We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Split hostels
See all Split hotels

Reviews of Hostel Apinelo

Hostel | Ulica Sv. Petra Starog 42, Split, Croatia 21000

96.1% Overall Rating

108 out of 109 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/05/2015)

Jasmine Cronin-Georgiadi thinks…

"I loved how friendly Marta and the rest of the staff were. Always willing to help and they happily answered my cultural, historical and literary questions about Croatia. The hostel is small, cozy,…"

Read all Hostel Apinelo reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 35.95

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Split?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Split

Old Town Petrova Accommodation
28.76 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel Split Backpackers
15.24 USD

Hostel 89.1% 120 reviews
Sunshine
21.57 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Apartman Vicenco
17.25 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Kuzma House
20.85 USD

Guesthouse 85.2% 6 reviews
Anamaria - Bacvice
19.70 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Apartments and rooms SIMONI
34.51 USD

Apartment 83.3% 14 reviews
Rooms Stambuk
18.69 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.1%

Overall Rating

108 out of 109 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Apinelo'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
96.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 98 of 107 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeff Novotny

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2015 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel - clean, comfortable, and conveniently located.

Disliked: Jeff left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasmine Cronin-Georgiadi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2015 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how friendly Marta and the rest of the staff were. Always willing to help and they happily answered my cultural, historical and literary questions about Croatia. The hostel is small, cozy, and clean. It's situated on the first floor of a small stone house which has been converted into an apartment building. Each guest gets a nice bed (bunks), very clean linens, and huge locker. It's more like a closet with a lock, which is a fantastic bonus. Also, each bed has its own electrical outlets and reading light, which I appreciated. Apinelo is NOT a place for those who want to party. It's a place for those want a quiet, relaxing place to stay while being only 5-minute walk to everything–which is why I loved it.

Disliked: The kitchen does not have a toaster. Some of the pillows on the beds seem a bit old and lumpy–they should be replaced. Although, this is not true about all of them!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, nice staff, good location (though hard to find at first), private room was nice :)

Disliked: Kitchen should have atoaster ! Small kitchen and common room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Williams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2015 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed two nights in the double room with ensuite. The room was a decent size, and very clean. It was on the bottom floor (below the main hostel stairs) which was good as we had big heave bags with us which we didnt have to take upstairs. The staff are very helpful, and the hostel is a very short distance walk to the promenade and right next to a supermarket - ideal location. Definitely good value for money in the off season, would certainly stay again.

Disliked: the disco ball feature in the room is a little odd, but kind of funky - not a dislike but just a comment haha.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lucrezia giordano

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2015 lucrezia would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was really nice, it felt like being home with a big family...also, the staff was definitely helpful. Highly recommended!

Disliked: lucrezia left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds, great staff and kitchen facilities, overall a great hostel

Disliked: The toilet didn't provide a lot of privacy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eden guo

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2015 Eden would recommend this property

Liked: hostel staff is really nice and friendly,room is clean and near harbor,bus station

Disliked: nil

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henry Tsin

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 September 2014 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very friendly and helpful staff, basic and comfortable, inexpensive, full kitchen, new decoration.

Disliked: The studio apartment is at ground level and the window is facing street, so you cannot open it often. Water not hot enough, only adequate for 1 person each time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great room and the staff were really helpful. On arrival we got loads of information on what we could do in Split and how to get to places. Would recommend as really is value for money. We'd booked another hostel for the night after, which wasn't as good so we came back to Apinelo when we returned to split at the end of our holiday.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern look and feel. Brandnew en social skilled employees! :-P

Disliked: There was a nice kitchen. The only thing it lacked were bowls to put cereals (and milk) in. :-)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Archibald

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel with friendly staff and nice rooms

Disliked: n/a

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

João Paulo Amaro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 João Paulo would recommend this property

Liked: I like the staff, the girls in the reception was lovely A big wardrobe as well

Disliked: i was there only for one day... so i cant say a lot of things

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The disco ball in the room, it was clean and quiet.

Disliked: When we arrived after a long day's travelling there was some delay in the check in process then when we finally got given our room it was not the one we had booked and paid a deposit for, we had booked a studio in the main hostel building and were given a very small room a fair walk away from where we thought we would be located. Although the staff were very apologetic and gave us a discount (which I would have expected, given that the room we ended up with was half the size of the one we had originally booked) it was never explained to us WHY we couldn't have the original room, they just said that they couldn't access our booking because the systems were down. I can only assume that they had already given it to someone else, which really shouldn't have happened given that we booked two months ahead. As it happened we loved every second of being in Split so spent very little time in the room anyway and the staff were lovely it was just that the lack of communication was a disappointing start to our time in Croatia.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Buxton

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service on arrival. Good location near bars, restaurants and bus station.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and gave me an excellent guide of the best things to do in split. Also they were always happy to help. Also large secure lockers that could fit your backpack in. I also loved the location, very central.

Disliked: Only having to walk across the living room to get to the bathroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miguel Gallego

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Miguel would recommend this property

Liked: Modern, new and clean hostel. Hostel has a good location close to the center.

Disliked: It not possible pay with credit card.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel for a great price! The whole place was cleaned regularly, and the staff were always around to help. The rooms were spacious, came with giant lockers, and best of all, the beds were really comfortable.

Disliked: Cooking in the kitchen would have been hard I think, but there are lots of local, cheap restaurants nearby which the hostel recommend. The kitchen has a kettle and free tea/coffee.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the friendly staff and the cozy kitchen. I really appreciated the fast internet connection.

Disliked: I disliked how the drain the shower was a little clogged so water wasn't draining properly and that there was usually quite a wait for using the showers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about this hostel by far are the lovely, lovely ladies who work here! They are beyond helpful and accommodating - can answer any question about Split, and always do their best to give you everything you need. The hostel is also the cleanest I have ever stayed at! I mean, it is SO clean. The rooms are great and the beds are so comfortable. Huuuge lockers are amazing, and they have hair dryers and lots of other goodies should you need them.

Disliked: the only negatives are that the kitchen is super small and a bit difficult to navigate, and not much hot water for showers. But regardless, I would still hugely recommend it!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice clean room. good location and friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Strang

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

26 May 2014 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Apinelo was amazing! They gave us really helpful advice on how to spend our time in Split- what to see, where to eat etc. We stayed in the double apartment which was just below the rest of the hostel- it was extremely clean, modern and cosy with wifi and a great tv that doubled as a computer. Plus, we loved the disco ball on the ceiling- a really fun touch!

Disliked: Sophie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fabulous staff. very knowledgable about the whole area and travel to other areas. Beds were extremely comfortable and rooms were a good size.

Disliked: Only one bathroom

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, big bedrooms and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful, efficient staff, clean. The private room compares with a value-for-money hotel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great great staff (and I really mean GREAT), excellent location just back of the bus terminal on a quiet street and minutes away from Diocletian's Palace, very clean, large dorms with huge lockers (wardrobe-size), noise rules in the evening mean that you can get a decent night's sleep (party animals: go somewhere else), kitchen with basic equipment, computers and wifi, supermarket next door, multiple cheap restaurants down the street, amazing value for money (please keep it that way), and oh baby disco balls in all private rooms! :D

Disliked: Common areas are a bit small, and shared bathrooms are tiny weeny. The ones in the private rooms and appartments are good-sized though. The hostel is quite popular and because of its small size (only 11 dorm beds) you need to book in advance.


See all Split hostels
See all Split hotels