HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Split hostels
See all Split hotels

Reviews of Hostel Apinelo

Hostel | Petrova 42, Split, Croatia 21000

96.6% Overall Rating

94 out of 95 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/07/2014)

"The staff were so friendly and gave me an excellent guide of the best things to do in split. Also they were always happy to help. Also large secure lockers that could fit your backpack in. I also loved the location,…"

Read all Hostel Apinelo reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 43.91

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Split?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Split

Old Town Petrova Accommodation
38.64 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel Split Backpackers
33.57 USD

Hostel 89.7% 109 reviews
Apartman Vicenco
31.61 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Kuzma House
30.73 USD

Guesthouse 89.7% 5 reviews
Anamaria - Bacvice
31.61 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Apartments and rooms SIMONI
39.52 USD

Guesthouse 83.3% 14 reviews
Rooms Stambuk
33.72 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Split
26.34 USD

Hostel 82.5% 108 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.6%

Overall Rating

94 out of 95 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Apinelo'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
99.2%
Value
98.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 84 of 93 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and gave me an excellent guide of the best things to do in split. Also they were always happy to help. Also large secure lockers that could fit your backpack in. I also loved the location, very central.

Disliked: Only having to walk across the living room to get to the bathroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miguel Gallego

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Miguel would recommend this property

Liked: Modern, new and clean hostel. Hostel has a good location close to the center.

Disliked: It not possible pay with credit card.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel for a great price! The whole place was cleaned regularly, and the staff were always around to help. The rooms were spacious, came with giant lockers, and best of all, the beds were really comfortable.

Disliked: Cooking in the kitchen would have been hard I think, but there are lots of local, cheap restaurants nearby which the hostel recommend. The kitchen has a kettle and free tea/coffee.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the friendly staff and the cozy kitchen. I really appreciated the fast internet connection.

Disliked: I disliked how the drain the shower was a little clogged so water wasn't draining properly and that there was usually quite a wait for using the showers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about this hostel by far are the lovely, lovely ladies who work here! They are beyond helpful and accommodating - can answer any question about Split, and always do their best to give you everything you need. The hostel is also the cleanest I have ever stayed at! I mean, it is SO clean. The rooms are great and the beds are so comfortable. Huuuge lockers are amazing, and they have hair dryers and lots of other goodies should you need them.

Disliked: the only negatives are that the kitchen is super small and a bit difficult to navigate, and not much hot water for showers. But regardless, I would still hugely recommend it!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice clean room. good location and friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Strang

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

26 May 2014 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Apinelo was amazing! They gave us really helpful advice on how to spend our time in Split- what to see, where to eat etc. We stayed in the double apartment which was just below the rest of the hostel- it was extremely clean, modern and cosy with wifi and a great tv that doubled as a computer. Plus, we loved the disco ball on the ceiling- a really fun touch!

Disliked: Sophie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fabulous staff. very knowledgable about the whole area and travel to other areas. Beds were extremely comfortable and rooms were a good size.

Disliked: Only one bathroom

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, big bedrooms and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful, efficient staff, clean. The private room compares with a value-for-money hotel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great great staff (and I really mean GREAT), excellent location just back of the bus terminal on a quiet street and minutes away from Diocletian's Palace, very clean, large dorms with huge lockers (wardrobe-size), noise rules in the evening mean that you can get a decent night's sleep (party animals: go somewhere else), kitchen with basic equipment, computers and wifi, supermarket next door, multiple cheap restaurants down the street, amazing value for money (please keep it that way), and oh baby disco balls in all private rooms! :D

Disliked: Common areas are a bit small, and shared bathrooms are tiny weeny. The ones in the private rooms and appartments are good-sized though. The hostel is quite popular and because of its small size (only 11 dorm beds) you need to book in advance.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucie Hodges

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2014 Lucie would recommend this property

Liked: The lockers were the best I've ever seen - like full, single wardrobes, with a hanging rail, enough room to get a suitcase/backpack into. The place is clean, excellent location, with a supermarket right next door. Staff were friendly, and I loved the fact there was a plug and a light by my bed. Bed was comfy, area is quiet, and it was cool even though it was very hot outside. WiFi was strong - I was able to watch live TV on my tablet one evening - and worked in the bedrooms. I have put a few negative comments below, but still overall recommend this property, and would go back.

Disliked: Towel was really tiny - like a hand towel - so recommend you still bring your own. Receptionist didn't arrive one morning until after 9:30am so I had to let some new arrivals in to reception, and leave my key with them because I needed to check out! So recommend emailing if you are arriving early-ish. There is no communal area other than the small kitchen, and the three computers available for your use, so not the easiest place to meet other travellers if you're travelling alone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Glass

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and super helpful staff!!

Disliked: Cramped bathroom, but not really a problem :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Man Ying Chan

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2014 Man Ying would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good facilities, good location, friendly staff...

Disliked: Man Ying left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jedrzej Makowski

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Jedrzej would recommend this property

Liked: everything!!!

Disliked: Jedrzej left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorm rooms were very clean and beds comfortable, very friendly and helpful staff, great location, good value for money, Free wifi was great and they had useful local info in the lobby.

Disliked: Shower room was a tight squeeze and there were only a couple of seats in the communal/kitchen area. We were 4 in one dorm room which meant we could use this as our communal space.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very clean. Staff went out of their way to help. Very easy to find. Loved the added feature of the disco ball in the room very unusual. Lol. Allowed us to store our items. Staff couldnt have been more helpful. Expecially on first and last day. Great location. Secure.

Disliked: When others. Checked in. It woke us up as there are only three rooms and they are half a meter from desk. Other rooms are outside in apartments which I probably would have preferred. We were able to leave our bags there on last day in an empty bedroom. But if room was booked there would have been no where safe. Staff wernt always there between the hours they were supposed to as we went back twice seperate days to ask for advice. But it wasnt really a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chun-Ping Huang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 Chun-Ping would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to main bus station and supermarket also old town. Very clean and super nice and helper staffs. Very relaxing atmosphere. Would love to come back again.

Disliked: Chun-Ping left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The reception girl is really kind.

Disliked: Little bit hard to find the location.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff was helpful. room was clean.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in one of the studio apartments and it was fantastic. Nice and quiet underneath the hostel. Very clean. And a disco ball! Highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Ellis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 October 2013 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very small hostel and the location could not be better. It is a five minute from the main train, ferry and bus terminal - with luggage. It is close to the palace center and also the market. The room was great, spacious and extremely clean. We were lucky enough to have disco lights, which was a bit of a novelty really. Each room has air conditioner, the beds are comfortable, we also had a tv. The kitchen is well stocked and clean, as it is so small here people actually clean after themselves. We had the opportunity to meet everyone and it was a really great atmosphere - even in the off season. Thanks.

Disliked: The location of the shared bathrooms, then again I dont suppose they would fit anywhere else.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazingly helpful and detailed - gave us great ideas about what to do in split! The hostel was cute and super clean! Internet was speedy and free. Our room even had a disco light in it.

Disliked: Nothing :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SAMET YILMAZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

08 October 2013 SAMET would recommend this property

Liked: Specially stuffs so nice and helpful.. Hostel so clean and nice place...

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Nash

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near centre and port/train/bus stations. Room was great with satelite TV and disco ball.

Disliked: All rooms off communal area and although fellow guests weren't noisy you could hear them talking, typing or "toileting" all through the night.


See all Split hostels
See all Split hotels