We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Zadar hostels

Reviews of Old Town Hostel

Hostel | Mihe Klaica 5, Zadar, Croatia 023

89.3% Overall Rating

286 out of 301 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/06/2015)

"The Old Town Hostel is in an absolutely great location!! It is by great restaurants and all the tourist attractions downtown. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and spoke English well. The hostel was clean,…"

Read all Old Town Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.46

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zadar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Zadar

Sobe Goga
27.79 USD

Guesthouse 92.5% 8 reviews
Apartments and rooms Old town paradise
29.25 USD

Apartment 67.1% 24 reviews
Zadar Downtown
19.89 USD

Hostel 99.0% 3 reviews
The Four Corners Hostel
19.01 USD

Hostel 92.4% 3 reviews
Agora Central Rooms
26.33 USD

Hostel 81.0% 17 reviews
Tequila Bar Hostel
17.11 USD

Hostel 98.9% 5 reviews
Hostel Elena
19.01 USD

Hostel 92.3% 298 reviews
Hostel Home
17.55 USD

Hostel 89.1% 45 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

286 out of 301 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Old Town Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 246 of 296 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

lizzie lee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2015 lizzie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Clean hostel.

Disliked: Not as much atmosphere as other hostels.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Old Town Hostel is in an absolutely great location!! It is by great restaurants and all the tourist attractions downtown. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and spoke English well. The hostel was clean, and the bathrooms had showers that were private. I also felt safe at all times.

Disliked: There was noise outside at all hours of the day. I'm a light sleeper and brought ear-plugs and slept fine.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful and told us lots of cool things to do around the city. The early check in was an added bonus!

Disliked: The directions provided were difficult to follow. We arrived at an early hour on a Sunday and buses were infrequent so we got a taxi and couldnt direct exactly to the hostel using them.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, staff were extremely helpfull, located right in centre of Zadars old town

Disliked: key we were given did not work and we ended up stuck outside hostel, but it was quickly replaced by staff and all keys were checked.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elliah Hunt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2015 Elliah would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location in the heart of the old town. Staff were extremely helpful and accommodating.

Disliked: We were located on the same floor as the reception so it was quite noisy at times.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, big dorms, nice community areas, great location

Disliked: Stairs of my dorm bed weren't stable, only 1 bathroom for 3 dorms on one floor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful and the hostel could not be closer to the center! The market, atm, etc and all the attractions of the city are maximum 5 min away from the hostel (walking distance). It's always nice to have a kitchen and good internet too! I will definitly come back to old town hostel on my next trip to Zadar :)

Disliked: From the dorms you can hear the people talking from the street and the commun room so bring your ear plugs if you are the kind to go to bed early.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, especially Anna the reception girl. Everything is very clean and functional, and the rooms have a nice atmosphere. Location is perfect you can reach everything within minutes.

Disliked: The reception area could use some sofas and proper tables It looks stylish, but not very inviting to sit down and chill out

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Williams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2015 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room and facilities were clean and useable. Great location and good value for money!

Disliked: The door to our room was not secure but there were large lockers inside to keep your belongings safe

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing. We walked out of the front door and got breakfast. The sea organ is only a 5 min walk, and there is a spa only 10 min walk! The staff helped me find everything we needed and even marked it on a map that we could take with us. I felt safe and the place was clean. I would stay here again without question.

Disliked: My only complaint (and it's a very small one) was being charged for a towel rental. Seems silly to me...

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andy Graham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2014 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: It had lockers big enough to put in a small backpack, and they allowed me to use my own lock. It was close to a supermarket, this places is in the center of a extreme tourist bubble, and the costs of high. But you can offset that with the supermarket food.

Disliked: The number of floors, and people never seem to stay longer than 1-2 days.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really good, and having a large locker for all my things was useful, especially in a large dorm room. Unfortunately I got the only bed in the whole dorm that for some reason didn't have its own power point, but all the other beds did and there were several more in other parts of the room so I never had a problem trying to charge my phone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

joseph Anderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2014 joseph would recommend this property

Liked: You are literally right in the centre of old town. Which is pretty cool and a local bus takes you to the main bus station if you need to visit anywhere nearby or bus I split, Zagreb etc. kitchen upstairs and hot showers. Staff are friendly especially Sarah; very helpful. Met some other travellers who were very nice

Disliked: The beds creak quite a bit being made from steel and because you're so close to the main restaurants and bars is a little noisy until past midnight.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Barnett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Location is unbelievably central, right in the heart of old town. Staff very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly and desk manned 24/7! Cooking facilities small but okay, hobs and microwave. 5th floor is the place to be, great view and best rooms + 2 showers.

Disliked: Some of the rooms could do with more plug sockets! No lounge area for meeting people, but the kitchen serves this purpose.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and atmosphere

Disliked: Toilette last day was not so clean...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rosa Oliveira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2014 Rosa would recommend this property

Liked: Good and nice staff, the location wos top, just in the old city center; the kitchen - i love the kitchen! It wos the 1st and only hostel, during my 30 days of traveling, that had a real kitchen with everything that we need to make a meal. The wc and showers were always clean, its wondreful ...and ther were hair dryer :) very good! The bilding wos old and with charm, i like that. Just need to improve safty guests and their stuff

Disliked: i just didn´t like that they have place to put the back pack but without loockers :( and the room door wos always open .....i did'nt feel safe, but its also true that nothing bad append to my stuff, no robery.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

04 September 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Its location is unmatched. Right in the centre of the old town, its perfect for getting to most anywhere in Zadar. I would definitely go back.

Disliked: Only one toilet for the whole floor lead to some queues on occasion, but nothing too serious

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: noisiness of other guests - but then I'm older than they are :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

soyoung park

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 soyoung would recommend this property

Liked: Good location,kind staff

Disliked: 5,6 top floor is pretty tough

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Harrison Allen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2014 Harrison would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location and great staff. Very clean and perfect for a stay in Old Town.

Disliked: Harrison left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014

Liked: The staffs are very kind and the bathroom is clean.

Disliked: At night, people talks and laugh in the alley downstairs are really lousy. If you choose not to close the window, you really can't fall asleep. But if you choose to close the window, the air will not be good. And there isn't any key to lock the door of the dorm, beside there is a staff in the counter to help you watch the door. But I think it's a little weird.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very central, nice staff, helpful and always smiling. Big lockers for your stuff (you can rent a lock for 3 euros or so which is kind of overpriced so better take your own lock). The bathrooms were cleaned very often, the overal cleanness was good!

Disliked: The street is very noisy so you have to be a deep sleeper to fall asleep during high season because there are many people in the streets during the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Norma Keogh

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2014 Norma would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, great location, great price and lovely hostel!Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Krzysztof Malkiewicz

Alone

Family Holiday

06 August 2014 Krzysztof would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, 5 min to bus station, 5-10 min to the beach, shops around.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location os absolutely perfect to visit the old town. Staff is really helpful and place is clean and nice!

Disliked: Nothing


See all Zadar hostels