HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hvar hostels

Reviews of Villa Skansi Backpackers House

Hostel | Ulica domovinskog rata 18, Lucica bb, Hvar, Croatia 21450

94.1% Overall Rating

152 out of 162 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/11/2013)

William Spence thinks…

"Amazing hostel. Great atmosphere. Gorgeous terrace and views. Free pub crawl which is really good not many places do one. The best hostel we've ever stayed in. Highlight of our trip. Lovely staff."

Read all Villa Skansi Backpackers House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.81

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that the age limit to stay at Hostel Villa Skansi is 45 years old in dormitories and there is no age restriction in private rooms and apartments.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hvar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hvar

Apartmani " Laura"
36.26 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Apartments Pera
26.26 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
La Casa di Elisa
29.18 USD

Guesthouse 81.5% 26 reviews
Apartment Edi
24.11 USD

Apartment 96.7% 13 reviews
Orange Hostel
18.13 USD

Hostel 87.5% 16 reviews
Villa Zorana
19.94 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 98 reviews
Green Lizard Hostel
19.94 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Apartments Iris-Doris
22.11 USD

Apartment 97.3% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.1%

Overall Rating

152 out of 162 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Villa Skansi Backpackers House'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 149 of 159 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Villar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2014 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: It was great, the kitchen its outside and it has a great environment

Disliked: Daniela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Spence

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel. Great atmosphere. Gorgeous terrace and views. Free pub crawl which is really good not many places do one. The best hostel we've ever stayed in. Highlight of our trip. Lovely staff.

Disliked: Nothing. It was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a private double with small garden. We stayed four nighst, and the kleening lady changed towels in every day. She even changed linens after tree nihgts stay. Dormitories and common area were in upper house so we had really sillent place.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anastasia Sofia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Anastasia would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely location, lovely balcony and chairs. The free pub crawl is a great way to meet people.

Disliked: I wasn't shown round very well and accidentally ended up using nextdoor's kitchen as I didn't know where it was! There are no lockers which isn't ideal as the doors to the rooms are often left wide open. I felt like the only person in the hostel who actually locked the door when I left. Otherwise lovely.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Clark

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

23 September 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: If you're looking for a hostel in Hvar and can't decide, then you MUST choose Villa Skansi. When you arrive at the hostel The first thing you notice are the great views on their fantastic, social, balcony before being greeted by a polite and happy member of staff to help you check-in and provide you with information for your stay. We stayed almost a week and due to booking last minute we stayed in the 6 bed dorm, the 8 bed dorm and finally the 3 bed apartment so I feel we saw most of what the hostel had to offer. The hostel is always very clean and tidy and the facilities are great (new power showers, computers with free internet access, kitchen, etc). Each night guests get together at 8pm on the balcony and drink/ socialise until 10pm when a member of staff (who runs the pub crawl) takes everyone out to several bars and ends at one of the nightclubs. We went on the crawl every night, but if you don't fancy a night out then you can have a quiet night in (after 10pm!). We asked about restaurants and they recommended Lungo Mare, the food at this restaurant was fantastic - especially the steak which was as good as you'd get at a top London restaurant at a fraction of the price (and the restaurant was conveniently close). We tried a few restaurants in the main square next to the harbour, all were average by comparison. A few reviews mentioned below about the location of the hostel not being great, I couldn't disagree more. It takes less than 2 minutes to walk to the beach/ harbour and the luxury of being slightly further out is the extra space which you get Skansi that you don't get at a hostel above a shop. All in all I couldn't recommend this hostel any higher and look forward to booking my spot at Skansi for Hvar Part II next year! Thank you very much!

Disliked: I did not like having to leave this hostel!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful terrace! The pub crawl was fun, but it's also quiet at night if you decide not to go out. Really social atmosphere which was great as a solo traveller. Really clean! Floors are mopped daily, the cleaning staff are very efficient, and friendly.

Disliked: Not really an issue for me, but the tv and outdoor shower were out of order. The kitchen is tiny and only has 2 stove elements. Luckily, people were cooking at all different times when I was there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryant Molina

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 September 2013 Bryant would recommend this property

Liked: I went to Hvar with the intent to stay only for 3 days and I decided to stay a week because of Villa Skansi. Its the best place to stay in Hvar. The views from the balcony are the best . When you walk right in they make you feel like family. The atmosphere is great and a Pub Crawl every night. If you stay here you will be WINNING IN LIFE! True Story

Disliked: Bryant left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael Larsen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and communal areas make meeting other travellers easy. Clean hostel, ensuite in dorms and air-con. When we were there in august the hostel was running a free pub crawl every night, with free shots included, which was alot of fun, great value and an awesome way to meet new friends.

Disliked: The kitchen is very small, but sufficient for basic meals. Seemed very expensive, but we were staying in high season & it is hvar after all.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

21 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere thanks to the two Toms! Very clean. Wifi + AC.

Disliked: Seemed unfinished- e.g. nowhere to put bags in the room, nowhere to hang towels in the bathroom. Was the only place we stayed which didn't provide a towel.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lachlan Graf

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

25 July 2013 Lachlan would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've ever stayed in. Staff are awesome (especially Andrea), very social and easy going!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was really friendly, comfortable rooms and chill out areas. Very clean.

Disliked: Having to leave

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

THOMAS CANNELL

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

20 July 2013 THOMAS would recommend this property

Liked: As soon as we arrived we were made to feel welcome by all the local staff and owners who we got to know very well. TOM & TOM were absolute legends!! The hostel was very social without being chavvy :) Very clean and the location was excellent!!!! Would highly recommend to stay here!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kathryn Dwyer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel, great location, terrace area is lovely with views of the sea, and the pub crawl means it is easy to meet everyone

Disliked: Kathryn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Rowland

With a large group / tour

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

12 July 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: i organised a group holiday here for 53 people, not an easy job but made much easier by all of the staff who did a wonderful job of looking after us. Everyone was overwhelmed by how nice the hostel was, very high quality and always clean and tidy. The terrace balcony is a great communal area and has beautiful views across the bay. Staff were extremely friendly, the location was perfect within minutes of shops/bars/old town. The hostel has a lovely atmostphere. The two Toms made our trip particularly enjoyable, they did a fantastic job of taking us all out at night to the bars/clubs, and helped organising tours in the day such as boat trips. I would definitely recommend this hostel to others. Thank you!

Disliked: Katie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice mood. I stayed in a private room and the room was good. Just a little bad about the shower, but the rest was really good.

Disliked: The shower position.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Fran Bennett

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2013 Fran would recommend this property

Liked: Great for socialising and meeting people. Hostel organizes a "Pub Crawl" (only 2 bars and not Hvar's finest) but it's a good way to get people out enjoying themselves. Facilities were great, nice bar area and really well decorated/ furnished.

Disliked: We felt like the hostel could organise more day-trips and have a sign up board for the things it does organise. This would be a good way to meet people in the day-time as well as the evening.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nuno Jesus

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

13 June 2013 Nuno would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nuno left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

erin gunn

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 erin would recommend this property

Liked: Gorgeous hostel, we stayed in a 6 bed dorm which has its own big balcony. It was clean and secure. It was a friendly and sociable hostel and the hostess was lovely and very helpful!! We would definitely recommend and we intend on staying again. Thank you for having us!

Disliked: erin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rico Verbakel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2013 Rico would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Villa Skansi is simply fantastic, both in service and in the quality of the accommodation! Especially Julia gives you a warm and enthusiastic welcome and with her team, she makes sure you will have a perfect holiday. We can mention various examples here, but I'd better advise: Just go to Skansi!

Disliked: No dislikes here

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Having been pointed in the wrong direction by some locals while looking for the hostel was well worth its extra mile on foot. In the second week of September 2012, the holiday season in Hvar was on its last legs but the atmosphere in this well decorated and situated family-run hostel showed no signs of giving up. Walk-ins and travellers with reservations kept coming through the reception contributing to what was our most memorable and engaging stay throughout our holiday in Split, Hvar, and Greece. They offer versatile activities from the action-packed 'booze cruise', scooter island tour, and unforgettable nightly pubcrawls - whereby every guests pretty much pre drink and socialise before heading out to the town center in a troop to receive their complimentary Jagerbombs! The inspiring owner even managed to throw a generous Croatian BBQ one night for his guests served with wine from his vineyard. Now, this is one way to win over your guests :) What a man! There was positive energy all around. Oh and for what it's worth, I have yet to see more beautiful and friendly staff members anywhere else. Goodness me.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great little apartment with a balcony and an ocean view that we absolutely loved.

Disliked: The beds and pillows were a little hard, otherwise everything else was great for our stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, very clean with amazing views, heaps of fruit trees, outdoor areas to sit.

Disliked: Although it was the end of the season, fairly significant renovations were being undertaken which was a bit annoying- would have been nice if this was mentioned to us when booking- or given the hostel will be closed for 6 months, why they couldn't wait to start them, I'm not sure...!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great party atmosphere and only a short 5-10 minute stroll the the main square/ bars but close to restaurants, supermarkets and swimming spots also! The most modern and clean hostel i've stayed in with a fantastic friendly communal vibe, incredible view as well as everything you need facilities wise! They also are the only hostel in Hvar to run an incredible booze cruise!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Atmosphere was amazing, they have a lovely bar and organise a party every night. The view on the bay is beautiful as well.

Disliked: I was attacked by bedbugs during the ngiht and treated pretty badly by the staff eventhough they let me cancell my second night for free.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, helpful staff, plenty of them and someone was always around. Very sociable place, easy to meet others, especially on the big terrace where they open a bar in the evening. They take everyone in to town in the evening which is good for if you're travelling alone. As everyone has to be quiet after 10.30 it is easy to get an early night even though it's sort of a party place. The main kitchen is big and clean with lots of pots and pans. Enough bathrooms to go around. Safety lockers in the rooms for your valuables. Security cameras and night guard.

Disliked: Loud annoying Aussie who organises the booze cruise and pub crawl talking loudly all the time. Everyone I spoke to found her unbearable. No front door to the hostel or locks on doors, anyone can just walk in off the street. It's up a big hill, although given the landscape this is unavoidable.


See all Hvar hostels