HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Pula hostels

Reviews of Riva Hostel

Hostel | Riva 2, Pula, Croatia 52100

93.0% Overall Rating

84 out of 87 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

"Riva is a cool, friendly place to stay and the staff are exactly the same. In a great location, the hostel has real character and ambience but also the basics are really taken care of - the facilities are good, clean…"

Read all Riva Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

1) Check-out is at 11am, as our scheduled cleaning time is from 10am-2pm (14h) every day of the week. During this cleaning time, we kindly ask that the hostel be vacant. If you would like to leave your bags and other personal items on hold with us after you check out, please ask us in advance. 2) Check in is open all day, but if you are running late or arriving earlier than the arrival time that you had given us either in your confirmation e-mail or online booking, please inform us as soon as possible via e-mail, text message, or phone call!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pula?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Pula

Hostel Pula
29.29 USD

Hostel 90.0% 6 reviews
Very Central Apartment Maria
32.74 USD

Apartment 81.0% 21 reviews
TeenMotive
22.32 USD

Hostel 63.7% 7 reviews
Apartments Arena
15.76 USD

Apartment 88.9% 155 reviews
Scaletta Hotel
63.07 USD

Hotel 3 star 91.4% 66 reviews
Hotel Omir
51.69 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.3% 42 reviews
Apartments Olive
17.23 USD

Apartment 90.2% 9 reviews
Apartment Lavender
15.51 USD

Apartment 95.9% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.0%

Overall Rating

84 out of 87 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riva Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 72 of 86 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Riva is a cool, friendly place to stay and the staff are exactly the same. In a great location, the hostel has real character and ambience but also the basics are really taken care of - the facilities are good, clean and comfortable. Everyone who works there puts in a huge effort to make your stay a positive experience and we just couldn't have expected more from them. Visit Croatia. Visit Pula. Visit Riva - it will be better than you hope for.

Disliked: Absolutely no dislikes but maybe explain breakfast details a bit more? ( Clutching a critical straws here ....)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pierce McKenna

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Pierce would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful and fun. There is a shuttle that will bring you to the more distant of attractions for next to nothing and arrange to pick you up again after. It's located in the middle of everything and the atmosphere is just brilliant.

Disliked: Genuinely nothing negative to say.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is great, easy to reach, you can walk by food from the mainstation

Disliked: bathroom was a little dirty to be picky: everything is labeled on what to not do, feels a little bit like it's expected you don't have any common sense (but that's just minor)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere - sociable, easy to meet people. Very close to centre of town and also on the seafront which is nice, and only a short walk from the bus station.

Disliked: Not all that close to the beach -we were told a 40 min walk - so we had to take a bus instead. (however buses are frequent and cheap, and it takes less than 15 mins, so this was hardly a problem).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and modern, located in the centre of town near bar / clubs.

Disliked: Long way from beaches - not walkable. Also won't let you drink your own alcohol after 8pm on terrace, making you buy theirs instead.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location. Easy walk to shops & restaurants. Lovely view of the harbour from rooms. WiFi and plugs readily accessible. Check out at reasonable time. Baggage holding was helpful.

Disliked: Bar selection was limited

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time, met some great people in a great place. Honestly cant fault it; worth every penny

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Maclean

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful to us throughout our stay. We arrived at 7am, they stored our rucksacks until we could check in, offered us showers and towels, and then when they had finished their night shift they even showed us round the town, talking to other Croatians to help get us breakfast. The hostel was in a great location, it was really quiet and so so clean. We stayed in a large 8 bed with ensuite and we had lots of room.

Disliked: Nothing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The roof terrace was really nice! Location is good, you can reach the centre of Pula quite easily.

Disliked: Staff was helpful when you asked questions, but never smiled or greeted you in a kind way. We booked a double room with seaview, but it is absolutely not worth paying 37€pp for that room. The view you pay for is not like the picture on their website, our view was of an industrial part of the harbour with cranes etc. Would not book that again. Also, the road between the hostel (and thus our room) and the water is incredibly noisy!! So don't book a room with seaview, especially not such an expensive one. Quite hot, as there was only a fan. Showers are okay, but it's see-through glass and there are 2 showers next to each other in one shower room for girls. So whenever someone would open the door, anyone walking by in the hallway could see you showering... You can lock the door, but then you are using the whole bathroom (with 2 showers), blocking anyone else from using the sinks/other shower...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: After reading the good reviews online, I disappointed. The place was ordinary, nothing more.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Transport to and from airport very convenient. Great air of friendliness among both staff and guests. Lovely open air sort of roof terrace bar-with large umbrella covers-very atmospheric, especially after dark. There are rooms with a terrific harbour/sea view which I stayed in on my return visit for 3 nights from 27th July.

Disliked: Unfortunately no view from the above mentioned terrace!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helga Bruckmoser

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Helga would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff, very friendly & helpful. Carmella at reception was sweet, went out of her way helping guests. Wonderful patio terrace, great it has a guest kitchen unfortunately a lot of guests were messy & lazy & didn't clean up after themselves, spoiling it for others.

Disliked: Partt of patio floor needs attention to be repaired.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pernille Drud Jensen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Pernille would recommend this property

Liked: The property look a bit suspicious from the outside and from outside the stairs. But this was just the outside and we were really surprise about the place as soon as we walked though the front door and up the stairs. The hostel is quiet big and have some very big and open rooms! :) The toilets are clean and some of the best we have seen on our 26 days of traveling. They clean the whole place everyday which is really great. The staff is really helpful with map, a lot of tips of things to see in Pula and helped us a lot with both bike rental and our trip plans from there. The location is okay and not that far from the train station. It takes about 15 minutes to get there from the station. The city centre was just around the corner. The beach was a bit far, but the busses were pretty cheap so that wasn't a problem at all.

Disliked: The only dislike was the lack of cabinets for your backpack. I wasn't at all worried about my things at Riva Hostel, but you never know who you have to share a room with so a cabinet to lock all your stuff in is not a bad thing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tera Gross

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014 Tera would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was wonderful! loved the patio and the atmosphere it created!

Disliked: NA

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bernardo cavassin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 bernardo would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was reaaally helpful. Pula was our first place in our croatia trip. The staff told us a lot of places and small towns that we had to visit, and because of him our trip was awesome!!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katarzyna Krause

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the hostel were very friendly and very helpful, they always tried to help and advise regarding any directions or recommendations in where to go and how to get there. The hostel is very large and plenty of room, more importantly, it doesn't feel like hostel at all but rather like a large hotel ;-) VEry clean and very friendly people. I will definitely recommend to stay there and if I go back to Pula I will definitely stay there.

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yan Ting Hon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Yan Ting would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and introduce Pula to you in details and they would know how to call your name. This makes me feel warm. The atmosphere of the hostel is good and you can easily know other backpackers. The bathroom surprised me to be very spacious and clean.

Disliked: just a minor point... I think it is a bit far away from the bus station.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Patricia Pedra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is pretty chill and the staff is friendly and very helpful. They only charge you in Kunas, so be sure you'll have the right amount by the time you check in. Rooms, bathrooms and kitchen are clean and the location is fine with all the good restaurants, bars, bakeries and tourist attractions around, it's only a bit away from the beaches but super close to the main bus station and there are a lot of bus stops nearby where you can take buses to the most isolated beaches.

Disliked: Patricia left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ana Miranda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: I had a very nice stay at Riva Hostel! The location is good and the Hostel is clean. Also the staff is very friendly and helpfull! Tks Karmella and Christian!

Disliked: Ana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff! Very nice hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located very close to everything in Rijeka. Friendly staff providing very useful information about places to visit in and around Rijeka, restaurants to check out, etc. Clean rooms and spacious rooms with comfortable beds. Nice and very big kitchen. Bathroom was clean. Enjoyed the terrace and the living room with PC which could be used free of charge.

Disliked: Many stairs which can be a hassle when travelling with heavy luggage. Only one bathroom on the floor where I was staying. Fortunately it was never a problem when getting up early to take a shower. Walls were thin so you could hear the conversations from the people staying in the room next to you. All that wouldn't keep me from staying there again though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jelle Santens

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2014 Jelle would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Jelle left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clenliness and friendliness of staff

Disliked: wifi was not working in the dorm room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful staff with great recommendations.

Disliked: Difficulty using the keys to get into the hostel.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GLEIDSON FURTADO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 GLEIDSON would recommend this property

Liked: the best hostel when I stayed. Staff so much friendly. Look likes home. Room clean e big. Perfect

Disliked: nothing


See all Pula hostels