We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Pula hostels

Reviews of Riva Hostel

Hostel | Riva 2, Pula, Croatia 52100

92.2% Overall Rating

108 out of 112 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2015)

"It was absolutely perfect! The staff were attentive, the bar was a great place to meet other travellers and it was a bargain! I didn't want to leave :( Would 100% stay here again and recommend it to anyone. The trip the…"

Read all Riva Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 14.64

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

1) Check-out is at 11am, as our scheduled cleaning time is from 10am-2pm (14h) every day of the week. During this cleaning time, we kindly ask that the hostel be vacant. If you would like to leave your bags and other personal items on hold with us after you check out, please ask us in advance. 2) Check in is open all day, but if you are running late or arriving earlier than the arrival time that you had given us either in your confirmation e-mail or online booking, please inform us as soon as possible via e-mail, text message, or phone call!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pula?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Pula

Hostel Pula
20.87 USD

Hostel 83.1% 12 reviews
TeenMotive
19.15 USD

Hostel 66.7% 9 reviews
Hostel Pipistrelo Pula
19.38 USD

Hostel 76.3% 42 reviews
Apartments Olive
17.15 USD

Apartment 90.2% 9 reviews
Apartment Lavender
17.15 USD

Apartment 95.9% 7 reviews
Apartment Rosemary
17.15 USD

Hostel 99.0% 6 reviews
Most Apartment Hostel Type
19.15 USD

Hostel 93.0% 44 reviews
Apartment Sonja
22.53 USD

Apartment 98.4% 106 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.2%

Overall Rating

108 out of 112 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riva Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 94 of 110 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was absolutely perfect! The staff were attentive, the bar was a great place to meet other travellers and it was a bargain! I didn't want to leave :( Would 100% stay here again and recommend it to anyone. The trip the hostel organises to the national park is a must.

Disliked: Nothing. For me it was perfect.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Charlotte Bradshaw

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2015 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near all sites an terrace/bar area was nice, good for meeting people in the evenings.

Disliked: Staff weren't great and they held onto aircon remotes so we couldn't turn it on without going up to ask them, beds need replacing and no lockers in rooms for bags, just small lockers for valuable which we weren't given access to

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

luca simonazzi

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2015 luca would recommend this property

Liked: Zoran is the nuber one, one of the most helpful hosts ever!

Disliked: you have to walk through 2 flight of stairs (not so large) to reach reception and bar and the most of the rooms; window doors were not working so well...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Washing opportunities (Cloth) Very clean Cozy rooftop terrace

Disliked: Better Wi-Fi

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good rooms. Nice atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chow Wing Shan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Chow would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are helpful. Location is good.

Disliked: Nil

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bug rooms and great location. Helpful reception staff. Good value for money

Disliked: No air conditioning in room and noisy road outside. Also one of the girls showers didn't have a shower curtain

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sally Meadows

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2015 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: The Riva Hostel has a lovely roof terrace with bar. It's location is super, very near the centre. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Sally left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Grzic

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 June 2015 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, friendly staff and decent kitchen.

Disliked: Have to vacate between 11am and 2pm

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pumping for the showers on the fourth floor is a bit dodging thus producing irregular water temperatures. Not a real issue. More of a suggestion

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jacqueline Young

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2015 Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT staff - very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

Disliked: Jacqueline left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place to stay in Pule. Right in the center. Room are spacious and very clean. Every place is clean. Shower are hot. Staff is very helpfull. Kitchen small but has every thing you need. I would definatly stay there again!

Disliked: Entrance should be more clear! We went right insteand of going straight. This is only nice critisicism, cause I would stay there again. Add thick curtens in the room to avoid light in the morning, the shower curtens should be thick not transparent..!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff!

Disliked: /

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

29 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very cozy bar with a terrace where you can have a drink under the stars.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very well located with a nice terrace.

Disliked: bathrooms are not closed to the dormitories

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Diego Ferla

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2014

Liked: Location was great.

Disliked: The exchange rate was ridiculous! They really cheated on me! But if you want to pay by card, they will charge 5% more! Cheating on you again! I asked for a taxi reservation and they said yes. After they said this service was not available anymore. Then, finally there was a taxi waiting for me. The girl on the check in was nice and friendly, but the one I had to pay was not that nice. Quite expensive for a hostel. I booked a 6bed room but there was 7 beds on it!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

16 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice cheap and clean. Really cool old building and nice and close to town

Disliked: Wifi is very temperamental

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aine Canavan

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 September 2014 Aine would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and facilities. Also great price.

Disliked: The showers got cold very easily.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very family atmospher and are happy to help at any time

Disliked: Nil

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities and cleanliness of this hostel cannot be faulted. Terrace bar is a nice area. room was large size. Manager let us print off our boarding passes for the plane and the guy who checked us in directed us well to the local sights and amenities. We were staying for a festival and he knew the bus route we should take.

Disliked: The staff to be extremely rude, (though not all, some were very helpful), and they were INSISTENT that we completely leave the entire hostel between 11-2PM. This is obviously extremely inconvenient and we refused many times. We were also told off for coming home late and getting water from the kitchen at night as it is closed off between 11PM-8AM. Expect to be thirsty if you stay here. We were only allowed one set of keys between all of us and at times we were locked out of the hostel because of this. Asking questions made us feel like the staff thought we were a burden, and they kept saying our room was messy. Well, as there were us 4 girls and a further two in the room with NO storage space what so ever, we needed to un-pack as we had booked the hostel for a week. If you don't want guests to leave shoes on the floor and clothes under the beds then please provide storage. When we came to pay we were also made to split the bill between us even though some of us were staying an extra night. Apparently using a calculator would have been too much hassle and we were met with much eye rolling and sighing at asking if we could split the bill fourways...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

francis mcguire

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

10 September 2014 francis would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very well located just a short stagger from the main square. The bar on the roof top in a very nice gathering place and easy to meet random like minded people plus the drink is pretty cheap. The staff working there are real cool people and extremely helpful and up for the laugh. 10 out of 10

Disliked: Leaving

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

OLGA SEROVA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

08 September 2014 OLGA would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great! Hostel crew were always there to help. So glad I have stayed there. Very chilled out!

Disliked: OLGA left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Riva is a cool, friendly place to stay and the staff are exactly the same. In a great location, the hostel has real character and ambience but also the basics are really taken care of - the facilities are good, clean and comfortable. Everyone who works there puts in a huge effort to make your stay a positive experience and we just couldn't have expected more from them. Visit Croatia. Visit Pula. Visit Riva - it will be better than you hope for.

Disliked: Absolutely no dislikes but maybe explain breakfast details a bit more? ( Clutching a critical straws here ....)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pierce McKenna

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Pierce would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful and fun. There is a shuttle that will bring you to the more distant of attractions for next to nothing and arrange to pick you up again after. It's located in the middle of everything and the atmosphere is just brilliant.

Disliked: Genuinely nothing negative to say.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is great, easy to reach, you can walk by food from the mainstation

Disliked: bathroom was a little dirty to be picky: everything is labeled on what to not do, feels a little bit like it's expected you don't have any common sense (but that's just minor)

The property's response is...


See all Pula hostels