We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Split hostels
See all Split hotels

Reviews of Hostel Split Wine Garden

Hostel | Poljana Tina Ujevića 3, Split, Croatia 21000

76.9% Overall Rating

38 out of 51 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2015)

Dominic Lambert thinks…

"Clean rooms, great location, helpful staff, nice bar which served a large variety of craft beers and cheap coffee."

Read all Hostel Split Wine Garden reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 44.41
  • Breakfast USD 5.92

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Split?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Split

Hostel Peruzovic
20.72 USD

Hostel 95.5% 228 reviews
Hotspot Hostel
18.46 USD

Hostel 75.8% 78 reviews
Apartments Nikolla
22.20 USD

Hostel 95.0% 256 reviews
Rodrigo Apartments
24.61 USD

Apartment 85.6% 25 reviews
Guesthouse Fjaka
33.90 USD

Guesthouse 96.2% 6 reviews
Split Central Guesthouse
21.26 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 92 reviews
Veig Palace Apartments
48.11 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel Manuela
13.32 USD

Hostel 77.8% 96 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.9%

Overall Rating

38 out of 51 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Split Wine Garden'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
80.8%
Value
72.0%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 36 of 48 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Melissa Korsmit

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2015

Liked: The location

Disliked: Where do I have to start... First we arrived, It was soooo hot ! So we really needed to take a shower, this was quite difficult to manage because they first wanted us to pay but we didn't had enough cash. Our bathroom was in the room, it didn't had a lock so you had no privacy at all! And I really don't want to hear my roommates doing their things on the toilet. The shower smelt like the sewer, there was hair, and black stuff, used toilet paper on the floor. The sink was disgusting. We told the reception and they said that the room was cleaned and that the cleaning lady is very good. But I know it wasn't cleaned. The beds were old, the mattresses had pits. We were afraid to use their sheets. They had a "save" behind the reception, so we left our passports there, they told us that there is always someone there. But the first night we came back, the guy was sitting in the bar. The day that we had to leave, they had to search between the stack of papers to find our passports. The girl of the reception couldn't tell us anything about the city and advise us to go on a pubcrawl. The WIFI is not working everywhere. The laundry line is so broke that we ripped two clothes. Oh, and you cannot hang in the garden after eleven. There is no fridge, or at least I didn't found it, and the AC wasn't working.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Gonzalo Gallego

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2015 Gonzalo would recommend this property

Liked: The air con and the wifi is fine, as well as the location

Disliked: There are no lockers and the rooms are a little bit packed

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Greta Biancotti

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

16 August 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: - do not think to pay with card or euros ("we still have our glorious currency") only kuna's cash (no receipt obviously) - still luggage left in the room from previous guests (until 7PM) - dirty socks left hung on the window (maybe to give a characteristic smell to the room) - dirty sheets, towels, pillows, blankets... Brown, black and yellow stains all over the bed (very colorful isn't it?) - pay attention not to stay in the upper bed if you weight more than 60kg or it would be impossible for your bunk bed mate to sleep because of the bed movement. - air conditioning is impossible to switch off or change the temperature, no remote controller is given and you will literally freeze. - last but not least THE BATHROOM: it was in dreadful conditions, such a dirt room that to use the shower we had to buy products to clean, the staff clean it "every day as it was his own home"... What a dirty home should have! It is impossible to clean just using a dirt broom and a rag washed with water!!! DEFINITELY UNACCETABLE!!! all around Europe hostels with this price offers far more services than this one, and in Croatia if you are a little group you can loan an appartent with less.. Think about it!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dominic Lambert

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Dominic would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, great location, helpful staff, nice bar which served a large variety of craft beers and cheap coffee.

Disliked: Could do with a bit more communal space to sit in.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Holly Cleaver

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2015

Liked: The location was pretty good

Disliked: The air conditioner leaked water all through my bag while i was out on a day trip. When i informed the staff, she said she already knew but it wasnt getting fixed for a few days and just gave me a towel to try and dry my things

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wine Garden is located in the best part of Split and is walking distance from everything. The staff is friendly and super helpful for planning. Hostel is definitely not for travelers looking to party. It is a chill atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Campbell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were wonderful and friendly. We felt so at home with the lovely Diana and the other other guy. We will be back as the hostel made our trip really nice. Shade from the sun if you are hungover. Shelter from the rain. Wine and cheese and cool people. What more do you want? Literally the best place ever.

Disliked: Too much awesomeness for a guy to handle

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Diana was lovely, we came back a couple of times on our travels because we liked the hostel so much.

Disliked: Nothing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its good location

Disliked: no kitchen,no social place

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like location of this property and wine bar :)

Disliked: There is nothing not to love on this place :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bruno Cassegrain

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michaela Sojak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2014 Michaela would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are really helpful, great air conditioning, good beds, great location, excellent Wifi! Spacious rooms and plenty of outdoor seating.

Disliked: Initially putting the address into my map app didn't give any results but if you follow the directions give you can definitely find them.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere and good location

Disliked: nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Natalie Tuccia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014

Liked: The wine garden terrace out the front is nice. Not a huge amount of stairs. Easily accessible.

Disliked: No showers drained properly so you stand in inches of water, they charge you to leave luggage after checkout which wouldn't be a bad thing if they had a secure area, instead they tell you to leave it in the open hallway. If arriving early from on overnight bus or train you'll sit for hours outside waiting until a room is ready, or be told after waiting hours that you can leave your bags in a hallway then go out.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2014

Liked: Modest, mildly property.

Disliked: Quite old and run down. Overpriced for what you get. Would not recommend.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitriona Griffin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

08 August 2013 Caitriona would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great place to stay. Loved it. So near old town , beaches , restaurants. Ines, the manageress, is lovely and so helpful. Nothing a problem for her to help you with or sort. Cannot recommend this hostel enough. Small and intimate. Great patio area to meet other travellers staying at hostel and the wine bar down stairs is cool place to hang out after a hard day at the beach !

Disliked: Caitriona left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013

Liked: The girl that seemed to be running it was friendly, yet when we had to tell her we would nto be staying for the duration of the time we booked due to the terrible night before, she seemed confused and not in a rush to give us a refund on the second night (which we never got).

Disliked: Pretty much everything else- the bar was badly run, there were insects everywhere, it is noisy, there is no kitchen/ kettle.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joanne Heggie

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

04 August 2013 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Only a 10min walk from the old town which made it quiet and peaceful, a nice break after crazy times in Croatia. Only 2 beds to a room and I had a room to myself, so a little more privacy which was nice.

Disliked: If you're looking to meet people and a party atmosphere, then this isn't the hostel for you.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2013

Liked: Great location, very friendly staff. Small but beautiful outdoor terrace. Wine bar wasn't open yet but looks like it will be nice

Disliked: Very small rooms, no kitchen and no communal space.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good price, nice room.

Disliked: Social interaction with other guests is limited due to common spaces being closed or inconvenient.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

21 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very well located and near it has a lot of supermarkets and restaurants

Disliked: The coffee just started at 9:30pm and it was desorganized

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trevor Kemp

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Trevor would recommend this property

Liked: It had everything that I needed

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Craig MacDonald

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2013 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: The price of the hostel was very attractive and it included a free breakfast which was a bonus. The location old the hostel was very good, close (pretty much 500m from) to the old town. The national park and beaches are within walking distance, while a cheap super market is right across the road. Ines, the receptionist, was very friendly and super helpful.

Disliked: The reception wasn't open 24 hrs and the hostel is built above a music hall which played loud music until midnight.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and v clean.

Disliked: Lack of sound proof

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is down town indeed- pretty convenient location if you ten to make an early trip to catch a ferry or bus, staff is friendly

Disliked: No reception services on th regular- no working hours are strictly observed


See all Split hostels
See all Split hotels