HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Zadar hostels

Reviews of The Drunken Monkey Hostel

Hostel | 21 Jure Kastriotica skenderbeg, Zadar, Croatia 23000

92.6% Overall Rating

121 out of 128 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/04/2014)

"It was a great stay in this Hostel. The Owner waited for me until midnight, because my flight was very late. Hey provided me in advance with a the door code and in hostel waited for me a handwritten letter as welcome…"

Read all The Drunken Monkey Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.81

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zadar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Zadar

The Wild Fig Hostel
18.11 USD

Hostel 83.3% 55 reviews
Apartmani Nina
20.29 USD

Apartment 95.0% 17 reviews
Roki&Diva - 1 MINUTE TO MAIN BUS STATION
18.11 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Villa Aloe
14.49 USD

Guesthouse 87.2% 34 reviews
Tara Rooms
27.17 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
House Hostel Zadar
18.11 USD

Hostel 89.2% 13 reviews
Art Hostel Zadar
20.29 USD

Hostel 80.2% 19 reviews
APARTMANI VEDMAR
18.11 USD

Apartment 95.4% 21 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

121 out of 128 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Drunken Monkey Hostel'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 118 of 127 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great stay in this Hostel. The Owner waited for me until midnight, because my flight was very late. Hey provided me in advance with a the door code and in hostel waited for me a handwritten letter as welcome message.

Disliked: It is directly nexy to the bus terminal, but the old town is still far away. So for every way you have to take the public transport and in the evening a taxi.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonardo De Viana Grossi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is great! Staff was great! Has loads of stuff!

Disliked: Not really close to the old town.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Federico Sutter

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Federico would recommend this property

Liked: Place is clean and very well taken care of. Mirna and Brad were extremely helpful and went above and beyond to help me figure out my way around Zadar and the surroundings. Excellent hostel by any means. Will come back next time when I'm in town!

Disliked: Nothing in particular.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danny Hudson

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

17 September 2013 Danny would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel is right by the sea front of zadar, perfect location. We stayed their two nights and the best night was everyone having a good laugh in the hostel all aged 16-30. The staff were brilliant they were as happy as I could be, I have always been sceptical about hostels but I would recommend this hostel and I will definitely go back there.

Disliked: Danny left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful staff, good location with walkable distance to the beach and town, great facilities and fun atmosphere. Made some great friends and really enjoyed my time in Zadar and the Drunken Monkey.

Disliked: Nothing :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominic Price

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Dominic would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a great atmosphere, plenty of relaxation areas with the pool, roof terrace and the bar.

Disliked: Bit of a walk into the old town, but nothing excessive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Dryden

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, sociable and lively, all you could want from a hostel! I stayed in Zadar last year at the 'Wild Fig Hostel' which was equally great, except no pool, (but we didnt use that anyway).

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Sanford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2013 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was amazing!! Definitely stay here. Super friendly and helpful staff. It has a great backyard with a little pool, lots of chairs to hang out in and a bbq! Close walk to a really big grocery store (by the bus station) so you can make your own food if you want. Good directions from the website, really easy to find the place. The hostel has great character and they have fun activities for people staying here all the time. There's a bar downstairs and a great lounge area to meet other travellers. There is also a beautiful rooftop terrace to hang out on. I was travelling in a group of 5 and we loved hanging out here and met some great people! The hostel also offers a pub crawl led by one of the Zadar (Croatian) native staff members who is really friendly and awesome. Great way to meet people and see some local nightlife scenes and clubs! Wasn't loud at night either - easy to get a good nights sleep if you want to stay in and have a quiet night (A/C in the rooms too). Bathrooms were clean. Cliff jumping and the beautiful water is about 5 minutes walk away. Loved this hostel!! Would 100% come back here.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing! Stay here!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

simon da silva

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 simon would recommend this property

Liked: Great location next to the beach and walking distance from the city centre and all the good clubs in zadar. Awesome staff and vibe in the hostel, not to big and not to small so it's perfect if your travelling alone or just want to meet and hang out with new people while travelling :)

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luca van Turnhout

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

06 August 2013 Luca would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great time at the Drunken Monkey Hostel. When we arrived, they showed us the whole place. The staff was very friendly. In the evening, we went down for a drink in the bar. It was a very nice place. We went out with the crew + other guests. It was a very nice place with people from al over the world.

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andre de Castro Hermuche

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Andre would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpfil.

Disliked: Andre left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danilo Vardiero

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

25 July 2013 Danilo would recommend this property

Liked: The hospitality is fantastic! Super nice and clean hostel. the best service, a 5 stared hostel! A pool and a bbq in the backyard! The best hostel I have stayed in! The owners are amazing! They really take care of the hostel and the guests. Could not ask for more!

Disliked: Danilo left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and Lovely Staff

Disliked: Pub crawl advertised but wasn't done. we were told it was because of not enough people but became obvious it wasnt it was done because the girl organising was tired after coming back from festival. Poor form, would have been nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Cool old building with character - good rooftop patio with a gorgeous view - clean, tidy, professional - on site bar - cheap drinks -fun, courteous staff My cousin and I stayed at the Drunken Monkey Hostel for a few nights, and couldn’t have had a better time! The hostel is in a good location – close to the bus station, and a 15-20 minute walk to the old town. At first we were a bit concerned about having booked accommodations outside of the old town, but it was really no trouble. Zadar is so small, so it’s not like being “outside of downtown” is most big cities. Plus, it was kind of nice to be able to amble through the places where people actually live, as opposed to just seeing restaurants and tourist attractions. Most days, we would walk down to the sea (about 5-10 from the hostel), and then walk along the water until we would get to the old town – quite a lovely, scenic route. As for the hotel itself, the accommodations were basic, but clean and well-maintained. We loved sitting up on the rooftop patio, looking out at the sea and the 300 year old roofs. The hostel also has a bar with cheap drinks, which is handy when you’ve spent a day outside in the sun, and just need to chill for a bit. It also gets quite lively and fun with the other guests at night. As for the staff — in particular, Kyle and Eva — I can’t say enough great things about them! Eva is such a chill, fun girl to be around, and she even took us out with her for a great night of bar hopping. Kyle, one of the owners, is super smart and cool to talk to. He’s a Canadian, like me, and I was so impressed with the business he has built from the ground up and continues to watch grow. He has a good knowledge of the city and of Zadar, which he was happy to share. One last thing I will say is that watching the sun set at the Sea Organ is not to be missed! It was apparently Alfred Hitchcock’s favourite view, and once you see it, you’ll understand why. It was magical — just like our stay in Zadar!!

Disliked: nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anna bowring

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 July 2013 anna would recommend this property

Liked: The Drunken Monkey is a warm, welcoming hostel that is easy to feel at home in. It's kept super clean and tidy and has a well-equipped kitchen with a huge fridge to store your own food. They also write 'FREE' on any food that has been left by other travellers which can be good (we had fried eggs for free one morning which was AWESOME!) The little garden/terrace area is really sweet and we were surprised to see it had a SWIMMING POOL (small but clean) that we were not expecting. The staff are really friendly and funny and can't do enough for you. Wifi is fast but they also provide computers for no extra charge. The reception also has a takeaway menu which is really cheap and if you tell them what you want they'll ring up and order for you (no delivery charge either). The bar is reasonably priced and the area to drink in is really chilled. Also go eat your dinner on the rooftop terrace.. It's a real sun trap and is good for sunbathing. The hostel is situated a 5 minute walk from Zadar's main bus station which is handy for people travelling on. All in all a welcoming and beautifully decorated hostel.. Book now!

Disliked: It's a little out of the way from Zadar's Old Town area where all the bars etc are but it's only a very short and cheap taxi ride away (Croatian prices are amazing!)

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

13 July 2013

Liked: The BBQ area is good at the back.

Disliked: No aircon until 10pm. During the day it was sweltering and there were no windows in the room. I asked reception could I turn on the aircon to cool down but they won't give out remotes until 10pm which is not right. Also when I walked 20min from the bus station I was 20kuna short to pay the full amount when checking in. At reception they said to take my passport until I pay the total. I had to walk round trip 40min to the ATM to get the additional 20kuna (€3). Honestly like I wasn't going to give them this?, I was staying 2days. They have a social area which charges 15kuna (€2.10) for a can of beer. Too expensive seeing as they are 5kuna in the shop up the road.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isobel Foxford

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

10 July 2013 Isobel would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and made the experience incredible! The atmosphere of the hostel was so good, everyone was really fried,y ad up for a good time. We had three of the best days of our holiday here it was a perfect location and could not have asked for a better hostel. I would recommend this hostel to anyone who wants to experience Croatia and had an amazing time

Disliked: Couldn't fault it!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: THE POOL!! a first i have seen in a hostel, really nice to chill there on the beanbags in the sun. bar is always open and cold cheap beer is never far away. staff were great fun, had some sick nights out in town with them

Disliked: bit far from old town, not much restaurants or food places nearby but nice an quiet area and close to the beach (5 mins walk)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tim Patten

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. I only stayed one night, but we all met in the bar and then the staff took us out to a club.

Disliked: It was a little bit out of town.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly hostel and relaxed atmosphere. Although located out of town, a taxi was only 20 kunas (just over 2 pounds), and you can walk it very easily.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really fantastic hostel. I've never seen hostel staff go out of their way to help people like these guys do and not just with questions about Zadar and the hostel but with literally anything travel related. Anything they can do to help you, they will. Fantastic atmosphere because the friendliness of the staff seeps into everyone who stays there and the common room/backyard pool areas are perfect for BBQs and meeting new people. Perfect for solo travelers.

Disliked: nothing, it was seriously wonderful

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel, friendly and helpful staff, cool bar with cheap happy hour, nice pool/bbq area to chill out, would definitely come back.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jessica Dollinger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and clean hostel, friendly staff and awesome bar! We went down for a few drinks and ended up having a great night with two of the best hostel workers we've ever met. Fun atmosphere, and good location near the bus station.

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Bennett

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Great people, great time. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, Team BrAsh and the rest of the team are great. Travelled to a lot of hostels round the world and would definitely recommend this one to everyone and anyone. A truly great travellers hostel.

Disliked: None.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Benjamin Carey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, good lounge/bar area and they organise activities such as quiz nights/drinking games. Location is handy to the bus/train station so easy to find and drop your bags off at, the walk into town is as they describe......i.e. approx 20mins

Disliked: Nothing really, it's a little pricey compared to the other hostels but it is a nice hostel


See all Zadar hostels