) and told us that there were plenty of bikes. But the next day all the bikes were sold out at the other hostel. The girl of the reception could have make a phone call. We booked a day trip, but we had to confirm it during the evening, so we asked the girl of the reception, if the trip is still on, she started laughing and said of course not.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isabella Loughland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2015 Isabella would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice Staff, bar in the hostel, cool location with more chilled atmosphere and quieter beaches than in Zadar old town. Best place to be

Disliked: Small kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and helpful staff, great atmosphere, located near the best beach, nice bar, clean and safe.

Disliked: Everything was good!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Patino

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

13 August 2015 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful location outside of the city center. Close to the beach and great ace to watch the sunset. In a really nice quiet location of the city but still an easy 20 minute walk to the old city

Disliked: Joseph left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Dawkins

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2015 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff who left detailed instructions as we arrived after check in time. A very chilled and friendly atmosphere. Very clean room and bathrooms.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break

09 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Haley Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2015 Haley would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. They gave us great recommendations for things to do in the city and excursions outside of the city. Such a great atmosphere!

Disliked: Haley left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sally Meadows

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2015 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: The t

Disliked: The staff were so very friendly and extremely helpful. As soon as I arrived, I felt comfortable. The outside facilities were lovely-terrace, pool and sitting area. I would highly recommend this hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The splash pool / bbq area.

Disliked: very small kitchen, one fridge for 34 people?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Finch

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

23 May 2015 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff, awesome atmosphere, very cool place

Disliked: Jack left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 May 2015

Liked: Close to the main bus station.

Disliked: We came 4 persons and paid £60 for two private room. I am not sure if it was expensive or just a normal rate. But actually if would know earlier, we would cancel the booking and find an apartment which only cost us as low as £25 with two bedroom, private bathroom, kitchen, and parking. Thats what we did when we stayed in Split and Dubrovnik. However, if you come alone, this would be perfect. If 4 person and more, I would not suggest.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manish Cherukuri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2015 Manish would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are the best, offering advice and help in all manner. I was lucky enough to meet a lot of travellers

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Jagger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2015 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely BRILLIANT Hostel! Staff are very welcoming and incredibly friendly and also very helpful, The Hostel is very clean and well maintained and has an excellent atmosphere. The Hostel is a 20 min walk from the old town but you can walk along the coast and it is beautiful. I would highly recommend the Drunken Money!

Disliked: Rachel left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice

Disliked: Cold

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil Smith

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2014 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: everything staff are awesome and the people I met were cool and the bar is excellent partying in zadar is awesome defo be back nxt year

Disliked: not long enough stay here

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lukas Vieyra

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

31 August 2014 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, friendly owner, met nice people.... good facilities, awesome hostel...

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Drunken Monkey staff were very welcoming and accommodating. The place is a pleasant walk from the Old Town and only about two to three minutes from the closest beach point. I think I was lucky in that I found a bunch of other single travellers whom I did stuff with for a few days. Extra thanks to Mirna at the front desk for giving me an extra hand with stuff and Kyle for driving us out to both Krka and Plitvice.

Disliked: If I had to be extremely nitpicky, the beds were a little on the uncomfortable side.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rasmus Stenmark Persson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

14 August 2014 Rasmus would recommend this property

Liked: After about 45min at this hostel I immediately regretted only booking one night. What happened? The receptionist calls my hostel in Zagreb and gets me a free pass on canceling one night there to stay longer in Zadar at Drunken Monkey. Extremely helpful and fun staff! Start off by chilling with some drinks on the sun-terrace, have a bbq in the backyard and join the personal pub crawl simply amazing! A HUGE shoutout to the Tazmanian Devil Kara!

Disliked: Nothing. People who complain about the location obviously doesnt read the description before booking.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen facilities. Good atmosphere in the bar area. Swimming area which is excellent for a hostel. Close to bus station. Good Directions to hostel was provided. Friendly staff.

Disliked: It is quite far from the city centre (but this was provided in the description) . Mixed bathrooms and no choice for female only dorms. No kettle in the kitchen.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really decent atmosphere, super helpful staff willing to go on nights out and book things for you, clean, safe, kitchen, bar. All round excellent hostel. Absolutely makes up for any problems lazy people have with walking 20 minutes along the sea front. I'd definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Although its location isn't in old town, this is only a 20 minute walk. Plus you get to walk along the seafront towards town and enter through a beautiful city gate. In any case the hostel is right next to the pebble/stone beach and a 5 min walk from Tequila Sunrise - a bar from which you can jump off rocks into the sea.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Mayer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like home! The staff immediately treat you like you're an old friend. It's really cute and comfy with a cool lounge and bar that make it easy to mingle with other guests. It's in a quiet neighborhood with a local feel and a nice walk to town. I'm definitely coming back!!

Disliked: Christina left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome outdoor common area to hang out - for swimming, bbq-ing , chilling.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Hearns

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and owners are wonderful! So welcoming!!

Disliked: The part of town is convenient for the bus and trains, but a little tough learning the streets. It does give you a little more urban adventure though!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, great staff, and fellow travellers. Secure, friendly, tidy, and has an amazing roof terrace with great views. Zadar is some place and I loved every minute here, and the hostel was perfect, wouldn't change a single thing!! I didn't want to leave in all honesty and if I am ever back in Zadar then this is the only place I would stay at :)

Disliked: Nothing at all.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect for young travellers and those travelling alone as there is a small bar where everyone socialises in the evening. Had a nice chilled out atmosphere and the staff were really helpful and friendly. Aussie guy who checked us in recommended three amazing restaurants and had great local knowledge. The hostel is walking distance to the beach and about 15-20 minute walk into Zadar central. We parked for free in the square just up the road. I really enjoyed my stay here.

Disliked: A little difficult to find - little streets! Can be a little loud in the evenings and you can hear the staff chatting in the stairwell in the morning so if you want peace and quiet this probably isn't for you. Bit annoying that they didn't have a card machine to take the payment either.


See all Zadar hostels