HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hvar hostels

Reviews of Villa Skansi Backpackers House

Hostel | Ulica domovinskog rata 18, Lucica bb, Hvar, Croatia 21450

91.2% Overall Rating

167 out of 178 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/07/2014)

Leonardo Mundim thinks…

"Amazing place to stay! The staffs are so nice ! The facilities are just owesome and the comom areas are incredible! I trully recomend this hostel!"

Read all Villa Skansi Backpackers House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.75

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that the age limit to stay at Hostel Villa Skansi is 45 years old in dormitories and there is no age restriction in private rooms and apartments.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hvar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hvar

Apartmani " Laura"
49.11 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Apartments Pera
52.26 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
"The Shaka"
43.85 USD

Hostel 94.3% 5 reviews
La Casa di Elisa
33.50 USD

Guesthouse 81.5% 26 reviews
Apartment Edi
49.07 USD

Apartment 96.9% 14 reviews
Orange Hostel
17.54 USD

Hostel 87.5% 16 reviews
Hostel Villa Zorana
56.13 USD

Hostel 93.9% 111 reviews
Green Lizard Hostel
19.29 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.2%

Overall Rating

167 out of 178 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Villa Skansi Backpackers House'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 162 of 175 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leonardo Mundim

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

26 July 2014 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place to stay! The staffs are so nice ! The facilities are just owesome and the comom areas are incredible! I trully recomend this hostel!

Disliked: Leonardo left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

camila santiago de brito

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 July 2014 camila santiago de would recommend this property

Liked: The room was big and clean!

Disliked: One of the staff members was really a stuck up,not helpful at all. He ran a Pub crawl without talking to people... :/

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Gabrielle Vaugeois

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 Gabrielle would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly atmosphere. And quiet time at 10pm is actually respected (for the most part). Pretty balconies where you can eat. Pretty clean. Ok comfort for beds. In general, pretty good all around.

Disliked: We rented apartment #1 for 2 nights and we DO NOT recommend this particular apartment. It's under the terrace and is very very damp... Nothing dried for 2 days...wet towels, wet bathing suits etc. we had to blast the AC to try and get a little dry time. And due to the dampness, there was lots and lots of mosquitoes on our "balcony".... No fun. (And no mosquitoes anywhere else in the hostel or city). There are no hooks to hang your stuff in the room. A bedside lamp but not outlet to plug it in... Internet works 1/5 times because were so far from the server. Conclusion : great property, awful room. So do book at this hostel but ask not to get apartment 1!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: staff

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

ruth griffiths

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and friendly staff

Disliked: Could have been a bit cleaner. Noticed some dead insects in the window. Shower was cold

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrew wheatley

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

29 June 2014 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Been traveling for 4 months now with my mates and this is the best hostel we have ever stayed at!! It's awesome facilities and perfect location make it a cracking place!! The staff are exceptional, from the girls at the front desk to Vana and Allison running the best pub crawls in town, this place is the number 1 spot in Hvar to stay and disco!!!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and casual staff. Newly refurbished look, felt very comfortable.

Disliked: Bit TOO much of the party atmosphere; this really is a 'just out of college' backpackers environment. Do you need to tell everyone to wear wrist bands, and a bit too much of a sales pitch on the pub crawls.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere! It's so easy to meet great people, the patio/kitchen area is the perfect spot to hang out, relax, play cards and drinking games, and pre-drink before the awesome free pub crawl headed by fun and exciting staff. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the washrooms quite fancy.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly the most amazing place we have stayed so far, the atmosphere is incredible, the staff are lovely, it is in a great spot and the free pub crawl every night is a load of fun. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, never want to leave!

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Julia Stevens

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014

Liked: Good atmosphere. If you were going with student friends it would have been more enjoyable. If you want to party then hostel is good, but I was with my boyfriend and we were fairly cba with the whole thing.

Disliked: The pictures are rather misleading. We booked a private room into thinking it was a luxiourious treat for a large amount of money. However when we arrived there was no hot running water. We were also led to believe that we would have a sea view outside our window on our terrace. However, this terrace was shared with the whole private room floor, and our particular room didn't have a sea view because there was a massive tree in front blocking out all the sunlight.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Thompson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

02 June 2014 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Matt, Laura and vanna are amazing hosts! They totally made us feel at home right away. All the girls in reception we're super helpful with arranging bookings. The rooms beds and linens were very clean and comfortable. The common areas and outdoor kitchen were great facilities. This place is the best

Disliked: Having to leave

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Mahaffy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: This is a beautiful villa in a perfect loctation on a gorgeuos island. What makes this place even more amazing are the people who work and volunteer here. It was my favourite place on my three month trip of Europe.

Disliked: The emotional good-byes and the withdrawl from leaving.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous. In every way. Directions given to find the hostel were a little confusing and we got lost when getting off the ferry. But once you get there it's fantastic. Perfect spot for meeting people since there is a ton of common areas and a pub crawl every night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Villar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2014 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: It was great, the kitchen its outside and it has a great environment

Disliked: Daniela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Spence

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel. Great atmosphere. Gorgeous terrace and views. Free pub crawl which is really good not many places do one. The best hostel we've ever stayed in. Highlight of our trip. Lovely staff.

Disliked: Nothing. It was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a private double with small garden. We stayed four nighst, and the kleening lady changed towels in every day. She even changed linens after tree nihgts stay. Dormitories and common area were in upper house so we had really sillent place.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anastasia Sofia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Anastasia would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely location, lovely balcony and chairs. The free pub crawl is a great way to meet people.

Disliked: I wasn't shown round very well and accidentally ended up using nextdoor's kitchen as I didn't know where it was! There are no lockers which isn't ideal as the doors to the rooms are often left wide open. I felt like the only person in the hostel who actually locked the door when I left. Otherwise lovely.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Clark

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

23 September 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: If you're looking for a hostel in Hvar and can't decide, then you MUST choose Villa Skansi. When you arrive at the hostel The first thing you notice are the great views on their fantastic, social, balcony before being greeted by a polite and happy member of staff to help you check-in and provide you with information for your stay. We stayed almost a week and due to booking last minute we stayed in the 6 bed dorm, the 8 bed dorm and finally the 3 bed apartment so I feel we saw most of what the hostel had to offer. The hostel is always very clean and tidy and the facilities are great (new power showers, computers with free internet access, kitchen, etc). Each night guests get together at 8pm on the balcony and drink/ socialise until 10pm when a member of staff (who runs the pub crawl) takes everyone out to several bars and ends at one of the nightclubs. We went on the crawl every night, but if you don't fancy a night out then you can have a quiet night in (after 10pm!). We asked about restaurants and they recommended Lungo Mare, the food at this restaurant was fantastic - especially the steak which was as good as you'd get at a top London restaurant at a fraction of the price (and the restaurant was conveniently close). We tried a few restaurants in the main square next to the harbour, all were average by comparison. A few reviews mentioned below about the location of the hostel not being great, I couldn't disagree more. It takes less than 2 minutes to walk to the beach/ harbour and the luxury of being slightly further out is the extra space which you get Skansi that you don't get at a hostel above a shop. All in all I couldn't recommend this hostel any higher and look forward to booking my spot at Skansi for Hvar Part II next year! Thank you very much!

Disliked: I did not like having to leave this hostel!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful terrace! The pub crawl was fun, but it's also quiet at night if you decide not to go out. Really social atmosphere which was great as a solo traveller. Really clean! Floors are mopped daily, the cleaning staff are very efficient, and friendly.

Disliked: Not really an issue for me, but the tv and outdoor shower were out of order. The kitchen is tiny and only has 2 stove elements. Luckily, people were cooking at all different times when I was there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryant Molina

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 September 2013 Bryant would recommend this property

Liked: I went to Hvar with the intent to stay only for 3 days and I decided to stay a week because of Villa Skansi. Its the best place to stay in Hvar. The views from the balcony are the best . When you walk right in they make you feel like family. The atmosphere is great and a Pub Crawl every night. If you stay here you will be WINNING IN LIFE! True Story

Disliked: Bryant left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael Larsen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and communal areas make meeting other travellers easy. Clean hostel, ensuite in dorms and air-con. When we were there in august the hostel was running a free pub crawl every night, with free shots included, which was alot of fun, great value and an awesome way to meet new friends.

Disliked: The kitchen is very small, but sufficient for basic meals. Seemed very expensive, but we were staying in high season & it is hvar after all.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

21 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere thanks to the two Toms! Very clean. Wifi + AC.

Disliked: Seemed unfinished- e.g. nowhere to put bags in the room, nowhere to hang towels in the bathroom. Was the only place we stayed which didn't provide a towel.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lachlan Graf

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

25 July 2013 Lachlan would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've ever stayed in. Staff are awesome (especially Andrea), very social and easy going!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was really friendly, comfortable rooms and chill out areas. Very clean.

Disliked: Having to leave

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

THOMAS CANNELL

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

20 July 2013 THOMAS would recommend this property

Liked: As soon as we arrived we were made to feel welcome by all the local staff and owners who we got to know very well. TOM & TOM were absolute legends!! The hostel was very social without being chavvy :) Very clean and the location was excellent!!!! Would highly recommend to stay here!

Disliked: Nothing


See all Hvar hostels