We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Pula hostels

Reviews of Riva Hostel

Hostel | Riva 2, Pula, Croatia 52100

93.8% Overall Rating

101 out of 105 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/07/2015)

Sally Meadows thinks…

"The Riva Hostel has a lovely roof terrace with bar. It's location is super, very near the centre. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly."

Read all Riva Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 14.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

1) Check-out is at 11am, as our scheduled cleaning time is from 10am-2pm (14h) every day of the week. During this cleaning time, we kindly ask that the hostel be vacant. If you would like to leave your bags and other personal items on hold with us after you check out, please ask us in advance. 2) Check in is open all day, but if you are running late or arriving earlier than the arrival time that you had given us either in your confirmation e-mail or online booking, please inform us as soon as possible via e-mail, text message, or phone call!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pula?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Pula

Hostel Pula
17.13 USD

Hostel 85.1% 10 reviews
TeenMotive
21.91 USD

Hostel 66.7% 9 reviews
Hostel Pipistrelo Pula
18.56 USD

Hostel 76.3% 38 reviews
Very Central Apartment Maria
27.13 USD

Apartment 81.0% 21 reviews
Apartments Olive
17.85 USD

Apartment 90.2% 9 reviews
Apartment Lavender
17.85 USD

Apartment 95.9% 7 reviews
Apartment Rosemary
17.85 USD

Hostel 99.0% 6 reviews
Hotel Omir
42.83 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.2% 43 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.8%

Overall Rating

101 out of 105 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riva Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 87 of 103 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sally Meadows

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2015 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: The Riva Hostel has a lovely roof terrace with bar. It's location is super, very near the centre. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Sally left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Grzic

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 June 2015 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, friendly staff and decent kitchen.

Disliked: Have to vacate between 11am and 2pm

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pumping for the showers on the fourth floor is a bit dodging thus producing irregular water temperatures. Not a real issue. More of a suggestion

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jacqueline Young

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2015 Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT staff - very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

Disliked: Jacqueline left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place to stay in Pule. Right in the center. Room are spacious and very clean. Every place is clean. Shower are hot. Staff is very helpfull. Kitchen small but has every thing you need. I would definatly stay there again!

Disliked: Entrance should be more clear! We went right insteand of going straight. This is only nice critisicism, cause I would stay there again. Add thick curtens in the room to avoid light in the morning, the shower curtens should be thick not transparent..!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff!

Disliked: /

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

29 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very cozy bar with a terrace where you can have a drink under the stars.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very well located with a nice terrace.

Disliked: bathrooms are not closed to the dormitories

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Diego Ferla

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2014

Liked: Location was great.

Disliked: The exchange rate was ridiculous! They really cheated on me! But if you want to pay by card, they will charge 5% more! Cheating on you again! I asked for a taxi reservation and they said yes. After they said this service was not available anymore. Then, finally there was a taxi waiting for me. The girl on the check in was nice and friendly, but the one I had to pay was not that nice. Quite expensive for a hostel. I booked a 6bed room but there was 7 beds on it!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

16 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice cheap and clean. Really cool old building and nice and close to town

Disliked: Wifi is very temperamental

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aine Canavan

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 September 2014 Aine would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and facilities. Also great price.

Disliked: The showers got cold very easily.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very family atmospher and are happy to help at any time

Disliked: Nil

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities and cleanliness of this hostel cannot be faulted. Terrace bar is a nice area. room was large size. Manager let us print off our boarding passes for the plane and the guy who checked us in directed us well to the local sights and amenities. We were staying for a festival and he knew the bus route we should take.

Disliked: The staff to be extremely rude, (though not all, some were very helpful), and they were INSISTENT that we completely leave the entire hostel between 11-2PM. This is obviously extremely inconvenient and we refused many times. We were also told off for coming home late and getting water from the kitchen at night as it is closed off between 11PM-8AM. Expect to be thirsty if you stay here. We were only allowed one set of keys between all of us and at times we were locked out of the hostel because of this. Asking questions made us feel like the staff thought we were a burden, and they kept saying our room was messy. Well, as there were us 4 girls and a further two in the room with NO storage space what so ever, we needed to un-pack as we had booked the hostel for a week. If you don't want guests to leave shoes on the floor and clothes under the beds then please provide storage. When we came to pay we were also made to split the bill between us even though some of us were staying an extra night. Apparently using a calculator would have been too much hassle and we were met with much eye rolling and sighing at asking if we could split the bill fourways...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

francis mcguire

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

10 September 2014 francis would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very well located just a short stagger from the main square. The bar on the roof top in a very nice gathering place and easy to meet random like minded people plus the drink is pretty cheap. The staff working there are real cool people and extremely helpful and up for the laugh. 10 out of 10

Disliked: Leaving

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

OLGA SEROVA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

08 September 2014 OLGA would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great! Hostel crew were always there to help. So glad I have stayed there. Very chilled out!

Disliked: OLGA left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Riva is a cool, friendly place to stay and the staff are exactly the same. In a great location, the hostel has real character and ambience but also the basics are really taken care of - the facilities are good, clean and comfortable. Everyone who works there puts in a huge effort to make your stay a positive experience and we just couldn't have expected more from them. Visit Croatia. Visit Pula. Visit Riva - it will be better than you hope for.

Disliked: Absolutely no dislikes but maybe explain breakfast details a bit more? ( Clutching a critical straws here ....)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pierce McKenna

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Pierce would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful and fun. There is a shuttle that will bring you to the more distant of attractions for next to nothing and arrange to pick you up again after. It's located in the middle of everything and the atmosphere is just brilliant.

Disliked: Genuinely nothing negative to say.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is great, easy to reach, you can walk by food from the mainstation

Disliked: bathroom was a little dirty to be picky: everything is labeled on what to not do, feels a little bit like it's expected you don't have any common sense (but that's just minor)

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere - sociable, easy to meet people. Very close to centre of town and also on the seafront which is nice, and only a short walk from the bus station.

Disliked: Not all that close to the beach -we were told a 40 min walk - so we had to take a bus instead. (however buses are frequent and cheap, and it takes less than 15 mins, so this was hardly a problem).

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and modern, located in the centre of town near bar / clubs.

Disliked: Long way from beaches - not walkable. Also won't let you drink your own alcohol after 8pm on terrace, making you buy theirs instead.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location. Easy walk to shops & restaurants. Lovely view of the harbour from rooms. WiFi and plugs readily accessible. Check out at reasonable time. Baggage holding was helpful.

Disliked: Bar selection was limited

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time, met some great people in a great place. Honestly cant fault it; worth every penny

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Maclean

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful to us throughout our stay. We arrived at 7am, they stored our rucksacks until we could check in, offered us showers and towels, and then when they had finished their night shift they even showed us round the town, talking to other Croatians to help get us breakfast. The hostel was in a great location, it was really quiet and so so clean. We stayed in a large 8 bed with ensuite and we had lots of room.

Disliked: Nothing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The roof terrace was really nice! Location is good, you can reach the centre of Pula quite easily.

Disliked: Staff was helpful when you asked questions, but never smiled or greeted you in a kind way. We booked a double room with seaview, but it is absolutely not worth paying 37€pp for that room. The view you pay for is not like the picture on their website, our view was of an industrial part of the harbour with cranes etc. Would not book that again. Also, the road between the hostel (and thus our room) and the water is incredibly noisy!! So don't book a room with seaview, especially not such an expensive one. Quite hot, as there was only a fan. Showers are okay, but it's see-through glass and there are 2 showers next to each other in one shower room for girls. So whenever someone would open the door, anyone walking by in the hallway could see you showering... You can lock the door, but then you are using the whole bathroom (with 2 showers), blocking anyone else from using the sinks/other shower...

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: After reading the good reviews online, I disappointed. The place was ordinary, nothing more.

The property's response is...


See all Pula hostels