HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Split hostels
See all Split hotels

Reviews of Tchaikovsky Hostel Split

Hostel | Petra Ilica Cajkovskog 4, Split, Croatia 21000

93.8% Overall Rating

175 out of 175 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/12/2013)

"The friendliness of the staff was incredible. Spotless clean, good location, great facilities. Highly recommended!"

Read all Tchaikovsky Hostel Split reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

"Reception hours are from 8 am to 10 pm. The hostel has to be contacted at least 24 hours prior to arrival if arriving after Reception Hours. Visitor Tax in Split is 7 kn per person, per night. This charge will be added to the total charge upon arrival! Other taxes are included in the price. The total balance is due in full at the hostel upon check-in. The hostel has a cancellation policy of 24 hours for individual bookings and 7 days for group bookings. To cancel your reservation or any particular night from the booking, please contact the Front Desk at least 24 hours prior to arrival (the latest until 12pm the previous day) for individual bookings and 7 days prior to arrival for group bookings. If the reservation is not canceled in advance, it will be seen as a “No Show” and your credit card will be charged the first night’s total charge. If the reservation is not amended (abbreviated) 24 h prior to check in, at arrival the whole length of the original booking will be charged, as it is not possible to shorten the booking when checking in." Group booking will need to cancel 7 days prior to check in

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Split?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Split

Rodrigo Apartments
20.71 USD

Apartment 85.3% 21 reviews
Hotspot Hostel
27.61 USD

Hostel 73.3% 69 reviews
Guesthouse Fjaka
47.09 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Peruzovic
28.98 USD

Hostel 92.8% 206 reviews
Situs hostel
29.88 USD

Hostel 87.9% 92 reviews
Hostel Split Wine Garden
13.95 USD

Hostel 82.7% 27 reviews
Apartments - Budimir
27.17 USD

Apartment 76.6% 16 reviews
Apartments Nikolla
21.73 USD

Hostel 89.4% 224 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.8%

Overall Rating

175 out of 175 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tchaikovsky Hostel Split'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 160 of 173 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is amazing, you get your own little hidey hole, equipped with curtin so you don,t have to worry about anyone waking you up at night. The staff are awesome, nothinh a problem.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel with helpful staff and a warm atmosphere. Would stay with again. Thanks.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel. Very clean and friendly. One of the best I have stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This has to be one of the best hostels in Europe! It's a short 10 minute walk to the port area of Split. The staff are so friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean, modern, and have good ari-con! Would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: No negatives at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Luiza Barbosa Curi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2012 Ana Luiza would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing and really helpfull. The place is clean, beautiful and very confortable. I felt like home.

Disliked: Nothing! It is amazing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristen Wilks

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012 Kristen would recommend this property

Liked: the most i've felt like home while away - definitely one of the best hostels i've ever stayed in! the rooms were spacious & the beds were fantastic with their private shelves, curtains, powerpoint & lights. everything was very clean, even the bathrooms. showers were a bit fiddly, but nice and hot & the water pressure was good. it's not a party hostel, but the staff (who were wonderful) can point you towards bars & pub crawls, & the cosy common room is quite social. there's also a large selection of movies, free tea, coffee & cereal & fast, reliable wifi.

Disliked: my bed & the floor were a little bit creaky.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Phillip, the owner, greeted me with a warm welcome, setting the tone of my short one night stay. The facilities are newly renovated and reminded me of a chic residence I would keep myself back in the United States. I have nothing but the absolute confidence that this business will thrive. As intended, this is a hostel for those more mature and looking for a quality time. Tchaikovsy's is the single best accomodation I've stayed in during my five weeks through Europe. I should mention that I've split my stays in 4 star hotels as well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kate Williamson

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: One of the cleanest hostels I have ever stayed in, curtains on all the beds a good touch, however limited the AC getting through. Good quality fittings and design, staff were all great, bfast good and good coffee machine. Close to a big supermarket. Has a small kitchen with a jug and microwave.

Disliked: If you are looking for a decent shower after sail croatia, this kinda sucks as you have to hold the shower head - not only to wash your hair, but has a button you have to push as well to get the water to flow - great pressure though... Also all the doors lock behind you so you have to take your key everywhere. Also no mirrors in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, curtains on each bunk bed, very friendly and helpful staff, clean, safe and secure, seemed to be a fairly good location, offered different activities and day trips, good wi fi all around hostel, cosy and homely atmosphere

Disliked: Cleaned rooms early in the morning, whether people were sleeping or not. The showers were tricky to figure out and were not always working well, also you have to go through the kitchen in front of the communal tv to get to the girls bathroom/showers, making it awkward. Very small, which is good because its cosy but limited people to meet and not a party hostel at all. Not very close to the beach.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernando Pereira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

15 August 2012 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, confortable, and the people are just so helpfull and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing! One of the best hostels that I stayed in my life!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well designed hostel with spacious lockers and bottom bunks- more than enough room to sit up in bed! Kitchen was always clean and excellent range of films and facilites, free wi fi, tea and coffee, staff were very friendly and helpful. one of the best hostels I've visited in Croatia

Disliked: as it's all on one floor any noise made in the communal area or late check ins is easily heard in bedrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are lovely, helpful and accommodating. The atmosphere is very relaxed - one of the friendliest hostels I've stayed in. The dorms are spacious and clean and the location is ideal - less than five mins walk to the Riva. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -The attention and care of the staff was exceptional -The hostel itself was modern, well-designed and comfortable -There are bunk-curtains for privacy, a personal powerpoint and a reading light each bed -Air-conditioning and wi-fi in the bedrooms

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Cote

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The small size, cleanliness, and very helpful staff. The balconies were also a very nice touch.

Disliked: The only problem I had was that there were no lights in the stairwell leading up to the hostel at night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the hotel overall, the bunks were really spacious and comfortable and the lockers for your luggage were huge and all your belongings could be safe.

Disliked: The staff moved all of our washing without our permission and without telling us when they first saw it that it should be moved. Retrieving our clothes off the washing line we found that all our nice clothes had peg indentations, which have ruined all of our clothes and will never come out. They never apologised and when one lady called the owner to quite obviously tell him about us saying that we were unhappy it had happened, she was mimicking us and laughing at us, knowing full well we were in the room opposite with the door open and we could hear her. She then finished and came in to rattle off some reason, obviously fed to her by the owner on the phone, as to why they had done what they did, which was not in the slightest bit true as to what the owner had told us that morning when we hung our slightly damp washing in the room. All we wanted was an apology, because otherwise we really enjoyed this hostel, but after that all we got was patronizing conversations.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noosha Jalili

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2012 Noosha would recommend this property

Liked: Filip and Maja are lovely people and are so accommodating. I originally was meant to be staying for 2 nights but loved the Hostel so much I cut my trip to Hvar short to come back to Split. They organise very affordable tours, have great comfortable beds with curtains, power sockets and light for privacy as well as your own locker! I really get right at home. Breakfast is supplied- great muesli and cereal as well as tea and coffee whenever you like. I wish all hostels were like this! great free WIFI too. Make sure you visit Krka National Park!

Disliked: Everything was perfect!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place - great vibe, great staff. Really pretty and clean. Filip was super helpful and friendly, and so was the girl in the afternoon. I appreciated the privacy and security in the rooms... Everything was comfortable. Would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: It was a bit hard to find, but i did arrive at 12.30am...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Likes: Nice staff. Air conditioned. Common area for meeting people. Kitchen facilities

Disliked: Dislikes: location is slightly out of the way but split is very small and it doesn't really matter!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was lovely and clean, the rooms were very spacious and the staff were friendly

Disliked: When we stayed there, the hostel did not seem that socialable and we did not meet many people. I do however, think that we were unlucky. There were a few groups of 3+ people and it were these people who did not make the effort to speak to anyone else

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Marr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: An impressively tidy and charming hostile. It had really friendly staff and had an good range of friendly faces to meet. Their safety measures are reassuring (they provide lock and key for three levels of personal security: a lock on the property itself, a lock on your bedroom door, and a locker for personal items in your room.) It's also within walking distance of Old Town and the Riva, which was refreshing and a noteworthy plus.

Disliked: The location has one drawback: the beach is pretty far away, and clubs are difficult to find nearby unless you want to join in on the bar crawls. While the promoters are exceptionally attractive, the event attracts a pretty sloppy crowd that just get piss drunk. It's better to meet people yourself and just hit a bar for a good chat on the Riva. (Just FYI bar crawls and the promoters have no affiliation with Hotel Tchaikovsky, so don't be confused by that little peice of the review)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bonnie Darter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012 Bonnie would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, extremely spacish rooms, everything was really clean, the hosts were lovely!

Disliked: Bonnie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great and well run Hostel. I am going back after I have been on the island of Hvar.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graeme Best

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 Graeme would recommend this property

Liked: pretty much everything

Disliked: would be helpful if breakfast was available

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Pynenburg-Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best hostel I have ever stayed in! Super clean, everything is new, the rooms are well thought out and have everything you will need, the lounge has a big tv, close to everything, never had to wait for shower, gave free towel, reception staff were amazing andwho helpful & they offered and organized a tour to the Krka National park for the day. Amazing!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nichole Chamberlin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 Nichole would recommend this property

Liked: Very new. Everything was very clean. They have lockers int he rooms for your valuables and book exchange.

Disliked: Nichole left no negative feedback.


See all Split hostels
See all Split hotels