We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Split hostels
See all Split hotels

Reviews of Tchaikovsky Hostel Split

Hostel | Petra Ilica Cajkovskog 4, Split, Croatia 21000

95.2% Overall Rating

190 out of 190 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2014)

Jenny Zhang thinks…

"Very very clean rooms with balconies and a common room. A bowl of cereal is provided free every morning which was convenient. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. Such a great place"

Read all Tchaikovsky Hostel Split reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

"Reception hours are from 8 am to 10 pm. The hostel has to be contacted at least 24 hours prior to arrival if arriving after Reception Hours. Visitor Tax in Split is 7 kn per person, per night. This charge will be added to the total charge upon arrival! Other taxes are included in the price. The total balance is due in full at the hostel upon check-in. The hostel has a cancellation policy of 24 hours for individual bookings and 7 days for group bookings. To cancel your reservation or any particular night from the booking, please contact the Front Desk at least 24 hours prior to arrival (the latest until 12pm the previous day) for individual bookings and 7 days prior to arrival for group bookings. If the reservation is not canceled in advance, it will be seen as a “No Show” and your credit card will be charged the first night’s total charge. If the reservation is not amended (abbreviated) 24 h prior to check in, at arrival the whole length of the original booking will be charged, as it is not possible to shorten the booking when checking in." Group booking will need to cancel 7 days prior to check in

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Split?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Split

Rodrigo Apartments
22.77 USD

Apartment 85.0% 24 reviews
Hotspot Hostel
25.30 USD

Hostel 75.4% 75 reviews
Guesthouse Fjaka
16.39 USD

Guesthouse 95.7% 4 reviews
Hostel Peruzovic
18.62 USD

Hostel 95.3% 221 reviews
Situs hostel
27.31 USD

Hostel 93.6% 113 reviews
Hostel Split Wine Garden
10.76 USD

Hostel 78.7% 41 reviews
Apartments - Budimir
24.83 USD

Apartment 77.5% 18 reviews
Back Pack Sack
14.90 USD

Hostel 95.2% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.2%

Overall Rating

190 out of 190 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tchaikovsky Hostel Split'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
97.6%
Value
96.8%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 174 of 188 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Don't be fooled by first appearances! The building doesn't look great from the outside but the hostel itself is really clean and modern. There were big storage lockers in the rooms and curtains round the beds add a bit of privacy. The staff were really helpful - I would definitely recommend staying here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris barnes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, sooo clean and great bunks. Awesome movie collection too!

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is awesome. Very helpful, hospitable. The facilities are clean, clean, clean! There are blow dryers! The bunks are great, tons of privacy. Easy to find. We arrived at 8am and even though we weren't able to check in until noon, we were welcomed with a coffee and invited to relax in the common area. Philip: you have no idea how wonderful it is to to get off the night train to a welcome like that!

Disliked: Nothing. The common area is small, but that's OK, and you do have to hold the button for the shower but who cares?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really friendly and helpful. Each bed had its own locker that you can put luggage into, a power outlet, a light, shelves and a curtain. One of the best hostels I have stayed at.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, welcoming atmosphere, very cosy and thoughtfully decorated

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern, VERY Clean, Staff were lovely and helpful

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is really clean. Love the stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was nicer than a hotel I stayed at in Split

Disliked: Can't think of anything i didn't like but I did have 1 cold shower during my stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so amazing! They really went the extra mile to help us out and make us feel welcome and comfortable and we really appreciated it and enjoyed hanging out with them. This was one of the best hostels we have stayed at on our trip and we have stayed at many. I would unreservedly recommend that you stay here.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice, small, friendly hostel. Good location, clean, would recommend!!

Disliked: None!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HANG YI MAU

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2012 HANG YI would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean & tidy hostel & equip with very good facilities. Staff extremely helpful & suggestions for local water sports activity/ adventure like canyoning definitely highlight my whole trip! Don't miss it! Useful information let you get used of every moment & help planning your trip in Split! Staff - Philip impressed me a lot by his excellent service standard & helpful attitude. I initially planned to stay here for 2 days but finally made it 1 day more. Stay here, you won't regret :)

Disliked: HANG YI left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Bubb

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, well equipped and well run hostel. Only hostel i've been to with a private balcony with a dorm room!

Disliked: Great for a few nights - wouldn't stay longer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean and big and the staff are lovely

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff couldn't possibly more helpful - I spoke to two reception staff whilst I was there and both of them were just lovely! Really friendly and helpful. There are big lockers in each room, big enough to put your whole bag/case into and I loved the fact that each bunk had a curtain which you can pull across for privacy along with reading light, power sockets and a set of shelves (particularly handy if you're on a top bunk!!). Also the rooms are spotlessly clean. Good location - a 5 minute walk from the centre and within very easy reach of all the main sights. There is also a big supermarket very near by if you need anything. Also the free muesli for breakfast along with free tea, coffee ans espresso really make this hostel a great place to stay. The hostel is quite small but that adds to it's character. All in all it was an excellent place to stay.

Disliked: The only thing I wasn't keen on was the showers. The bathrooms and toilet are very clean etc - but they are the kind of showers that you have to hold a button to release the water so as soon as you stop holding the button (to shampoo your hair) the water stops. I guess it is environmentally friendly and ensures that you have a quick shower! This really is only minor though - I certainly wouldn't let it stop me staying there again.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very nice building, the rooms are big with aircon, the beds are big and have a cubby hole for your stuff and so you can charge your phone while you sleep. There are also curtains to draw around yourself while you sleep to block out lights. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and made us espressos. The location is just a minute from the old town so everything is easily within walking distance.

Disliked: My only criticism would be that it is quite small and quiet there - the common area is small and the hostel didn't arrange many activites for people to do together which was a bit of a shame

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is amazing, you get your own little hidey hole, equipped with curtin so you don,t have to worry about anyone waking you up at night. The staff are awesome, nothinh a problem.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel with helpful staff and a warm atmosphere. Would stay with again. Thanks.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel. Very clean and friendly. One of the best I have stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This has to be one of the best hostels in Europe! It's a short 10 minute walk to the port area of Split. The staff are so friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean, modern, and have good ari-con! Would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: No negatives at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Luiza Barbosa Curi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2012 Ana Luiza would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing and really helpfull. The place is clean, beautiful and very confortable. I felt like home.

Disliked: Nothing! It is amazing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristen Wilks

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012 Kristen would recommend this property

Liked: the most i've felt like home while away - definitely one of the best hostels i've ever stayed in! the rooms were spacious & the beds were fantastic with their private shelves, curtains, powerpoint & lights. everything was very clean, even the bathrooms. showers were a bit fiddly, but nice and hot & the water pressure was good. it's not a party hostel, but the staff (who were wonderful) can point you towards bars & pub crawls, & the cosy common room is quite social. there's also a large selection of movies, free tea, coffee & cereal & fast, reliable wifi.

Disliked: my bed & the floor were a little bit creaky.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Phillip, the owner, greeted me with a warm welcome, setting the tone of my short one night stay. The facilities are newly renovated and reminded me of a chic residence I would keep myself back in the United States. I have nothing but the absolute confidence that this business will thrive. As intended, this is a hostel for those more mature and looking for a quality time. Tchaikovsy's is the single best accomodation I've stayed in during my five weeks through Europe. I should mention that I've split my stays in 4 star hotels as well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kate Williamson

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: One of the cleanest hostels I have ever stayed in, curtains on all the beds a good touch, however limited the AC getting through. Good quality fittings and design, staff were all great, bfast good and good coffee machine. Close to a big supermarket. Has a small kitchen with a jug and microwave.

Disliked: If you are looking for a decent shower after sail croatia, this kinda sucks as you have to hold the shower head - not only to wash your hair, but has a button you have to push as well to get the water to flow - great pressure though... Also all the doors lock behind you so you have to take your key everywhere. Also no mirrors in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, curtains on each bunk bed, very friendly and helpful staff, clean, safe and secure, seemed to be a fairly good location, offered different activities and day trips, good wi fi all around hostel, cosy and homely atmosphere

Disliked: Cleaned rooms early in the morning, whether people were sleeping or not. The showers were tricky to figure out and were not always working well, also you have to go through the kitchen in front of the communal tv to get to the girls bathroom/showers, making it awkward. Very small, which is good because its cosy but limited people to meet and not a party hostel at all. Not very close to the beach.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernando Pereira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

15 August 2012 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, confortable, and the people are just so helpfull and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing! One of the best hostels that I stayed in my life!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well designed hostel with spacious lockers and bottom bunks- more than enough room to sit up in bed! Kitchen was always clean and excellent range of films and facilites, free wi fi, tea and coffee, staff were very friendly and helpful. one of the best hostels I've visited in Croatia

Disliked: as it's all on one floor any noise made in the communal area or late check ins is easily heard in bedrooms


See all Split hostels
See all Split hotels