HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Hvar hostels

Reviews of Hostel Villa Zorana

Hostel | Domovinskog rata 20, Hvar, Croatia 21450

94.9% Overall Rating

112 out of 117 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/08/2014)

Juraj Školnik thinks…

"Easily the best hostel I've ever been to. Very clean and safe, goes without saying, excellent location near the city center and a great place to meet travellers from all over the world in a fun and…"

Read all Hostel Villa Zorana reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hvar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hvar

Orange Hostel
17.28 USD

Hostel 87.5% 16 reviews
Apartments Pera
46.17 USD

Apartment 97.1% 3 reviews
La Casa di Elisa
26.39 USD

Guesthouse 81.5% 26 reviews
Apartment Edi
37.51 USD

Apartment 96.9% 14 reviews
Green Lizard Hostel
19.01 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Villa Skansi Backpackers House
20.74 USD

Hostel 90.5% 184 reviews
Apartmani " Laura"
38.02 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
"The Shaka"
24.20 USD

Hostel 92.9% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.9%

Overall Rating

112 out of 117 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Villa Zorana'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 106 of 111 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good friendly people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely helpful staff, well air conditioned

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juraj Školnik

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2014 Juraj would recommend this property

Liked: Easily the best hostel I've ever been to. Very clean and safe, goes without saying, excellent location near the city center and a great place to meet travellers from all over the world in a fun and relaxed atmosphere. The hosts and the staff are just lovely!!! They'll give you a lift from the main bus station, tips on where to go and what to do in Hvar, they'll even order your pizza for you so you don't have to bother on your holiday. LoL! Pub crawl was super fun, if you're up for a night out, or you can just stay in and chat with other guests and girls from the staff. Thanks everyone for making me feel at home, can't wait to come back next year!

Disliked: Nothing about the hostel. Just didn't like leaving.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Qvart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

14 August 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: HOME AWAY FROM HOME! Villa Zorana has that unbeatable family-feeling to it and i must admit i had a really hard time leaving this place. Ending up with me extending the stay for many days and I even rescheduled/rebooked my flight back home for the very first time traveling. Bartul (the manager of the place) and his lovely staff goes out of their way to help you out with any questions you might have during your stay and they are pretty much always around. Big up for that! I've been traveling the world for a couple of years now and one of the things that im pretty much always disappointed with is the beds in the dorms. FINALLY i found a place where the beds actually are really comfy and also you get a pillow big enough for one tiny person to fit on. Just perfect! Big lockers under the beds are also a plus. Rent a padlock och bring your own! We had a really nice vibe going on in the hostel and it seems that everybody get sucked in to that family feeling i was talking about. Hanging around in the lounge-area at the big spacious terrace or down in the outdoor kitchen is common during the night-time. Good way to catch up with fellow travelers and maybe attend the pubcrawl after a day out in the sun. One special night Bartuls mom (who is a phenomenal when it comes to cooking) even made bruschettas for everybody to have. There is no question about it. I will definitely return to Hvar and to this place, the Villa Zorana.

Disliked: Nothing in particular.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff and cute hostel, in a good location. Beds were very comfortable and did not squeak. Bathrooms were prett clean.

Disliked: Wifi was a big problem as hardly anyone could get it too work. I wasn't able use to the whole time. Still a little on the expensive side.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rasmus Stenmark Persson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

31 July 2014 Rasmus would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Really helpful staff that gives you a great introduction to Hvar(during welcome ice cream). Great pubcrawl directly from the hostel. They rent out Scooters as well and the terrace is really nice.

Disliked: Not their fault but quiet time (outside) at 2230. The neighbours apparently complains ALOT.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bruno Belline

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

29 July 2014 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: Muito bom, td perto

Disliked: Price

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergio Chevere

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was as they said and had a blast with my friends while we stayed there.

Disliked: I really dont have anything to dislike about d property

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great character, great location, clean, bright, spacious. Very helpful and friendly staff. Very welcoming atmosphere, very social atmosphere.

Disliked: I can not think of any aspect which could have been improved upon.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Whiting

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Villa zorana couldn't have been better. I only booked two nights initially but ended up staying over a week. The staff are incredibly helpful and will do anything to help you out. My bank card stopped working and without hesitation the manager Bartul lent me money until it started working again. They will help you out with ferry bookings boat hire scooter hire...... Anything, all free of charge and with a smile on their face! The hostel is kept remarkably clean constantly. Fresh towels are provided free and the kitchen is really really well equipped. Both with utensils and standard ingredients like oil salt and pepper. It's a really comfortable place to stay where you can really just relax , but if you want to go out and party they accomodate for that as well. Every night the beautiful Rose-zita comes down to drink with anyone who will drink with her. They then head out at 10:30 on the bar crawl or to other bars where you can get a free shot. They will get you discounts for boat hire (which is a great way to spend a day) and I'm sure it's similar with all the other things they offer. Because I stayed for a while they have me a discounted price which was so kind. They offered to drive me to the bus station for free, I just cannot stress enough how kind and friendly the staff are and how lovely a hostel this is. There's a really lovely terrace with lots of couches and a beautiful view that you can lounge on and use the wifi. Downstairs is the kitchen and two small dorms. Do not hesitate to book this hostel. I'm coming back in September with my girlfriend it was that amazing. Will definitely be returning next year too.

Disliked: Tim left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Keeley

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a private double room with a sea view balcony and we loved it. Nice, clean room with good bathroom and nice, simple furnishings. Bartul was very friendly and helpful and told us about some of the sites around Hvar town.

Disliked: Tim left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Gladman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 June 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming and friendly, would highly recommend this hostel! The staff are extremely helpful, and gave us loads of good information about places to go etc in Hvar. Location is very good - very short walk from beaches and the shops. Room was very clean and in very good condition, well secured also.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabiana Ghaleb-Delbello

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2014 Fabiana would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location and great rooms!

Disliked: Fabiana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rose-zita Fernandez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2014 rose-zita would recommend this property

Liked: Its easy walking distance from the center, the surroundings are beautiful. And the hostel itself is open clean and really friendly. The Large outside seating are really good for socialising and meeting new people.

Disliked: rose-zita left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I have ever been!!! I wish I can stay in Hvar for 1 more day just because of the hostel!! Staff welcomed me with cake and orange juice, gave me a map and recomended great things that you can't find in any guide. I made great new friends from Canada and Brazil. Manager took us on bar crawl and we got free drinks in the bars because of him. I comming back next year definitely.

Disliked: /

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The ocean view was spectacular, the room was big, and the staff was so nice and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vinicius Bueno

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Vinicius would recommend this property

Liked: I felt at home and it was a great stay. It is all that someone looking for a cheap stay wants: a clean and safe place to sleep, friendly staff (very good reception with local cakes, juice and explanations about the island) and great location. I would stay there again and I recommend it!

Disliked: There is no breakfast, but for me that was no problem since they provide the kitchen for you to make your own meal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff. Great location, around a 10 minute walk from Hvar Town. Very clean room, beautiful view, execellent air con. The staff were more than happy to drive us up to the Fort and to the bus station for no extra charge which helped us save a lot of time and money. Would have stayed longer if we had more time.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best hostel I ever stayed in. The location is perfect (just 2 minutes straight to the beach), the hostel is clean and the atmoshere is more than friendly. The staff took as on free pub crawl every night and we meet a lot's of friends. I'd like to express my gratitude to the staff efforts to help me with absolutely everything - you folks have done an outstanding job. Thanks a lot for everything and I'll see you again next year!

Disliked: Nothing!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Superb location, near the center, beach and supermarket. New furniture and comfortable bed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I'd like to assure travellers that this is an excellent, comfortable and friendly hostel. I was greeted immediately on arrival by the warm, friendly and efficient manage. As well as a description of the hostel services, a map of the city was produced and local points of interested highlighted. The room was very clean, comfortable and spacius. I meet very nice people in the hostel and I definitelly recommend it to everyone.

Disliked: /

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the terrace very much. It was great place to meet other travelers. People working in the hostel were very kind and did everything to help us.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Diana Sousa

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012

Liked: Near the center. 8min walk.

Disliked: The walls were so thin you can listen to everything in the other rooms, Not a good place to stay if you want to rest. Too crowded of drunk people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lyndsay Wright

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 September 2012 Lyndsay would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean, the shared kitchen was adequate, the shower was brilliant, the balcony overlookingt he marina was perfect. The staff was amazing, really helpful and friendly. They offer a free pick up service from the town and also drop you off at a beach which is 30 mins walk away

Disliked: Nothing really. the walk up the hill to the hostel only proved a pain when we had drunk far too much, . It wasnt really a problem any other time tho

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the fact that it was relatively cheap, especially compared to a lot of properties in Hvar. Within easy walking distance of the main town, and having a sea view was nice. Plus accommodation really had everything basic you would expect.

Disliked: When we booked the website described the room having an en suite with shower - the shower is actually just an attachment from the bath, so you have to do a bit of a juggling act whilst holding the head with one hand! Was good to have a fridge, but was slightly worried about the presence of electrics in the bathroom which is essentially a wet room! But to be honest, we're a young couple and we can deal with silly little inconveniences like these so long as we save money. What we hoped would balance it out was the social aspect of the hostel. But what was dissapointing was that the house we stayed in wasn't really set up for socialising. You have use of one small kitchen room and a 'terrace' which is pretty poorly kitted out. To add insult to injury there is a separate hostel in the same building who had a terrace next to ours, so you can see everyone else having a great time, complete with bar and sofas and canopies, whilst you sit on the dark Zorana terrace with no lights or anything! We were also accosted several times by the other hostel's staff whilst on the way to our kitchen for "using their facilities." This was highly irritating seeing as we'd paid to use a hostel that happened to be in the same building. The hostel owners definitely need to rethink sharing the building or at least combine the two terraces - it just doesn't make sense the way it is.


See all Hvar hostels