We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Split hostels
See all Split hotels

Reviews of Hostel Apinelo

Hostel | Ulica Sv. Petra Starog 42, Split, Croatia 21000

95.9% Overall Rating

121 out of 122 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/09/2015)

Leon Batten thinks…

"Quirky Hostel on the edge of the old Town, ease of access in to town but well enough away from noise and touristy areas. Very Welcoming staff"

Read all Hostel Apinelo reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 37.28

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Split?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Split

Old Town Petrova Accommodation
17.15 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel Split Backpackers
20.28 USD

Hostel 90.4% 126 reviews
Sunshine
22.37 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Apartman Vicenco
20.88 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Kuzma House
23.11 USD

Guesthouse 85.2% 6 reviews
Anamaria - Bacvice
19.24 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Apartments and rooms SIMONI
35.79 USD

Apartment 83.3% 14 reviews
Rooms Stambuk
24.01 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.9%

Overall Rating

121 out of 122 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Apinelo'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
96.8%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 110 of 121 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leon Batten

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2015 Leon would recommend this property

Liked: Quirky Hostel on the edge of the old Town, ease of access in to town but well enough away from noise and touristy areas. Very Welcoming staff

Disliked: Leon left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ann Sofie Bäck

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2015 Ann Sofie would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the hostel was small, free internet, a TV in the room, its location and the general cleanliness of the entire hostel.

Disliked: I missed having a common area to hang out with the other guest and the kitchen whilst good was small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful reception - stayed open later than it should just for us as our evening bus into Split was delayed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margaret Allison Basire

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

12 August 2015 Margaret Allison would recommend this property

Liked: The small kitchen was a boon. The hostel was in easy walking distance to all ongoing transport.

Disliked: There was a very small outdoor porch that looked inviting but it was locked.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Brotherwood

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

12 August 2015 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and excellent value for money for having a private bathroom Helpful staff and friendly atmosphere in communal areas

Disliked: A mini fridge in the room could be beneficial and save space in the communal kitchen

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah He

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2015 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel - this is how every hostel should be like! Very lovely and friendly staff, clean and comfortable bed, clean bathrooms, cute and cozy common area and kitchen.

Disliked: - There was only 1 female and 1 male bathroom shared between everyone, which isn't a great problem since the hostel is quite small anyway. - You're not allowed to wash anything in the sink, which makes cleaning small items difficult.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Albin Andersson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

22 July 2015 Albin would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, and nice and very clean rooms :) Nothing to complain about here.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

ELOISE GUZZARDI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2015 ELOISE would recommend this property

Liked: Reasonably sized clean rooms. Good location

Disliked: Shower did not heat up!! Apartments were a long walk from reception which was never told to us

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Lowrie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2015 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel we have stayed at in Europe, clean, central, most helpful staff, enjoyed the stay, wish it was longer.

Disliked: Nicholas left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good location, very helpful staff. Our (private) room had a computer and, somewhat oddly, a not particularly functional disco ball.

Disliked: The rooms were spread out over a decently large geographic area. Our room was in the same courtyard area but was not accessed through the hostel. It was a little odd.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacqueline Young

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2015 Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - easy for arrival/departure by boat/train/bus and even pick-up/drop-off car rental.

Disliked: Jacqueline left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcel Brenner

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2015 Marcel would recommend this property

Liked: Besides being located in a quiet place, the beds were super clean and confi af. The hostel left nothing more to wish for.

Disliked: That we only stayed one night...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeff Novotny

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2015 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel - clean, comfortable, and conveniently located.

Disliked: Jeff left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasmine Cronin-Georgiadi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2015 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how friendly Marta and the rest of the staff were. Always willing to help and they happily answered my cultural, historical and literary questions about Croatia. The hostel is small, cozy, and clean. It's situated on the first floor of a small stone house which has been converted into an apartment building. Each guest gets a nice bed (bunks), very clean linens, and huge locker. It's more like a closet with a lock, which is a fantastic bonus. Also, each bed has its own electrical outlets and reading light, which I appreciated. Apinelo is NOT a place for those who want to party. It's a place for those want a quiet, relaxing place to stay while being only 5-minute walk to everything–which is why I loved it.

Disliked: The kitchen does not have a toaster. Some of the pillows on the beds seem a bit old and lumpy–they should be replaced. Although, this is not true about all of them!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, nice staff, good location (though hard to find at first), private room was nice :)

Disliked: Kitchen should have atoaster ! Small kitchen and common room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Williams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2015 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed two nights in the double room with ensuite. The room was a decent size, and very clean. It was on the bottom floor (below the main hostel stairs) which was good as we had big heave bags with us which we didnt have to take upstairs. The staff are very helpful, and the hostel is a very short distance walk to the promenade and right next to a supermarket - ideal location. Definitely good value for money in the off season, would certainly stay again.

Disliked: the disco ball feature in the room is a little odd, but kind of funky - not a dislike but just a comment haha.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lucrezia giordano

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2015 lucrezia would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was really nice, it felt like being home with a big family...also, the staff was definitely helpful. Highly recommended!

Disliked: lucrezia left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds, great staff and kitchen facilities, overall a great hostel

Disliked: The toilet didn't provide a lot of privacy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eden guo

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2015 Eden would recommend this property

Liked: hostel staff is really nice and friendly,room is clean and near harbor,bus station

Disliked: nil

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henry Tsin

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 September 2014 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very friendly and helpful staff, basic and comfortable, inexpensive, full kitchen, new decoration.

Disliked: The studio apartment is at ground level and the window is facing street, so you cannot open it often. Water not hot enough, only adequate for 1 person each time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great room and the staff were really helpful. On arrival we got loads of information on what we could do in Split and how to get to places. Would recommend as really is value for money. We'd booked another hostel for the night after, which wasn't as good so we came back to Apinelo when we returned to split at the end of our holiday.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern look and feel. Brandnew en social skilled employees! :-P

Disliked: There was a nice kitchen. The only thing it lacked were bowls to put cereals (and milk) in. :-)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Archibald

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel with friendly staff and nice rooms

Disliked: n/a

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

João Paulo Amaro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 João Paulo would recommend this property

Liked: I like the staff, the girls in the reception was lovely A big wardrobe as well

Disliked: i was there only for one day... so i cant say a lot of things

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The disco ball in the room, it was clean and quiet.

Disliked: When we arrived after a long day's travelling there was some delay in the check in process then when we finally got given our room it was not the one we had booked and paid a deposit for, we had booked a studio in the main hostel building and were given a very small room a fair walk away from where we thought we would be located. Although the staff were very apologetic and gave us a discount (which I would have expected, given that the room we ended up with was half the size of the one we had originally booked) it was never explained to us WHY we couldn't have the original room, they just said that they couldn't access our booking because the systems were down. I can only assume that they had already given it to someone else, which really shouldn't have happened given that we booked two months ahead. As it happened we loved every second of being in Split so spent very little time in the room anyway and the staff were lovely it was just that the lack of communication was a disappointing start to our time in Croatia.


See all Split hostels
See all Split hotels