We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Zadar hostels

Reviews of Old Town Hostel

Hostel | Mihe Klaica 5, Zadar, Croatia 023

88.9% Overall Rating

300 out of 316 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2015)

"Perfect location right in the old town, very friendly ladies at the desk who were very helpful. Breakfast for only 2.50€ was nice too. Lockers are big, no keys for your room but still felt very secure, and it was…"

Read all Old Town Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.96
  • Towel USD 1.48

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zadar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Zadar

Sobe Goga
29.60 USD

Guesthouse 92.5% 8 reviews
Apartments and rooms Old town paradise
29.60 USD

Apartment 67.1% 24 reviews
Zadar Downtown
25.16 USD

Hostel 97.9% 4 reviews
The Four Corners Hostel
22.20 USD

Hostel 92.4% 3 reviews
Agora Central Rooms
22.20 USD

Hostel 82.1% 18 reviews
Tequila Bar Hostel
17.76 USD

Hostel 98.9% 8 reviews
Hostel Elena
17.76 USD

Hostel 91.3% 301 reviews
Hostel Home
16.28 USD

Hostel 88.6% 49 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

300 out of 316 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Old Town Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 257 of 311 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

31 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and clean place with helpful and kind stuff

Disliked: Location and stuff

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location right in the old town, very friendly ladies at the desk who were very helpful. Breakfast for only 2.50€ was nice too. Lockers are big, no keys for your room but still felt very secure, and it was nice not to have to worry about losing a key or getting locked out. Overall very happy with my stay here.

Disliked: Use of the kitchen would have been nice. Room was a bit hot still despite ceiling fan but not unbearable. Due to the location it could be quite loud at night sometimes, but I think it would only be a problem for very light sleepers. Not much of a social atmosphere for people travelling alone, but maybe that was just bad luck.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Friendly staff.

Disliked: While I was there, there were not a lot of people in the common area, so not the best place to get to know people.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super nice hostel, directly in the the center but still not too loud!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Judd McPherson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2015 Judd would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was fantastic and very helpful. No kitchen to use, just cutlery, microwave, fridge, and dishes which works. Very clean, one fan for the whole room so if its really hot outside it mostly works. Location was perfect, right in the old town.

Disliked: One toilet per floor which didn't cause me problems, but imagine it could. No use of the full kitchen.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Sophie Brown

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 August 2015

Liked: It was clean and sociable and the wifi worked in all the rooms.

Disliked: There was false advertising on the free tea and coffee making facilities also secure lockers which they weren't unless you brought a padlock from reception therefore the lockers are not secure. Also there was no kitchen for use of visitors

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked the location and the view from the hostel. Also the staff was very nice and helpful. Very good option was the cheap and rich breakfast,which you could order.

Disliked: There was a problem with water pressure on our floor, but we could use bathrooms on different floors, so it wasn't such a big problem.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

michael mcgrath

As a family with children

Family Holiday

13 August 2015 michael would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: a lot of steps to climb also not so easy to notice on the street

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel in a really central location in Zadar. Staff were very helpful and the rooms were clean and light. A great place to stay for exploring Zadar and the surrounding region.

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Claudio Bascou

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

05 July 2015 Claudio would recommend this property

Liked: Was OK. Air conditioner in the room, good showers, nice view from the city in our room.

Disliked: We got a room in a fifth floor (no elevator), but if you dont have many baggage doesnt matter.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

lizzie lee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2015 lizzie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Clean hostel.

Disliked: Not as much atmosphere as other hostels.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Old Town Hostel is in an absolutely great location!! It is by great restaurants and all the tourist attractions downtown. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and spoke English well. The hostel was clean, and the bathrooms had showers that were private. I also felt safe at all times.

Disliked: There was noise outside at all hours of the day. I'm a light sleeper and brought ear-plugs and slept fine.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful and told us lots of cool things to do around the city. The early check in was an added bonus!

Disliked: The directions provided were difficult to follow. We arrived at an early hour on a Sunday and buses were infrequent so we got a taxi and couldnt direct exactly to the hostel using them.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, staff were extremely helpfull, located right in centre of Zadars old town

Disliked: key we were given did not work and we ended up stuck outside hostel, but it was quickly replaced by staff and all keys were checked.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elliah Hunt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2015 Elliah would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location in the heart of the old town. Staff were extremely helpful and accommodating.

Disliked: We were located on the same floor as the reception so it was quite noisy at times.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, big dorms, nice community areas, great location

Disliked: Stairs of my dorm bed weren't stable, only 1 bathroom for 3 dorms on one floor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful and the hostel could not be closer to the center! The market, atm, etc and all the attractions of the city are maximum 5 min away from the hostel (walking distance). It's always nice to have a kitchen and good internet too! I will definitly come back to old town hostel on my next trip to Zadar :)

Disliked: From the dorms you can hear the people talking from the street and the commun room so bring your ear plugs if you are the kind to go to bed early.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, especially Anna the reception girl. Everything is very clean and functional, and the rooms have a nice atmosphere. Location is perfect you can reach everything within minutes.

Disliked: The reception area could use some sofas and proper tables It looks stylish, but not very inviting to sit down and chill out

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Williams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2015 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room and facilities were clean and useable. Great location and good value for money!

Disliked: The door to our room was not secure but there were large lockers inside to keep your belongings safe

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing. We walked out of the front door and got breakfast. The sea organ is only a 5 min walk, and there is a spa only 10 min walk! The staff helped me find everything we needed and even marked it on a map that we could take with us. I felt safe and the place was clean. I would stay here again without question.

Disliked: My only complaint (and it's a very small one) was being charged for a towel rental. Seems silly to me...

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andy Graham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2014 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: It had lockers big enough to put in a small backpack, and they allowed me to use my own lock. It was close to a supermarket, this places is in the center of a extreme tourist bubble, and the costs of high. But you can offset that with the supermarket food.

Disliked: The number of floors, and people never seem to stay longer than 1-2 days.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really good, and having a large locker for all my things was useful, especially in a large dorm room. Unfortunately I got the only bed in the whole dorm that for some reason didn't have its own power point, but all the other beds did and there were several more in other parts of the room so I never had a problem trying to charge my phone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

joseph Anderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2014 joseph would recommend this property

Liked: You are literally right in the centre of old town. Which is pretty cool and a local bus takes you to the main bus station if you need to visit anywhere nearby or bus I split, Zagreb etc. kitchen upstairs and hot showers. Staff are friendly especially Sarah; very helpful. Met some other travellers who were very nice

Disliked: The beds creak quite a bit being made from steel and because you're so close to the main restaurants and bars is a little noisy until past midnight.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Barnett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Location is unbelievably central, right in the heart of old town. Staff very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly and desk manned 24/7! Cooking facilities small but okay, hobs and microwave. 5th floor is the place to be, great view and best rooms + 2 showers.

Disliked: Some of the rooms could do with more plug sockets! No lounge area for meeting people, but the kitchen serves this purpose.


See all Zadar hostels