We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hvar hostels

Reviews of Villa Skansi Backpackers House

Hostel | Ulica domovinskog rata 18, Lucica bb, Hvar, Croatia 21450

88.9% Overall Rating

176 out of 188 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/09/2014)

"This hostel is a great hostel with friends my staff, clean rooms and bathrooms, and also great area to meet the rest of the people in the hostel which was great as I was travelling alone. Kitchen facilities excellent !"

Read all Villa Skansi Backpackers House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that the age limit to stay at Hostel Villa Skansi is 45 years old in dormitories and there is no age restriction in private rooms and apartments.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hvar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hvar

Apartmani " Laura"
33.65 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Apartments Pera
34.64 USD

Apartment 97.1% 3 reviews
"The Shaka"
15.14 USD

Hostel 93.0% 11 reviews
La Casa di Elisa
25.66 USD

Guesthouse 81.5% 26 reviews
Apartment Edi
30.11 USD

Apartment 96.9% 14 reviews
Orange Hostel
16.82 USD

Hostel 87.5% 16 reviews
Hostel Villa Zorana
15.14 USD

Hostel 96.0% 119 reviews
Green Lizard Hostel
18.51 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

176 out of 188 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Villa Skansi Backpackers House'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
82.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 168 of 185 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rexomiendo este hostal sólo para personas entre 18 y 25 años.

Disliked: En general los dormitorios y baños estaban bien, pero la cocina poco equipada coniderando la capacidad del hostal y sucia gran parte del día.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is a great hostel with friends my staff, clean rooms and bathrooms, and also great area to meet the rest of the people in the hostel which was great as I was travelling alone. Kitchen facilities excellent !

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent Location. Good Facilities. Air Con in room!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Foster

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: My second time in Croatia and as a solo backpacker, this hostel was ideal! Great party atmosphere that you can easily get involved in, should you choose to, but no worries if not. I recommend getting stuck in though! The staff were very friendly on arrival and helpful to provide the information I was looking for during my stay. In a mad turn of events, I actually managed to injure myself when I got off a boat on a trip. It was just one of those freaky things but I actually fractured my heel bone and couldn't walk. After the trip, the hostel staff and owner were exceptional in helping me out. To say they went over and above to help me is truly an understatement and I will be eternally grateful for the lengths they went to get me to and from the hospital and do all the things I couldn't - having both hands on crutches (they even sorted the crutches for me). This is probably the only place I would stay on Hvar as I know I'm guaranteed to have a good time and meet like-minded people. Book it now, you won't be disappointed! Thanks again for everything! Big love from England! xxx

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vicki Cummins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2014 Vicki would recommend this property

Liked: Me and 5 of my friends stayed for 3 nights. We loved it, brilliant atmosphere and excellent staff. We had to change the arrival date of our stay and they were very helpful and replied to our emails promptly. Good location and would definitely stay again!

Disliked: Vicki left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 August 2014

Liked: The staff were kind and welcoming for the most part. The decor outside was lovely, and the location was great.

Disliked: Only one set of electrical outlets for a room of ten people...which meant that phones were often dead or not able to be charged during the night (IF there was an outlet available, it was across the room). Also, the bed I was assigned was directly under the air conditioner, which was uncomfortable and cold the freezing cold whole night, but was not able to be turned off because the other nine people needed it on. For me, the most undesirable part (however not a direct fault of the hostel's) was walking into a room full of pizza boxes, sticky wrappers, and empty jagermeister bottles on the floor, people walking in and out drunk all night (up until 5:00am), and being passed out / hungover in common areas during the day. Definitely a party hostel, and not a realistic place to rest or get a decent night's sleep.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leonardo Mundim

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

26 July 2014 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place to stay! The staffs are so nice ! The facilities are just owesome and the comom areas are incredible! I trully recomend this hostel!

Disliked: Leonardo left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

camila santiago de brito

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 July 2014 camila santiago de would recommend this property

Liked: The room was big and clean!

Disliked: One of the staff members was really a stuck up,not helpful at all. He ran a Pub crawl without talking to people... :/

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Gabrielle Vaugeois

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 Gabrielle would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly atmosphere. And quiet time at 10pm is actually respected (for the most part). Pretty balconies where you can eat. Pretty clean. Ok comfort for beds. In general, pretty good all around.

Disliked: We rented apartment #1 for 2 nights and we DO NOT recommend this particular apartment. It's under the terrace and is very very damp... Nothing dried for 2 days...wet towels, wet bathing suits etc. we had to blast the AC to try and get a little dry time. And due to the dampness, there was lots and lots of mosquitoes on our "balcony".... No fun. (And no mosquitoes anywhere else in the hostel or city). There are no hooks to hang your stuff in the room. A bedside lamp but not outlet to plug it in... Internet works 1/5 times because were so far from the server. Conclusion : great property, awful room. So do book at this hostel but ask not to get apartment 1!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: staff

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

ruth griffiths

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and friendly staff

Disliked: Could have been a bit cleaner. Noticed some dead insects in the window. Shower was cold

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrew wheatley

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

29 June 2014 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Been traveling for 4 months now with my mates and this is the best hostel we have ever stayed at!! It's awesome facilities and perfect location make it a cracking place!! The staff are exceptional, from the girls at the front desk to Vana and Allison running the best pub crawls in town, this place is the number 1 spot in Hvar to stay and disco!!!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and casual staff. Newly refurbished look, felt very comfortable.

Disliked: Bit TOO much of the party atmosphere; this really is a 'just out of college' backpackers environment. Do you need to tell everyone to wear wrist bands, and a bit too much of a sales pitch on the pub crawls.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere! It's so easy to meet great people, the patio/kitchen area is the perfect spot to hang out, relax, play cards and drinking games, and pre-drink before the awesome free pub crawl headed by fun and exciting staff. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the washrooms quite fancy.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly the most amazing place we have stayed so far, the atmosphere is incredible, the staff are lovely, it is in a great spot and the free pub crawl every night is a load of fun. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, never want to leave!

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Julia Stevens

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014

Liked: Good atmosphere. If you were going with student friends it would have been more enjoyable. If you want to party then hostel is good, but I was with my boyfriend and we were fairly cba with the whole thing.

Disliked: The pictures are rather misleading. We booked a private room into thinking it was a luxiourious treat for a large amount of money. However when we arrived there was no hot running water. We were also led to believe that we would have a sea view outside our window on our terrace. However, this terrace was shared with the whole private room floor, and our particular room didn't have a sea view because there was a massive tree in front blocking out all the sunlight.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Thompson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

02 June 2014 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Matt, Laura and vanna are amazing hosts! They totally made us feel at home right away. All the girls in reception we're super helpful with arranging bookings. The rooms beds and linens were very clean and comfortable. The common areas and outdoor kitchen were great facilities. This place is the best

Disliked: Having to leave

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Mahaffy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: This is a beautiful villa in a perfect loctation on a gorgeuos island. What makes this place even more amazing are the people who work and volunteer here. It was my favourite place on my three month trip of Europe.

Disliked: The emotional good-byes and the withdrawl from leaving.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous. In every way. Directions given to find the hostel were a little confusing and we got lost when getting off the ferry. But once you get there it's fantastic. Perfect spot for meeting people since there is a ton of common areas and a pub crawl every night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Villar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2014 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: It was great, the kitchen its outside and it has a great environment

Disliked: Daniela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Spence

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel. Great atmosphere. Gorgeous terrace and views. Free pub crawl which is really good not many places do one. The best hostel we've ever stayed in. Highlight of our trip. Lovely staff.

Disliked: Nothing. It was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a private double with small garden. We stayed four nighst, and the kleening lady changed towels in every day. She even changed linens after tree nihgts stay. Dormitories and common area were in upper house so we had really sillent place.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anastasia Sofia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Anastasia would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely location, lovely balcony and chairs. The free pub crawl is a great way to meet people.

Disliked: I wasn't shown round very well and accidentally ended up using nextdoor's kitchen as I didn't know where it was! There are no lockers which isn't ideal as the doors to the rooms are often left wide open. I felt like the only person in the hostel who actually locked the door when I left. Otherwise lovely.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Clark

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

23 September 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: If you're looking for a hostel in Hvar and can't decide, then you MUST choose Villa Skansi. When you arrive at the hostel The first thing you notice are the great views on their fantastic, social, balcony before being greeted by a polite and happy member of staff to help you check-in and provide you with information for your stay. We stayed almost a week and due to booking last minute we stayed in the 6 bed dorm, the 8 bed dorm and finally the 3 bed apartment so I feel we saw most of what the hostel had to offer. The hostel is always very clean and tidy and the facilities are great (new power showers, computers with free internet access, kitchen, etc). Each night guests get together at 8pm on the balcony and drink/ socialise until 10pm when a member of staff (who runs the pub crawl) takes everyone out to several bars and ends at one of the nightclubs. We went on the crawl every night, but if you don't fancy a night out then you can have a quiet night in (after 10pm!). We asked about restaurants and they recommended Lungo Mare, the food at this restaurant was fantastic - especially the steak which was as good as you'd get at a top London restaurant at a fraction of the price (and the restaurant was conveniently close). We tried a few restaurants in the main square next to the harbour, all were average by comparison. A few reviews mentioned below about the location of the hostel not being great, I couldn't disagree more. It takes less than 2 minutes to walk to the beach/ harbour and the luxury of being slightly further out is the extra space which you get Skansi that you don't get at a hostel above a shop. All in all I couldn't recommend this hostel any higher and look forward to booking my spot at Skansi for Hvar Part II next year! Thank you very much!

Disliked: I did not like having to leave this hostel!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful terrace! The pub crawl was fun, but it's also quiet at night if you decide not to go out. Really social atmosphere which was great as a solo traveller. Really clean! Floors are mopped daily, the cleaning staff are very efficient, and friendly.

Disliked: Not really an issue for me, but the tv and outdoor shower were out of order. The kitchen is tiny and only has 2 stove elements. Luckily, people were cooking at all different times when I was there.


See all Hvar hostels