We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Pula hostels

Reviews of Riva Hostel

Hostel | Riva 2, Pula, Croatia 52100

92.6% Overall Rating

92 out of 96 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/09/2014)

"Facilities and cleanliness of this hostel cannot be faulted. Terrace bar is a nice area. room was large size. Manager let us print off our boarding passes for the plane and the guy who checked us in directed us well to…"

Read all Riva Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.49

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

1) Check-out is at 11am, as our scheduled cleaning time is from 10am-2pm (14h) every day of the week. During this cleaning time, we kindly ask that the hostel be vacant. If you would like to leave your bags and other personal items on hold with us after you check out, please ask us in advance. 2) Check in is open all day, but if you are running late or arriving earlier than the arrival time that you had given us either in your confirmation e-mail or online booking, please inform us as soon as possible via e-mail, text message, or phone call!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pula?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Pula

Hostel Pula
18.61 USD

Hostel 88.2% 7 reviews
Very Central Apartment Maria
31.57 USD

Apartment 81.0% 21 reviews
TeenMotive
211.85 USD

Hostel 62.9% 8 reviews
Apartments Arena
15.22 USD

Apartment 88.9% 155 reviews
Scaletta Hotel
50.68 USD

Hotel 3 star 91.4% 67 reviews
Hotel Omir
41.54 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.3% 42 reviews
Apartments Olive
16.62 USD

Apartment 90.2% 9 reviews
Apartment Lavender
13.29 USD

Apartment 95.9% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

92 out of 96 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riva Hostel'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 81 of 95 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

29 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very cozy bar with a terrace where you can have a drink under the stars.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very well located with a nice terrace.

Disliked: bathrooms are not closed to the dormitories

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Diego Ferla

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2014

Liked: Location was great.

Disliked: The exchange rate was ridiculous! They really cheated on me! But if you want to pay by card, they will charge 5% more! Cheating on you again! I asked for a taxi reservation and they said yes. After they said this service was not available anymore. Then, finally there was a taxi waiting for me. The girl on the check in was nice and friendly, but the one I had to pay was not that nice. Quite expensive for a hostel. I booked a 6bed room but there was 7 beds on it!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

16 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice cheap and clean. Really cool old building and nice and close to town

Disliked: Wifi is very temperamental

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aine Canavan

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 September 2014 Aine would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and facilities. Also great price.

Disliked: The showers got cold very easily.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very family atmospher and are happy to help at any time

Disliked: Nil

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities and cleanliness of this hostel cannot be faulted. Terrace bar is a nice area. room was large size. Manager let us print off our boarding passes for the plane and the guy who checked us in directed us well to the local sights and amenities. We were staying for a festival and he knew the bus route we should take.

Disliked: The staff to be extremely rude, (though not all, some were very helpful), and they were INSISTENT that we completely leave the entire hostel between 11-2PM. This is obviously extremely inconvenient and we refused many times. We were also told off for coming home late and getting water from the kitchen at night as it is closed off between 11PM-8AM. Expect to be thirsty if you stay here. We were only allowed one set of keys between all of us and at times we were locked out of the hostel because of this. Asking questions made us feel like the staff thought we were a burden, and they kept saying our room was messy. Well, as there were us 4 girls and a further two in the room with NO storage space what so ever, we needed to un-pack as we had booked the hostel for a week. If you don't want guests to leave shoes on the floor and clothes under the beds then please provide storage. When we came to pay we were also made to split the bill between us even though some of us were staying an extra night. Apparently using a calculator would have been too much hassle and we were met with much eye rolling and sighing at asking if we could split the bill fourways...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

francis mcguire

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

10 September 2014 francis would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very well located just a short stagger from the main square. The bar on the roof top in a very nice gathering place and easy to meet random like minded people plus the drink is pretty cheap. The staff working there are real cool people and extremely helpful and up for the laugh. 10 out of 10

Disliked: Leaving

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

OLGA SEROVA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

08 September 2014 OLGA would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great! Hostel crew were always there to help. So glad I have stayed there. Very chilled out!

Disliked: OLGA left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Riva is a cool, friendly place to stay and the staff are exactly the same. In a great location, the hostel has real character and ambience but also the basics are really taken care of - the facilities are good, clean and comfortable. Everyone who works there puts in a huge effort to make your stay a positive experience and we just couldn't have expected more from them. Visit Croatia. Visit Pula. Visit Riva - it will be better than you hope for.

Disliked: Absolutely no dislikes but maybe explain breakfast details a bit more? ( Clutching a critical straws here ....)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pierce McKenna

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Pierce would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful and fun. There is a shuttle that will bring you to the more distant of attractions for next to nothing and arrange to pick you up again after. It's located in the middle of everything and the atmosphere is just brilliant.

Disliked: Genuinely nothing negative to say.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is great, easy to reach, you can walk by food from the mainstation

Disliked: bathroom was a little dirty to be picky: everything is labeled on what to not do, feels a little bit like it's expected you don't have any common sense (but that's just minor)

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere - sociable, easy to meet people. Very close to centre of town and also on the seafront which is nice, and only a short walk from the bus station.

Disliked: Not all that close to the beach -we were told a 40 min walk - so we had to take a bus instead. (however buses are frequent and cheap, and it takes less than 15 mins, so this was hardly a problem).

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and modern, located in the centre of town near bar / clubs.

Disliked: Long way from beaches - not walkable. Also won't let you drink your own alcohol after 8pm on terrace, making you buy theirs instead.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location. Easy walk to shops & restaurants. Lovely view of the harbour from rooms. WiFi and plugs readily accessible. Check out at reasonable time. Baggage holding was helpful.

Disliked: Bar selection was limited

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time, met some great people in a great place. Honestly cant fault it; worth every penny

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Maclean

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful to us throughout our stay. We arrived at 7am, they stored our rucksacks until we could check in, offered us showers and towels, and then when they had finished their night shift they even showed us round the town, talking to other Croatians to help get us breakfast. The hostel was in a great location, it was really quiet and so so clean. We stayed in a large 8 bed with ensuite and we had lots of room.

Disliked: Nothing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The roof terrace was really nice! Location is good, you can reach the centre of Pula quite easily.

Disliked: Staff was helpful when you asked questions, but never smiled or greeted you in a kind way. We booked a double room with seaview, but it is absolutely not worth paying 37€pp for that room. The view you pay for is not like the picture on their website, our view was of an industrial part of the harbour with cranes etc. Would not book that again. Also, the road between the hostel (and thus our room) and the water is incredibly noisy!! So don't book a room with seaview, especially not such an expensive one. Quite hot, as there was only a fan. Showers are okay, but it's see-through glass and there are 2 showers next to each other in one shower room for girls. So whenever someone would open the door, anyone walking by in the hallway could see you showering... You can lock the door, but then you are using the whole bathroom (with 2 showers), blocking anyone else from using the sinks/other shower...

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: After reading the good reviews online, I disappointed. The place was ordinary, nothing more.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Transport to and from airport very convenient. Great air of friendliness among both staff and guests. Lovely open air sort of roof terrace bar-with large umbrella covers-very atmospheric, especially after dark. There are rooms with a terrific harbour/sea view which I stayed in on my return visit for 3 nights from 27th July.

Disliked: Unfortunately no view from the above mentioned terrace!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helga Bruckmoser

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Helga would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff, very friendly & helpful. Carmella at reception was sweet, went out of her way helping guests. Wonderful patio terrace, great it has a guest kitchen unfortunately a lot of guests were messy & lazy & didn't clean up after themselves, spoiling it for others.

Disliked: Partt of patio floor needs attention to be repaired.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pernille Drud Jensen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Pernille would recommend this property

Liked: The property look a bit suspicious from the outside and from outside the stairs. But this was just the outside and we were really surprise about the place as soon as we walked though the front door and up the stairs. The hostel is quiet big and have some very big and open rooms! :) The toilets are clean and some of the best we have seen on our 26 days of traveling. They clean the whole place everyday which is really great. The staff is really helpful with map, a lot of tips of things to see in Pula and helped us a lot with both bike rental and our trip plans from there. The location is okay and not that far from the train station. It takes about 15 minutes to get there from the station. The city centre was just around the corner. The beach was a bit far, but the busses were pretty cheap so that wasn't a problem at all.

Disliked: The only dislike was the lack of cabinets for your backpack. I wasn't at all worried about my things at Riva Hostel, but you never know who you have to share a room with so a cabinet to lock all your stuff in is not a bad thing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tera Gross

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014 Tera would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was wonderful! loved the patio and the atmosphere it created!

Disliked: NA

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bernardo cavassin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 bernardo would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was reaaally helpful. Pula was our first place in our croatia trip. The staff told us a lot of places and small towns that we had to visit, and because of him our trip was awesome!!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katarzyna Krause

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the hostel were very friendly and very helpful, they always tried to help and advise regarding any directions or recommendations in where to go and how to get there. The hostel is very large and plenty of room, more importantly, it doesn't feel like hostel at all but rather like a large hotel ;-) VEry clean and very friendly people. I will definitely recommend to stay there and if I go back to Pula I will definitely stay there.

Disliked: none


See all Pula hostels