We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hvar hostels

Reviews of Villa Zora

Guesthouse | Nela Šarić, Riva 16, Stari Grad Hvar, Croatia 21460

77.6% Overall Rating

13 out of 18 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/08/2013)

"We loved staying in Villa Zora.. Our host was extremely accomodating and friendly. It is right in the centre of the old town and rooms at the front of the house are perfect for people watching! You stay there alone with…"

Read all Villa Zora reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please call or send an e-mail or SMS at least 12 hours before your arrival date the exact time of your arrival in Hvar. National number: 00385 21 Your final confirmation requires 48 hours notice, two days before arrival. See the schedule for the local ferry to www.jadrolinija.hr. For cancellation during stay, we charge the total booking amount. Please note: Check out time is 10:00 and check-in time is 14:00 hours or earlier

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hvar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hvar

Apartments Tihana
15.18 USD

Apartment 96.0% 5 reviews
Apartments Jelsa-island Hvar
24.83 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Pansion Huljic
12.65 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 40 reviews
Apartments Mazuran Hvar
16.55 USD

Apartment 84.9% 10 reviews
Villa Vera
50.32 USD

Apartment 82.6% 13 reviews
Apartmants Irena Hvar
16.55 USD

Apartment 96.5% 18 reviews
Apartment Mladen
16.55 USD

Apartment 60.0% 5 reviews
Villa Šeputić
31.63 USD

Hostel 93.0% 85 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.6%

Overall Rating

13 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Villa Zora'

Atmosphere
71.1%
Location
86.7%
Facilities
67.8%
Cleanliness
73.3%
Staff
74.4%
Value
77.8%
Safety
92.2%
Refine your results Showing 16 of 17 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved staying in Villa Zora.. Our host was extremely accomodating and friendly. It is right in the centre of the old town and rooms at the front of the house are perfect for people watching! You stay there alone with other travellers (the host lives in another part of the island) so it is much like having your own house!

Disliked: The toilet paper ran out on our last night!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The house is beautiful and well-located right on the harbour. The room was absolutely lovely with a beautiful view over the water. The owners picked us up from Jelsa (a neighbouring town) when we arrived.

Disliked: The owner was a little obsessed with the cleanliness of the house, which wasn't necessarily a problem (the house was really clean!) but it was a bit unnerving. 4 clean glasses left to dry on the drying rack next to the sink left her huffing. It was strange. If you're a messy person, this may not be the place for you. Otherwise, however, it is great.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Villa Zora is in a fantastic location, right on the Harbour in the centre of the town and Stari Grad has a really laid back feel to it. It's only a short walk to the beach and bus stop and it's next door to a bank and plenty of lovely cafes and two supermarkets. The house is very big and full of character and we were lucky enough to be the only people staying so we had it to ourselves. Also the owners are lovely, very helpful, friendly and quick to respond to any concerns we had.

Disliked: It needs a good clean!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Higgins

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

24 August 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel/villa is excellent for the price you pay. It is very central to everything in Stari-Grad; you can literally walk out of the door and you are on the main street - near to bars, the supermarket, and restaurants (If you're on a budget, I would recommend eating at the Fast Food outlet - The food is really good and not too expensive at all). The owners daughter came to meet us quite late as we were walking down the street - she couldn't be more helpful. The owner himself doesn't speak much English, but we had a good chat about football. On our last day, we were struggling to find a taxi to catch our ferry. The owner just happened to drive past and gave us a lift. We managed to make the ferry with seconds to spare! The accommodation has Wi-Fi throughout and a reasonably sized kitchen and communal area (which we didn't use). Overall, a fantastic stay.

Disliked: Overall it was really good for the price. The only think I would say is that the beds are quite short. I'm 6ft 3 and I struggled a bit. Also, if you go to bed early, its proximity to the main street can mean it gets a bit noisy.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2012

Liked: Great location, pretty look from the outside; furniture looks pretty old school which is nice - but is not really functional as the bed squeeks.

Disliked: The rooms are somehow very dirty, especially the bathroom was a mess. There seems to be noone taking care of nothing. Even the towels were USED or at least dirty. One big problem is the noise coming from the seaside - it is difficult to catch sleep as the windows are not isolated - people talking (or in the high season: partying) in front of the building may keep you awake.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good positioning right on the Harbour so that has a good atmosphere. Wonderful help on hand from the family who own it and nice and traditional to make it a stay to remember.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Coleman

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful old house right on the water front in relatively quiet Stari Grad. If you are looking to avoid the noise and crowds of Hvar Town, Villa Zora is perfect. It is a villa and not a hostel, so you very much do your own thing. The owners, Zorko and Dobrila are lovely and go out of their way to help you. We bumped into Zorko in the town looking for somewhere to inflate our lilo and he sorted it out for us. My boyfriend and I had a large double room overlooking the sea and we stayed for 5 nights, but easily could have stayed for 50. The area is lovely, great little cocktails bars, restaurants, bakeries and a good market. You can hire boats, bikes, mopeds or just spend your time in the clear warm waters of the many little pebble beaches dotted around Stari Grad. We ate in most nights, making use of the kitchen and it was perfect. So if you're on a budget, it's a really great place to have a very special holiday.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very friendly family. Would have stayed longer if we could have. Room was a good size. Overall loved stari grad and villa zora

Disliked: No washing machine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The owners were lovely and so helpful, picked us up from the ferry port, gave us drinks, recommended places to go. Beds were comfy, gorgeous views, excellent location - perfect place to relax.

Disliked: Nothing.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

majella nolan

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

09 September 2010 majella would recommend this property

Liked: Great for quiet getaway. Right on the water. huge bed and room. very clean. gorgeous view from the window.

Disliked: it was in stari grad not hvar town. no access to hot water the kitchen is tiny and almost useless

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, old style house.

Disliked: The staff didn't really speak english so we had some misunderstandings.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

stephanie gimbert

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2010 stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the house. The sea view

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Chloe Webb-Dickin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2010 Chloe would recommend this property

Liked: We had a really nice room with a sea view. It was clean and the beds were big and comfortable. There was a kitchen facility. Considering that this is a hotel and we had a private room, it is VERY cheap! It is also right on the sea front in Stari Grad, a ten minute walk from a beach and with supermarkets and bars very nearby. I would recommend it to anyone who just wants a nice room after weeks of hostelling!

Disliked: The bathroom was dirty, and it was the only bathroom in the hotel. Luckily, we were the only people there for two nights, but nevertheless, for three nights, we had COLD SHOWERS. The landlady does not live on site and gave us no contact details so we couldn't get this fixed. In addition, the daughter of the landlady, who is about 14, is really rude! She shouted at me 'please clean the bathroom' and barged into our room and told us off about leaving the windows open and curtains tied back. I wouldn't go back there for this reason.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

12 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central.

Disliked: Bit of a haunted house vibe!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

11 August 2010

Liked: With in the town it was a good location and the rooms were ok.

Disliked: The kitchin is extremly small and very poor. owner/ staff were never there and spoke very little english. If you are going on a family holiday then this would be a great place. Young travelers looking for fun and exitment... AVOID!!! Go to Havr Town! All people we met were very disapointed with the location on the island, but owner had taken the moeny for the entire stay and whould not give any back!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

23 July 2010

Liked: Location and outdoor terrace.

Disliked: Lack of fans / cooling system. Noise in the evenings. No laundry facilities.


See all Hvar hostels