We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Split hostels
See all Split hotels

Reviews of Tchaikovsky Hostel Split

Hostel | Petra Ilica Cajkovskog 4, Split, Croatia 21000

95.2% Overall Rating

192 out of 192 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/11/2014)

"Everything, absolutely loved this hostel. I have been travelling for 4 months and this is by far the best hostel I have stayed in. Lovely staff, property has been renovated nicely, tiled bathroom etc. Rooms are…"

Read all Tchaikovsky Hostel Split reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

"Reception hours are from 8 am to 10 pm. The hostel has to be contacted at least 24 hours prior to arrival if arriving after Reception Hours. Visitor Tax in Split is 7 kn per person, per night. This charge will be added to the total charge upon arrival! Other taxes are included in the price. The total balance is due in full at the hostel upon check-in. The hostel has a cancellation policy of 24 hours for individual bookings and 7 days for group bookings. To cancel your reservation or any particular night from the booking, please contact the Front Desk at least 24 hours prior to arrival (the latest until 12pm the previous day) for individual bookings and 7 days prior to arrival for group bookings. If the reservation is not canceled in advance, it will be seen as a “No Show” and your credit card will be charged the first night’s total charge. If the reservation is not amended (abbreviated) 24 h prior to check in, at arrival the whole length of the original booking will be charged, as it is not possible to shorten the booking when checking in." Group booking will need to cancel 7 days prior to check in

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Split?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Split

Rodrigo Apartments
22.77 USD

Apartment 85.0% 24 reviews
Hotspot Hostel
25.30 USD

Hostel 75.4% 75 reviews
Guesthouse Fjaka
14.73 USD

Guesthouse 95.7% 4 reviews
Hostel Peruzovic
16.55 USD

Hostel 93.8% 222 reviews
Situs hostel
27.31 USD

Hostel 92.8% 114 reviews
Hostel Split Wine Garden
18.21 USD

Hostel 78.7% 41 reviews
Apartments - Budimir
24.83 USD

Apartment 77.5% 18 reviews
Back Pack Sack
14.90 USD

Hostel 95.6% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.2%

Overall Rating

192 out of 192 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tchaikovsky Hostel Split'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
97.6%
Value
96.8%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 176 of 190 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernando Pereira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

15 August 2012 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, confortable, and the people are just so helpfull and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing! One of the best hostels that I stayed in my life!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well designed hostel with spacious lockers and bottom bunks- more than enough room to sit up in bed! Kitchen was always clean and excellent range of films and facilites, free wi fi, tea and coffee, staff were very friendly and helpful. one of the best hostels I've visited in Croatia

Disliked: as it's all on one floor any noise made in the communal area or late check ins is easily heard in bedrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are lovely, helpful and accommodating. The atmosphere is very relaxed - one of the friendliest hostels I've stayed in. The dorms are spacious and clean and the location is ideal - less than five mins walk to the Riva. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -The attention and care of the staff was exceptional -The hostel itself was modern, well-designed and comfortable -There are bunk-curtains for privacy, a personal powerpoint and a reading light each bed -Air-conditioning and wi-fi in the bedrooms

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Cote

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The small size, cleanliness, and very helpful staff. The balconies were also a very nice touch.

Disliked: The only problem I had was that there were no lights in the stairwell leading up to the hostel at night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the hotel overall, the bunks were really spacious and comfortable and the lockers for your luggage were huge and all your belongings could be safe.

Disliked: The staff moved all of our washing without our permission and without telling us when they first saw it that it should be moved. Retrieving our clothes off the washing line we found that all our nice clothes had peg indentations, which have ruined all of our clothes and will never come out. They never apologised and when one lady called the owner to quite obviously tell him about us saying that we were unhappy it had happened, she was mimicking us and laughing at us, knowing full well we were in the room opposite with the door open and we could hear her. She then finished and came in to rattle off some reason, obviously fed to her by the owner on the phone, as to why they had done what they did, which was not in the slightest bit true as to what the owner had told us that morning when we hung our slightly damp washing in the room. All we wanted was an apology, because otherwise we really enjoyed this hostel, but after that all we got was patronizing conversations.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noosha Jalili

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2012 Noosha would recommend this property

Liked: Filip and Maja are lovely people and are so accommodating. I originally was meant to be staying for 2 nights but loved the Hostel so much I cut my trip to Hvar short to come back to Split. They organise very affordable tours, have great comfortable beds with curtains, power sockets and light for privacy as well as your own locker! I really get right at home. Breakfast is supplied- great muesli and cereal as well as tea and coffee whenever you like. I wish all hostels were like this! great free WIFI too. Make sure you visit Krka National Park!

Disliked: Everything was perfect!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place - great vibe, great staff. Really pretty and clean. Filip was super helpful and friendly, and so was the girl in the afternoon. I appreciated the privacy and security in the rooms... Everything was comfortable. Would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: It was a bit hard to find, but i did arrive at 12.30am...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Likes: Nice staff. Air conditioned. Common area for meeting people. Kitchen facilities

Disliked: Dislikes: location is slightly out of the way but split is very small and it doesn't really matter!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was lovely and clean, the rooms were very spacious and the staff were friendly

Disliked: When we stayed there, the hostel did not seem that socialable and we did not meet many people. I do however, think that we were unlucky. There were a few groups of 3+ people and it were these people who did not make the effort to speak to anyone else

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Marr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: An impressively tidy and charming hostile. It had really friendly staff and had an good range of friendly faces to meet. Their safety measures are reassuring (they provide lock and key for three levels of personal security: a lock on the property itself, a lock on your bedroom door, and a locker for personal items in your room.) It's also within walking distance of Old Town and the Riva, which was refreshing and a noteworthy plus.

Disliked: The location has one drawback: the beach is pretty far away, and clubs are difficult to find nearby unless you want to join in on the bar crawls. While the promoters are exceptionally attractive, the event attracts a pretty sloppy crowd that just get piss drunk. It's better to meet people yourself and just hit a bar for a good chat on the Riva. (Just FYI bar crawls and the promoters have no affiliation with Hotel Tchaikovsky, so don't be confused by that little peice of the review)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bonnie Darter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012 Bonnie would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, extremely spacish rooms, everything was really clean, the hosts were lovely!

Disliked: Bonnie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great and well run Hostel. I am going back after I have been on the island of Hvar.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graeme Best

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 Graeme would recommend this property

Liked: pretty much everything

Disliked: would be helpful if breakfast was available

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Pynenburg-Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best hostel I have ever stayed in! Super clean, everything is new, the rooms are well thought out and have everything you will need, the lounge has a big tv, close to everything, never had to wait for shower, gave free towel, reception staff were amazing andwho helpful & they offered and organized a tour to the Krka National park for the day. Amazing!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nichole Chamberlin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 Nichole would recommend this property

Liked: Very new. Everything was very clean. They have lockers int he rooms for your valuables and book exchange.

Disliked: Nichole left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brooke Saidi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2012 Brooke would recommend this property

Liked: This place is amazing!! So clean, looks brand new. Has all the facilities you need. Great location. For me being new to hostels...this was just as good as a hotel but cheaper!!!!!

Disliked: Brooke left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Taylor

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Fab location, nice and clean and super-friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This small hostel is very well designed and is fastidiously clean - if only all were like this. The included large lockable personal storage, the individual towel rails, the auto night lights, the good beds etc set it apart. It is not a party hostel which is great for those who actually want to sleep. The staff are charming. A really lovely place with a lovely handsome owner.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Schlee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: it was very new and clean, comfy beds, and not far from the promenade

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucy McNally

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2012 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel. Very friendly and eager to help staff. The beds are wide and comfy, with curtains for privacy.

Disliked: Lucy left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is quite cosy with a nice relaxing atmosphere. The beds in the room are arranged in a nice manner, with each next to the wall. Each bed has its own shelf to put stuff and an electrical socket, which I found really useful, as well as its own curtains if you want some privacy. The facilities are great, the toilets even have hairdryers.

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like about the hostel was that the beds were a little high, so it was a little challenging for someone with a fear of heights. However, the beds are quite stable and there is a barrier. The lockers are also equally tall, especially the ones on top, so it was not too user friendly if you are short (actually even if you were tall).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Syazreen Sara Sukor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2012 Syazreen Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Smack in the middle of everything, and 10 minutes walk from the bus station (very good directions too). Only stayed here one night but one of the best hostels we've stayed at. Love the curtain at each bed (for privacy) and lockers were huge. Staff recommended good and cheap cafe, with traditional food. Wifi was good throughout our stay. Only two WC and showers (separate) but never had to queue for it (and it was almost full occupancy that time). As the old city tend to be a bit touristy, highly recommend to venture out.

Disliked: Kitchen was a bit small and no stove but it was not a problem as there were plenty cafes and restaurants around.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are super friendly and helpful, the beds are comfortable and assure you privacy, there are bedside lockers to secure your belongings, It is well located and has several terraces.

Disliked: The showers confused the heck out of me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Pinder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I've stayed at and it is certainly the best thought out hostels I've ever stayed at!! The staff are friendly, helpful and great for a chat, the location is is central, the directions to the hostel are spot on, the atmosphere is friendly, great value for money and I really have nothing to say but great things about this place. Highly recommended!!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!!


See all Split hostels
See all Split hotels