HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Split hostels
See all Split hotels

Reviews of Hostel Apinelo

Hostel | Petrova 42, Split, Croatia 21000

95.7% Overall Rating

77 out of 78 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/04/2014)

"Very very clean. Staff went out of their way to help. Very easy to find. Loved the added feature of the disco ball in the room very unusual. Lol. Allowed us to store our items. Staff couldnt have been more helpful.…"

Read all Hostel Apinelo reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 45.28

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Split?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Split

Old Town Petrova Accommodation
18.11 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel Split Backpackers
10.35 USD

Hostel 91.2% 99 reviews
Apartman Vicenco
18.11 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Kuzma House
16.30 USD

Guesthouse 89.3% 4 reviews
Anamaria - Bacvice
32.60 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Apartments and rooms SIMONI
37.13 USD

Guesthouse 83.3% 14 reviews
Hostel Split
18.11 USD

Hostel 85.6% 89 reviews
Calendula
23.54 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.7%

Overall Rating

77 out of 78 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Apinelo'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
100.0%
Value
95.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 68 of 76 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very clean. Staff went out of their way to help. Very easy to find. Loved the added feature of the disco ball in the room very unusual. Lol. Allowed us to store our items. Staff couldnt have been more helpful. Expecially on first and last day. Great location. Secure.

Disliked: When others. Checked in. It woke us up as there are only three rooms and they are half a meter from desk. Other rooms are outside in apartments which I probably would have preferred. We were able to leave our bags there on last day in an empty bedroom. But if room was booked there would have been no where safe. Staff wernt always there between the hours they were supposed to as we went back twice seperate days to ask for advice. But it wasnt really a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chun-Ping Huang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 Chun-Ping would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to main bus station and supermarket also old town. Very clean and super nice and helper staffs. Very relaxing atmosphere. Would love to come back again.

Disliked: Chun-Ping left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The reception girl is really kind.

Disliked: Little bit hard to find the location.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff was helpful. room was clean.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in one of the studio apartments and it was fantastic. Nice and quiet underneath the hostel. Very clean. And a disco ball! Highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Ellis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 October 2013 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very small hostel and the location could not be better. It is a five minute from the main train, ferry and bus terminal - with luggage. It is close to the palace center and also the market. The room was great, spacious and extremely clean. We were lucky enough to have disco lights, which was a bit of a novelty really. Each room has air conditioner, the beds are comfortable, we also had a tv. The kitchen is well stocked and clean, as it is so small here people actually clean after themselves. We had the opportunity to meet everyone and it was a really great atmosphere - even in the off season. Thanks.

Disliked: The location of the shared bathrooms, then again I dont suppose they would fit anywhere else.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazingly helpful and detailed - gave us great ideas about what to do in split! The hostel was cute and super clean! Internet was speedy and free. Our room even had a disco light in it.

Disliked: Nothing :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SAMET YILMAZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

08 October 2013 SAMET would recommend this property

Liked: Specially stuffs so nice and helpful.. Hostel so clean and nice place...

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Nash

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near centre and port/train/bus stations. Room was great with satelite TV and disco ball.

Disliked: All rooms off communal area and although fellow guests weren't noisy you could hear them talking, typing or "toileting" all through the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Galambos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff and supplies everything you need!

Disliked: Emma left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and the helpfulness and kindness of the staff

Disliked: the bathroom is small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Kwok Hung Tam

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013 Simon Kwok Hung would recommend this property

Liked: Close to bus, train, ferries, old town and everything else. This hostel is next to a supermarket, so it is very handy. this hostel is in a quiet street but within very short walking distance to everything a tourist will ever need. I will stay here again.

Disliked: Nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lindsay Bernard

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2013 Lindsay would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was super clean! I saw the staff cleaning and disinfecting everything daily. It was located 5 min from the beaches and from the old town - couldn't ask for anything better. The rooms were air conditioned (super important). Comfy beds, little kitchen to make your own breakfast. Super happy with my stay there.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the centre of Split, big room, free internet in room and TV.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location good - we followed the directions and found it easily, it took about 7 mins to get to from the port. Tucked away the Hostel takes you up a back street which you wouldn't probably go up other wise and on it we also found a nice restaurant and bar. It is also next to a supermarket so it is convenient for supplies. The young women that greeted us and showed us to our room was really friendly and helpful with a big smile. The room itself was great, a good size and equipped with everything you might need for your stay, comfy bed, air con, Internet access via the TV, disco ball and lights! This was the best of this 4 hostels we stopped in whilst on our trip.

Disliked: Nothing...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

siobhan craig

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, 2 mins from old town, 5-10 mins walk to beach. Very clean, spacious room with computer, lockable cupboards, air con and disco lights! Very helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: siobhan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hayley Affleck

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2013 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: So clean and nice, amazing location and friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing at all.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean. helpful staff. handy location

Disliked: very small toilets and shower facilities, opening straight out onto the kitchen area where everyone sitting facing the bathroom door!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jacqueline Yacoub

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

08 June 2013 Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere that the hostel provided, it was pleasant and inviting. Everyone was nice and I made friends well. The place was spotless and I always prefer that in a hostel. Easy to get to with the directions that were provided. The dorm room was right next to the reception desk which made it really handy!

Disliked: The pillow was too soft, so I had to use the blanket to support my head as the reception had closed for the night before I could ask for another one. There was a few flights of stairs to get to the reception, but you only have to do that twice - when you arrive and when you leave (with your luggage). The shower and sink are very small, but that's a small problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allison Hangsleben

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2013 Allison would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful and friendly!

Disliked: Allison left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heng Yi Shin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2013 Heng would recommend this property

Liked: Impressive and excellent service! So far the best I've stayed in. I stayed in a private twin bed room and it had cable tv connected and a computer as well. Extremely comfortable bed and soft blanket. You can see the staff cleaning the place often. The 23 year old girl who owns the hostel with her brother has great passion in what she does. She went a great length to help me find a way to get to kotor as there isn't any direct bus on Friday. Keep it up goga!!

Disliked: The minor concerns u may have is that it has some space constrain in the bathroom but nonetheless I think the shower is great. The owners tried their best to maximize the small space they have. They didn't have storage space due to space constrain if u plan to go to some other islands and come back in a couple of days. Just 5 mins walk from the hostel, there is a shop that allows u to store ur lugguage for 2 euro per day. I could tell that the hostel owners have tried their best to provide whatever a travel will need.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vilmar Ribeiro da Silva Junior

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

04 June 2013 Vilmar would recommend this property

Liked: Price

Disliked: Don't remember

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roland Nicolai

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

29 May 2013 Roland would recommend this property

Liked: WE HAD A DISCO BALL IN THE APARTMENT!!! Enough said. The double room we stayed in was much more luxurious than we thought it would be, with a computer, big telly, disco ball and lights and a spacious bathroom. I would definitely recommend splashing out to get the nicer apartment because it's still very good value for money!

Disliked: A little bit of a walk from the centre of Split but really not much of a problem at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Batt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: This is a fabulous hostel. I stayed six nights in Split during three different stays...I just kept coming back to this hostel. First of all the staff are all amazing!...they are kind, helpful, speak English well, and are just excellent overall. The place was soooo clean, probably the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in. The location is great...an easy walk from the bus, train, and ferry stations as well as the old city. Very close to everything and very easy to find. It's a small hostel, but it's a great place to call home during your stay in Split.

Disliked: Nothing...I loved the hostel!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Favorite hostel in Croatia! Extremely friendly staff--they gave us so much useful tourist information (one restaurant they recommended was absolutely fantastic! Buffet Fife). I always saw them constantly cleaning the property.

Disliked: Nothing!


See all Split hostels
See all Split hotels