HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Zadar hostels

Reviews of Old Town Hostel

Hostel | Mihe Klaica 5, Zadar, Croatia 023

88.3% Overall Rating

270 out of 285 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/09/2014)

"The location was really good, and having a large locker for all my things was useful, especially in a large dorm room. Unfortunately I got the only bed in the whole dorm that for some reason didn't have its own power…"

Read all Old Town Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zadar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Zadar

Sobe Goga
37.24 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 7 reviews
Apartments and rooms Old town paradise
33.11 USD

Apartment 67.1% 24 reviews
Zadar Downtown
19.04 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Four Corners Hostel
18.21 USD

Hostel 92.4% 3 reviews
Agora Central Rooms
25.66 USD

Hostel 80.6% 15 reviews
Tequila Bar Hostel
18.21 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Elena
21.52 USD

Hostel 92.3% 298 reviews
Hostel Home
16.55 USD

Hostel 90.3% 43 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.3%

Overall Rating

270 out of 285 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Old Town Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 235 of 280 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really good, and having a large locker for all my things was useful, especially in a large dorm room. Unfortunately I got the only bed in the whole dorm that for some reason didn't have its own power point, but all the other beds did and there were several more in other parts of the room so I never had a problem trying to charge my phone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

joseph Anderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2014 joseph would recommend this property

Liked: You are literally right in the centre of old town. Which is pretty cool and a local bus takes you to the main bus station if you need to visit anywhere nearby or bus I split, Zagreb etc. kitchen upstairs and hot showers. Staff are friendly especially Sarah; very helpful. Met some other travellers who were very nice

Disliked: The beds creak quite a bit being made from steel and because you're so close to the main restaurants and bars is a little noisy until past midnight.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Barnett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Location is unbelievably central, right in the heart of old town. Staff very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly and desk manned 24/7! Cooking facilities small but okay, hobs and microwave. 5th floor is the place to be, great view and best rooms + 2 showers.

Disliked: Some of the rooms could do with more plug sockets! No lounge area for meeting people, but the kitchen serves this purpose.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and atmosphere

Disliked: Toilette last day was not so clean...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rosa Oliveira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2014 Rosa would recommend this property

Liked: Good and nice staff, the location wos top, just in the old city center; the kitchen - i love the kitchen! It wos the 1st and only hostel, during my 30 days of traveling, that had a real kitchen with everything that we need to make a meal. The wc and showers were always clean, its wondreful ...and ther were hair dryer :) very good! The bilding wos old and with charm, i like that. Just need to improve safty guests and their stuff

Disliked: i just didn´t like that they have place to put the back pack but without loockers :( and the room door wos always open .....i did'nt feel safe, but its also true that nothing bad append to my stuff, no robery.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

04 September 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Its location is unmatched. Right in the centre of the old town, its perfect for getting to most anywhere in Zadar. I would definitely go back.

Disliked: Only one toilet for the whole floor lead to some queues on occasion, but nothing too serious

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: noisiness of other guests - but then I'm older than they are :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

soyoung park

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 soyoung would recommend this property

Liked: Good location,kind staff

Disliked: 5,6 top floor is pretty tough

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Harrison Allen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014 Harrison would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location and great staff. Very clean and perfect for a stay in Old Town.

Disliked: Harrison left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014

Liked: The staffs are very kind and the bathroom is clean.

Disliked: At night, people talks and laugh in the alley downstairs are really lousy. If you choose not to close the window, you really can't fall asleep. But if you choose to close the window, the air will not be good. And there isn't any key to lock the door of the dorm, beside there is a staff in the counter to help you watch the door. But I think it's a little weird.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very central, nice staff, helpful and always smiling. Big lockers for your stuff (you can rent a lock for 3 euros or so which is kind of overpriced so better take your own lock). The bathrooms were cleaned very often, the overal cleanness was good!

Disliked: The street is very noisy so you have to be a deep sleeper to fall asleep during high season because there are many people in the streets during the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Norma Keogh

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2014 Norma would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, great location, great price and lovely hostel!Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Krzysztof Malkiewicz

Alone

Family Holiday

06 August 2014 Krzysztof would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, 5 min to bus station, 5-10 min to the beach, shops around.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location os absolutely perfect to visit the old town. Staff is really helpful and place is clean and nice!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots

Disliked: Little

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carlos Alberto Nonato

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Carlos Alberto would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente localização, bem limpa, funcionários sempre dispostas a ajudar, cozinha ampla e com utensílios, ambiente excelente.

Disliked: O wifi não era tão bom, um pouco lento, mas conseguir utilizar numa boa.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Diana Alves

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: Very simple but well decorated room, tv with lots of international channels. It wins for its central location.

Disliked: Diana left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and it was really easy to find. The rooms were nice and big giving everybody plenty of room. The communal areas were nice and there was a good friendly atmosphere there as everybody met and went out together.

Disliked: The lack of security as the key wasn't needed and there were no lockers other than that it was perfect for what we wanted!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, 5 minutes walk from where the bus stops and right in the middle of the town. Room was large and clean. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable and always around to ask any questions. Wifi was good and there was a computer you can use too.There are 2 flights of narrow stairs up to the hostel so keep in mind if you have mobility problems or heavy bags! Not really a problem though. Also my room was very noisy as there was no air con (there was a fan) so the windows were kept open and because the streets are tall and narrow, anyone making noise while walking along can be heard. Nothing a pair of earplugs couldn't fix! Also don't worry about no air con - was cool enough in rooms.

Disliked: Some minor things - there was only 1 toilet and 2 showers for the whole floor. I'm not sure how many people were staying on that floor (there were 10 in my room).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rebeca Calvo Quintero

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Rebeca would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and helpful staff

Disliked: You have to pay for the lockers or use your own locker

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriela de Almeida

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

20 July 2014 Gabriela would recommend this property

Liked: The staff really stands out! From the receptionist to the cleaning lady, everyone was more than nice, welcoming and ready to help.

Disliked: I didn't like the stairs! But it wasn't any surprise as I had read reviews about the hostel beforehand. I wish it had offered breakfast, though. But there were plenty of options close by, including a supermarket. The use of the kitchen was free.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, wonderful staff

Disliked: Nothing at all

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is unbeatable!

Disliked: Lack of service during night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cihan Ersoy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2014 Cihan would recommend this property

Liked: one of the cleanest hostel i ve ever stayed. great location and helpful staff.

Disliked: Cihan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was almost perfect. It was very well-located, in the Old Town of Zadar, the staff was the nicest I have ever seen, they helped us with everything we needed. We were a big group of 24 people, and they gave us all the facilities. The rest of the guests were also kind and nice to us, there was a great musical ambience and they made us feel in a big family. I would definitely come back if i could.

Disliked: The only bad point I would remark, and it is not a problem for me but maybe to other guests, is that the hostel is located in floors 3,4 and 5 and there is no lift.


See all Zadar hostels