We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Split hostels
See all Split hotels

Reviews of Hostel Ana

Apartment | Hrvojeva 6, Split, Croatia 21000

60.1% Overall Rating

48 out of 91 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/09/2014)

"When the people running the hostel and their friends fell asleep finally and it was quiet enough to get some sleep."

Read all Hostel Ana reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Split?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Split

Silvergate Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 82.2% 170 reviews
Youth Hostel Split
31.63 USD

Hostel 78.6% 4 reviews
Hostel Kiss
13.24 USD

Hostel 63.2% 49 reviews
In the Palace
24.83 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Bell tower Hostel
22.35 USD

Hostel 67.5% 40 reviews
Old Square Hostel
124.15 USD

Hostel 79.0% 3 reviews
Split Hostel Fiesta Siesta
19.86 USD

Hostel 89.3% 21 reviews
Apartment City Center
24.67 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
60.1%

Overall Rating

48 out of 91 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Ana'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
51.2%
Cleanliness
56.0%
Staff
57.6%
Value
57.6%
Safety
49.6%
Refine your results Showing 75 of 84 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2014

Liked: When the people running the hostel and their friends fell asleep finally and it was quiet enough to get some sleep.

Disliked: Another example of a hostel I experienced this summer that should not exist and for sure, shouldn't appear on the pages of the service. Hostel is run by a bunch of kids and their local friends being in the hostel all the time. If you are a girl, don;t go to the bathroom alone - they will stand behind the door and peep on you through the holes while you are peeing - yes the same guy that is the main guy in the reception! And while you open the door and see them running away, they are just laughing. Their main etertainment is to spy on people in the hostel thourhg every hole, glass door or eardropping though the door (the floor is squeaking guys, how naive are you?). Everything that can go wrong in a hostel is there: *dirty betahrooms with no locks in the "door" and the staff and their friends spying on girls peeking though the holes in the "door" *you get no kies, no lockers in the rooms (so your room as well as the main door is open to everyone who wants to enter) *staff unprofessional, infantil, unfriendly, not treating guests seriously, not allowing alcohol inside but drinking themselves *uncomfortable, squeaking bunbeds *no hot water *dirty besheets (not smelling good, blood stains)/no besheets We came late in the eveining and left early in the morning. Thanks to this hostel we didn;t feel like staying in Split any minute longer.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Victoria Leadbeater

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014

Liked: It is in a great location, right next to the Diocletian Palace's entrance and an easy 5/10 minute walk to the main harbour. It also has a nice balcony and seating area.

Disliked: Although in a great location, it's really difficult to find as there are no signs and none of the locals seemed to have heard of it. There is no A.C or secure lockers available as stated. The rooms didn't even have a bin or mirror, there was a pane of glass missing from our window plus only a single socket for the whole room. None of the bathrooms had proper doors, only flimsy fold away doors which didn't shut properly, left large gaps to see through and didn't have locks. There was no hot water for showers and available WiFi was confined to the balcony. Having paid for a 4 bed dorm, on our 2nd night there, we came back to find the owner had put 3 extra mattresses on the floor for new people without any warning, apology or explanation.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is the best ever.

Disliked: No AC so it's pretty hot and security lockers are a definite necessity.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Joao Mateus Espindola da Silveira Batista

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2014 Joao Mateus would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and peaceful roomates.

Disliked: Our beds and hot room.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014

Liked: Great location, friendly owner

Disliked: Creaky bunk beds, bathroom literally falling apart, strange sewage smell

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Rothney

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Ana has plenty of character to offer. The balcony is an incredible place to meet backpackers and new people, and everyone just hung out, relaxed and had a laugh there with a few beers . Everyone is made to feel at home by lovely people, great location, interesting fellow travellers + comfortable, clean, well maintained lodgings. It really was a pleasure to be there, I miss it already and i will be returning with more friends!

Disliked: Nothing, it was just fantastic, the highlight of my trip!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Shane Sinkinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013

Liked: Leaving

Disliked: Ive stayed in hostels for $2 a night better than this!! There is no air con in the dorms and they don't actually have lockers either! Which is fine but dont advertise it then!! This place was dirty and they are not there to help you they are rude and the common room is full of locals where you feel more than uncomfortable to even sit in! I could go on but what's the point

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very well situated.

Disliked: The bathrooms were dirty, no toilet paper and some doors would not lock. The wifi was bad. We had a little air circulation, even with a fan.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013

Liked: Location is good.

Disliked: Secure lockers don't really exists, bathroom was not so clean.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012

Liked: The balcony was nice.

Disliked: Not too clean, didn't look safe to leave things about.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kate Butchart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2012

Liked: Convenient location

Disliked: The common room was full at all times with obnoxious, loud, unwelcoming people who seemed to live there and ignored me the whole time. The staff were unhelpful, the whole place was filthy and looked like it was falling apart, the doors dont lock and no lockers are offered, so there is only the main door to the building securing your things.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Csehi László András

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Csehi would recommend this property

Liked: Location, wi-fi

Disliked: 1. Too many ants in the room 2. Hardcore noisy, because under the 4 bed dorm there is a supermarket. The supermarkets air condition is too loud at night. At 4:30 the market workers take the wares under the window, extremly loud, believe me. 3. Somebody stole from the shared fridge (two yoghurts) and the shared bathroom (shaver gel) 4. The lock of the 4 bed dorm is bad. It's not simple to open/close it with the key without waking up the other dorms people. 5. In the men's toilet there's no WC seatboard 6. Suffni tunning vizesblokkok

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Roisin Durcan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Roisin would recommend this property

Liked: great location, very easy/chilled hostel & nice big space for mixing with people. friendly people there easy to mix with

Disliked: can't bring own alcohol in and what was there was pretty limited

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to all the main sights, many showers, fairly clean, terrace was nice and a simple breakfast was provided. For what you pay for it is okay, simple enough place to stay.

Disliked: Was pretty noisy and continually busy, kitchen wasn't very good, beds slightly uncomfortable.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

yakut ersoy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2011 yakut would recommend this property

Liked: the owners are very polite and nice mother and doughter. and the location is perfect. 1 minute to old town and 10 minutes walk to bus station and ferries

Disliked: yakut left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mika Dronyk

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Mika would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location. did the job for the price

Disliked: staff a bit lazy and hard to find...would have been crap if it was in the busy season

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cheapest property and its worth for this money! And they checked me in in the early morning. And location is perfect!!!

Disliked: -

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this property was good.

Disliked: On our arrival we were told that they had overbooked and although we had payed a deposit this didn't actually guarentee a place to stay. We were told that we could sleep on the terrace at a discounted rate. There were also 11 others sleeping on the terrace! We were able to sleep in a dorm for one night, which again was overbooked and they managed to squeeze 13 people in an 8 bed dorm.... i recommend the terrace- much cooler! The bathroom was pretty grim, freezing cold showers and the tiniest toilet!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kirk Nankivell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

22 August 2011 Kirk would recommend this property

Liked: Hmm

Disliked: Too many people / disorganized

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Chloe Bell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2011

Liked: Good location

Disliked: The is a lack of security, when we arrived around 7am the frontdoor was wide open and the guy at reception was asleep, the rooms dont lock so anyone could have walked in. People had asked for their passports to be put in the saftey deposit box but instead they were just left in a side draw. We had booked to stay in a 10 bed dorm but they had lost our booking and overbooked so the was 14 people sharing the room. We had to sleep on campbeds and two girls had to share a top bunk. To get to our "en-suite" we had to walk through the reception, the common room and the kitchen. The oven was also not working. If you want a cheap bed for the night then it would do.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Patrick Atkinson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2011

Liked: nothing !

Disliked: The hostel was very expensive and unclean for example there was blood and dirt on the bedsheets , on the bedpost there was what looked like a vomit stain . the toilets had no lock other than a weak magnet , only one of the toilets had a seat and the toilet paper was in very short supply . the kitchen was dirty and the oven / hobs didnt work so there were no cooking facilities as advertised , no kettle , we were forced to cook pasta in a microwave . they charged you for the use of the internet . the owners were very unfriendly and created a horrible atmosphere which made it very uncomfortable. you could not bring your own alcohol into the hostel but instead they offered to sell you beer at extortionate prices. they tried to push the bar crawl on you forcefully . the security in the hostel was next to none , with no lockers or front door key. an example of this is when i walked in at 4 oclock in the morning and the only security was a sleeping member of staff on the sofa . myself and 5 other people made up of three different groups decided to leave due to the poor overall quality of this excuse for a hostel..would highly advise that you do not choose this hostel to stay in ,in my opinion it should be closed down.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2011

Liked: the location

Disliked: everything else.... The Toilet didnt even have prper doors, there where no lockers there, the oven in the kitchen was broken, no locks on the dorms.... Everything a proper hostel should have, they didnt.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location for beach, bars and sights

Disliked: Probably the toilet facilities

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is unbeatable. The rooms are a good size and everything is clean. Reception is friendly and amenable. Loved the terrace as a common area in fine weather.

Disliked: no hand towels or tea-towels, not enough toilet paper for 24 hours, the girls showers open onto a door into the kitchen (no privacy there). No drainer for dishes so they swim in a tray of water. No hot water in any sinks. Beware the showers run cold. There is no locker only a keyless cupboard. There were always guys (not guests) sleeping on the terrace, the only common area.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Unbeatable location, opposite palace gate, in the market and v v close to supermarkets, ferry port and bus station. Fairly clean, and until room was overcrowded lots of space, big bunks. Good wifi.

Disliked: Unapologetic, fairly useless staff. Kitchen broken, had to find this out for ourselves. Booked a ten bed girls dorm, ended up being full with three extra camp beds set up in including a guy sleeping there and VERY hot (no air con). People sleeping on beds in corridor and on terrace, there was a huge thunderstorm overnight and they and all their stuff were utterly soaked.


See all Split hostels
See all Split hotels