We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Zadar hostels

Reviews of The Drunken Monkey Hostel

Hostel | 21 Jure Kastriotica skenderbeg, Zadar, Croatia 23000

94.1% Overall Rating

147 out of 155 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2015)

Manish Cherukuri thinks…

"The staff are the best, offering advice and help in all manner. I was lucky enough to meet a lot of travellers"

Read all The Drunken Monkey Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.44

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zadar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Zadar

Apartmani Nina
24.59 USD

Apartment 94.4% 31 reviews
Roki&Diva - 1 MINUTE TO MAIN BUS STATION
21.70 USD

Guesthouse 94.6% 8 reviews
Tara Rooms
23.14 USD

Hostel 84.2% 13 reviews
House Hostel Zadar
23.14 USD

Hostel 89.3% 21 reviews
Art Hostel Zadar
20.25 USD

Hostel 82.5% 25 reviews
APARTMANI VEDMAR
14.46 USD

Apartment 94.9% 28 reviews
The Hostel
19.53 USD

Hostel 94.1% 35 reviews
apartment "just cozy"
14.46 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.1%

Overall Rating

147 out of 155 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Drunken Monkey Hostel'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
96.8%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
96.8%
Value
93.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 143 of 154 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Haley Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2015 Haley would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. They gave us great recommendations for things to do in the city and excursions outside of the city. Such a great atmosphere!

Disliked: Haley left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sally Meadows

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2015 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: The t

Disliked: The staff were so very friendly and extremely helpful. As soon as I arrived, I felt comfortable. The outside facilities were lovely-terrace, pool and sitting area. I would highly recommend this hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The splash pool / bbq area.

Disliked: very small kitchen, one fridge for 34 people?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Finch

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

23 May 2015 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff, awesome atmosphere, very cool place

Disliked: Jack left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 May 2015

Liked: Close to the main bus station.

Disliked: We came 4 persons and paid £60 for two private room. I am not sure if it was expensive or just a normal rate. But actually if would know earlier, we would cancel the booking and find an apartment which only cost us as low as £25 with two bedroom, private bathroom, kitchen, and parking. Thats what we did when we stayed in Split and Dubrovnik. However, if you come alone, this would be perfect. If 4 person and more, I would not suggest.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manish Cherukuri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2015 Manish would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are the best, offering advice and help in all manner. I was lucky enough to meet a lot of travellers

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Jagger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2015 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely BRILLIANT Hostel! Staff are very welcoming and incredibly friendly and also very helpful, The Hostel is very clean and well maintained and has an excellent atmosphere. The Hostel is a 20 min walk from the old town but you can walk along the coast and it is beautiful. I would highly recommend the Drunken Money!

Disliked: Rachel left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice

Disliked: Cold

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil Smith

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2014 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: everything staff are awesome and the people I met were cool and the bar is excellent partying in zadar is awesome defo be back nxt year

Disliked: not long enough stay here

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lukas Vieyra

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

31 August 2014 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, friendly owner, met nice people.... good facilities, awesome hostel...

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Drunken Monkey staff were very welcoming and accommodating. The place is a pleasant walk from the Old Town and only about two to three minutes from the closest beach point. I think I was lucky in that I found a bunch of other single travellers whom I did stuff with for a few days. Extra thanks to Mirna at the front desk for giving me an extra hand with stuff and Kyle for driving us out to both Krka and Plitvice.

Disliked: If I had to be extremely nitpicky, the beds were a little on the uncomfortable side.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rasmus Stenmark Persson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

14 August 2014 Rasmus would recommend this property

Liked: After about 45min at this hostel I immediately regretted only booking one night. What happened? The receptionist calls my hostel in Zagreb and gets me a free pass on canceling one night there to stay longer in Zadar at Drunken Monkey. Extremely helpful and fun staff! Start off by chilling with some drinks on the sun-terrace, have a bbq in the backyard and join the personal pub crawl simply amazing! A HUGE shoutout to the Tazmanian Devil Kara!

Disliked: Nothing. People who complain about the location obviously doesnt read the description before booking.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen facilities. Good atmosphere in the bar area. Swimming area which is excellent for a hostel. Close to bus station. Good Directions to hostel was provided. Friendly staff.

Disliked: It is quite far from the city centre (but this was provided in the description) . Mixed bathrooms and no choice for female only dorms. No kettle in the kitchen.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really decent atmosphere, super helpful staff willing to go on nights out and book things for you, clean, safe, kitchen, bar. All round excellent hostel. Absolutely makes up for any problems lazy people have with walking 20 minutes along the sea front. I'd definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Although its location isn't in old town, this is only a 20 minute walk. Plus you get to walk along the seafront towards town and enter through a beautiful city gate. In any case the hostel is right next to the pebble/stone beach and a 5 min walk from Tequila Sunrise - a bar from which you can jump off rocks into the sea.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Mayer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like home! The staff immediately treat you like you're an old friend. It's really cute and comfy with a cool lounge and bar that make it easy to mingle with other guests. It's in a quiet neighborhood with a local feel and a nice walk to town. I'm definitely coming back!!

Disliked: Christina left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome outdoor common area to hang out - for swimming, bbq-ing , chilling.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Hearns

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and owners are wonderful! So welcoming!!

Disliked: The part of town is convenient for the bus and trains, but a little tough learning the streets. It does give you a little more urban adventure though!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, great staff, and fellow travellers. Secure, friendly, tidy, and has an amazing roof terrace with great views. Zadar is some place and I loved every minute here, and the hostel was perfect, wouldn't change a single thing!! I didn't want to leave in all honesty and if I am ever back in Zadar then this is the only place I would stay at :)

Disliked: Nothing at all.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect for young travellers and those travelling alone as there is a small bar where everyone socialises in the evening. Had a nice chilled out atmosphere and the staff were really helpful and friendly. Aussie guy who checked us in recommended three amazing restaurants and had great local knowledge. The hostel is walking distance to the beach and about 15-20 minute walk into Zadar central. We parked for free in the square just up the road. I really enjoyed my stay here.

Disliked: A little difficult to find - little streets! Can be a little loud in the evenings and you can hear the staff chatting in the stairwell in the morning so if you want peace and quiet this probably isn't for you. Bit annoying that they didn't have a card machine to take the payment either.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities were great and it was very clean.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

scott hendry

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 scott would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean, friendly, nice atea right next to sea

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Martindale

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing - really went the extra mile to look after us and make us feel comfortable. Meticulously clean, excellent facilities and great environment for meeting people and socialising. Only a short walk from the old town and it's a beautiful walk along the beach. Really cheap to drink and beautiful splash pool. As we were in a large group the owners personally took us on a fantastic trip to the national park - could not find a single fault and would highly recommend and re-visit when we return to Croatia.

Disliked: Having to leave

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Felipe Molleda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2014 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Was very clean and very nice staff. And good advice from staff when they recomend you to drink somemthing in tequila sunrise, a beach bar near the hostel.

Disliked: In the room 1 the wifi signal was very low.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean as a whistle, super friendly and helpful staff, cool lounge area and backyard. Awesome hostel, would highly recommend.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Duchesne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2014 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: I mean...everything! The staff is AWESOME, the atmosphere: you will feel that you are with a bunch of friends...but in hollidays, location: perfect to not feel too guilty at the bar after a great dinner on the BBQ;). It's clean and safe: my lap top was in the lounge for the whole week and I never locked my door...I would not even do that where I live...I mean: JUST GO THERE...you found the place to be in Zadar!

Disliked: Now i know that it will be more than difficult to find better hostels than this one


See all Zadar hostels