We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hvar hostels

Reviews of Dink's Place

Hostel | Ive Roića 5, Vrisak, Hvar, Croatia 21450

95.9% Overall Rating

152 out of 158 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/10/2014)

Wesley Menezes Guimarães thinks…

"Very nice atmosphere! The owner, Dinko, is a young guy who is able to give the best tips about the island."

Read all Dink's Place reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hvar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hvar

Youth Hostel Villa Marija
11.59 USD

Hostel 89.7% 236 reviews
Apartment Iva
33.11 USD

Apartment 88.2% 32 reviews
Hvar De Luxe Apartments
34.76 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Casa Di Lavanda
33.11 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Earthers Hostel
39.73 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Benjak Apartments
24.83 USD

Apartment 96.8% 50 reviews
Green Lizard Hostel
18.21 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Apartments Iris-Doris
145.48 USD

Apartment 96.8% 42 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.9%

Overall Rating

152 out of 158 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dink's Place'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
99.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 146 of 153 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wesley Menezes Guimarães

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2014 Wesley would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere! The owner, Dinko, is a young guy who is able to give the best tips about the island.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john tucker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

05 September 2014 john would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay at Dink's Place was brilliant. Easy to find from the ferry port we were welcomed by young Dink himself who gave us all the local information we needed plus showed us around the building. Our room had a fantastic view and was spotlessly clean and really comfortable. There are several areas to sit and chill out with others and a fully functional kitchen which we used for breakfast. This is one of the nicest stays we have had on our Balkan trip and thanks to Dink and family.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matt vinton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 matt would recommend this property

Liked: Dink is the most helpful man you will ever meet. The hostel is in a great location.

Disliked: Dink is too handsome.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are incredible, always willing to go the extra mile to help you.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it! Great location, helpful staff and super clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Tempest

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

18 August 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, there isn't a bad word to say about Dink, his staff or the hostel. Dink is super helpful and always willing to go out of his way to help you. Stephanie is also excellent and really helps to get people going so if your looking to go out partying, your guaranteed a great night with her on the scene! However if you just want to chill out you won't be pushed or coerced into doing something you don't want to do. Definitely would recommend staying with Dink and i'll be 100% going back next year!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff and the atmosphere, it was a great place to meet people and we even met up with a few of the people we met at Dink's in our next destination. The barbeque is very tasty and great value for money and a fab way to meet people if you are travelling solo. Our room was very clean and spacious with en suite bathroom and had a balcony with a sea view.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tanya Nicholas

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

11 August 2014 Tanya would recommend this property

Liked: What is not to like about this place?! Dink and his family make you feel welcome from the moment you step through the front gate. The hostel is very clean and well-kept; the kitchen facilities are good and more than enough for you to be able to prepare your own food and the outdoor terrace is a great place to just chill and meet others staying in the hostel, or get to know your hosts a little better! And speaking of hosts, Dink is great! He knows all the good beaches, the places to visit, knows when to go and might even make an appearance on a night out - the pub crawl is a must! I loved Hvar and am very happy with my choice of hostel and my hosts; miss these guys and this place a lot and will definitely be coming back!!

Disliked: Tanya left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bethany Lawrence

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2014 Bethany would recommend this property

Liked: Dink and the staff were amazing, really helpful and knew when to leave you to it as well. The location for going out in the evening or sightseeing in the day was perfect, the steep hill was perfect exercise after a big dinner! The rooms were a great size and felt very private considering it's a hostel. The shower was great and never had to queue for the bathroom. The communal area and ability to cool own meals was also a fantastic addition.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What a superb hostel! All the staff were very professional and friendly and always happy to help out with any requests. It is ideally located with views of neighbouring islands across the bay and nightly entertainment in the local bars and nightclubs was also organised. I'll definitely be sure to visit again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Hussey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

09 July 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Great spot. Right near a beautiful tucked away beach with shops,nightlife etc all a short walk away. Great atmosphere. Dink is always friendly and helpful. Highly recommend.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Adam Williams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2014 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, very helpful, the place is comfy, clean and has a homely feel.

Disliked: A little hard to get a bathroom sometimes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best Hostels I've been so far. Dink, the owner, is very friendly and, in my case, made great efforts to help me with problems that I had in Croatia regarding my passport. The best, though, is the atmosphere of the Hostel. It is not a dedicated party hostel, but it has been the easiest place to meet people in te common area before going on to bars and pub crawls (guided by a member of the staff) that I've been to. However, if you don't want to go partying, the 11pm silence curfew is well respected. Rooms and bathrooms are clean and the locations is good as it is not far from the centre and not far from one of the best beaches in Hvar, where you can also go hiking along the coast and past some amazing beaches and views to the small and beautiful city called Milna in about 1:30 hour. Overall, I would strongly recommend Dink's place for any type of traveler and I am very thankful to the staff for my stay there.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Roberts

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

01 July 2014 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: We loved Dink! He was so helpful and friendly. Our room was great- we'd paid for the sea view and we got a lovely balcony with a sea view and some great sunsets, and a private bathroom which was great. The best bit was being in communal areas though, and chilling with everyone else in the hostel. We were there on the very first day of the world cup, when Croatia were playing Brazil, and had a crazy night watching the match with everyone in the hostel and then being taken out by Jamie to experience the Hvar nightlife afterwards. It was a great community feeling there. And Dink himself was so helpful and kind. Sorry we didn't get a chance to say goodbye properly Dink! Would recommend to anybody.

Disliked: Sara left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosalie Nadeau-Fredette

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

26 June 2014 Rosalie would recommend this property

Liked: I usually never write review on hostels that I go to, but I truly think that Dink’s place deserve it! First, the hostel is great, there’s a lot of chilling spots, the rooms are clean and big enough, you’ll have everything you need in the kitchen and it's a short walk to the city center. When we got there, we had a friendly welcome and Dink took his time to show us the nicest things to do in and around Hvar. Also, I was there during FIFA, so each night, we all gathered outside and watch the games before going out with Jamie who takes us from bar to bar. But what you’ll most remember if you go there it’s the amazing atmosphere! Not only the other travelers are friendly, but you’ll have a good time and great talk with Dink. Trust me, if you stay at Dink’s place, you won’t regret it! You’ll have a great time with a crazy guy!

Disliked: Nothing really ! I only wish I could have stay longer !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frida Berglund

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Frida would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is super friendly! The atmosphere is really nice and you feel like you're part of a huge family.

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Det känns som att bi i en familj och det är en härlig känsla, särskilt när du reser ensam. Dinko, pappa Dink och Szneza är fantastiska. Det är rent för S städar hela tiden och alla är väldigt hjälpsamma! Fantastiska dagar på Dink's place och jag kommer med säkerhet att komma tillbaka!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful & friendly staff. Good location, would stay here again .

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Stermer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2014 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Very warm welcome from Dink. He is super friendly and tells you everything you should do on the island. Excellent recommendations on beaches and towns to visit. We rented his scooter and followed his suggestions and had an amazing day out. The hostel is the family home and Dink and his father keep it clean and it is practical. Several areas to hang out on patios and terraces. Hostel is a short walk from Hvar Town harbor, bars, restaurants and great beaches and grocery stores. We were only going to stay 2 nights but then stayed an extra it was so great. Dink is a cool dude, great to chat with. Made our stay great. Thank you.

Disliked: One bathroom for floor, not a problem for us because it was just before busy season.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dink's Place was a great hostel! Dink is a friendly and accomodating host and it was nice to talk with him in the evenings at the hostel. I loved renting a bike and exploring the area a bit but it's super hilly so beware! Beautiful place and a nice hostel with a lovely terrace.

Disliked: A little far from the center, but still not bad (about 15-20 minutes uphill from the port).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sky Harris

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2014 Sky would recommend this property

Liked: Was a very clean, tidy well run hostel with very nice rooms, we often saw dink, dinks father and another lady sneza (I think was her name) and they were all fantastic always available to help and so friendly and chatty! Amazing experience!!

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Each staff member was an absolute joy, always with smiles on their face, best efforts to help with whatever you need and lots of great recommendations! Lots of porches for hanging around including one with a beautiful view of the sea. Rooms were comfortable and spacious!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Phelan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Dink, his father and Sneza are all great, friendly people. Very welcoming and helpful. The hostel is good, as described with nice outdoor areas and a good kitchen. Great for meeting fellow travellers.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angie Kleinfelder

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 June 2014 Angie would recommend this property

Liked: The property is beautiful and everyone was so friendly and helpful. Dink goes above and beyond to accommodate you however he can. He often holds BBQ's for everyone to hang out and enjoy a great meal. The atmosphere was great and we would definitely go back. Our room also had a balcony with a beautiful view. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Angie left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

scott pirrie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

15 October 2013 scott would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing sunsets from the balcony! Dink was very friendly and helpful. I ended up staying 5 days instead of 2 because I liked it so much.

Disliked: scott left no negative feedback.


See all Hvar hostels