We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Pula hostels

Reviews of Hostel Sonja

Hostel | Trierska 5, Pula, Croatia 52100

98.2% Overall Rating

98 out of 101 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Rachel Kelly thinks…

"I cannot praise highly enough the comfort, cleanliness and 'homely' yet fresh and clear living conditions at this hostel. After arriving from a week Camping at Outlook, walking in to the beautiful…"

Read all Hostel Sonja reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.74

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Pula?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Pula

Hotel Galija
49.30 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Mobile homes Brioni
19.32 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hotel Omir
42.21 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.3% 42 reviews
Accommodation Ana
25.33 USD

Hostel 92.5% 11 reviews
M&M Apartmant
28.53 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Very Central Apartment Maria
32.08 USD

Apartment 81.0% 21 reviews
Pula Art Hostel
14.18 USD

Hostel 88.6% 148 reviews
Riva Hostel
15.45 USD

Hostel 92.6% 94 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
98.2%

Overall Rating

98 out of 101 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Sonja'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
100.0%
Staff
100.0%
Value
98.4%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 81 of 98 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Kelly

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

15 September 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: I cannot praise highly enough the comfort, cleanliness and 'homely' yet fresh and clear living conditions at this hostel. After arriving from a week Camping at Outlook, walking in to the beautiful fresh room and sleeping on the comfy bed was just fantastic. Nice bedding/clean towells/complimentary tissues & wipes on the table... The room had everything we could want for and was immaculately clean & tidy. The bathroom was also immaculate with a great shower, & again complimentary extras such as cotton buds & nail polish remover. The kitchen was really tidy with our own colour coded cupboard containing all relevant crockery & tea/coffee/salt/pepper/cooking oil all free to be used. Oven/microwave/kettle/cleaning products - all you would expect/require. Also a communal area with comfy seating plus Internet and a lovely outside area with comfortable seating to eat/drink or relax, again really clean and we'll presented. On top of the accommodation being just perfect, the help received from the owner & his father was above and beyond. We needed help on moving to another part of Croatia and has this completely taken care of for us, with the hostel calling the bus station for us, booking our tickets, collecting them for us - and then even driving us to get our bus the following day. We were also advised of a restaurant where we could eat on a tight budget and a bakery to buy lunch for our bus journey, with the locations drawn out on a map for us, which was just so helpful! The warmth we received in the above and beyond style of customer service from the Hostel Sonja really helped us out and saved us a lot of hassle in arranging the next phase of our trip! We would highly recommend this place to anyone staying in Pula!! It is also right in central Pula close to the Amphitheatre so is fantastically located.

Disliked: There is genuinely nothing which we did not like about the hostel Sonja

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Mariano Sousa Bezerra

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014 Pedro Mariano would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very friendly staff

Disliked: The bathroom heater wasn't working properly, so I couldn't take a shower in the evening, but I was able to do it in the next morning though.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Therese Hellstrom

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

12 September 2014 Therese would recommend this property

Liked: Location, people

Disliked: Therese left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: /

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Smith

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: The host was extreamly friendly and seemed like he would do anything to help us out, he picked us up and dropped us off at the airport, when we got to the hostel he showed us best places to go in the given time that we had within pula. The hostel had everything you could possible need while travelling.

Disliked: No

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Tabbert

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

29 June 2014 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this place! We were only here for one night and arrived quite late because of a ferry issue from Venice, but the owner was waiting for us on the corner by the hostel. Gave us lots of advice for things to do in Pula since we only had about 2 hours there the next day, and drove us to the airport the next day for 10 Euros to pick up our rental car. The owner and his wife were very friendly, she was there the next day cleaning and they seemed actually concerned about us driving and gave lots of advice. Very clean, we had the large blue room. Very quiet, we only saw the other guests in the morning and didn't even hear them at night (I apologize to them if we were the loud ones!) Bathroom was good, had a hair dryer, no issues sharing with the other room. Kitchen has everything you need. Great wifi. Pula is nice, very small and easy to walk around and very cheap food and drinks compared to the southern parts of Croatia. Great value as well.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 버스터미널에서 걸어서 15-20분정도의 거리에 있지만 중심가 개선문에서 3분정도의 거리에 있어서 위치는 좋습니다. 주인이 친절하고 상당히 활기차신 분들이었습니다. 무료 세탁기 사용가능하구요. 넓은 마당이 있어서 빨래를 잘 말릴 수도 있었습니다. 방색깔로 주방의 주방기기나 냉장고 사용을 할 수 있어서 좋았습니다. 공용욕실이래봤자 두방만 함께 쓸 뿐이어서 불편한 것 없었구요. 시설은 아주 새것은 아니지만 관리는 잘 하는 듯 해서 깨끗했습니다. 체크아웃하고 버스터미널까지는 주인아저씨께서 차로 태워주셨구요. 버스 뿐 아니라 공항 이용하는 사람들을 위해서도 체크아웃할 때 항상 픽업해주신다고 하시네요.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patricia Moscolini Romão

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was really nice, waited for us very early on the street and gave us lots of tips about the city. The room was really big, with a very confortable bed. The bathroom was great, equipped with all the essentials and more and the shower was very good and spacious. There was also great shared kitchen. And the location was amazing,within walking distance to the main atractions and to the bus station.

Disliked: Patricia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very well situated. The bedroom (we had the blue one) and all the commons rooms (bathroom, living room and kitchen) were very clean and everything you need is furnished ! They also have a washing machine with powder and a computer with a webcam. But what we liked the most is the host! They tell you everything you need to know about Pula and help you found your way! Great Place! We will be back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kona Morris

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2014 Kona would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about Hostel Sonja was fantastic! I feel so lucky to have found this place and I plan to stay here every time I come to Pula. The staff were very sweet and helpful. The location is perfect! It is walking distance to everything. The room was clean and wonderful. It's such a great value!

Disliked: Nothing! Everything was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Markovich

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

07 February 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay, RECOMMENDED!! If you are reading this review, don't doubt even a second, feel free and book your room in here. Owners, thank you for everything what you have done for us.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Were picked up from the train station free of charge and taken out to the airport for a very reasonable rate. cheaper than the taxis! Lovely people and clean, comfortable place. Good wifi.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marko Banuši?

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 October 2013 Marko would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, big rooms with color details, great for couples

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very helpful. We used the airport pick up service and the apartmet which we stayed in was very close to the city centre of Pula (within 5 minutes) and also near to the market. The apartment had all the facilities you could ask for. An excellent stay and I would recommend to other travellers.

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Archibald

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

26 September 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Fetched and dropped us at bus station without charge. Free WiFi and internet Offered us the use of the washing machine. Very friendly and helpful staff Well equipped kitche.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Godley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: It is in the very heart of Pula with excellent access to all the sights but down a quiet side street. The owner Alexsandar and his father made us very welcome and would regularly check if we needed anything. I would definately go back and recommend both Pula and the Hostel Sonja.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kerlijne Stessens

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Kerlijne would recommend this property

Liked: You actually live in the house of other people, it's so cosey and so clean! I had never expected to end up in such a wonderful place. You can use the computer, kitchen, all the stuff in the bathroom, you can even wash your clothes. Our room was very spacious and quiet. I loved it and the owner was really kind. Definitely a place to recommend. Price-quality perfect.

Disliked: Simply nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

pavel chartorizhsky

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

03 August 2013 pavel would recommend this property

Liked: great place and location, very friendly and hospitable

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyle Grenell

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are the best! It's family run and they're so helpful and nice. I'd go back just to hang out with them haha. The apartments are quiet and the rooms obviously have had a lot of thought and care (colours/aircon/tv). I'd definitely stay again

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kennard Burer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Kennard would recommend this property

Liked: Great place...small and cozy...reallya home to relax..Alexander has great tips...its one of the most clean hostels i've seen...good kitchen, large rooms, great shower...If your looking for a party try somewehere else, this is a place to have a relaxing holiday. Thanks Alexander, ciao Ken en Laura

Disliked: Kennard left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpfu. The hostel was very clean and had a lot of things (a computer, wifi,tv)l. One of the best hostels I have ever been to.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shaun Cook

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

14 July 2013 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the centre of the city! Clean and spacious rooms and the owner was very friendly. Couldn't have asked for better hosts, would highly recommend.

Disliked: No bad words can be said

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location,close to everything but quiet and spacious,charming old town feel,not overmodernized and it makes you feel like at home.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is nothing to dislike about this place, everything is great. The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful, and they really make you feel comfortable at the apartment. Moreover, the location of the hostel is excellent since it's practically in heart of Pula, so everything is in a walking distance, but it's still in a quiet place. Beaches are a bit farther away, but there is a bus stop close to the hostel, so that isn't really a problem. The air port isn't that close to the hostel, but their pick-up service resolves this problem nicely. A special mention must be said about the overall service. The staff answered my inquiries about Pula/Croatia very fast and comprehensively, and the father assisted us in car rental issues and offered us rides to different locations. I must say that this kind of hospitality is very rare.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

filipa pinheiro

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013 filipa would recommend this property

Liked: The Dad! amazing! so friendly, like he's known you for years. Cosy rooms, lovely courtyard, VERY VERY central

Disliked: nothing at all


See all Pula hostels