HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Split hostels
See all Split hotels

Reviews of Al's Place Hostel

Hostel | Kruziceva 10, Split, Croatia 21000

87.8% Overall Rating

75 out of 82 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/07/2014)

Carolyn Feng thinks…

"Very close to town centre, walking distance to everything, helpful and friendly receptionist, comfortable bed."

Read all Al's Place Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.77

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

We keep our prices lower because we do NOT have 24hr reception. Reception is open from 9.30am till 2.00pm and 5.00pm till 9.30pm. NEW ARRIVALS CANNOT ACCESS THE HOSTEL OUTSIDE OF THESE TIMES. ***************************************************************** SUMMER SALES ROOMS: The basic double room is for two people with shared bathroom with maximum 4 other guests. There are fans in the rooms, but there are NO kitchen facilities. Be aware this is a low price for Split,so no luxury here.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Split?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Split

Hostel Sunseekers
31.04 USD

Hostel 94.1% 106 reviews
Hostel Palace
31.89 USD

Apartment 67.3% 104 reviews
Split hostel booze & snooze
35.43 USD

Hostel 83.3% 179 reviews
Apartman Simbol
33.66 USD

Apartment 99.2% 38 reviews
City square hostel
132.87 USD

Hostel 55.9% 7 reviews
Split Clock Tower
35.43 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel Dioklecijan
53.99 USD

Hostel 85.7% 88 reviews
Ela Guesthouse
27.28 USD

Guesthouse 74.3% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

75 out of 82 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Al's Place Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 70 of 76 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Carolyn Feng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

16 July 2014 Carolyn would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to town centre, walking distance to everything, helpful and friendly receptionist, comfortable bed.

Disliked: Very hard to find, however most small hostels are scattered in split old town.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Al's Place is such a home-like environment and everyone becomes family very quickly. The owner Al was very nice and friendly and sits down with you explaining the city on the map. It is very unique to any other hostel we have stayed in before! It seems like there are many rules but really it is all common sense and respect for other guests as usual. The place was very cute with only 2 bedrooms of bunks/beds. Great place for backpackers and young groups. The location is excellent once you know where you are.

Disliked: On arrival, the internet was down. We stayed 3 nights and it wasn't running (not owners fault). I didn't like leaving our passports with Al although he promised they would be kept in a safe. (A person without a passport is a person without a home after all!) The shower head is one which you have to hold but that wasnt too big of a deal. Al walks in and out of the rooms switching off lights and cleaning up for new guests often without knocking first and controls the AC remote, setting it on a timer if need be.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Al was incredibly friendly and helpful with information. The place is very chilled out and had home away from home atmosphere.

Disliked: Could do with lockable lockers but that was being arranged that week!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the 5 people dorm which is not on the same property as the main hostel but rather close. Al is the greatest, no complaints had an amazing time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013

Liked: This place is good in terms of location and having a kitchen to cook food in. I meet some great people here so that is the only other reason my ratings are a bit higher.

Disliked: Where do I start! This place could be a real gem if it wasn't for the over obsessive owner. You couldn't walk out of a room and leave the light on for 5mins without him turning it off and constantly telling you to, apparently power goes up 20% each year! ha!. You weren't allowed to use the AC and he kept the remote so the place was like a sauna all the time! I mean you pay to stay somewhere you should be allowed the comforts of the room you are in!!! He also constantly was walking into our room and moving peoples things which should never happen!! It felt as if you were being watched all the time with these things making me feel as if I was a teenager who didn't know how to do anything myself. It also seemed as if different rules applied for everyone like I was checking out but couldn't check in to my new hostel till 1pm but I wasn't allowed to stay in the building till then yet the day before a girl was there all day waiting for her bus! So if you don't mind the "over parenting" and somewhere where the owner is money obsessed then this place would be perfect but to me it just makes me not want to stay in a place.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, and fantastic staff make Al's an intriguing place to stay. Lots of interesting fellow travellers, and curious tales from Al!

Disliked: Beds aren't very comfy, but other aspects make up for this.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joseph Maclarne

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2013 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: ALs place was a really nice stay, the hostel is really small and cozy. The staff (Ivanna) was really friendly and it was nice to talk to her. Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to meet al but maybe if we come again we can get the chance. Beds are comfortable and the location couldn't be better. Also would highly recommend www.summer-blues.com it was amazing. Was sad to leave split and Al's place. Definitely recommend staying here.

Disliked: The wifi wasn't as strong in our room and would occasionally go out. Other than that everything was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was everything described in ad

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and Location are Great. :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location and the good advice from the owner

Disliked: No breakfast

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really cute and cosy, right next to the Old Town and within walking distance of nearby beaches. Al was very helpful for the nights we were there and although our train broke down and we got in very late on the first night, he was really kind and made sure there was someone to meet us, past curfew.

Disliked: Bathrooms are a bit cramped and bunkbeds haven't got ladders

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location at a good price

Disliked: Low standard, but that is to be expected at that price.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

KYUNGHEE SON

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2012 KYUNGHEE would recommend this property

Liked: Al was really nice and friendly. and he always keeps the whole hostel clean. People I met during my stay were all nice!

Disliked: Small. (but cozy!) The floor and the ceiling creaked.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is a nice small hostel, good to get in contact with other travellers, well located in the city centre. Very clean. Good kitchen facilities.

Disliked: on the one hand I must admit that Al is a definitely nice guy (with special english humour...) but on the other hand we were a bit annoyed about having to lock every single door everytime leaving or entering the hostel or trying to switch the light immediately off when leaving the bathroom (to avoid to get an admonishment by Al who seemed to be around all the time ;)). that's the only negative point - it is a hostel full of special rules whose compliance is controlled, day and night. Beside this, the hostel is really recommendable!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Will Armstrong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

20 June 2012 Will would recommend this property

Liked: Everything Al's hostel is amazing I will reccomend it to all of my friends. This is mostly in part due to the character of the building and the friendliness of al and his assistant. The building is in an awesome location close enough to everything that you want to do without getting main strip prices. Al really goes the extra mile for each and everyone of his guests, showing them locations on maps, local hangouts, secluded beaches, and amazing markets. He'll even sometimes. Come out for a beer or two.

Disliked: Will left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Ridgewell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Al is the friendliest host I've met - I was made to feel very welcome, and it was great to have a knowledgable guide with loads of local info. This is a good small hostel in a great location right in the old town, with a very homely feel. Extended my stay from 2 nights to 4.

Disliked: wifi was broken but I'm assured this was a temporary thing and there were plenty of hotspots in town.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Al is a good source of local information

Disliked: The dormitories were small for the amount of beds in them, and there was no comfortable seating area in which to chill out.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Roberts

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Al's Place was amazing!!! We had lots of fun and Al is so kind and helpful, would recommend this place to anybody! Thanks for a great stay!

Disliked: NOTHING!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessie Kneisler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Jessie would recommend this property

Liked: Al was super friendly and helpful. Quick check-in and nice community feel.

Disliked: N/A

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the centre of everything!! Staff really helpful

Disliked: Check in times were not very helpful, between 9.30 and 12 then only 5-9pm not brilliant when arriving between those hours

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It really was like a home from home, staff were brilliant. It also could not have been in a better location, inside the palace walls, straight into the main hustle and bustle of the amazing old town.

Disliked: There was one rocky step which got me every time I walked in or out the hostel ha!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

grant fallon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2011 grant would recommend this property

Liked: it was good. friendly staff, nice rooms.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Al is a fantastic host. He is extremely friendly with a great sense of humour. The hostel is small but very friendly and as a result you feel at home and meet many other like minded travellers. The location is perfect, right near the center of Split and Al can provide a wealth of local information. I would recommend Al's place highly to anyone thinking of staying in Split. Cheers Al!

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joanne Stannard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2011 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, within old town

Disliked: It gets very hot inside during the day and they only turn the air con on at night time

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Salter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2011 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and awesome staff.

Disliked: Nothing


See all Split hostels
See all Split hotels