HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Zadar hostels

Reviews of Old Town Hostel

Hostel | Mihe Klaica 5, Zadar, Croatia 023

87.5% Overall Rating

249 out of 262 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

Diana Alves thinks…

"Very simple but well decorated room, tv with lots of international channels. It wins for its central location."

Read all Old Town Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zadar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Zadar

Sobe Goga
39.57 USD

Guesthouse 97.1% 3 reviews
Apartments and rooms Old town paradise
35.18 USD

Apartment 67.1% 24 reviews
Zadar Downtown
52.76 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Four Corners Hostel
28.14 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Agora Central Rooms
38.69 USD

Hostel 83.1% 14 reviews
Hostel Elena
26.38 USD

Hostel 94.2% 286 reviews
Hostel Home
22.86 USD

Hostel 88.6% 41 reviews
Zadar Apartment Ancient Town
21.49 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

249 out of 262 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Old Town Hostel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 219 of 257 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Diana Alves

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: Very simple but well decorated room, tv with lots of international channels. It wins for its central location.

Disliked: Diana left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and it was really easy to find. The rooms were nice and big giving everybody plenty of room. The communal areas were nice and there was a good friendly atmosphere there as everybody met and went out together.

Disliked: The lack of security as the key wasn't needed and there were no lockers other than that it was perfect for what we wanted!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, 5 minutes walk from where the bus stops and right in the middle of the town. Room was large and clean. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable and always around to ask any questions. Wifi was good and there was a computer you can use too.There are 2 flights of narrow stairs up to the hostel so keep in mind if you have mobility problems or heavy bags! Not really a problem though. Also my room was very noisy as there was no air con (there was a fan) so the windows were kept open and because the streets are tall and narrow, anyone making noise while walking along can be heard. Nothing a pair of earplugs couldn't fix! Also don't worry about no air con - was cool enough in rooms.

Disliked: Some minor things - there was only 1 toilet and 2 showers for the whole floor. I'm not sure how many people were staying on that floor (there were 10 in my room).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rebeca Calvo Quintero

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Rebeca would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and helpful staff

Disliked: You have to pay for the lockers or use your own locker

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriela de Almeida

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

20 July 2014 Gabriela would recommend this property

Liked: The staff really stands out! From the receptionist to the cleaning lady, everyone was more than nice, welcoming and ready to help.

Disliked: I didn't like the stairs! But it wasn't any surprise as I had read reviews about the hostel beforehand. I wish it had offered breakfast, though. But there were plenty of options close by, including a supermarket. The use of the kitchen was free.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, wonderful staff

Disliked: Nothing at all

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is unbeatable!

Disliked: Lack of service during night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cihan Ersoy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2014 Cihan would recommend this property

Liked: one of the cleanest hostel i ve ever stayed. great location and helpful staff.

Disliked: Cihan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was almost perfect. It was very well-located, in the Old Town of Zadar, the staff was the nicest I have ever seen, they helped us with everything we needed. We were a big group of 24 people, and they gave us all the facilities. The rest of the guests were also kind and nice to us, there was a great musical ambience and they made us feel in a big family. I would definitely come back if i could.

Disliked: The only bad point I would remark, and it is not a problem for me but maybe to other guests, is that the hostel is located in floors 3,4 and 5 and there is no lift.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beth Capper

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

25 May 2014 Beth would recommend this property

Liked: This is probably the nicest hostel we have ever stayed at. Such clean, fresh and airy rooms. The woman at reception was so nice and helpful.

Disliked: Beth left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2014 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly staff, clean, organised, location, kitchen! 😄 everything you want in a hostel 😊

Disliked: Amanda left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Vert good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Amanda Robertson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

27 April 2014 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great, they were super friendly and helpful with anything we needed. It was a great location, right in the city center- close to everything. The building was beautiful, in an old building but completely clean and renovated inside. They also had a nice, well-equipped kitchen that we were able to make dinner in.

Disliked: The only problem was during dinner of course everyone was cooking so it got a bit crowded! A few comfy couches would have been a bonus in the common area as well.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anthony Pyne

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 November 2013 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, centrally located within Zadar.

Disliked: There are many steps which would not be good for travellers with mobility issues.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dead centre of town, helpfull staff and spacious dorm room

Disliked: long way up stairs

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

David Nash

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great Central Location

Disliked: No Towel Provided. Other Guests Smoked From The Stairwell Windows And It Drifted Into My Room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nina Hrycak

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2013 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: the staff

Disliked: the inconvenience of the bathroom and the many flights of stairs. the worst was the internet as it was very old system making it difficult to access the sites I required.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and good sized rooms. Very central location.

Disliked: Many many stairs

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucy Hill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is right in the centre of the old town, up above the hustle and bustle of the town. On arrival the staff were very friendly, gave us a map an pointed out place for us visit. The room was very nice and spacious with a comfortable double bed. The shared kitchens and bathrooms were all pleasant having been newly fitted and kept to a good standard. There were plenty of other travellers staying,an the receptionist made was very welcoming making a fun an sociable atmosphere

Disliked: Lucy left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location and friendly staff

Disliked: the lock of the door always makes strange sound

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location and very friendly staff

Disliked: If want to sleep with windows open the central location does mean you get some music from bars nearby. Just pack ear plugs and it't fine.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff, they are all super friendly and helpful. Clean, spacious, unique design.

Disliked: Door to the dorms is always open, so it didn't feel really secure sometimes. But the hostel provides lockers for your stuff, so its not really an issue. Three flights up isn't ideal, but it definitely isn't a reason not to stay here. A teeny bit noisy at night with street noise.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Simon Kwok Hung Tam

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Simon Kwok Hung would recommend this property

Liked: Central location. Right inside the old town.

Disliked: Bring your own towel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very high standard of facilities compared with other hostels. Showers very clean. Fun retro decor.

Disliked: Hostel is over 5 floors. Approx. 100 steps to our room on the 5th floor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and friendliness

Disliked: the fan in our room was not working well.


See all Zadar hostels